Preview Changes vs Adelaide (Sun 16th Aug)

• Thread starter Thread starter Kermit

Here are our current consecutive gamers...

41 - Macrae
39 - Bontempelli
34 - B. Smith
31 - Johannisen
13 - English
11 - Bruce, Daniel, Keath, Wallis, Williams
10 - Richards, Vandermeer
9 - Cordy, Liberatore
8 - Lipinski
7 - Wood
3 - Lloyd, McLean
2 - Dunkley
1 - Gardner, Dale, Naughton

I'm amazed that so many people have failed to realise that Bruce obviously has a minor injury. We aren't resting him for no reason. It doesn't take a genius to figure that he's not quite right physically.

That may well be, but why not replace him with a tall?

Beve Lukeridge. Has. Lost. The. Plot.

I predict Cows by 17 points. Walker 5 or 6. Sloane BOG.

7-2-44 def 2-15-27

Yeah but you don’t have to be a genius to realise that your ruckman can’t play 100% game time. Or are we just happy to get destroyed out of the middle every week?

Tim was running on the spot in the first qrt last week

It’s baffling the refusal to give him any help

I'm amazed that so many people have failed to realise that Bruce obviously has a minor injury. We aren't resting him for no reason. It doesn't take a genius to figure that he's not quite right physically.
Not to mention we wouldn't stuff around calling him managed if it weren't for injury concern. If he was dropped, he'd be omitted like all the others before him. There's a difference

Hello, Just wondering about Schache. Reckon he'll come good or is he just not really up to it?

Football wise or something else? I don't think he is ever given a fair go at it. He plays our forward structure looks so much better imo
I think he has been given a fair crack. He’s usually decent when he comes back in but a game or two reverts to norm which is poor in terms of effort. I know a few will say his last game was wet and not suited to him etc but there’s really no excuse for those non-existent stats. We have a few like that sadly. He’s got the tools but misses the most important part which us between his ears but sadly you can’t teach it.
I also doubt another club would take him on or if he even wants to.

Mate I remember teams in the early 80s where our spine included Jim McAllister, Mark Komp, Terry De Koning, Ross Christensen, Allister Ford and Bill Berry. No-one who remembers that era can remotely think this team is worse.

Yes we have had poorer sides but my point was worst selected team meaning we had better players available in ability and structure.

Trengove to play on Tex for Gardner
Lewis Young/Schache so we have another tall forward and ruck support
Greene, Butler of LA Young for Roarke

Adelaide play Himmelberg tex and mcasey up forward every week so we go with 2 tall kpds meaning Wood has to play on one.

We play naughton one out up forward second game back where talia will just lock down on him.

We play English one out again against O’Brien with really no one to chop out but midfielders unless we go with no talls up forward.

2 talls go out 0 talls come in I give up maybe bevo should go
Mcasey played back last week and has shown nothing as a forward. Struggles to hold his marks and kicks for goal like a donkey. Tex doesn’t play tall either so Himmelberg is the only making threat. Whilst I wouldn’t have minded another tall in the side for balance there talls don’t worry me too much

Gardner shouldn’t be playing, there’s not really any excuse for doing so given the exposed form of he and Young at afl level.

I’ve been calling for jj out for a while so happy with that change, he’s been poor for a long time.

The main issue here is how small we are. It’s giving Adelaide a way to beat us if they can somehow break even in the midfield. It’s like we’re the reverse Geelong sometimes - instead of taking away ways the opposition can win the game we just offer them an obvious way to do so.

If the midfield dominates and our small forwards bring good pressure we’ll still win comfortably, but the team selection just makes it unnecessarily nerve wracking.

I think if Adelaide prepare well and plan to bring a high level of pressure (in the right areas), and the dogs are mentally off, could be their first win. Dogs could equally find some resolve and if not pressured, some much needed finesse and connection resulting in a good win. Obviously hope like crazy it’s the latter!

Did anyone watch Adelaide this week yes they played on Tuesday against a Collingwood side without Pendles/More/Degoey/Trelor and a sh!t ton of other players on there home deck and got pantsed... They are on the bottom winless for a reason, they’re playing of a much shorter break than us and have to travel. We should run the legs off of them and beat them comfortably even with Gardner and RSmith in the side. If we don’t it will come down to more than team selection in this case.... We’ll win easily (famous last words)

So, to summarise, these are our main beefs:
English as sole ruckman
Important midfielders doing 2nd ruck
Gardner anywhere but in the team
Only one tall forward in a sea of short people
Some players left in no man's land while others are given multiple chances
No discernible game plan once pressure is applied
Is there any evidence to support these concerns? Have they had a big impact on our performances? To continue to act contrary to evidence and facts smacks of ineptitude, arrogance or both. Of course we are not privy to what our managers are thinking and what is going on at training or in scratch matches; we rely only on what our eyes tell us. This is the only evidence we have but it is IMO irrefutable evidence. This game hasn't been played yet but if the list above remains the deciding factor then we should expect a thorough review of team management.

Supposed to be perfect conditions tomorrow and we go smaller

Makes sense in Bevos world I guess.

At least if we lose the season is actually over and Bev may give some other kids a crack.

What other kids?
Khamis, Sweet, Garcia?
No point in playing guys if they are not ready.

What other kids?
Khamis, Sweet, Garcia?
No point in playing guys if they are not ready.

As opposed to blokes that Stevie Wonder can see aren’t up to it?

Or players that clearly need a rest like Tim?

The year is done no point running blokes into the ground

So, to summarise, these are our main beefs:
English as sole ruckman
Important midfielders doing 2nd ruck
Gardner anywhere but in the team
Only one tall forward in a sea of short people
Some players left in no man's land while others are given multiple chances
No discernible game plan once pressure is applied
Is there any evidence to support these concerns? Have they had a big impact on our performances? To continue to act contrary to evidence and facts smacks of ineptitude, arrogance or both. Of course we are not privy to what our managers are thinking and what is going on at training or in scratch matches; we rely only on what our eyes tell us. This is the only evidence we have but it is IMO irrefutable evidence. This game hasn't been played yet but if the list above remains the deciding factor then we should expect a thorough review of team management.
Plenty of evidence that Gardner isn’t up to it, English can get exposed against a decent ruck one out and that playing one key forward hasn’t worked for us

‘Disagree totally. Watch his games against Lynch and Hawkins last season. Let’s see how Gardiner goes against Hawkins

Exactly right! Trengrove may be slow and limited skilled but he is strong one on one and competes hard. Perfect for the big large forwards like Lynch, Hawkins and Dixon.

Gardener on the other hand, no footy IQ, not skilled, not strong, slow and lacks confidence because of all his flaws. If Bevo can’t see this, he is arrogant.