Prediction Changes vs West Coast Eagles

• Thread starter Thread starter elpirate

If the reason for Eddy not being in, is because Ken doesnt want 2 players deep in attack with limited defensive capabilities (R Gray being the other), then wouldnt it be better to play Eddy, rest Gray for a bit, play Wingard in attack, and then play Atley and add him to midfield rotations..

Reece Homfray :rolleyes:

Although to be fair to Reece he does highlight Neade's defensive efforts as the reason he should not be dropped, "Neade’s pressure is what brought him into the Power’s side in the first place and it was at a more than acceptable level against the Tigers. His efforts — whether in the air against Brandon Ellis or tackling at ground level — forced three turnovers in the first quarter and he finished with four inside 50s and two score assists. When Hinkley hosts Port Adelaide’s match committee this week, Neade cannot be the first one out because he was last one in on Saturday night."

They need to analytical in who comes in to help the forward line, the look at who logically goes out. I have a feeling Ken sits on own ideology too much (who he thinks should be in regardless of 'actual' needs).

S Gray is the least of our small forward problems i reckon. Young has struggled all year and has been dropped 3 times now, Neade has come in on the back of some pretty solid SANFL form behind him but is hardly getting near it at AFL level despite obviously trying his guts out, Impey has had 3 good games this year and the rest he has shown about 1 or 2 pieces of brilliance and the rest is pure invisibility, even Wingard when he's played up forward has struggled for some reason and he's playing much better in the guts, and i'm not even sure what to make of Boak's role up forward. Robbie Gray is probably the only small forward with a pass mark and then next in line is Sam Gray for mine, if he could actually kick straight his stats would be pretty impressive.

So in summary of the above ramble, if we are looking to leave a small out Sam Gray wouldn't be my first or even second cab off the rank.

Agree with all of this. S.Gary has hardly been amazing but he's probably the third best performed forward in our team (behind Dixon and R.Gray). He's not in line to be dropped IMO.

Eddy would be nice, Dougal or Howard nicer.

Stop sitting on the fence. Which one do you want in, Dougal or Howard?

Stop sitting on the fence. Would you prefer Dougal or Howard? Pick one.
Todd Howard in
latest

22 hours and counting until incoming melt
We didn't get the chance last week so I expect a double melt this week.

Agree with all of this. S.Gary has hardly been amazing but he's probably the third best performed forward in our team (behind Dixon and R.Gray). He's not in line to be dropped IMO.

I'm coming round to the idea that he's in the Liam Anthony/Bradd Dalziell/Mark Hutchings/Jordan McMahon class.

Sure he gets plenty of it but his decision-making and disposal isn't worth the trouble and we'll almost certainly enjoy a net return by replacing him with a natural forward with a higher footy IQ and cleaner disposal.

Don't hold ya breath! He's such an *almost* player it brings tears to ya eyes, I know he's Port Adelaide through n' through and he busts his balls trying but that SANFL level disposal is such a deflating beast not only for us supporters but the team.. Dropping and forgetting the *almost* types is something a ruthless club does without batting an eyelid.

I was all-in on him after what was a very impressive preseason, but yeah.

55% DE and 1.2 on the weekend.

There are more overt examples of his costly shots at goal and almostness throughout the year, but he's a prime candidate for liquidation if we're serious about breaking the shackles and weeding out those responsible for our ongoing inability to vanquish the better sides.

I am angrier at the fact Sam Gray continually finds himself in positions to kick vital goals more often than others, like I dunno, Boak? Ebert? Dixon? Wingard? Literally about a dozen other guys who should be doing that. Instead they wanna be the icing on Sam Gray's stale cake.

Sent from mTalk

I'm coming round to the idea that he's in the Liam Anthony/Bradd Dalziell/Mark Hutchings/Jordan McMahon class.

Our forward line is such a mess that we could afford to bring both Eddy and Monfries into the team without S.Gray even losing his spot (out - Trengove and Neade). He's in my best 22 but only just.

Our forward line is such a mess that we could afford to bring both Eddy and Monfries into the team without S.Gray even losing his spot. He's in my best 22 but only just.

Yeah, I'll grant you that. "Only just" is apt. It's more the fact he's "rusted on" that rankles.

I don't think he makes too many bad decisions, hes just not converting well enough. 13 goals 21 is terrible, plus 5 or 6 times he has marked 50m out and not made the distance.

But he is creating heaps of opportunities for himself and is miles ahead of Impey, Boak and Trengove, who have combined for 8 goals from their last 20 games. Scoring for these guys has completely dried up since the bye.

I don't think he makes too many bad decisions, hes just not converting well enough. 13 goals 21 is terrible, plus 5 or 6 times he has marked 50m out and not made the distance.

But he is creating heaps of opportunities for himself and is miles ahead of Impey, Boak and Trengove, who have combined for 8 goals from their last 20 games. Scoring for these guys has completely dried up since the bye.

I wouldn't be averse to dropping all of Neade, S Gray, Impey and Trengove and giving Monfries, Palmer, Atley (put Wingard back forward) and Howard a run.

I think we've seen enough of the current forward setup to know it's incapable of winning against sides who are half-competent for any length of time.

Can't see it happening, but would like this:

B: Jonas, Clurey, DBJ
HB: Broadbent, Hombsch, Houston
C: Boak, Wines, Polec
HF: R.Gray, Eddy, Wingard
F: Impey, Dixon, White
R: Ryder, Ebert, SPP

Int: Pittard , SGray, Atley, Howard/Frampton

Out: Westhoff - worth a shot on the wing, but hasn't delivered. Offers us no drive and main work is still done loose in defence. Hartlett - injured, and honestly his season as a whole as been very vanilla. Neade - just doesn't offer enough. Trengove - Was worth a try, but a forward he isn't and the defence is working well at the moment, him or Austin against GWS maybe.

In: Eddy - we need that forward nous. Howard/Frampton - play forward, ruck and back; If Howard is not confident to ruck, Billy gets the nod. Atley - in awesome form and will get amongst it. Run him through the middle and get Chad back into the forward line. Hombsch - at his best is a great defender. Form has been down and this a selection on trust.

I wouldn't be averse to dropping all of Neade, S Gray, Impey and Trengove and giving Monfries, Palmer, Atley (put Wingard back forward) and Howard a run.

I think we've seen enough of the current forward setup to know it's incapable of winning against sides who are half-competent for any length of time.
I agree, but it won't happen, so I don't put much thought into it anymore. I posted the team I want to see a while back here:

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...est-22-for-2017.1143147/page-40#post-50741059

Until we get something similar to that, I'm not gonna be happy with our selections.

+24 hours to that, they name 25

I guarantee Eddy will be in the 25, then we melt Friday
Eddy or Howard in the 25, then the 'no chance of playing emergency'. So bloody obvious it's a 'Hmm, some of the masses are clued on our midget forwards keep failing, but I'm not giving up on it. I'll pretend it could change by naming a KPF as an emergency!'.

We've got a guy who looks like he'll do the natural transition from a grade forward to a grade midfielder (after years of calling out for someone to do it) and we want to send him back to the forward line .... "sigh"
The only time we send wingard forward from here on imo is when he is struggling with coping a tag (watch Hutchinson go to him this week imo)

I am angrier at the fact Sam Gray continually finds himself in positions to kick vital goals more often than others, like I dunno, Boak? Ebert? Dixon? Wingard? Literally about a dozen other guys who should be doing that. Instead they wanna be the icing on Sam Gray's stale cake.

Sent from mTalk
13 Goals 21.....