EPL Matchday 15 - On Optus Sport

On what basis? Arsenal look the more likely as things stand.

Theres also this stat:

Suppose you'd have to ask how many points were the sides coming second on in those seasons?

2nd spot after MD13

17/18 - United 29 points
19/20 - Leicester 29 points
11/12 - United 30 points
18/19 - Liverpool 33 points (like City this season, 2 points behind).
93/94 - Norwich 23 points
95/96 - United 26 points (played 12 matches when Newcastle were on 13)
05/06 - Wigan 25 points (same as above)
06/07 - United 31 points

Most of the teams in 2nd weren’t particularly close to the team on top. That can’t be used as much of a form guide with City only 2 points behind Arsenal this season.

This.

2nd spot after MD13

17/18 - United 29 points
19/20 - Leicester 29 points
11/12 - United 30 points
18/19 - Liverpool 33 points (like City this season, 2 points behind).
93/94 - Norwich 23 points
95/96 - United 26 points (played 12 matches when Newcastle were on 13)
05/06 - Wigan 25 points (same as above)
06/07 - United 31 points

Most of the teams in 2nd weren’t particularly close to the team on top. That can’t be used as much of a form guide with City only 2 points behind Arsenal this season.
Do you know what is more crazy? Wigan on 25 points...

How many games do you reckon he's watched live this season? ;)
Probably more than me tbh.
Just one of those years atm, after the footy season just haven't been able to get too 'into' football.

Now with work extremely busy, MWII and cricket going back to 2 day games (and bloody arvo tea!) just haven't watched anywhere near as many games as prior seasons. My team or neutral games.

Either the 5 week break will do Arsenal good or it will kill their momentum.

For Arsenal can only see negatives from the break. They dont have an injury crisis atm and are on a roll. It would be best for them to continue playing. Who knows how tired or injured their squad is post WC. That will affect some teams mpre than others.

The WC break favors teams that are suffering an injury crisis and/or are in poor form.

To be fair this may be the first year I don't really bother with the 2am games. It's just starting to feel so ******* late.

I find it easier to just wake up at 6.30-7 and watch on delay. Can skip half time and then watch the 2nd half on +10 when Leeds are inevitably stinking it up.

The pity is I can't do that with Hull, replays don't go up until Monday so it's impossible to avoid seeing the result. There's hope with the new TV deal in 2 years that they won't have to wait that long to put replays up, but until then it's a bit shitty.

On what basis? Arsenal look the more likely as things stand.

Theres also this stat:

On what basis. I mean you should know, you support us. We have been elite. One of the greatest PL sides of all time over the past 5 or so years. It got us one league title.

Man City are Man City. It is incredibly hard to beat them. We had to build and build before we finally broke through. Just no chance Arsenal go from 5th to 1st and from 24 points back last season after City add the cheat code that is Haaland. Just absolutely zero chance.

City have more money, better players in all positions, a better manager, far more experience with winning the PL and they have Haaland.

It's a great start for Arsenal no doubt about it, but I just think they are too young and simply not good enough to challenge City. You need to be ridiculously elite to beat City, Arsenal are not there yet. They should aim for CL and 2nd spot and try to keep the gap to around 10 points and then next season try and make more steps towards beating them.

But as a Liverpool fan and you should well know, it's ridiculously difficult to best them over a 38 game season. We got 92 points and 97 points in two separate seasons and still finished 2nd.

So yeah that's my basis. They will fall away but the good work they have done early in the season means they will secure CL football and then make more and better signings to then try to close the gap again. This is a building year for them. Not a year where they beat City to the title.

On what basis. I mean you should know, you support us. We have been elite. One of the greatest PL sides of all time over the past 5 or so years. It got us one league title.
You won one league title. YOu're not one of the greatest PL sides of all time, you won once and capitulated twice.
City have more money, better players in all positions, a better manager, far more experience with winning the PL and they have Haaland.

Stop peddling Trumpian style lies. You spent more money on a striker than they did who has scored a couple of tap ins and has the touch of Harvey Weinstein. But you know, you had no money!!!!

You won one league title. YOu're not one of the greatest PL sides of all time, you won once and capitulated twice.

Stop peddling Trumpian style lies. You spent more money on a striker than they did who has scored a couple of tap ins and has the touch of Harvey Weinstein. But you know, you had no money!!!!
Haha ok bro. :)

It's always felt late to me haha.

The World Cup will kill me I think.

I think I used to (and may well still be able to) survive it because the early game starting at 11.30 is early enough, and then the momentum might carry me through, but I'll probably end up falling asleep at HT.

We watched a 2am game at the Casino didn't we? Or was that the early game?

I'll try and stay awake but I've got an incredibly comfortable armchair that makes me pretty sleepy these days haha

Yeah 2am games were fine in early 20s.

Stuff that for a joke now. WC might be an exception with getting a few hours sleep in beforehand.

Yeah, definitely the same. I watched every game at I think the 2010 tournament and never felt sleep deprived watching WC matches morning after morning at every World Cup I watched on TV from 1994 to 2014. I was in America in 2018 so I missed a lot of the tournament. But now I wouldn’t stay up passed midnight or wake up at 2AM to watch matches, even if the matchup is between two strong sides, the Final will be a different story.

Even matches that begin at 6AM. I am out the door at 5:50AM to go walking and I can’t see myself giving up that up to watch USA vs Wales or Belgium vs Canada.