Player Watch Josh Smith (Delisted 2018)

Glad he has been picked up, but lucky to play a game at West Coast.
Bit surprised Gold Coast did not pick first up, would have played quite a few games for them till there youngsters were ready

Glad to read he’s apparently a ripper bloke. We’ll look after him. :)
Described as Vanilla a lot on this board, he’s a hard worker, done it the hard way and will do what’s asked. Hope he gets to play senior footy with your mob.

He can get a hard time here by some but you need to admire the fact that WCE see something there.

Described as Vanilla a lot on this board, he’s a hard worker, done it the hard way and will do what’s asked. Hope he gets to play senior footy with your mob.

He can get a hard time here by some but you need to admire the fact that WCE see something there.
I reckon he’ll be a valuable contributor/leader in our new stand alone side in the WAFL and I suspect this is the main reason he’s been drafted. Any games he plays for the seniors is a bonus!

Mixed feelings. Glad Smith has been picked up but he won't play 5 games at the Eagles, whereas he would notch up 50 at the Suns right now...

Good luck to him
To my knowledge, Gaff is there only real outside runner who is afl relevant, so I reckon he's a chance of playing some seniors for wce.

interesting how this bloke got some interest and brendan goddard didnt..... and this is from a team that took a couple of blokes in their last years a while back.... so the coasters arent afraid to take oldies..

Goddard is what, close to 30? Josh is 24, almost 25, so they obviously see an upside to him and given his age plenty left in him.

yeh the age is significant and they might have seen some upside but if you were hoping to go back to back and you wanted someone for half back...and you took mitchell and petrie at the end of their careers in the past...... you might think they would consider goddard.....

maybe i just wanted to be nasty to bj.... buckley took a lot of s**t for being figjam in the past but I think goddard is one of the worst cases of figjam that i've seen. Buckley was hard on players who werent as obsessed about footy as he was. Goddard seems to be dismissive of players who make mistakes when he is sitting back being a specialist kicker.... and yet commentators give him an easy time.. He might have been a good player 8 years ago but the fact that he was overlooked shows that he's been an over rated footballer in the last few years

yeh the age is significant and they might have seen some upside but if you were hoping to go back to back and you wanted someone for half back...and you took mitchell and petrie at the end of their careers in the past...... you might think they would consider goddard.....

maybe i just wanted to be nasty to bj.... buckley took a lot of s**t for being figjam in the past but I think goddard is one of the worst cases of figjam that i've seen. Buckley was hard on players who werent as obsessed about footy as he was. Goddard seems to be dismissive of players who make mistakes when he is sitting back being a specialist kicker.... and yet commentators give him an easy time.. He might have been a good player 8 years ago but the fact that he was overlooked shows that he's been an over rated footballer in the last few years

They took Mitchell and Petrie as short term gap fillers in the midfield and 2nd ruck though. Not sure which gap Goddard would be meant to fill.

Don’t think West Coast need any of that.
Still would have thought even for one year Gold Coast could have used his floggyness
Goddard flog; Gold Coast flog is match made well.

Agree

Still would have thought even for one year Gold Coast could have used his floggyness

It's all about development for GC, so the question is would Goddard be good for development? From a playing perspective and showing youngsters where to run and what's required to succeed - absolutely? But would his unique way of delivering a message be good or bad for a developing player?

I watched an interview with Craig Cameron that talked about Hodge and what he has done for Brisbane and whether they should have looked into someone like that. I think the implication was that Hodge was one of a lifetime player and there wasn't 20 of him to go around. So I got the impression it had to be someone pretty special and retiring, but could also go on to help develop players -- then they were at a loss in that regard. I don't think Goddard fit the bill where they were concerned.

We might as thought he would be depth with WCE, but he could find himself a spot.

There's no doubt which draftee has made the biggest splash since arriving at West Coast, with former Collingwood defender Josh Smith dominating pre-season running testing. Smith broke the club's 2km time trial record after returning from the Christmas break and took out the Yo-Yo test. The 25-year-old was in Collingwood's round one line-up last year, but hamstring setbacks ruined his campaign.

The standout
Smith is hungry to reignite his career and his running power could be handy at Optus Stadium.

On track for round one
It's going to be a hard team to break into but Josh Smith is a chance.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-01-28/draftee-watch-how-are-your-clubs-new-faces-tracking

Good on him if he manages to somehow break into that team.