Opinion Likely Best 22 2018 (revisited)

So much depends on the trade period.
Let's say we get Lever.

He's surely straight in.

Already we are better.

Love to see Wells play 15 plus, nah stuff that, 20 games.

We better already

B. Scharenberg ~ Dunn ~ Maynard
HB. Howe ~ Lever ~ Adams
C. Sidebottom ~ Treloar ~ Wells
HF. Hoskin-Elliot ~ Moore ~ Fasolo
F. Elliot ~ Brander ~ Kirby
R. Grundy ~ Pendlebury (c) ~ De Goey
I. Varcoe ~ Goldsack ~ Phillips ~ Sier

E. Cox, Langdon, Crisp
SV no love for Reid?

It's stupid to put players in not on our list at the moment.

So for me it's:

B: Howe, Dunn, Langdon
HB : Crisp, Reid, Varcoe
C: Sidebottom, DeGoey, Treloar
HF : Wells, Moore, Hoskin-Elliott
F : Fasolo, Cox, Elliott
FOLL : Grundy, Adams, Pendlebury
INTER: Scharenberg, Goldsack, Maynard, Phillips

Emerg: Aish, Broomhead, Thomas

Honourable mentions: Greenwood, Brown, Daicos, Kirby, McLarty

Given injuries, I think we'll see them all at some point

B: Lever, Reid, Howe
HB: Docherty, Rance, Williams
C: Treloar, Selwood, Pendlebury
HF: WHE, Lynch, Fasolo
FF: Elliot, Moore, Betts
R: Grundy, Dangerfield, Kelly
Int: Cripps, Macrae, Zorko, Heeney

hasn't Heeney signed on?

B: Temploar - De Gea - Carvajal
HB: Temploar - Matic - Valencia
C: Temploar - Pogba - Herrera
HF: Temploar - Ronaldo - Messi
For: Temploar - Zlatan - Lukaku
Foll: Temploar - Iniesta - Kroos
Coach: Temploar Mourinho

gee that temploar;s dad was busy

It's stupid to put players in not on our list at the moment.

So for me it's:

B: Howe, Dunn, Langdon
HB : Crisp, Reid, Varcoe
C: Sidebottom, DeGoey, Treloar
HF : Wells, Moore, Hoskin-Elliott
F : Fasolo, Cox, Elliott
FOLL : Grundy, Adams, Pendlebury
INTER: Scharenberg, Goldsack, Maynard, Phillips

Emerg: Aish, Broomhead, Thomas

Honourable mentions: Greenwood, Brown, Daicos, Kirby, McLarty

Given injuries, I think we'll see them all at some point
This one I like. Might have Sinclair on the I/C if fully fit in place of Phillips, but he'd be stiff on his Melbourne performance.

think a bits to play out
went with what i would like to see , what we have
adams dunne varco
crisp reid greenwood
howe de goey wells
elliot moore whe
sidey cox sack
grundy treloer maynard
pendels,wills,langdon fasolo

really want sincas , cox, wills to come on
we need stability

Gone early with this thread haven't we! Always a bit of fun though.

B: Crisp Dunn Langdon
HB Sinclair Goldsack Howe
C WHE Treloar Wells
HF Sidebottom Moore Elliot
FF Fasolo Cox Reid
R Grundy DeGoey Pendlebury
I Adams Greenwood Phillips Varcoe
E Scharenberg Thomas

Hopefully Wills, Kirby, Broomhead, Aish, Daicos, Brown mclarty will demand spots during the year.
Edit.. Ramsay looks like depth only... With sinker we will need it though. I forgot Maynard.. he's in the best 22 but hard to fit in..prob swap out Phillips for Maynard. Maynard won't be in defence in my best 22 though.

If we use pick 6 on Brander how are we getting Lever? Future first?
I've stuffed it up I think.

You're right, would have to be one or the other.

And I forgot Reid.

Didn't do it well, I'll stick to the movie quotes I think on that effort :eek:

B: Tom Langdon ~ Lynden Dunn ~ Travis Varcoe
HB: Jeremy Howe ~ Mathew Scharenberg ~ Scott Pendlebury

M: Will Hoskin-Elliott ~ Taylor Adams ~ Daniel Wells
R: Brodie Grundy ~ Jordan De Goey ~ Adam Treloar

HF: Steele Sidebottom ~ Darcy Moore ~ Brayden Maynard
F: Jamie Elliott ~ Ben Reid ~ Alex Fasolo

I/C: Jack Crisp ~ Josh Thomas ~ Josh Daicos ~ Tim Broomhead

B: Langdon Dunn Crisp
HB: Howe Reid Maynard
C: Pendlebury Treloar Wells
HF:Sidebottom Moore Elliot
F: Scharenberg Darling Kirby
R: Grundy De Goey Adams
Int: Goldsack Cox WHE Greenwood (tagging only).
Emg; Thomas Brander Phillips/Daicos

Pretty standard I think across the board. I think Fasolo will go as part of a deal for Darling and the pies will go to the draft with their first round pick, hence Brander. The only different one is Shaz in the forward line. I tend to agree with a few others that Langdon Howe and Shaz are to many of the similar type down back.

Shaz I think has massive scope to play forward (he did spend a bit of time there as a junior). Has really good hands, smart football brain and nice foot skills. While he may not kick heaps of goals early in the season as he adapts, his foot skills inside Fwd50 would still be a benefit of the team, setting up others (similar to Tex). I think as the season progresses he and Darling could work well deep with Kirby and Elliot around them, allowing Darcy to push up the ground even be thrown down back in times of need like he was on weekend.

With Cox rotating with Grundy in the ruck and playing forward that could allow massive flexibility. When Cox or Grundy got pushed deep forward it can allow shaz to push to the HFF/Wing and use his foot skills to send it inside or even float down back at the end of the quarters to try and limit the amount of goals we concede late in a quarter which I know irks all of us to no end.

Current list and injury free (touch wood)

B - Langdon Dunn Sinclair
HB - Varcoe Goldsack Howe
C - Wells Pendlebury Treloar
HF - Elliott Moore WHE
F - Fasolo Reid Sidebottom
R - Grundy Adams DeGoey
INT - Crisp Maynard Greenwood Scharenberg

Midfield I really like the idea of having Adams and DeGoey starting in the middle with Pendles. Depending on opponent we could use Greenwood in a tagging role as well.
Outside pace on the wings with Wells and Treloar.

Sinclair and Varcoe add pace and dash off the half back line. I think we missed Sinclair quite a bit this year.

Would have Howe as a bit of a swing man (I know he has had a great year down back but would love to see him up forward at times with that marking ability).

Sidebottom as a forward who pinch hits in the midfield as well giving DeGoey a rest in the 50.
Steele is a clever footballer, he gets in the right positions and if he was played mainly as a forward I would be really confident he would kick 35-40 goals for the season.

I reckon Hoskin-Elliott will be in for a ripper year next year. Was very impressed with him this year. He uses the ball very cleanly, has pace and kicks goals.
Good at being in the right spots at the right time and can play forward, wing and even off half back.

Would have Kirby on there in a pocket hopefully. Just depends on building his tank over the pre-season.
Exactly the kind of player we have been searching for as a deep forward pocket.

Quite a few names missing and hard to fit everyone in. Would love to see Daicos, Brown, Aish, Thomas, Broomhead etc be pushing hard for their case as well but this above 22 would be what I would love to see out there at any given time and against the best opposition possible.

Sinclair Reid Langdon
Crisp lever pbury
Hoskins Degoey wells
Grundy treloar Adams
Sbottom Moore darling
Elliott cox Kirby

Ic Gwood Maynard Goldsack daicos

Darling fasolo a straight trade with later edraft pick exchange
Lever for pick 6 and Shaz
Please

B: Lever, Reid, Howe
HB: Docherty, Rance, Williams
C: Treloar, Selwood, Pendlebury
HF: WHE, Lynch, Fasolo
FF: Elliot, Moore, Betts
R: Grundy, Dangerfield, Kelly
Int: Cripps, Macrae, Zorko, Heeney

No room for Dusty in our best 22?

Scharenburg ~ Dunn ~ Howe
Pendlebury ~ Aliir Aliir ~ Harbrow
Wells ~ Treloar ~ Hoskin-Elliott
Grundy ~ Adams ~ De Goey
Elliott ~ Moore ~ Sidebottom
Kirby ~ Reid ~ Fasolo

Crisp ~ Maynard ~ Greenwood ~ Varcoe

Best 22 with current list, injury free (touch wood). I feel as though I am in the minority but believe our best 22 when fit is good enough to make the top 8.
Sidebottom is one I reckon would be great being played as a pure forward.
I actually think if Kirby builds that tank over the pre season he will play round 1. Bloke has all the traits to be a very dangerous forward for us.
I reckon WHE is in for a big 2018. Really loved his work this year and will keep getting better.

B - Sinclair Dunn Langdon
HB - Howe Goldsack Varcoe
C - Wells Pendlebury WHE
HF - Elliott Moore Sidebottom
F - Kirby Reid Fasolo
R - Grundy Adams Treloar
INT - DeGoey Crisp Scharenberg Greenwood

15 mids. Kirby full forward.
Goldsack and Dunn run back when it's too late.
You have room for Schade in your best 22?

Do we get to see your 22?

B: Jeremy howe - Lynden Dunn - Tom Langdon
HB: Ben Sinclair - Tyson Goldsack - Jack Crisp
C: Adam Treloar - Taylor Adams - Daniel Wells
HF: Will Hoskin-Elliott - Darcy Moore - Steele Sidebottom
F: Alex Fasolo - Ben Reid - Jamie Elliott
R: Brodie Grundy - Scott Pendlebury - Jordan De Goey
I: Levi Greenwood - Brayden Maynard - Matthew Scharenberg - rotating player (Kirby/Daicos/Brown/Phillips/Varcoe etc.)