Autopsy Round 9, 2023 : Hawks burnt by Demons

I'd be happy with a 4 quarter effort where they run both ways. I half agree with the person that said our midfield seems to be treated with kiddy gloves, how do we nearly always have as many touches yet the opposition averages 15 more inside 50's than us, today it was 25! We have issues regardless but we are raising toothless players if we are content with 25 harmless touches from most of our mids.

Everyone knows the issues with the forward line and the backline, but the midfield is just way more important and it's not blameless.
You do realise what would happen if our mids were not performing to the level they are. They make mistakes under the most extreme pressure. They run and tackle their guts out to make time for an outside player who… turns it over more often than not.

Last passage of play was damning.

Frenchy runs 50 metres from CHB to centre wing with not a single soul leading toward him.

Get on your bikes you useless campaigners. Lead at the ball carrier FFS.
We don't have anyone... good. Personnel is a our major issue.

Midfield is struggling defensively. They're much better offensively.

From the AFL website:

“Melbourne set a new season-best with 21 marks inside 50 from 66-41 inside 50's and scored 9.4 (58) from the shots at goal from these marks in a superb offensive display.”

So many inside 50 kicks were under zero pressure….from our mids

It’s pretty simple - our senior players bar Sic are having really poor seasons which makes it tough for the young guys. Frost and Morrison try hard but consistently fail to have a major impact. Chad is Chad. I’ve had more than my say on him in the past 3 years but frankly I’m sick of talking about him. His stats this year tell you everything you need to know. Breust is cooked yet has another year to run on his contract. Can’t see him playing next year

Still bullish though on the young talent coming through. Most have shown great signs this year and still a few yet to debut
Let’s hope the young players aren’t the scapegoats for our insipid first half

54 points. Before the game you were told 54 points v top team, you say yeah sounds about right.
But nothing will erase that first half..dreadful.
However, that patch in the 3rd was the most enjoyable 10 min of the season.

Think our players were overawed by Oliver, Petracca and Viney. Mind they will be all H of F’ers for their club and are where we need our youngsters to get to. They are elite and have been at it for near on 10 years.

Thought Sicily, Hardwick and Mitchell were good in the backline.
Mids all were solid but the above 3 Demons were all better than any Hawk mid.
Meek and Reeves present a real problem. Both so much better when the other isn’t there! If only they could work together. Meek was great today.

Fwdline…currently one lock in there. Lewis. The rest? Who knows.
Going fwd, Only Bruest can stay out of him and Chad. Sorry Chad, it’s over.
Butler and Brockman have to be locked in and get 30 games into them. Moore? Feel sorry for him. Trying so hard but no reward. Past seasons he has a 15 goals by now. Not sure what to do with him. Keep him in and hope a 10 min patch can ignite his season soon.

Don’t like bagging out our players on public forums, however I can count 8 players minimum today who will not be in our next finals team. Most could name them I reckon.

Footnote, as bad as our 1st half was today, we are still the best performer of the bottom 3.

Positives: 3rd quarter, Meek & Mitchell

Negatives: people thinking our midfield are “going really well” when the opposition best players in these 10 goal beltings are…….the opposition midfield. They are getting beaten soundly by their direct opponents.

Wake up people .
And they will, because they're so green.
That we're so competitive at the stoppage is a massive win at this point, because as Sam and some of our players have pointed out, we're progressing in all parts of the ground but cannot get reward for effort forward of centre.

If we start to score from stoppages the opposition scoring from them can be more easily countered.

Harry Morrison, Chad Wingard and Jacob Koschitzke 🤦‍♂️ Oh, GOD! Don't even go back to Box Hill, guys. Book yourselves a plane ticket to the April Sun In Cuba. As for the good, the first half of that third quarter was exhilarating. Seamus Mitchell is a good young player and is proving why we selected him. I thought Butler was good today, especially in the third quarter. And how good was it to see (hopefully) two of our future stars, Cam Mackenzie and Joshua Weddle, kick their first goals in the AFL back-to-back? My favourite moment of the year thus far. Newcombe, Day and Meek were all impressive once again. However, that first half was pathetic.

From the AFL website:

“Melbourne set a new season-best with 21 marks inside 50 from 66-41 inside 50's and scored 9.4 (58) from the shots at goal from these marks in a superb offensive display.”

So many inside 50 kicks were under zero pressure….from our mids

Again, only part of the story.
Melbourne spread really well. It's not like our mids are sitting beside them as they kick.

Our mids are doing the offensive stuff and overcommitted in that direction.
They do need to learn, but I also think they'll be less aggressive on offence when the forwards start leading. Don't underestimate what the extra 2-3m waiting for a forward does when the ball is rebounded so quickly

Defense: Much much better than last week. Without some good organisation we could've been 80-90 point down at the half.
Midfield: Gave a pretty good account of themselves but were bested by the best in the business. Meek take a bow.
Forward: Witches hats. The lack of pressure and ability to keep their opponents accountable gave Demons an irresistible advantage. Changes to be made.

It was

A Tale of Two Halves. A novel by (Ben Dixon) Dicko…Ins (Breust, CJ, Blanck, Butler, Mackenzie) were mixed. Though Frenchie was revolutionary at times. It was the best of times (3rd quarter) and the worst of times (1st half). More self sacrifice required from senior players as we’ve seen from Sydney Carlton teams at times. Certain players appear set for the chop-this board will be there knitting.

A lot of the stuff people want improved which is correct will come in time with more games, training and a pre season or two .

Making personal and positional changes wont really correct the short comings of our game.
More change most likely will slow it in the immediate future .
Especially when it comes to connection with the forwards.

Making personal changes most likely will be the long term right move but be prepared for a potential regression while everyone adjusts.

Newcombe flies under the radar and is the only bloke that makes us look even remotely likely to score with the ball in hand. He's an absolute star and when we're a better side he'll obviously be our best player. Love Day, but Newc is the one that'll cause the damage.

Thought Butler did tremendously well for a player put in a really bad position to succeed. Love to see that he was second for ground covered. Worked really hard.

Meek was a stand out also, really bodied up well with Gawn round the ground and stopped him from having his usual impact.

On the negative side, we just can't keep turning it over where we do. I have faith it'll improve once we've gelled a bit better and learned to control the tempo and pick our opportunities, but at the same time there are players like Harry who I have had faith in that just aren't executing the skills that they should be.

That said, unless we place a lot of faith in Weddle, Harry will be given the rest of the year to rectify that because no matter the calls to drop him we just don't have anyone who can come in for that role.

You can add Hardwick to the list of experienced players who are turnover maestros.
Every week he tries ridiculously ambitious 50 meter bullet passes that miss the target or go straight to the opposition.
There were at least two today that resulted in Melbourne goals.
The other maestros have been named several times. Hardwick always seems to get a pass for some reason.
What hurts most is that these are our most experienced players who should be at their peak not making the same old mistakes week in week out.

There was some great effort, so we aren't another Bolton's Blues, but there was a bit of effort lacking a well, both in the forward and back line.

taking the first half out of the equation, Sic did well in the back line, and Hardwick showed he can still play. Impey was good at winning the ball, but often chose the wrong (or less right) option.

Weddle, Newc, Meek, Worps, Seamus Mackenzie stood up; Nash used his body well.. Amon seemed to lift as well. Lewis continued his solid marking when he could - but against a better defence than last week and the only real tall option up forwad, a defence like Melbourne's can handle him. Day stood out in the first half; in the second he seem to not be as effective with the ball in hand as the first. Probably stuffed after having to carry the team in the first half.

The rest remained pretty ordinary - maybe one or two glimpes here and there, but nothing consistent.

The above players are likely to be in the next team that get us to the finals and better; cannot see the others that were fielded today making it, hopefully Moore excepted.

Gary Lyon called Wingard as not having any infuence on the game. By taking a spoot, he is denying the opportunity of someone else having at least a (hopefully positive) influence on the game. Morrison cannot kick to save his life, but as this is a game of football, one needs to be able to kick. If neither can lead nor play, then they have to be moved on.

Mitchell seems to be a coaching style of play befit of the team he played in where the skill level and decision making was a lot better. He may want to rethink while he rebuilds

Newcombe flies under the radar and is the only bloke that makes us look even remotely likely to score with the ball in hand. He's an absolute star and when we're a better side he'll obviously be our best player. Love Day, but Newc is the one that'll cause the damage.

Thought Butler did tremendously well for a player put in a really bad position to succeed. Love to see that he was second for ground covered. Worked really hard.

Meek was a stand out also, really bodied up well with Gawn round the ground and stopped him from having his usual impact.

On the negative side, we just can't keep turning it over where we do. I have faith it'll improve once we've gelled a bit better and learned to control the tempo and pick our opportunities, but at the same time there are players like Harry who I have had faith in that just aren't executing the skills that they should be.

That said, unless we place a lot of faith in Weddle, Harry will be given the rest of the year to rectify that because no matter the calls to drop him we just don't have anyone who can come in for that role.
Mitchell, Weddle, Mackenzie, Jiath, MacDonald, Moore and Ward are all far better options on the wing than Morrison.

Quite an odd game, alot of positives and negatives.

Positives:
Midfield group, ability to win the clearances, a negative turned positive was our contested footy post half time.
Ball use and intensity, creativity and ability to pile on quick goals post half time.
Blanck hopefully not a bad injury because he looked good beforehand.
Forward structure decent after halftime.

Players!

Sicily, thought he was immense and his ball use really stood out. (27 disp, 13 cp, 15 kicks at 96% with 9 intercepts, 7 marks (2 contested), 500 metres gained, 9 rebounds & 4 spoils.)

Newcombe, just tough at it all day, won the footy & explosive from stoppage, hard to tackle and his ball use was good. (26 disp, 12 cp, 11 kicks at 85% with 1.1, 6 score inv, 4 marks (1 contested), 5 clearances, 4 tackles & 4 inside 50s.)

Day, not his best game for ball use however his attack on the footy and workrate was great, faded a little but a good game still. (29 disp, 14 cp, 10 kicks at 70% with 3 score inv, 5 clearances, 3 tackles & 4 inside 50s.)

Worpel worked hard in the middle (26 disp, 10 cp, 13 kicks, 6 clearances, 5 tackles, 4 inside 50s)

Nash solid but both Petracca/Oliver were pretty good, so wasn't able to have as much of a defensive impact, had (25 disp, 9 cp, 4 clearances, 4 tackles himself.)

BIG SEAMUS huge game! was good defensively but offensively he gathered (26 disp, 15 kicks, 7 intercepts, 8 marks, 400 metres gained and 9 rebound 50s!)

Meek great contest against two of the best rucks in the comp, was huge (1 goal, 14 disp, 7 cp, 20 hitouts, 6 tackles, 7 spoils & 2 clearances.)

Quick few mentions to Hardwick who i thought was good down back, Moore who worked his ass off and just simply needs to try to do less and rely on his teammates, he's trying to play as a fwd, mid and def.

Was happy with MacKenzie coming back in, kicking his first goal, he looked really composed and clean, must play! (14 disp, 7 kicks at 86% with 1 goal (1 GA 4 score inv).

Weddle was okay down back and does his job down there but isn't able to work off offensively, but when he's on the wing he was a different beast, he was able to run up and down the ground and no one kept up with him, his frame is so hard to stop aswell, he's very very good and we must persist on the wing!! KICKED A BIG FIRST GOAL TOO! (15 disp, at 93% with 1 goal, 4 marks, 400 metres gained.)

Butler battled hard. Would be worth playing him.

NEGATIVES:
Plenty of them, unfortunately.

The first half, the lack of pressure, everyone looked disinterested and it was horrid to watch.

The ball use, the amount of turnover scores were upwards of 10 goals, if we tidy our disposal up, which we are well and truly capable of we'd of gotten close. Been a story all year.

Forward structure, * me, actually terrible, Mitch Lewis or bust? lower your eyes and as forwards ******* LEAD the last play with MacKenzie showed everything, no one led, he ran and took 2 bounces and is probably our best inside 50 kick, he'll hit you, lead. As much as it's players it's also Newman, so both he and Simpson have to be accountable for their lines.

Defensively, thought it was good and bad, will put here because how tf can it be so easy, and then have such a good setup minutes later. Kade Simpson has alot of questions to answer, and needs to continue to get to work.

Players:
Chad Wingard - Doesn't chase, doesn't pressure, doesn't do anything without the ball, leads pointlessly, wins the footy and turns it over, wins the footy and kicks hospital passes, complains, whines and should be first dropped if Sam has any dignity.
Sam Frost - Tried hard but how many times today was he beaten 1on1 and his ball use continually lets us down, it's so dreadful, Blanck showed more in 5-10 minutes than this bloke did all game.
Koschitzke (he tried hard but he's actually no good at all)
Morrison - Tries hard, but limited, would probably be a better role player in a good side but * me, his ball use was horrid, had some really good plays and than he'd go back to fumbling, turning it over and no matter how hard he "works back into the game" it's becoming a weekly occurrence. He won't get dropped i don't think but * me.. rise.

OTHER PLAYERS:

Impey - Tried hard in the second half but he was absolutely no where, no run or carry, not finding the footy, had 3 touches in the first half? His defensive efforts at time were eh, not truly negative so he sits here.
CJ - Thought he looked good at times, and then he looked like a lost fish out of water, he'll probably play again, idk what to do with him anymore seriously, but we've got more pressuring issues, he has talent and he tries, the mentioned above ^ (wingard cough) don't.
Bramble - Hard to say, sub but tried hard, looked good at times, but had some weak efforts, not sure where he sits, not best 22 atm.

Breust/Lewis - We know the quality of Breust, his first half against the Dogs before being hurt he was superb, he's so important as a leader and he's still doing well and just not being used or too late (cough Wingard). Lewis was trying all day, was so blatantly obvious, you just don't see blokes his size chasing people down and smothering like he did. Was a great learning experience playing on May/Lever, but without help, and poor ball use, it was always going to be hard.

Hey!
Let's just hopefully refine up some things, we've got a couple ins i assume or people who are gonna be close to being back (Reeves, Ward, Scrim?) who are important players, especially fit and firing (Scrim) so abit to look forward to, and 2 of those would've helped heaps with the ball use today, let's look forward to a really good effort and hopefully some reward for effort against West Coast.
Excellent summary