Time for a base or move into the City of Adelaide.

Have to agree. Leagues clubs on the east coast are big deal and a huge $ spinner.

Leagues clubs on the east coast spin huge money because they are enormous pokies monuments, no other reason.

I don't want us into Pokies, and we'd never be able to buy the licenses for the, f.ex, 280 machines the Broncos Leagues club has.

Have to agree. Leagues clubs on the east coast are big deal and a huge $ spinner.

I noticed a sign on the front doors at Cazalys Cairns recently. 40,000 members. In a city of 120,000 not bad admittedly membership is about $5.00 a year. Can not get a seat in there on a Friday and Saturday night.

Also, Fagan was on the Crows Show about 2 weeks ago saying the Crows aren't moving anywhere soon, and frankly why should they. We have a brilliant facility at Football Park and the training surface is fantastic. In 10-15 years when we need to upgrade, then maybe look elsewhere, but at the end of the day it's a training venue. It doesn't need to be in the CBD or inner suburbs.

As for the light towers, I reckon they'll be scrapped. Can't see why anyone would want 30 year old light towers, at least in Australia anyway.
I'll take one. Light up the patio pretty well I reckon.

We've always been a 'dragged to the well' type of club. There's not really any reason to think that we'll look at moving out of West Lakes for another 20-30 years or we're forced to.

Unless Port created a city hub. Then we'd do it and claim we always wanted to.

We've always been a 'dragged to the well' type of club. There's not really any reason to think that we'll look at moving out of West Lakes for another 20-30 years or we're forced to.

Unless Port created a city hub. Then we'd do it and claim we always wanted to.

Don't Port already have an office at Memorial Drive?

I can not ever see any of that parkland on Port Road (from one end at the ice skating centre all the way down to the trade line where the Christmas decorations are) being used for sporting clubs.

Too many events are held there during the year.
Not sure what you mean here Sam. Are you talking about Bonython Park from Mt Thebarton down to the West End Brewery? Nothing is going to be built in Bonython Pk.
The reclaimed area I was talking about is pinned below.
image.png

I think the club only moves out of West Lakes if the developer pays out their lease, the developer will only pay out their lease if they think they will never leave otherwise. The club probably needs to publicly look like they never want to leave, even if they are looking for a new venue.

Leagues clubs on the east coast spin huge money because they are enormous pokies monuments, no other reason.

I don't want us into Pokies, and we'd never be able to buy the licenses for the, f.ex, 280 machines the Broncos Leagues club has.

Legally we couldn't have a Leagues club setup in SA, as the maximum number of pokies a venue can have is 40 (the casino being the exception).

Not too fussed where we train so can stay at West lakes. That seemed to be what fages was talking about. But having a CBD pub or something would be fantastic

I'm not sure what kind of venue could handle an after game crowd and still be viable enough to cover the other 340 days of the year.

That would be my concern as well. If it was a success it would either be over crowded, exclusive to certain membership levels (Wasn't popular in the first years of the new facility at Footy Park), or far too big.

Really needs to be some sort of partnership where we don't have as much risk throughout the week, or attached to something like a training facility/AO where the space is there anyway.

exclusive to certain membership levels (Wasn't popular in the first years of the new facility at Footy Park)

Ha, remember that? when the answer to our revenue woes was to charge members an extra $50 to mingle and have drinks in the shed after a game?

That went down faster than a lead balloon that was carrying a tonne of bricks and the lead balloon was named "Hindenburg"

That vacant block of land on O'Connell street would do very well as an administrative base and supporter facility.

http://www.afc.com.au/news/2016-07-05/crows-fly-to-thebby-

Obviously we know our SANFL team is playing at Thebby this week. I'll be going, maybe the sign of things to come in terms of a base away from AAMI and home SANFL games!

Potential for more 'home' games perhaps, but it would be highly unlikely we'd move out training base there. For starters, the surface at Footy Park is far better than Thebby. Also, we have long term deals at Footy Park. I'd expect a Waverley-style situation with us at Footy Park for at least the next 20-25 years.

I don't think the cost of a permanent facility would be warranted. It would make more sense to build some kind of shared use facility that the Crows and Port can both use after their home games, maybe the Strikers (and possibly even Adelaide United?) could use it after their home games during the off season. Although at that point I suppose you could ask if it would be simpler and cheaper to just rent out a large function room at the Convention Centre after each home game?

http://www.afc.com.au/news/2016-07-05/crows-fly-to-thebby-

Obviously we know our SANFL team is playing at Thebby this week. I'll be going, maybe the sign of things to come in terms of a base away from AAMI and home SANFL games!
Don't think so. Sounds like the Crows just negotiated with an SANFL club to get a game close to the city as possible for a game and Sturt agreed. We're paying for everything and Sturt are making all the cash, but they said ages ago when it was announced that it was just a one off.