News Tom Gillies open to Hawks move

Look at what you paid for Gunston and that would be a start but really Geelong will probably not trade to anyone short of an "offer we can't refuse" something like a single figure pick. I acknowledge he probably is not worth that but thats what it would take imo. so 99% sure no deal will happen.

We will risk that in the next 12 months he will get more games and be happier to stay. Take West for example 6-8 weeks ago Im sure he would have been looking round , now Id say he would be very happy to stay being a Premiership player and having established himself in the side.
what you think and what your club is after are miles apart, they are prepared to trade for a pick in the late 20's, have no problem with moving him on so don't get bluffed by what the media think and what Balmy is saying.

What makes you think he's a project player?
Well I'm basing it off of how little game time he has had and whilst Geelong fans don't really rate him they still reckon he is worth a lot. If we are keen on winning a GF next year then wouldn't we be better to look for a defender that is tried and proven than go after a player that has seen very little game time and wont just step in and solve all our problems. I know people are sick of the Lisle comparison and his name being thrown everywhere but, Gillies would be another Lisle. They are both capable young players but would struggle to get into our best 22.

This is the third thread where you have asked the exact same question...

Perhaps the Saints were just the first to the table... or Hawthorn had other priorities.

Thanks mate, you are on the ball. It was late and I guess wanted answers. Thanks for the answer, just want the best for the footy club. Your answer is spot on.

We are not going to get Gillies.
There is no possible way the Cats will trade us their next in line, contracted, key defender to help one of their biggest rivals for 2012 fill an area on our list where we are deficient.

Unless of course your club believed they were doing better out of the deal.
Best that doesn't happen, I reckon...

+ 2.

Just the fact he is from Geelong would make it hard for me to like him :D

+ 3.

I reckon we need to knock out Lisle, B.A.Baracus stlye.

I aint bein traded fool! aint i goin in no draft either punk!

A big bastard 195 cm or taller is what we need.

Someone who doesnt get shorter as the game goes on and he gets tired.

Dont care that scarlett is that size, hes an inbred freak.

what you think and what your club is after are miles apart, they are prepared to trade for a pick in the late 20's, have no problem with moving him on so don't get bluffed by what the media think and what Balmy is saying.

TM - based on this will pick 33 be any chance of getting this over the line?

Well , we will only know that for sure if it goes down wont we. You trade someone for a late 20's pick and lets see what happens. If we are just mouthing platitudes , Id think the min. would be a pick earlier than 26. I really don't see why he would be less than Gunston and you have shown what his worth is. For mine I don't think we are just talking , I doubt a deal will get done.

A big bastard 195 cm or taller is what we need.

Someone who doesnt get shorter as the game goes on and he gets tired.

What if this Big Bastard was listed as 193cm but weighed in at 100kg, had a shock of red hair & a very Rough Head?

Would he fit the bill?

Jordan Lisle to Brisbane, Tom Gillies to Hawthorn, Brisbane 2nd round pick to Geelong.

With the Lions likely to receive picks 16 & 20 for Mitch Clark, they may entertain this deal.

Jordan Lisle to Brisbane, Tom Gillies to Hawthorn, Brisbane 2nd round pick to Geelong.

With the Lions likely to receive picks 16 & 20 for Mitch Clark, they may entertain this deal.

It would need to be Brisbane's 2nd and your 2nd (i.e. 30 + 33 or 33 +34 depending on which of their picks Bris is offering). That would get close.

It's probably slightly over his worth but given his contract status we won't trade him at evens, so I'd imagine that's probably what we've asked you to come up with.

Gillies is not worth 2 second picks, lets look at someone else better

Yes. Lets look elsewhere. Or build on what we have. Just rubbing Geelong's ego again and again.
What about this guy Boumann. Any good? Can we do a deal with GWS for him?

What's wrong with giving Lisle a go in the back line? He's go kilos on him and tall. If he hadn't of gotten that facial injury I think he could have cemented a spot forward or back. I wouldn't trade him to Brisbane for a crack at Gillies. Silly. Lisle already has firsts games up his sleeve and we know what we have there and can shape him.