Autopsy V Godees , reversing earlier flogging.

I don’t care that Powell has played three BOG games this year. It’s round 17 for Pete’s sake and he has overall been very disappointing. We can’t keep carrying flaky and out of form players in the midfield.

If there was any fairness or justice, Clarkson should be calling Jy’s pathetic displays this year out in the media. Not good enough. But then again, Clarkson has been really ceap as well. How many times has his lacklustre game day tactics cost is games.

It seems absurd with our midfield investments that we are scraping the bottom of the barrel with 2 of our best 22 mids missing.
It will be his arse on the line if he cant pull the best out of this group from now u till the bye next season.
I truly believe that.

I assume - rightly or wrongly - that this is mostly about protecting other players than Daniel because kicking out of our FB to a stagnant team is one of the toughest gigs around. Personally I would rotate it more - like to see McKercher, Hardiman involved more. Just feel it keeps teams more honest if it isn't the same setup every time.
Perfect. Have been crying out for this change to occur. We are diabolical with 'claiming 8' kicking in.
ur forgetting they didn’t have pickett
We didn't have LDU, Wardlaw, Simpkins, a fit Xerri, and next time we play them, Goodness has to play.

Imagine playing 4 tall defenders. In today’s day and age.

Imagine playing our slowest contested beast on their quickest outside match winner, in the goal square. Of all places.

Imagine playing a half done ruckman, our best player; against a 7 time AA, with no backup except a 5 game kid, 5 game MSD, and 35 year old washed up vet.

Imagine playing our trump card, we traded pick 25 for that he’s got more pick number than inches tall and length of kicking. And actually relying on him to defend.

Imagine being an all time coach with flags galore but can’t get the first piece of the puzzle to fit.

That's just you not understanding what people were saying, but that's okay.

One act doesn't suddenly build a winning culture. It takes many winning acts, consistently, over an extended time. Intentionally going the other way, by trying to lose, is contrary to a winning culture.

It doesn't mean that we've done the right thing consistently enough, since. But in that moment we did.
Now hang on a tick Mr Greaseball. I was told that by winning the last game in 2023 would set up a winning culture. What is there to understand by those sort of musings? That we would be winning moving forward. Not losing. Yet we continue to lose a large number of games. :stern look

I thought Fos had one of his best games for us. Lots of one percenters and got a bit of the footy today. Pretty clean hands.

Little Boomer really showed he belongs. Has great goal sense and I had forgotten what it was like to have someone up forward who can kick them from outside 50.

I actually thought our forward line worked OK without Larkey. Lots of movement up there and we presented and found more leads. We missed a few easy shots from in front in eth 2nd and 3rd which could have made a massive impact to the end result.

Curtis was unstoppable until he hurt his leg.

Xerri beaten, Gawn is a protected species though ... just held onto Xerri all day. Annoying.

Colbys play on kick out today, plus his roost into the centre last week make me think he should take more kick outs. Gives us more unpredictability and teams have to cover more than long up the line against us ... which will mean we might actually have more success if we do go long up the line.

Still letting teams get on a run of goals. This has not improved as much as I would have hoped this year.

Parker made some crucial mistakes in the last. Disappointing considering we recruited him for his experience and poise in pressure, game-in-the-balance moments. He's been good this season, but lowered his colours today.

Yep, I don't understand playing 4 KPDs today either ... probably needed another runner or mid size defender. I thought Chom or W Dawson would have started forward.

I don't think we are that far off to be honest. What we lack are "moments of quality" ... to steal from Phil Parkinson. When we get a turnover or a pressure shot on goal we lacked quality today. Melbourne were the opposite. They kicked them from the pockets and hit targets inside 50 from turnover. I think we have the skill, just need the confidence to execute in those key moments.

I think we have the skill, just need the confidence to execute in those key moments
Mr Bean Waiting GIF by MOODMAN

Seems like Gawn can do what he pleases in the ruck, high fend offs, jumper holding, blocking whatever Max wants the umpires are clueless.

Jy can just F off, no way he should be captain again next year, brings absolutely nothing, no leadership, no direction, nothing.

Copper showed he can play, Dawson looks like he will develop into a good player. Need to focus on some real defenders in the next draft.
I think u have just nailed it why Jy will be reappointed next year

It's not about the barrister. Do you honestly think Cripps gets off and gets a Brownlow playing for North? Zero chance.
It's somewhat tongue in cheek (based on previous MRO findings) from me but as you mention, he doesn't get off if he plays for North. Essentially the North tax applied as it is to all smaller clubs in Melbourne.
What if Simpkin was to confess?

Can he do that?
If it goes to tribunal, I think we'll see Simpkin's part in this scenario be brought up by the North defense. In the end, Simpkin didn't do anything wrong but his action likely contributed to a series of events that resulted in a bloke with a glass jaw needing a ride back to the rooms.

One of the more frustrating days at the footy. For all we did wrong, we should have been much closer at 3/4 time, then who knows. That margin was from 3 frees we would simply never get - Gawn flopping 80m off the ball, the physical powerhouse Caleb Daniel blocking a bloke who was never within coee of the contest, and that deliberate … FFS.

First 7 mins of the last quarter putrid, but who knows had we been level.

Dees hadn’t been playing bad enough to lose five in a row, they were in all of those games, and that blowout can happen when teams break the shackles.

That isn’t the first time Gawn has flopped around like a pansy against us either. w***er.

One of the more frustrating days at the footy. For all we did wrong, we should have been much closer at 3/4 time, then who knows. That margin was from 3 frees we would simply never get - Gawn flopping 80m off the ball, the physical powerhouse Caleb Daniel blocking a bloke who was never within coee of the contest, and that deliberate … FFS.

Dees hadn’t been playing bad enough to lose five in a row, they were in all of those games, and that blowout can happen when teams break the shackles.

That isn’t the first time Gawn has flopped around like a pansy against us either. w***er.
He flopped at least one other time in the game as well.

Strangely, the umps had been red hot on paying frees against X for ruck infringements over recent weeks but none of them seemed to notice Gawn putting his hand in Xerri's face time after time in ruck contests yesterday.

The only thing that is consistent with Umpires at the AFL level is their incompetence.

Extraordinary take on the game.

So you're telling us that this team is so mentally fragile that if we fall behind by a goal or 2 with a quarter to go, we're cooked???

Oh boo hoo!

They didn't have May and if he played we would've scored less.

We're not anywhere near where we need to be and the more we accept these losses the worse it gets.
It makes no difference to our performances whether we accept anything.

Lost our last three by an average of 9 goals. Anyone think we'll get within 9 goals of the opposition except the Saints & Tigers in our last 6 games ?

Giants, Geelong, Adelaide, probably not. We're playing a different sport to tbe top 9. Sydney maybe.

Somehow today I don’t feel annoyed. I just accept that this team is shit and probably won’t get better.
This team has been nut punched by the incompetence of Rawlings.

Him and that money ball ****head rooted this rebuild and we have been playing catch up ever since.

Rawlings is a stink that hangs over this club and I feel like while he is around it’s just going to remain shit.

Extraordinary take on the game.

So you're telling us that this team is so mentally fragile that if we fall behind by a goal or 2 with a quarter to go, we're cooked???

Well I'd say this is self-evident. Mental fragility is the defining characteristic of this team. You see it in games like yesterday. You see it in the last quarter against Carlton. You see it when we're happy to fall over the line by a couple of points against other crap teams despite having them on toast early in the game. You see it every time a bad loss turns into a month of garbage. You hear it in the weasel words from the captain. You see it every time they offer a glimmer of hope and then piss all over it. You see it every Good Friday. You see it every time the same players make the same mistakes week after week after week.

Mentally strong sides would say enough's enough after a couple of years being kicked around, and you'd noticeably feel the resolve to be better. Not us. We collectively lack any self belief or commitment to be anything other than some nice AFL footballers who can do some handy things every now and again.

I've said it before, the whole joint has a stench about it and needs to grow up. They're going absolutely nowhere until this changes.

This team has been nut punched by the incompetence of Rawlings.

Him and that money ball ****head rooted this rebuild and we have been playing catch up ever since.

Rawlings is a stink that hangs over this club and I feel like while he is around it’s just going to remain shit.

We want to blame someone but the whole organisation has a loser mentality. I can pinpoint exactly when it happened - after the Carey incident we we went from the arrogant pr!cks who could win anything, to the miraculous little battlers who punch above their weight. In the following years, as the league became more and more about money, we became smaller and less relevant and seemed to lose belief in the ability to be dominant.

Feels like anyone who gets drafted to us now grew up thinking North was a bit of a joke and kind of irrelevant. We try to draw on the past but it’s further and further away, a bygone era. All of that is also getting less relevant.

It also feels like we could draft anyone to the club and they’ll either not realise their potential or get worse. On the flip, at somewhere like Geelong, it feels like anyone could go there and become a star. That’s where we were in the 90’s.

We need a proper rebuild and reset but I don’t see that it’s truly happening at the moment because everyone is so accepting of mediocrity. Not fans, not posters here, but the whole club is like “ah well, it’ll happen eventually”.

No it won’t! You need to put in the effort and have expectations, and consequences for not meeting them. Or else everything stays the same.

Somehow today I don’t feel annoyed.

This team sucks. I don’t care anymore. Let them have their mental demons forever, never be able to win and live up to expectations. All the Simpkin etc will never magically improve and nor will I expect them to. What difference does it make? I accept that the team I support is not a professional organisation and no longer care. This is liberating.
You do care mate. Why you're here.
We all care. Too much.
It's pitiful what has happened to this team and even wider club.
We fought to survive for this level of acceptance of ineptitude?
I wish I could just throw in towel and walk away, but 50 years of passion won't let me.
I watch games with little excitement and expecting nothing but disappointment. I made my kids North fans and I feel sorry for them.
It's depressing and I used to think North gave their supporters more value for money than any other club. We fought always, even when we weren't good.
We're in a hole that evidence suggests we don't know how to get out of.
And what really frustrates me is the wider acceptance of this as just being a step in the journey.
I firmly believe that until we actually address the root reasons behind our decline we won't turn it around.
And there seems to be little stomach for that.

Autopsy V Godees , reversing earlier flogging.