Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread

I think I've been more disappointed today than I was lastnight after watching the replay and thinking about things that could have gone our way (mainly the Hunter handball to Crameri in the dying minutes). But ahh well, they can only learn from it you'd think.

Guys how were those two roars when we hit the front in the last quarter and when we kicked 8 points clear? Was absolutely huge where I was on Level 1 and I hope the players got a real kick out of it and are hungry for more.

Its all good. Priority going forward needs to be as many MCG games as possible.

And Bevvo better have everyone practising Goal Kicking off season till they are absolutely sick of it :)

Anyone know where we officially finish up now on the ladder ? is it 7th or 8th?

Its all good. Priority going forward needs to be as many MCG games as possible.

And Bevvo better have everyone practising Goal Kicking off season till they are absolutely sick of it :)

Anyone know where we officially finish up now on the ladder ? is it 7th or 8th?
8th. Tigers 7th.

Yeah, they did, but over the past 3-4 years, we've generally been able to handle them pretty well.

I would have felt infinitely more confident in playing the Crows at the MCG, than I did coming up against North. That's not to say I think North are better than the Crows, I think they're about even, but match-ups and certain game styles are critical, and it seems that North generally have us well covered in contested possession and with their talls, whereas we can normally negate the Crows style of play much better than North's.

In a similar way, the Bulldogs' fast rebound brand works better against North than it does against Adelaide.

Both teams have good futures I think, but the pressure really ramps up on us now after 3 years with no finals win, and the pressure for you guys comes in the form of a much tougher draw in 2016.

For the record I think you're right Reaper - that North suits us more and the Crows suit you more. You guys seem to struggle with North a lot, and the Crows have the kind of forward line that can terrorise us a bit.

But we should have won that game. We have no-one to blame but ourselves. No "what ifs" allowed.

I'm not too worried about next year's draw. We were officially 8th after the finals so we'll only get a middle tier draw and it should be reasonable enough. Incidentally, you get the same kind of draw so that is some good news for you today.

Hardwick will certainly be wanting to win a final next year though. Richmond's time is now. If he can't take the next step next year I reckon he'll get the Grant Thomas treatment.

I haven't read this thread all day but I bet my nuts someone has posted their concerns that we might follow Richmond's path and not win in finals.
Time will tell.

Great game. There live sitting amongst Adelaide supporters, was a great laugh.

Safe to say I had at least 20 beers throughout the night. Was drowning my sorrows in full flight.
I had a few before the game and another 2 by quarter time

Gotta say the queue for the urinal was annoying as there was only one toiletroom in one section of level 2 and 3 in the Great Southern Stand, missed the first 5 minutes of the 2nd quarter lol

Both teams have good futures I think, but the pressure really ramps up on us now after 3 years with no finals win, and the pressure for you guys comes in the form of a much tougher draw in 2016.
We won't get a much tougher draw, nothing like you guys probably, because you have the drawcard tag now like Collingwood and because Carlton and Essendon are down the bottom, you'll probably play Hawthorn and Collingwood twice. We will play our usual large quota of interstate sides at home due to the revenue the $FL needing to make elsewhere with Essendon and Carlton down the bottom unlikely to play Hawthorn etc twice next season.

We'll probably play Norf and Geelong twice and 1 of WCE/Freo/Sydney/Adelaide and 1 of Port/GWS twice, dunno who we'll get with the other double up as we fell into the middle six category with you guys, Geelong, Port, GWS and Collingwood.

FWIW we lost to every team we doubled up on this season, 4 of them didn't make finals in Port, Melbourne, St Kilda and Brisbane

I had a few before the game and another 2 by quarter time

Gotta say the queue for the urinal was annoying as there was only one toiletroom in one section of level 2 and 3 in the Great Southern Stand, missed the first 5 minutes of the 2nd quarter lol
It was weird standing in line to go to the toilet. This whole "large crowd" business seems to have it's downfalls :p

im quite embarrassed by our crowd. we were like mutes out there. i was screaming my farking head off while fellow dogs supporters looking at me like i was an idiot, .then u have adelaide supporters going off their nut. god, was that our home game or theres?

You mustn't have been sitting near TheHoneyBadger and me. Honey came up with some gold and I reckon we tried to lift the boys. Problem with the MCC is there are so many neutrals.

It was weird standing in line to go to the toilet. This whole "large crowd" business seems to have it's downfalls :p
As Mofra always has said, it's convenient going to low drawing games due to not having to wait in the many queues, be at the bar, food stall, coffee stall, car park waiting to get out of Etihad, or the toilet :p

For the record I think you're right Reaper - that North suits us more and the Crows suit you more. You guys seem to struggle with North a lot, and the Crows have the kind of forward line that can terrorise us a bit.

But we should have won that game. We have no-one to blame but ourselves. No "what ifs" allowed.

I'm not too worried about next year's draw. We were officially 8th after the finals so we'll only get a middle tier draw and it should be reasonable enough. Incidentally, you get the same kind of draw so that is some good news for you today.

Hardwick will certainly be wanting to win a final next year though. Richmond's time is now. If he can't take the next step next year I reckon he'll get the Grant Thomas treatment.

The "middle" draw thing is a small consolation, but it's still gut-wrenching from our perspective considering this is the 3rd time in 3 years.

For you guys, in some ways it's not as big of a deal, as you're a younger team and will expect to improve. But still, you're right, make no bones about it, Bevo will be just as irritated as Hardwick is about the loss.

Your brand of attack is awesome, it's really your two-way running that just needs some tweaking, but without losing that attacking flair. Too many times the Crows got easy, out-the-back goals against you, so if you are able to fix that up, you're a real chance for Top 4 in 2016.

As for Hardwick and Richmond, well at the end of the day, we need one or two more inside midfielders who can take the load when Cotchin is held, and that will give us sway against the teams that seem to challenge us in this area, such as North, and even you guys.

I still think we're a good team, you're not bad if you win 14+ games in a season, but it's about what you do on the day that counts, and as average as North has been, they made a Preliminary Final from 7th last season, so what happened today isn't totally unexpected either.

As both our clubs are finding out, what you achieve in 23 rounds of H&A season has little weighting if you go out in week 1 of the finals, which is disappointing, considering that both teams had pretty great years, and deserve to still be in the finals.

The "middle" draw thing is a small consolation, but it's still gut-wrenching from our perspective considering this is the 3rd time in 3 years.

For you guys, in some ways it's not as big of a deal, as you're a younger team and will expect to improve. But still, you're right, make no bones about it, Bevo will be just as irritated as Hardwick is about the loss.

Your brand of attack is awesome, it's really your two-way running that just needs some tweaking, but without losing that attacking flair. Too many times the Crows got easy, out-the-back goals against you, so if you are able to fix that up, you're a real chance for Top 4 in 2016.

As for Hardwick and Richmond, well at the end of the day, we need one or two more inside midfielders who can take the load when Cotchin is held, and that will give us sway against the teams that seem to challenge us in this area, such as North, and even you guys.

I still think we're a good team, you're not bad if you win 14+ games in a season, but it's about what you do on the day that counts, and as average as North has been, they made a Preliminary Final from 7th last season, so what happened today isn't totally unexpected either.

As both our clubs are finding out, what you achieve in 23 rounds of H&A season has little weighting if you go out in week 1 of the finals, which is disappointing, considering that both teams had pretty great years, and deserve to still be in the finals.
Desperately need those inside mids imo. It's always been an issue with that Richmond side, but no more so than today.
Jarad Waite laid more tackles than any Richmond player. Pretty damning for inside mids who were also second to the ball a lot of the day.

Turnovers kill us in this current gameplan, too many commit forward at times and don't pay their opponent enough respect

Just brought myself to watch the 2nd half again. We didn't leave anything left out there, every player gave their all. Kicking for goal really was the difference when you watch it again. A lot of the little things, bounce of the ball, handballs half a metre on the wrong side of the player going forward, the small smothers, just didn't go our way. Doesn't make it any easier to swallow watching it again, but does make you proud the effort they gave.

What did you think of Jong's game? IMO - he proved you wrong.
Having watched the replay, he played really well. We all know his limitations in terms of him getting a bit lost times and not making the right decisions, but he hit the packs incredibly hard, gave off handballs to the right people most of the game and gave great run and carry, not to mention his mark and goal in the 3rd.

Agree. He was really important to us. Lots of intensity. Hit the packs hard. Contributed with 20 odd possessions and stood up in front of goal. Very impressive in a final, in particular for a guy in his 23rd game and not playing regular senior footy in the backend of the season.

This loss still hurts. To dominate in every stat except for the one that really mattered bloody sucks. I said to my dad early on that our inaccuracy will cost us the game which unfortunately did in the end.
We got caught out a couple of times getting sucked too far up the ground which is how the Crows scored their first 4 or 5 goals. It would have been handy having JJ on Betts, in reality we had no one to go with him.
Thought Boyd was relatively quiet for his standards. Crameri really needs to stop just slamming it on the foot whenever he is near the sticks. Thought the midfield was great, they didn't stop trying. Minson was good in the ruck, if he wouldn't have played we wouldn't have won the clearances I think. He looked gassed pretty early on though.
Fletch didn't have his best day, was just unfortunate it was in the final. Roughead would have been nice out there too, but there is no point discussing 'what if's' after the game is played.

Also I want to say a big get stuffed to the crows supporter who dobbed someone in for having a flask and getting them kicked out 5 minutes into the game. I wasn't surprised as they kept on turning around looking at me when I was yelling out. Some people just hate fun.

Finally I want to say a big "you're lucky I was held back" to an Adelaide supporter as I held the door open for him and his mate which he replied with "thanks you phukking sucker" which set me completely off. I just cannot believe some people.

So how many boxes of these do you think I'll need for next year?

450_zpscdfijzfg.jpg

If it was just attitude I'd say go for him. It's not and we're not going there. Nor should we.

Im not a fan of players with bad attitudes, but attitudes can be changed. Maybe Bev is the right coach to change his mindset, Carlisle would be more than satisfied playing on our backline.

We also need to remember Barry with his temper.

While he was in the bulldogs, not once did he knock anybody out :p

Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread