No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

Remove this Banner Ad

One also has a duty of care to oneself as self preservation comes first for most people. Unfortunately I think his undoing will be his leaving the ground and not having a pilot licence.
This isn't directed at you, just thinking in an obscure way, what if Maynard was the one that got concussed? Who then owes who a duty of care?
You want a bloke who is running full pelt towards goal and about to kick the ball to think about self preservation. Wow

why do people come up with these really weird arguments

I don't have a narrative, mate.

Previously, I would've considered a smother to be diving across someone's boot as they kick, not jumping up to touch the ball. I'm still learning...it does seem like a stretch of definition.
You're battling here. Not sure what other term you'd ever use for a man on the mark leaping to touch the ball...call it a smother or some other description if you don't reckon a smother suits, but still the same as what Maynard did. Jumped up arms extended to get touch or completely kill the ball's trajectory.

Pretty clearly a type of smother to me. Doesn't need to be the dive across the boot version you're looking for.

I'm not sure what it is you think I'm being, but I don't think I'm being it. I think you have me mistaken.

Here, for completeness from earlier, is down the ground of Brayshaw "moving off his line" (which I would describe as "Brayshaw kicks the ball").

View attachment 1798090

Maynard's intent is to smother the ball (still feels weird).
Not sure this makes the point you want it to. Quite the opposite actually.

Not sure this makes the point you want it to. Quite the opposite actually.
You reckon the ump got it wrong with the free downfield?

I reckon (not that I really care either way) that Maynard put in a sh*t effort, and will likely miss 2 or 3 games.