Autopsy 2023 Rd 2 Blues hold on to beat the reigning premier

Who played well for the Blues in Round 2 vs the Cats?

Just re-watched the whole game.

Great game from the club. I thought our ball movement looked stifled, predictable, and slow last week. This week we seemed much more free flowing, daring, and exciting.

Despite seeming alot more dangerous moving forward, I thought our defensive unit held up just as well as last week.

Much, much better showing from the club. If we can bring that sort of game balance each week, we are going to be a very hard club to beat, and win alot of matches along the way.

The absolute most pleasing thing was the way we closed out the game. Would have been nice to kick one last goal to close the game, but it was also nice to show we could just defend a lead for 6 minutes if we have to.

Shout out to the following players-

Saad- Incredible game. So much more dangerous when he takes the game on and runs past to receive handballs. His ability to close in and spoil a mark is outrageous. Also his skill of being able to keep his feet and soccer the ball a little to his advantage then pick it up is unreal. No other player in the league can do it like he does. When he is on we are so much more dangerous.

Acres- Outstanding. 11 marks. Went hard at the ball all night. Provided great link up, and also pushed back into defense to help out. Couldn't have been happier with his game. This is what we have been lacking on a wing last year.

Hollands- Speaking of what we have been missing on a wing. What this guy has done in his first 2 games is outrageous. Looks so composed. Looks like a 100 game player out there. Runs all goddam day. Not worried about putting his body in. and clean disposal. Looking forward to seeing him in navy blue for a long and successful career. Well done Austin.

Charlie- Not much to be said. Top 3 player in the comp. Match winner. Star. Great game.

Harry- Kudos to H. Worked his tail off and made space for Charlie to shine. Credit to him for that. His final 7 minutes was absolutely massive, and won us the game with some of those contested marks. He will have games where he kicks bags no doubt, but he is also a weopon pushing up the ground like that.

Defensive group looked solid as. Weiters gave Hawkins a bath, and Young looks like he is continuing to build. Feel like McGovern is working his way into form.

Small forwards- Durdin looked lively. Attacked the footy and the man. Kicked a ripper. Should have had a 2nd from that set shot. Probably deserved 2. Motlop linked up nice early. He will be a ripper with more experience under his belt. Owies has the least X factor of them all, but just knows where to be to get on the end of goals, which in itself is a skill.

Basically everyone played there role this game. Which is all we need. Wrapped with the team effort and brand of footy. Bring on these Giants next week.

and another thing - if cameron is the second coming as everyone seems to be spruiking, how come he didn't outmark young in that tense last minute tussle?

Hollands and Walsh will be topping the running charts every game for years to come. True oxygen bros.

Noticed Harry was very high up on the distance covered leaderboard for much of the first two rounds.

Love to see that kind of fitness and effort from the biggest bloke on the field.

and another thing - if cameron is the second coming as everyone seems to be spruiking, how come he didn't outmark young in that tense last minute tussle?
Because he was rooted ?

but he's a footballing god isn't he? young was rooted too - he just got lucky the other night - major over-reaction by carlton supporters with club cringe

hall of fame game missed the point GIF