Preview Changes: R4 vs Brisbane

I'd play Poholke too.

We could always bring both in, drop Matt and move Sloane to half forward.
I reckon Matt is one of the best off the tap ruck takers around. I’d be dropping brah brah.

Even Brad Crouch conceded on 5AA tonight that he thinks there will be a few changes this week, main training isn’t until Friday though.
He might get his same wage for a five year deal.

I concede playing the other options.
But I’m pissed he was never designed much of a role yet taken in. It’s just ******* stupid.

Gibbs had a good 2018, though not to the heights we were hoping. He just fell off a cliff in 2019.

I see your point, I just prefer Matt personally as I really think Brad wants out and isn't interested. But either/or at the moment, neither is playing to their best.

Rowe said an interesting thing on AA tonight. No idea if it was true but he said "I messaged Brad after the game and said I hope your cheek is ok, and Brad replied with "who cares".

Made me think twice about his commitment after hearing that.

The only reason for playing Gibbs would be so we can drop one of the Crouches, and send a message. Bringing him in for Atkins or anyone else would just be depriving a kid of gametime.
Exactly - Blighty wasn’t about denying kids, just rotating the olds and, as you say, send a message

Gibbs had a good 2018, though not to the heights we were hoping. He just fell off a cliff in 2019.
Gibbs. My remembrance of Gibbs. Definitely Old man Ross for a start.
Sit in Glenelg oval on a back pocket seeing a player from WA do the waltz. Had a perfect torp. Bringing back the father son thing just wasn’t sensible.

Brad is all over him for stoppage clearances
Yeah cos he gets it out to him and then he burns it mate. He needs to give it to someone that can give us a clean field advantage x

I'm enjoying reading this changes thread, because it feels like we're all on the same page - we (BF) can finaly admit we've hit rock botom and we have no choice but to play the kids.

Which leaves the club in a worse position - do they try and spin their way out if it again? I don't think there's anywhere left to go for them. I *like* that there's some people whose legacies will be tarnished with this. Having never taken the tough option before, they are being dragged kicking and screaming to judgement. And we all know what to tell them...

"make the 8 and anything can happen"

I think this is one of those times when identifying the problem doesn’t help with a solution

the problem is clearly one of culture and trust. There is a distrust and dislike between the players and admin/management. This has been the problem since the bloody camp, and has gotten worse

it is an unhappy group, who are not pulling for each other or the guernsey.

the club is rife with mistrust

whilst Nicks has singled out the senior players as being held to higher standards, and will no doubt drop a couple - I’m not sure how much it helps

when the culture & trust is this fractured, it’s like when the playing group goes down with gastro - you end up replacing players with other guys just as sick

our kids look to be playing with as little joy as the senior blokes

the young ins will be suffering the same malaise

drop 10 senior players for 10 from the reserves - they’re all as disaffected as each other

and I don’t see an easy or quick way out

I think this is one of those times when identifying the problem doesn’t help with a solution

the problem is clearly one of culture and trust. There is a distrust and dislike between the players and admin/management. This has been the problem since the bloody camp, and has gotten worse

whilst Nicks has singled out the senior players as being held to higher standards, and will no doubt drop a couple - I’m not sure how much it helps

when the culture & trust is this fractured, it’s like when the playing group goes down with gastro - you end up replacing players with other guys just as sick

drop 10 senior players for 10 from the reserves - they’re all as disaffected as each other

There is not. Find a way shouldn’t be on the agenda when 44 don’t know how to play team.
keep sinking is an option.
Otherwise play for fun. Find the fun.

We're paying the price for the admin using the review to exonerate and even praise themselves. Never mind the fact that they employed, retained and promoted those who were later terminated, and repeatedly denied that we had cultural issues that were later found to be present.

I have come round to Gibbs in the centre in place of M Crouch. What has Matt been doing other than chip passes and useless snaps?

I actually think he is in trouble looking at the stats. Against port time on ground just 80% with only Jones and McHenry having less time. Against GC it was even less with 71% TOG, the least of any player with Jones and McHenry having 82/83% TOG. Tells me Nicks is sitting him out as he can't play anywhere else and he is frustrated by him.

Across those 2 matches he has laid 5 tackles (Brad-10, ROB-12), delivered 15 kicks and 33 handballs, 33!!! The ball does not move anywhere when Matt has it. Same number of clearances as his brother but only 340 metres gained compared to Brad's 495 metres.

Matt needs a rest!!

I have come round to Gibbs in the centre in place of M Crouch. What has Matt been doing other than chip passes and useless snaps
You’re getting it wrong. It’s his brother that distributes it like ass.

Gibbs. My remembrance of Gibbs. Definitely Old man Ross for a start.
Sit in Glenelg oval on a back pocket seeing a player from WA do the waltz. Had a perfect torp. Bringing back the father son thing just wasn’t sensible.

Not to mention the odd droppie. Smooth mover and clever player.

Easy to be wise now but I never really saw what others did in Bryce. Up to him to resurrect his career, if he can

Not to mention the odd droppie. Smooth mover and clever player.

Easy to be wise now but I never really saw what others did in Bryce. Up to him to resurrect his career, if he can
Damn straight.

How about giving him a squirt through the midfield when all is failing where he played his best junior footy footy and won the Northern Knights B & F because one certainty there is he'll bring the effort and pressure. Size hasn't stopped Lachie Neale, Dayne Zorko or Dion Prestia from playing midfield/on the ball.
They all have talent, though. Murphy is a battler who struggles to get involved and is rough by foot. Glad we've given him a go but he's nothing like the players you mentioned.

What exactly does the bolded even mean?

He was ready when we drafted him, played amazing football for Launy against the bigger bodied men. We've stymied his development.

The Tasmanian played seven senior games for Launceston this year, two of which were finals. Remarkably, Jones finished second in the League’s Player of the Year award despite only playing five regular season games, recording votes in each of his games including three consecutive best-on-ground performances.
Not sure how we've stymied his development. He's gotten plenty of games and has spent a lot of time around the ball. He just can't get his hands on it.

Rowe said an interesting thing on AA tonight. No idea if it was true but he said "I messaged Brad after the game and said I hope your cheek is ok, and Brad replied with "who cares".

Made me think twice about his commitment after hearing that.
Huh. That's interesting because i take that as he was so upset that we lost he didn't care he was hurt. Basically the exact opposite. Maybe I'm just seeing what i want to see though.

They all have talent, though. Murphy is a battler who struggles to get involved and is rough by foot. Glad we've given him a go but he's nothing like the players you mentioned.
That was in regard to size and he's very close to all in stature but of course you'd know better, maybe if we played him where his "natural" game is we might just get an idea of what he's capable of. He never, ever struggled to get involved when he played on the ball or defence in the U18's and he most certainly didn't struggle to get involved in the SANFL when played across half back or in the few squirts he had on the ball.

Some of the AFL Draft Central team's comments from Murphy's draft year.....struggles to get involved?

Fellow Coburg pair Marcus Lentini (30 disposals) and Luke Bunker (23) were among Northern’s best, with Adelaide draftees Matthew Signorello and Lachlan Murphy managed 27 disposals and a goal each.

while Lachlan Murphy had a day out feasting on 26 disposals, 14 handball receives, two marks and three tackles. Luke Bunker was not far behind with 25 touches, 12 marks and five tackles in a hard working effort.

#9 – Lachlan Murphy

At all clearance opportunities, Murphy was the go-to player for Knights, sharking from the ruck contests multiple times. Set the Knights up going out of the contest, showing he can win a great mix of inside and outside football and using his already developed frame collecting 30 disposals.

Matthew Signorello (30 disposals) was one of the few strong performers for the Knights, while midfielders Luke Bunker and Lachlan Murphy both found the football with 25 disposals each.

Michael Alvaro’s scouting notes:

Northern Knights:
#9 Lachlan Murphy
– has genuine speed, ran hard and collected a heap of the ball. Is highly damaging with these traits, as well as his booming left foot, which is also very efficient

Lachlan Murphy racked up 37 disposals, seven marks, six tackles and a goal in an impressive performance, while Isaac Miller was one of the best for the Pioneers with 35 disposals, eight marks and six tackles.

Carlton Father/Son prospect Jake Bradley (Son of Craig) played his best game for the Knights, collecting 21 disposals showing his dash through the middle of the ground. Midfielder Luke Bunker backed up last weeks effort, again collecting 25 disposals in another impressive showing for the Knights. Lachlan Murphy‘s run out of defence was also impressive and set the Knights up moving forward.

Knights midfielders Lachlan Murphy (26 disposals), Luke Bunker (25 disposals) and Patrick Naish (20 disposals) tried hard all day, but they were unable to stem the flow of play with Filipovic dominating in the ruck.

Preview Changes: R4 vs Brisbane