Preview Changes: R6 2021 v Hawthorn in Tasmania

Worrell in, Hamill to the wing, Seedsman to half forward. Done.
Have you ever seen Worrell play in the flesh? He shows great potential as the third tall defender (Doedee replacement) and might develop into a key defender if he can increase his strength in a contest. Nah, let’s see if he can handle Winguard or Breust.

Hamill is showing promise as a rebounding, small defender. In two and a bit seasons at the AFC he has almost always played in defence. I think he could develop into an excellent wingman but is it a good idea to stuff him around?

Seedsman is having his best patch of form in forever playing on the wing with the occasional spurt in the guts, let’s stuff him around and move him to half forward, a position he has hardly ever played in the AFL.

The Playstation Generation 🤔.

If Hately comes in as a forced replacement for Berry, then that's one less option available for the unforced replacement of Lynch...
Hately coming in for Berry probably means Lynch stays in, as much as I hate to say it

Cook/Pedlar not quite ready, Jones out of form and Milera/Hinge/Crouch/Sloane all injured kind of restricts us

If Roo’s opinion has any influence on selection then I can’t see Frampton playing this week, talk about it in first 10 minutes of The Bump podcast

Roo had me shaking my head this morning on the radio.
They were talking footy and said Houston looked like he could be in doubt with a shoulder injury.
And straight away said if he was doubtful with an injury, he should rest and get it right before coming back into the team.
Obviously a different policy to what we normally see at the Crows

If Roo’s opinion has any influence on selection then I can’t see Frampton playing this week, talk about it in first 10 minutes of The Bump podcast
I heard that but I don't think he currently has any sway over selection. I think the final straw for Frampton was when he kicked for goal and it missed by 30 metres to the right. Unlikely we will see him again this year unless injuries.

They were talking footy and said Houston looked like he could be in doubt with a shoulder injury.
And straight away said if he was doubtful with an injury, he should rest and get it right before coming back into the team.
Houston’s shoulder was a bit more severe than the injuries to the likes of Tex and Lynch though, he had to be subbed out of the game

This will probably be the team, at this point:

B: Brown, Butts, Kelly
HB: Hamill, Doedee, Smith
C: Sholl, Laird, Seedsman
HF: Fogarty, Walker, Murphy
F: McAdam, Himmelberg, Rowe
R: ROB, Keays, Schoenberg
I/C: Hately, McHenry, McPherson, Lynch

Have you ever seen Worrell play in the flesh? He shows great potential as the third tall defender (Doedee replacement) and might develop into a key defender if he can increase his strength in a contest. Nah, let’s see if he can handle Winguard or Breust.

Hamill is showing promise as a rebounding, small defender. In two and a bit seasons at the AFC he has almost always played in defence. I think he could develop into an excellent wingman but is it a good idea to stuff him around?

Seedsman is having his best patch of form in forever playing on the wing with the occasional spurt in the guts, let’s stuff him around and move him to half forward, a position he has hardly ever played in the AFL.

The Playstation Generation 🤔.
Can’t believe anyone wants to move Seed into another position after putting together the best start to a season of his career

"Literally anyone" isn't an answer. Once again, you're throwing sh*t at the club, while not providing any solutions yourself.

At least jackster83 has come up with a specific solution.
You want me to list our players? For what purpose?

Hately
Murray
Jones
McAsey
Thilthorpe
Worrell
Himmelberg
Borlase

Did any of them warrant a game?

Probably not.

Does it matter?

Not in the slightest.

If Lynch can play with basically an entirely f’ed toe, then surely Berry will play under the same logic
As much as I have disliked Lynch's form (and as much as I'm not sure it's entirely based around injury), I'm not risking under ANY circumstances a 1st year player that's just freshly rolled an ankle

Would be a big selection move to pick Pedlar, and I'd almost be all for it. Probably needs 1 more week in the 2s but let's give it a go.

Would be happy to see Hately come in too

As much as I have disliked Lynch's form (and as much as I'm not sure it's entirely based around injury), I'm not risking under ANY circumstances a 1st year player that's just freshly rolled an ankle

Of course not. No sensible club would ever play injured players.

Would be a bit rich though to pick and choose which injured players should be taking the field, especially if the criteria is "experience"

Seeing Walker run around in excellent form at the start of the season and Sloane have an excellent Game 1... would our coaches have looked at that and thought

Gee, they're still capable of really good football

I wonder why we haven't seen that the last couple of years?

I wonder why they're playing well now?

What could we have done differently the last couple of years so that we saw more of this form?

Would be a bit rich though to pick and choose which injured players should be taking the field, especially if the criteria is "experience"
Our management of older players has been even worse than our management of young players

Imagine grinding sublime talents like Walker and Sloane into the ground so that they look shadows of their former selves?

The thing is, at least with Lynch you're not risking any future scope for player development by playing him. Playing Berry means there's the risk of exasperating said rolled ankle and a prolonged period on the sidelines. With Lynch, I'd argue 1) it's an injury that he's at least proven he can cope with and not mean we're basically playing with 21 players (as average as he's been) and 2) if he does exasperate his toe injury, it's not going to hurt our chances of developing him going forward, as he's at the end of his career lol

And given we've got not many options to cover for Lynch at this point (assuming Hately comes in for Berry), I'd understand if we kept Lynch in the side for this week and rested Berry. Like I said as well, I get the feeling Lynch's toe injury has been exaggerated somewhat - slight niggle, but he's just moreso out of form than anything else for mine, father time is catching up with him

Thank you for providing a specific solution - something which our resident troll moderator is either unable or unwilling to do.

On the face of it, your solution has some merit.

My problem is this: we're already one mid/running player short, courtesy of choosing to replace Sloane with Fogarty. This structural flaw was badly exposed last week against Fremantle, where every man & his dog could see that we were one midfielder short. Bringing in Worrell, a tall, and shuffling the magnets, still amounts to replacing a running player with a slower tall. We're already exposed due to our lack of running/midfielder types, and your proposed solution would exacerbate the problem.

This is the quandry that the selectors face...

Mate you could drop Lynch for Dylan Alcott and you’d improve the running capacity of the side.

Houston’s shoulder was a bit more severe than the injuries to the likes of Tex and Lynch though, he had to be subbed out of the game
I saw on Fox Sport News last night that Houston should play. I need him to play for my supercoach as Ridley out with concussion.

The thing is, at least with Lynch you're not risking any future scope for player development by playing him. Playing Berry means there's the risk of exasperating said rolled ankle and a prolonged period on the sidelines. With Lynch, I'd argue 1) it's an injury that he's at least proven he can cope with and not mean we're basically playing with 21 players (as average as he's been) and 2) if he does exasperate his toe injury, it's not going to hurt our chances of developing him going forward, as he's at the end of his career lol

And given we've got not many options to cover for Lynch at this point (assuming Hately comes in for Berry), I'd understand if we kept Lynch in the side for this week and rested Berry. Like I said as well, I get the feeling Lynch's toe injury has been exaggerated somewhat - slight niggle, but he's just moreso out of form than anything else for mine, father time is catching up with him
Cook will replace Lynch very shortly. I would play McAdam up the ground (instead of Lynch) as he is doing very little forward and bring Newchurch in. Get some pace in that forward line. Probably not ready but let's see what he can do in a better system. Nick's should start experimenting with some different looks.

After last week’s match Kern bragged that they had half a dozen players carrying injuries and how brave were the Pear to grind out a win.

Every week, every club has players who go onto the field carrying injuries. Kelly and Smith had good games despite their injuries. Lynch was average and McAdam was awful but that is not a lot different to their pre-injury form.

The player that I would rest is Tex. We have seen what a banged up Tex looks like and it isn’t pretty. We could either rest or drop McAdam. I won’t lose any sleep if we rest/drop Lynch.

After last week’s match Kern bragged that theyhad half a dozen players carrying injuries and how brave were the Pear to grind out a win.

Every week, every club has players who go onto the field carrying injuries. Kelly and Smith had good games despite their injuries. Lynch was average and McAdam was awful but that is not a lot different to their pre-injury form.

The player that I would rest is Tex. We have seen what a banged up Tex looks like and it isn’t pretty. We could either rest or drop McAdam. I won’t lose any sleep if we rest/drop Lynch.

I think McAdam is one player that struggles to play when he is carrying an injury.
Would definately give him a week off

Cook will replace Lynch very shortly. I would play McAdam up the ground (instead of Lynch) as he is doing very little forward and bring Newchurch in. Get some pace in that forward line. Probably not ready but let's see what he can do in a better system. Nick's should start experimenting with some different looks.
IMO it’s too early to put Newchurch or Cook in. Cook probably has a bigger chance of playing games this year, but both are going to be medium-to-slow burns, Tariek in particular would get eaten alive at senior level right now, I think. The absolute earliest I reckon Newchurch plays is R1, 2022 (unless he suddenly starts bashing down the door in a month or two’s time), and I’m cool with that, let him build some form and confidence in himself

Do agree that Cook is the long-term Lynch replacement

"Literally anyone*" isn't an answer. Once again, you're throwing sh*t at the club, while not providing any solutions yourself.

At least jackster83 has come up with a specific solution.

* except Fogarty.

Talk about missing the point Vader. What people are saying is it doesn't matter if we 'throw out the balance of the team' ... It's not about that.

But please ... Do go on [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Who said his toe was entirely stuffed? There is no way anyone would play if it was severe, you would struggle to walk let alone run
No idea how severe it is but he was basically useless as soon as the ball hit the ground. He might be able to run in straight lines ok but it appears as though he is struggling big time with other movement. It may be one of those injuries where 1 week off would do nothing to fix it, so they have decided to leave him in at reduced capacity instead of ruling him out for an extended period.

Preview Changes: R6 2021 v Hawthorn in Tasmania