Prediction Changes: Round 13 Vs Richmond + prematch discussion

Has anyone mentioned that it's round 13? We haven't lost one of those for nearly a decade.
  • R13 2013: Beat North Melbourne by 38 (Subiaco Oval)
  • R13 2014: Beat Richmond by 20 (MCG)
  • R13 2015: Beat Collingwood by 7 (Subiaco Oval)
  • R13 2016: Beat Port Adelaide by 17 (Subiaco Oval)
  • R13 2017: Bye
  • R13 2018: Beat Carlton by 57 (Docklands)
  • R13 2019: Beat Port Adelaide by 21 (Optus Stadium)
  • R13 2020: Beat Sydney by 31 (Optus Stadium)
  • R13 2021: Beat Gold Coast by 27 (Optus Stadium)
  • R13 2022: Beat Hawthorn by 13 (Optus Stadium)
That Carlton one in 2018 was enjoyable it was my birthday the following day so was out at the pub with mates watching it before going the casino as Socceroos had a WC game against France that night.

But we had them at 77-7 at halftime I think and Derwayne was calling for mercy.

The Blues got belted with boos at halftime after going goalless in the first half.

Has anyone mentioned that it's round 13? We haven't lost one of those for nearly a decade.
  • R13 2013: Beat North Melbourne by 38 (Subiaco Oval)
  • R13 2014: Beat Richmond by 20 (MCG)
  • R13 2015: Beat Collingwood by 7 (Subiaco Oval)
  • R13 2016: Beat Port Adelaide by 17 (Subiaco Oval)
  • R13 2017: Bye
  • R13 2018: Beat Carlton by 57 (Docklands)
  • R13 2019: Beat Port Adelaide by 21 (Optus Stadium)
  • R13 2020: Beat Sydney by 31 (Optus Stadium)
  • R13 2021: Beat Gold Coast by 27 (Optus Stadium)
  • R13 2022: Beat Hawthorn by 13 (Optus Stadium)
North -indo
Tigers - pavs goal in the wet maybe?
Pies - was this the Dawson ruck game?
Port.- idno
Carlton - the game when we destroyed them by half time, their fans were livid in the crowd
Port - Walters 6? Darcy going boonta in the last quarter I think
Swans - idno
Gc - Saturday arvo snorefest at Optus, may have been concas last game.or something, maybe walkers debut? Just remember Conca for this game for some reason
Hawks - brayshaw backheel goal

There's my off the cuff attempt at remembering games

North -indo
Tigers - pavs goal in the wet maybe?
Pies - was this the Dawson ruck game?
Port.- idno
Carlton - the game when we destroyed them by half time, their fans were livid in the crowd
Port - Walters 6? Darcy going boonta in the last quarter I think
Swans - idno
Gc - Saturday arvo snorefest at Optus, may have been concas last game.or something, maybe walkers debut? Just remember Conca for this game for some reason
Hawks - brayshaw backheel goal

There's my off the cuff attempt at remembering games
The gc game was Alex Pearce first game back in forever and he did a pretty good job on King iirc. Darcy also went crazy that game

Do you know who the left-field replacement for JOM is that McArdle refers too? It's paywalled and there's no way I'm ever spending a cent on that paper.

Seems he's considering putting Johnson more inside and bringing in Henry

Henry over Brodie or Erasmus is so bad…
I can think of worse, Henry is doing everything asked of him at Peel and they clearly want to reward performance (though agree it's harsh on the other two).

I actually think it's mainly that the club seems to rate Johnson as high as any player on the list and want to prioritise him as much as anyone

Seems he's considering putting Johnson more inside and bringing in Henry

Thanks mate.

I guess that's left field-ish but playing 2 guys in their natural positions isn't that revolutionary. Henry another crack on the wing will annoy some but he's played his way in there form-wise. Brodie and Ras would be rightly peeved. I'm not sure I'd do the same thing but I don't mind it and it's not as out of order as some previous selection calls that've been made. It will be great to see MJ inside for a full stint. That could be very exciting.

Edit - or what Snuff said as I was typing :)

I can think of worse, Henry is doing everything asked of him at Peel and they clearly want to reward performance (though agree it's harsh on the other two).

I actually think it's mainly that the club seems to rate Johnson as high as any player on the list and want to prioritise him as much as anyone

As I said I'm not sure I'd go that way but I would enjoy seeing it. I'd love to see what Henry is capable of if he was to say get half a season of rope and excused crap performances before finding form ;). His delivery inside 50 is as good as anyone else we've got and we could always do with more of that. He needs to improve on what he's shown but he's shown glimpses that indicate he could be better than good.

I've said similar, I wont write him off till he's not on an AFL list come March one year, there is something there I'm sure of it. His work rate on the field is now as good as anyone not named Brayshaw and when he gets it right, he can completely open up a footy field with those aggressive short kicks. He's potentially a poor mans Nick Daicos (POTENTIALLY, dont @ me haters). It's really all about decision making with him now which just needs game time.

I just dont know if a finals team can commit the 10-20 consistent games in a season that he needs.

I've said similar, I wont write him off till he's not on an AFL list come March one year, there is something there I'm sure of it. His work rate on the field is now as good as anyone not named Brayshaw and when he gets it right, he can completely open up a footy field with those aggressive short kicks. He's potentially a poor mans Nick Daicos (POTENTIALLY, dont @ me haters). It's really all about decision making with him now which just needs game time.

I just dont know if a finals team can commit the 10-20 consistent games in a season that he needs.
how much of a drop off would he be from what were getting from NOD or Aish atm anyway? Aish has had some poor moments this season and certainly hasnt impacted games massively, NOD still finding his feet and happy to persist with him as weve seen what he can produce there., but its not like wed be going from A+ performances on the wing to a C- you know?

Nod's building every week IMO where his big body running up and down as hard as he can makes more of a difference than I think a lot realise. Agree with Aish who has fallen away a bit this year to just be an eh player. They are definitely two spots that arent as guaranteed as others though and if Liam keeps playing how he is at Peel, he can force his way in.

Also agree that him playing in a good team would have him looking better than he did the first few weeks, he'll definitely always look horrible in a bad team, it's just the player he is.

yeah with a half functioning forward line as well, might be better off kicking to a leading Amiss than a still Tabs ha
Don’t think that’s the issue. It’s not who’s playing in the forward line, it’s Henry and his decision making.
Lately the backs to midfield has been quicker and direct. Henry needs to do the same and take the first option. Nothing special, nothing complicated. He takes too long, then goes back to the basic option and it’s gone.

Don’t think that’s the issue. It’s not who’s playing in the forward line, it’s Henry and his decision making.
Lately the backs to midfield has been quicker and direct. Henry needs to do the same and take the first option. Nothing special, nothing complicated. He takes too long, then goes back to the basic option and it’s gone.
i agree its his decision making but good leading patterns and forward structure make it an easy decision where to kick to and i hope the team moving faster as a whole can rub off on Henry.

i dont watch a lot of Peel, is he taking his time there since being dropped or is he moving it on a bit quicker now?

He does do that too much. But sometimes he just pulls the trigger and even when it doesn't come off I've looked at it and gone yeah that was a great option. Confidence plays a big part. He knows he's on a short rope with JL2 and I suspect that factors in to it as he doesn't want to make a mistake.

I think and hope the revised setup they have put in place helps him out. More of us up at the contest and more dare when moving the pill has seemed to open things up at times and that would seem to suit him.

I agree with Snuff that you probably can't do it in a winning team pushing for finals (although we seemed too with someone else) but I think he'd benefit from being told "you've got 6 weeks where if you keep your efforts and your running patterns up, you'll play, don't worry about the mistakes, just got for it and see what form you can hit". I suspect we'd see something very good but there's also a chance we wouldn't.

i agree its his decision making but good leading patterns and forward structure make it an easy decision where to kick to and i hope the team moving faster as a whole can rub off on Henry.

i dont watch a lot of Peel, is he taking his time there since being dropped or is he moving it on a bit quicker now?
He has been an inside midfielder. More accountable and gets more of a look with the ball. Actually been pretty creative.

Prediction Changes: Round 13 Vs Richmond + prematch discussion