Changes v Freo Anchors

But your wanting him dropped on the basis of his form as a forward but he played as a defender today. taylor had little impact so a win to Otten IMO. We could do that because there was no match up for him down back.

How will Freo set up and will we need a 3rd tall defender? If so - he plays for mine.

I'd say you wouldn't even need a 2nd tall defender, chances are our only tall will be a resting ruckman or maybe Silvagni who is isn't a forwards arseh*le, best load up on running defenders.

I like the thought of playing LJ for Otten. Surely LJ can keep Johnson accountable (and if not, it helps my Fantasy Elite team).

Think Smack shoulld come back in, but can't find a spot. Probably for JJ, but dunno if that really is the right move.

Kerridge in for Thommo if a rest is required.

Thought Mackay was quiet, get his "speed" off the subs bench in the 3rd could be handy.

I'd say you wouldn't even need a 2nd tall defender, chances are our only tall will be a resting ruckman or maybe Silvagni who is isn't a forwards arseh*le, best load up on running defenders.
Thanks . If that's the case they may go for a similar structure of 4 running / small defenders - brown, hendo, bling and laird.

Otten to stay with same defensive forward role on Johnson.

Only change Kerridge for Thommo

Out: Jenkins (Omit), Thompson (Inj)
In: Johnston, Kerridge

We desperately need someone who can kick straight next week and Johnston is that guy, we were very lucky that Jenkins horrific kicking didn't cost us the game, LJ has gone into the ruck with some success in the SANFL so he at least knows how to ruck, he's short at 190 but he doesn't really need to win too many taps since he won't be rucking a whole lot, only to give Sauce a spell here and there.
I'd happily get LJ in the side but Johnston is only BARELY a SANFL backup option. I watched his game a fortnight ago and I have no idea how he registered as many hitouts as he did. A bunch of times he didn't even attempt to contest and tried to just shark the oppositions tap - including at center bounces. Played a ripper game around the ground but I'd have zero confidence in him to negate even the worst AFL ruckman.There's no chance we'll try him in that role at AFL level. If Sauce goes down, we'd be screwed with him as our only backup. I'd just about be more confident getting Truck to do the taps.

Along with Sauce, one of Jenkins or McKernan need to be in the side (Graham is not an option)
If we are to bring in LJ, Otten (who I think played well and I'd give a role on Michael Johnson) or a small, weather permitting, (given that we're not lining up overly tall at the moment) are our best bets. Maybe even Truck this week, given how tiny Freo's forward line is right now.

Was just watching sanderson's press conference and noticed he said henderson needed pain killing injections in the knee? Anyone see what happened because he seemed to be moving pretty freely the entire match. Any chance he'll miss a few?

Hope not he's fast (like himself) becoming one of my favourite players behind Danger, Sloane and Walker.

Re Crowley would like VB to go to him whoever he goes to and get physical with him even if he gives away a couple of free's just want someone to run through him, land on him or my old fav of getting up with your hand on the back of his head type of thing. Anything so he knows he has played a game of footy. I believe we do not niggle opposition taggers nearly enough. Back when Gaj was at geelong the other mids constantly ran into, blocked and harassed opposition taggers at stoppages want to see some of that ffs Milburn and Sando should no how this works.

wouldnt be against giving JJ a rest and bringing in LJ. Club needs to take a serious look at what LJ can bring to AFL based on multiple appearances, and not one every blue moon. Im a huge fan of Jenkins and think he and Tex will make a great combo, however I think 1 week off wont hurt him too much. Hes shouldered our whole forward line all year and hes played roughly 30 games. thats a huge ask.

We could play JJ, LJ and lynchy all in the same forward line and try to stretch freo's talls. Make jonhson accountable and limit his offensive influence.

Otten will play on Johnson just like he did on Taylor this week. Going tall against Freo isn't that effective because they flood back with numbers anyway. If we went tall they would run the ball out too easy. JJ will stay in and face Dawson.

yeah he had a fantastic game and looks to be developing nicely. Just seemed an odd thing for the coach to say and it seemed no one asked any further about it.

Yeah I would be surprised if he was carrying anything, usually with that type of injury you can tell. Their performance usually isn't like the one Hendo had. Maybe he is though.

Think it's an old injury, from a week or two back. From memory he was mentioned as a possible omission early in the week, only to pass his fitness test and make the team. I could be wrong though.

Nah, you're right. Think he copped it in the GC game. Most players carry some sort of niggle though.

WTF are people talking about re dropping Jenkins?

18 poss , 6 marks and an inspirational goal.

GTFO

Agreed, I think Jenkins is being judged rather harshly on here, especially of late. Currently playing as our only true key forward whilst also assisting Jacobs with the ruckwork. He's providing a target and generally competing well for the footy. He's not Kurt Tippett or Taylor Walker, yet, but he's working hard and is gaining valuable experience learning the game.

The reason why Otten worked as a forward yesterday is because his biggest - and perhaps only - weapon is his ability to read the ball in the air, which is the most important skill to have on a wet and blustery day, closely followed by the ability to pick up a wet ball off a wet deck with one touch.

I don't think it's going to be raining at Subiaco next week.

We had a good win, I'm absolutely certain we'll go in unchanged unless forced by injury (ie Thompson), in which case I expect it'll either be McKernan or Kerridge in based on whether or not Sandilands plays

Jenkins backed himself for two big runs, got caught by faster midfielders, but still managed to dispose of the ball legally both times, and in both instances that play continued on without stoppage into goals for us. He doesn't look tired to me, at all.

Why don't any of you flogs want Tambling dropped?

Because he played better than, and offered more than Mackay yesterday? I was shocked to see Mackay had 25 touches given how little I saw him actually receive, run and usefully deliver the ball. Tambling made a couple of mistakes, but otherwise made space, picked good options kicking forward and hit targets more often than not.

Changes v Freo Anchors