Changes v Port Power est 1997

He's got 3x best-22 players returning this week, so yes, he's making 3 changes. He made 3 changes last week, 2 of which were unforced (Poholke & Knight). He made 4 changes in R5, only 2 of which were really forced (dropping Fogarty was definitely unforced, Sloane could have played but they definitely wanted to rest him).

It is very, very, likely that we'll see 3 changes this week - 4 if Hartigan is available, and they don't need him to have a run in the SANFL first. Sloane, Knight, and Walker will all play. Fogarty and Milera will miss. The only question is which player is unlucky to be omitted - CEY or Gallucci.

Knight isnt a guaranteed best 22 player.

Knight can get the ball once in a game and that 1 touch will be better than Atkins getting 50 touches.

I've seen more than enough of Atkins so called elite leg - total myth......its like Hayleys comet comes around once in a hundred years.

I'm sick and tired on watching Atkins insipid half hearted attack on a player with the ball. He has zero intensity.

Most over rated player on our list.

Dmac cops heaps on this board, I've even been a critic, but Dmac will put his body on the line and will attack the physical contest when required. In the same situation you will find Atkins in the top row of the Riverbank stand.

Be prepared to keep this crusade going for a long time. 21.2 disposals/432 average meter gained/5 score involvements are good numbers for a supporting outside midfielder (seeing our main offensive mover is Seedsman) and will see Atkins keep his spot for the foreseeable future. As long as Atkins is giving a good offensive game, we'll carry his defensive work/lack of attack on the ball because it none of those matter as much as those three numbers I mentioned above for his role. Those factors may see him replaced when a more rounded option exists, but that currently doesn't (seeing Knight is primarily a half forward)

It's why Mackay cops flack, sure he attacks the ball when required, but he's spent his career failing at what is expected for an outside midfielder.

I don't think he should be either, but the selectors clearly disagree with both of us. He's absolutely in Pyke's best 22.

I dont see how you come to that conclusion. Your taking a comment by Ben Hart too literally. You would expect the coach to say "I think he will be in our best 22" to about 25-30 players. The issue with Knight is that he is now 23 and has been injury interrupted. He needs to show some improvement in what he brings. He has been on a great foundation for about 2 years now to really kick on to an AFL acceptable level, but hasnt yet. I think that has been due to injuries. But its not going to be easy to get into the 22. He is about 8 deep for an inside mid role. As an outside mid, he is still only averaging around 6 kicks a game, with another 8 handballs on top. That has been his average through his career. Needs to step that up, especially in his kicking numbers if he is going to play outside. He is a great tackler. Absolutely love this part of his game, but his numbers are still relatively low in that area. Doesnt hit the scoreboard regularly, although he is a fantastic kick, especially under pressure.

I really rate Riley Knight, but I dont see which role he takes in our best 22. He really is now limited to competing with Atkins for the wing role, which I feel Atkins is the preferred option. After that, its the pressure forward role. I think I prefer the manic pressure that Gallucci or even Murphy provides. With a small sample size, Gallucci has done this role with double the number of kicks as Riley and the same number of tackles. Given Gallucci is a 3 gamer, his upside in that role seems way higher.

Don't misunderstand that I dont rate Knight. I just dont see that he has won himself a spot in the 22. I have every hope that given more opportunity he will really take the next step and earn that. But I question whether he will get the opportunity unless we have more injuries.

I dont see how you come to that conclusion. Your taking a comment by Ben Hart too literally. You would expect the coach to say "I think he will be in our best 22" to about 25-30 players. The issue with Knight is that he is now 23 and has been injury interrupted. He needs to show some improvement in what he brings. He has been on a great foundation for about 2 years now to really kick on to an AFL acceptable level, but hasnt yet. I think that has been due to injuries. But its not going to be easy to get into the 22. He is about 8 deep for an inside mid role. As an outside mid, he is still only averaging around 6 kicks a game, with another 8 handballs on top. That has been his average through his career. Needs to step that up, especially in his kicking numbers if he is going to play outside. He is a great tackler. Absolutely love this part of his game, but his numbers are still relatively low in that area. Doesnt hit the scoreboard regularly, although he is a fantastic kick, especially under pressure.

I really rate Riley Knight, but I dont see which role he takes in our best 22. He really is now limited to competing with Atkins for the wing role, which I feel Atkins is the preferred option. After that, its the pressure forward role. I think I prefer the manic pressure that Gallucci or even Murphy provides. With a small sample size, Gallucci has done this role with double the number of kicks as Riley and the same number of tackles. Given Gallucci is a 3 gamer, his upside in that role seems way higher.

Don't misunderstand that I dont rate Knight. I just dont see that he has won himself a spot in the 22. I have every hope that given more opportunity he will really take the next step and earn that. But I question whether he will get the opportunity unless we have more injuries.
Ben Hart's comments are 100% consistent with Knight's ongoing selection over the last couple of years. If Knight is fit and available, then he's played - every single time. The reality is that Pyke's seen him as a best-22 player for at least 2 years now.

I think he's overrated too. You're preaching to the choir in that regard. I don't think he gets anywhere near enough of the pill, particularly considering the miles he travels to get those few meager disposals. Pyke clearly sees things very differently.

Disagree, Knight comes into the side when fit. He was only managed last week due to having stuff all pre-season and playing 2 massive games against Sydney and GC, he will come in for Milera, guarantee it.

Normally, I wouldn't necessarily expect him to come back in, but his aggro will be necessary againt the filth in a showdown.

That is my thinking too. But I would like to see it in practice. See what the balance looks like. I am weary of both Greenwood and CEY's lack of pace. But both of these guys are getting double digit contested possession numbers a game. On a small sample size (Richmond and Sydney) it doesnt seem like we lose much by having these guys to the grunt work instead of Sloane and Gibbs. I think we definitely do lose something, but can we more than make up for it by having these guys on the outside.

I was going to criticise you, until I realised you meant "wary". ;)

Ben Hart's comments are 100% consistent with Knight's ongoing selection over the last couple of years. If Knight is fit and available, then he's played - every single time. The reality is that Pyke's seen him as a best-22 player for at least 2 years now.

I think he's overrated too. You're preaching to the choir in that regard. I don't think he gets anywhere near enough of the pill, particularly considering the miles he travels to get those few meager disposals. Pyke clearly sees things very differently.

We will see, he not really been Pykes best 22 pressure forward. I am confident that it will be Sloane for Milera. I wouldn't be surprised if Sloane plays more off the half back flank this week. Either in Milera's role, or Mackay shuffles over and he plays Mackay's role. Wouldn't be surprised if Sloane starts on the bench this week too. Three weeks out is usually SANFL first, but with quality like Sloane you could bring him straight back in. But wouldn't want to burn him out with the manic start to the game that we can expect.

I think the week after against the bulldogs is when you will get your answer to whether CEY or Greenwood stay in the 22. My hope is both stay in, in which case I can only see Gallucci as Knight's way into the current fit 22.

Be prepared to keep this crusade going for a long time. 21.2 disposals/432 average meter gained/5 score involvements are good numbers for a supporting outside midfielder (seeing our main offensive mover is Seedsman) and will see Atkins keep his spot for the foreseeable future. As long as Atkins is giving a good offensive game, we'll carry his defensive work/lack of attack on the ball because it none of those matter as much as those three numbers I mentioned above for his role. Those factors may see him replaced when a more rounded option exists, but that currently doesn't (seeing Knight is primarily a half forward)

It's why Mackay cops flack, sure he attacks the ball when required, but he's spent his career failing at what is expected for an outside midfielder.

If only Richmond took that much notice of stats last year we may have even won the GF.
It was talked about on SEN, link to the discussion provided by Waynesworld , that Richmond towards the later part of last year picked players that were able to cause pressure acts that caused the opposition to turn the ball over in the forward 50 to enable scoring opportunities....they did this because they didn't give a stuff about stats (the type you are quoting) but were more interested in players who could pressure the opposition into making mistakes............something that Atkins rarely ever does.

However you are right that our lot look at the stats Atkins gets and is picked for that reason. That doesn't change the fact he is a bruise free bed wetter.

As far as his offensive work is concerned, please. Last week he had a set shot 40 out from the Northern end....out on the full.
This week running at some pace after gathering the ball in the south eastern pocket, lets loose with one of his mythical left leg deliveries.....hits the opposition on the chest.
There are countless examples of his failures. Remember when we played Sydney here and lost by a small margin. Mr Offensive weapon got caught with the ball a number of times.....on a break when we where kicking to the northern end in the same game, last quarter from memory when we still had a chance to win, Atkins running through the middle turns the ball over again with the mythical elite left leg.
But we'll have those telling us that Atkins was magnificent for 2 quarters against Sydney.

I'll take stats for what they are....stats....but there is more than judging a player purely on stats

And as far as Dmac is concerned, he has more courage in his toe nail than Atkins has in his entire body.

I cant't stand blokes that lack footy courage, I could care less about their role or stats.....when it's your turn to go you BLOODY WELL GO.

Hartigan has done two hammies in about his last 10 matches. Would think he'd need to come back via the SANFL and put a few games together.
Agree, no need to rush him back as Otten is playing well, particularly as he often struggles when he first comes back.

So the coaches thought Greenwood > CEY on the weekend and I'd have to agree.

Both got votes though (Greenwood 4, CEY 1)

Interesting to know who gave CEY the 1 vote. Both coaches gave Greenwood 2. Not bad. Its only against Carlton, but these guys have really stepped up for us this year since the Richmond game. Hopefully both get a chance to crunch some teal this week.

Think about Knights role , it's not about high numbers

High pressure game this week Knight will play
The only reason Knight won't play this week is if he is injured in training... which with him is always a possibility... otherwise he will come in as we need his pressure for a showdown, which is why we freshened him up this week when not needed.

Chatting with a Port suppprting mate of mine this arvo who went to the Port V WCE game. He got the same flight back as the Port players. He reckoned Ryder had a definite limp and soreness as he was walking.at the airport.

Probably just a normal thing after a game I would have thought. But still........

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

You'd think so but then again most of our structures and preferred players are decided in the pre-season

Sadly true. It's unlikely the coaches are wondering whether we can further improve by making a couple of positional changes following very solid inside results with CEY and Hugh. I'm hopeful that eyes have been opened though.

Changes v Port Power est 1997