Changes v Sydney

Sorry but that's crap.

Constantly having pot shots at everyone else's comments and having nothing to add of your own!

Obviously your football wisdom far exceeds any of ours or at least that's what it seems.

C'mon DR, please impart this supreme wealth of football knowledge and understanding of the game you have on the rest of us so we can all benefit from your great mind.

If not, then continue to take pot shots at everyone on here and make yourself look like a total fool.

Interesting to read differing opinions (and insane rants).
Keep in mind we are playing one of the more physical sides next week. Probably need to get some more big bodies in.

Car Keys was good, definitely stays.
Boomer and Goldy may or may not come up.
Pedo played well and Greenwood is getting full games together.

Thought Cunnington played his best game of the year but still plenty of improvement.
Rawlings got a lot of it but butchered some kicks. He wasn't the only one though. Swallow, Adams, Firrito, Goldy, McMahon and Petrie all had some shockers. Don't see better footskills from Anthony or Richardson.
LT and Azza played their role.

Pedo comes in for either Goldy (if injured) or Hansen
Greenwood comes in for Boomer (if injured) or Harper

Ziebs needs to hold his feet to hold his place otherwise Cruize starts on the ground

Constantly having pot shots at everyone else's comments and having nothing to add of your own!

Obviously your football wisdom far exceeds any of ours or at least that's what it seems.

C'mon DR, please impart this supreme wealth of football knowledge and understanding of the game you have on the rest of us so we can all benefit from your great mind.

If not, then continue to take pot shots at everyone on here and make yourself look like a total fool.

Out:
Pratt, too many brain farts and I'm sick of seeing him argue with the umpire after giving away another blatant free kick.
Spud, find some testicles in the VFL. A shadow of his form last year.

In:
Tarrant, Thompson moves to 3rd tall.
Richardson, Lets see if he has learned something from his stint back in the VFL.

Spot on. Doesn't get any softer.

These Changes threads are always a cracking read. Particularly after a loss.

I'm toying with the idea of starting a rebel, breakaway weekly thread called - "Proposed Changes Made In A Non-Hysterical Fashion, That Stand An Actual, Realistic Chance Of Happening, And That Don't Involve Posters Just Trotting Out The Names Of The Player (Or Players) That Shit Them The Most".

Oh yes, the Changes thread. It's like getting a weekly solar eclipse on the North board - you know you shouldn't look, but you can't resist having a quick peep. Then you regret it.

TOD, your suggested alternative thread is way too sensible, so no chance of happening.

FWIW, I think we're fast approaching the day where it is conceded that we can't play Pratt, Rawlings, Spud and McMahon in the same backline. Along with Thompson, this group concedes too many goals to the opposition through (unacceptably frequent) poor decision-making and poor disposal.

I suggest that if, in a year's time, we are a team pressing for the 8 due to clear improvement (such as Essendon, or even *sigh* Richmond, this year), at least two but probably three of those four I named will not be regulars in the backline.

Just watched on replay. Pratt did a lot of good stuff. Rawlings had his usual turnovers but so did many others. Good things from Cunnington and Atley. Hansen was a non factor.

Out. Garlett,Hansen
In. Greenwood, Tarrant

Out: Pratt, MacMillan
In: Richardson, Anthony

very stiff for Pedo, but would not be willing to take out Hansen for him as that will kill our forward structure as Pederson simply doesn't have an Overhead mark

Out: Pratt, MacMillan
In: Richardson, Anthony

very stiff for Pedo, but would not be willing to take out Hansen for him as that will kill our forward structure as Pederson simply doesn't have an Overhead mark
Wrong Mac. Jamie has to stay, he is the future. Quicker than Scotty, just as good a user. Needs games pumped into him, especially now that the season is shot.

You are dropping 2 good users and bringing in blokes who struggle in that department.

Just watched on replay. Pratt did a lot of good stuff. Rawlings had his usual turnovers but so did many others. Good things from Cunnington and Atley. Hansen was a non factor.

Out. Garlett,Hansen
In. Greenwood, Tarrant
It wasn't Pratt's worst game, but IMO he needs to fall victim because of his age and where we are at. He or Spud has to go and I reckon Spud, although out of form, offers more.

I love the way 27 is over the hill and under 20 equals a star!

Dropping our experienced players and playing even more young kids will see us go further backwards.

The loss to Brisbane was unacceptable and very ordinary. We have a huge number of players that have had little or no preparation this season. We have too many players with less than 50 games.

I don't think we've been close to having our best 22 on the paddock and I also don't think we've found the best mix of available players.

Confidence does wonders for disposal. Look at Essendon and Richmond. They have shown huge improvement with similar lists to last year.

If Brad Scott has done anything wrong, it's been a lack of experimentation. He has a vision and is committed, but I still think a different mix of players are capable of achieving that.

Have a look at Gerard Fitzgerald at North Ballarat! Three premierships on the trot with numerous changes to the side each year. This year, with injuries and another huge personnel change, they look shot. Now they have come back and won 3 of the last 4. Fitzy has a system and teaches his players to play to it.

It may be 2012 before we see the big steps taken that we want. I hope not! It's also hard from the outside to see progress that may not show up in games. We have talent. We need confidence, fitness, and time to get better!

Out: McMahon, Hanson, Thomas

In: Pederson, Greenwood, Richardson

Harper wasn't great but he's still adapting to AFL level plus we need his outside class. Anthony should hold swade another week in the VFL, Tarrent has been less then convincing, Warren has a bit of X-factor about him so wouldn't mind seeing his name up for selection this week.

Rawlings has been poor for most of the year but I thought he was ok last night likewise Firrito, its just there field kicking that is letting them down, can't question the effort.

I love the way 27 is over the hill and under 20 equals a star!

Dropping our experienced players and playing even more young kids will see us go further backwards.

The loss to Brisbane was unacceptable and very ordinary. We have a huge number of players that have had little or no preparation this season. We have too many players with less than 50 games.

I don't think we've been close to having our best 22 on the paddock and I also don't think we've found the best mix of available players.

Confidence does wonders for disposal. Look at Essendon and Richmond. They have shown huge improvement with similar lists to last year.

If Brad Scott has done anything wrong, it's been a lack of experimentation. He has a vision and is committed, but I still think a different mix of players are capable of achieving that.

Have a look at Gerard Fitzgerald at North Ballarat! Three premierships on the trot with numerous changes to the side each year. This year, with injuries and another huge personnel change, they look shot. Now they have come back and won 3 of the last 4. Fitzy has a system and teaches his players to play to it.

It may be 2012 before we see the big steps taken that we want. I hope not! It's also hard from the outside to see progress that may not show up in games. We have talent. We need confidence, fitness, and time to get better!

Well said jschwag.

OK this is the team I want to see next weekend. Try a few things and see what happens:

B - Thompson Delaney Firrito
HB - Richardson Tarrant/Grima(if fit) Wright
C - MacMillan Cunnington Atley
HF - Harvey Ziebell Adams
F - Edwards Petrie Thomas
R - Goldstein Wells Swallow
B - Speight Garlett Harper Greenwood(sub)

In - Grima/Tarrant, Richo, Wright, Greenwood
Out - Hansen, Pratt, McMahon, Rawlings

Explanations:
- Rawlings out seems stupid and reactionary. I think going forward we need to see who can perform a role down back similar to what he does. Throw Richo and Wright down back and see how they go. Give them 2 weeks. If that doesn't seem to be working put McMahon back there after (hopefully) 2 weeks of excellent efforts in the VFL. MacMillan named on the wing but will hopefully spend time down back too, swapping with Richo, Wright and Wells at times.

- Only one of Tarrant and Grima to come in. Grima if 100% (read 95% = not good enough) only, as Tarrant is performing at VFL level at last.

- Ziebell named at CHF, but really it is just about providing a contest there, for blokes around him like Wells, Adams, Harvey and Atley to be taking it inside 50.

- Edwards, Petrie and Thomas all named close to goals. No Hansen in there cluttering it up. Those 3 should be able to work together. All are good marks and can be good kicks at goal if they regain confidence.

- Speight, Harper and Garlett on the bench all offering something a bit different. Greenwood as the sub to regain match fitness, enough VFL time for him now.

- Anthony needs games in the VFL in succession. Might have been recalled if he had played VFL.

- Hansen and McMahon need a spell to regain hunger and form.

- Pratt and Rawlings only to return if we suffer a mountain of injuries. Harsh on both but we need to be revamping this backline for the future. Firrito on notice too. McMahon can take his spot if he responds well to the axe.

- Hurry up and get better soon Bastinac.

- Chuck Daw in there late in the year when the 8 is officially out of reach.

- Pedo stiff of course.

- Warren, McKinley, Urquhart, Campbell, Ross = not considered.

Out: March to August pre-season training. I am officially over it.

In:
Flexible thinking backed up by the best 22 players, played in their optimal positions in order to give us a fighting chance of getting a win.

I expect: More of the same shit.

B: Pederson Tarrant MacMillan
HB: Wells Delaney Firrito
C: Adams Ziebell Greenwood
HF: Harvey Edwards McKinley
F: Wright Petrie Warren
R: Goldstein Swallow Atley
I: Cunnington Thompson Harper Speight

IN: Pederson Tarrant Greenwood McKinley Wright Warren
OUT: Rawlings McMahon Pratt Thomas Hansen Garlett

That side says one thing to me. Ability.

They say don't shop when you're hungry.

Don't pick a side when you're extremely, extremely angry.

After last night, I've decided we don't have enough players playing 2011-style helter skelter football.

Run your guts out in both directions FLAT OUT, until you can run no more.

Total commitment to the contest.

Stand your ground and try to mark the ball, even if you're going to get hammered.

Try to dish off to advantage even if you're getting poleaxed or slammed into the turf.

Approach EVERY contest as if your life depends on it.

Don't play this style of footy and you're going to be closer to the bottom than the top of the ladder.

Watch the way Richmond and Essendon played last night. And Carlton and Geelong.

We're out of touch. If it were tennis, we'd be playing with wooden racquets, wearing long white pants.

quality:thumbsu:

Serious?

This is a display that comes out after bad losses. I wonder if those people who founded the club had showed the pathetically weak attitude whether we would have a club.

Threatening membership is the weakest thing a supporter can do. What's next? Send a truck full of manure to Arden St? Spit on the coach?

This is a much more insipid action than anything a player serves up.

just expressing my frustaration at the level of complete crap these two are giving our club, what annoys me more is guys coming on here with next weeks changes and not even naming one or both of them:confused::confused:

For me personally the quickest way to discredit anything you say is to spout "I'm going to give up my membership"

I think we are not far away from things being significantly better than they have been. The loss Saturday night was psychological, changes to the team are somewhat arbitrary when they collectively seem to get to a point where they won't let themselves win.

Out: Rawlings

Had enough, the guy busts his guts and wins the pill, but constantly turns it over which kills you in this day and age.'

Been a wonderful servant, but time is up!

I think if we ,mathematically cant make it, brady will be dropped til last home game..... Been a great player for the club but its time. He knows it, we all do.

People calling for spuds head are".........seriously delusional.
Grima goes out we have keys cominh in and spud playing a different defensive role whilst narni is out.
You all heard about hansen needing time to develop and he's gonna get it, we need gametime into players asap........Scotty for the 1st time has lost his cool we'll see what happens...... With a young side as what we have, we have to suffer these jeckyl and hyde performances.....

In: Tarrant, Pedersen, Greenwood
Out: Pratt, Firrito, Rawlings

FB: McMahon Delaney Thompson
HB: Ziebell Pedersen Macmillan

For the outs, i think Firrito didn't play too bad in terms of helping out and supporting Delaney but these three guys I have zero confidence with the ball in the back half and we can't clear out of defence, don't make good decisions and don't execute well with the ball. We are losing games by our mistakes and inability to clear defensive 50.

Tarrant to CHF, Hansen as the third tall forward. Petrie at FF.

Assuming Goldy is okay, if he is not then Petrie will have to ruck and we will need Tarrant or Hansen at FF.

Hansen doesn't deserve a game but he wont be dropped, he needs to decide if he is going to remain a boy trapped in a mans body or if he is going to accept the plums have dropped and he has to hit contests hard, the more things don't go your way, the harder you go in, doing nothing should never be plan B and not sure why our on-field leaders aren't giving him a rocket during games.

We need Greenwood in, even at 75% fitness he is better than most of our mids who currently can't play more than half a game. We need Swallow to stay on his feet more, he is not giving us enough offensively, needs a balance between the inside and outside work. He should be aiming to kick 2 goals a game and assist in 2 others.

Fook me tas, he's playing pretty good footy mate....he needs a spell and some support!! I think we all have put pressure on ourselves due to fact we just missed out last year with basically the same side.....injuries and getting ahead of ourselves along a tough start to the season has us exactly where we are....

People calling for spuds head are".........seriously delusional.
Grima goes out we have keys cominh in and spud playing a different defensive role whilst narni is out.
You all heard about hansen needing time to develop and he's gonna get it, we need gametime into players asap........Scotty for the 1st time has lost his cool we'll see what happens...... With a young side as what we have, we have to suffer these jeckyl and hyde performances.....

The unfit and inexperienced midfielders are problems 1,2,3,4,5 and 6. However, people avoid facing that uncomfortable truth because they do not want to be seen criticizing young players. They look past the obvious and slag off blokes that have been around longer.

This is a coaching/football department/team balance/selection issue.