Prediction Changes vs West Coast Eagles

• Thread starter Thread starter elpirate

It's getting to the stage where I would prefer to see Westhoff played as the 2nd tall forward over Jacko, he at least has played the position before, and with some success.

At times our forward line looks so dysfunctional that it can appear we have taken the field a man short, so surely the player in that role has to have some claims to being a goal kicking option.

It must make things a lot easier for a coach to set up his defence when the 2nd tall in the oppo forward line isn't a genuine marking and goal kicking threat, and Jacko definitely isn't.

I hope Atley plays because he could provide a bit of forward nous. He seems to know what he's doing in the F50. He wins contested ball as well as anyone and despite his youth provides another big body around the ball. And he gives us something different from the cavalcade of half back flankers populating the team now.

Mostly I really don't want to see them intimidated by the cauldron that is a West Coast home game. I want them to smash in hard, win the ball and provide a contest every step of the way.

I don't think Trengove is the answer up forward but this is how the coaching panel prepared for this season and they will continue with the structure. If he is allowed to play as a gateway rather than a total negator at least it gives us two tall forwards with an attacking function. Last week we had only one attacking tall forward and seeing as Dixon had very little scoring output, we were almost totally reliant on small forwards to kick a winning score. That well may play on their minds, knowing how much responsibility they carry for kicking a winning score.

Love the talk about Eddy not being AFL standard when (this year) we've carried Hartlett, Young and Impey who, for all intents and salary-cap-purposes may as well be considered 24-carat witches' hats. Not to mention S.Gary and Neade who, while not horrible, are completely known quantities with ceilings so low Josef Fritzl's ears just pricked up. Don't get me started on the obscene pictures of Ken Aidyn Johnson must've come across to earn himself a call-up against Carlton in round five.

We don't want Eddy in the side because he's the second coming of Christ himself, we want him because Ken's let the same blindingly-obvious holes in our game plan simmer for over two years now. People just want change, because what we're doing isn't working.
It doesn't need to be Eddy who comes in. We just committed to Frampton for another 2 years and if he can play fwd/ruck we don't need Trengove there anymore. Marshall, Howard.

I'm sheltered because I don't think we should have a massive sook every week?

Why does what you would rather matter anyway? I would rather we do our best to win, and I trust the expert coaching staff to know what that is more than our supporters. If they don't get results they will be sacked, but that wouldn't mean the supporters knew better.
I like your posts. The general groupthink in here is abysmal.

Because he is small, has no AFL experience and he can only play 60% game time. If he is our emergency KPF we might as well not play one.

The only time he would have been useful is playing second banana to Dixon, but he isn't fit enough for AFL, so why did we pick him.

Lol where do you think you can pick up a cheap KPF for an emergency that is the quality you want?!? Keep dreaming. Hawks who have been very successful traders over the years had to throw money at Vickery who can't take a mark or kick a goal and extorts people on his days off - as a main option!!

The reality is for an emergency option, what we did with Eddy was prudent after the mistake we made with Ruck/Ryder the year before.

Eddy leading the Ken Farmer is literally irrelevant.

None of our tall forwards in the reserves are ready to play AFL this week. If they were they would be selected, suggesting otherwise is just conspiracy theory bullshit.

Yes it sucks that we are probably a good second tall short, but that wouldn't change if we sacked Hinkley. Suggesting so is just throwing a tantrum.
Man this is trash.

Kicking lots of goals is literally irrelevant for a full forward in the reserves? Obviously he has to work on his fitness and defensive pressure, but really, which stat has the higher correlation with winning: pressure acts, or goals?

How many SANFL games do you watch? And how can you definitively say that our tall forwards aren't ready, when they haven't (recently) been given a chance?

This has nothing to do with "conspiracy theory bullshit". Everyone understands that Ken and the other coaches like the structure we're running up forward - we're just saying that it's clearly not working, and something else needs to be tried.

Lol where do you think you can pick up a cheap KPF for an emergency that is the quality you want?!? Keep dreaming. Hawks who have been very successful traders over the years had to throw money at Vickery who can't take a mark or kick a goal and extorts people on his days off - as a main option!!

The reality is for an emergency option, what we did with Eddy was prudent after the mistake we made with Ruck/Ryder the year before.
And his days on...

It's not rocket science so see our forward line is not functioning very well with the amount of opportunities they're getting.

Trengove 'MUST' be moved from that area of the ground, & 'AT MOST' used there in 5-10 min spells for tactical reasons.

Wingard looks like he'll be a star in the middle but he also is dangerous forward and should be utilised in both areas of the ground, WHEN REQUIRED.

As for Boak, I really hope he can hit some form because the only thing keeping him on the park atm is the 'C' besides his name.

Against West Coast I'd start the forward line like this:
S Grey - WESTHOFF - Impey
WINGARD - DIXON - R Grey

You got pace, smalls, talls & football brains. I'd just take it to WC and put them under pressure from the get go. We are always to worried about stopping the oppositions game, rather then playing to our strengths and backing it in.

Coaching Staff has a lot to answer for.

Eddy leading the Ken Farmer is literally irrelevant.

None of our tall forwards in the reserves are ready to play AFL this week. If they were they would be selected

Why? Because our current coaching group has such a fantastic record with selections? We're currently playing four players in our forward line who average a goal or less per game. Excuse me if 'but the coaches know best' isn't filling me with confidence.

If our mark for 'should player X be playing AFL this week' is 'yes because the coaches picked him' or 'no because the coaches didn't pick him' then we may as well shut the forum down.

Mate, you yourself have made several posts over the last few weeks complaining about our forward line selections. Are you now just liking posts defending the coaching staff (I can't even call them positive posts, 'Eddy and Howard aren't getting picked because they're shit' is hardly a positive post) even if you don't agree with their content? Stop being the Helen Lovejoy of the board and grow some balls.

At least Vickery is threatening. Just not in a football way. ;)

Man this is trash.

Kicking lots of goals is literally irrelevant for a full forward in the reserves? Obviously he has to work on his fitness and defensive pressure, but really, which stat has the higher correlation with winning: pressure acts, or goals?

How many SANFL games do you watch? And how can you definitively say that our tall forwards aren't ready, when they haven't (recently) been given a chance?

This has nothing to do with "conspiracy theory bullshit". Everyone understands that Ken and the other coaches like the structure we're running up forward - we're just saying that it's clearly not working, and something else needs to be tried.
Yes it's irrelevant to how he will perform in the AFL side. Of course if he was scoring zero goals every week then he would be performing worse, but my point is that being the best SANFL forward holds little to no relevance to being a quality AFL forward.

I watch exactly zero SANFL games. I'm not basing whether they are ready on my personal judgement of their performances, only on the basis that there is clearly a spot in the side for a tall forward and none of them have taken that spot.

I think I am one of the few around here that fully accepts my understanding of what it takes to play at the AFL level is severely limited at best. What I do understand is how group think tantrums work, and I can quite clearly see it on this board.

The statistics suggest we are simply unlucky so far, and I'm more willing to trust those statistics over "experts".

This is soul destroying really.

The crowd at our last match said it all. Small, silent and admitting attendance was a chore. When the tigers hit the front, everyone said it was over.

We're so ******* stale. Round and round we go, where we will stop - everybody knows.

Stale.

That word struck a chord. We are stale. Play Atley farken.

The statistics suggest we are simply unlucky so far, and I'm more willing to trust those statistics over "experts".

We're one from 16 in our last 16 games against top 8 sides. We're 0 from 7 in our last 7 games decided by 15 points or less. You think that's just 'luck'? Football should be a two horse race, right? Go and toss a coin over and over again and see how long it takes you to get 7 heads in a row, or 15 heads out of 16. You'll be there a long time.

It's not just 'luck'. We're not good enough. Would bringing Eddy/Howard and Monfries in for a couple of our defensive forwards who don't impact the scoreboard suddenly make us good enough? Maybe, maybe not. But we're certainly not good enough now so it's at least worth a ****ing try.

Stale.

That word struck a chord. We are stale. Play Atley farken.

Agree. At 3 QTR time I had fans behind me complaining that it was over & starting blaming players and coaches.
I turned around and told them there was a still 4th qrt of footy to play.

That's what upsets me about this club... when we're winning everyone is loud and about but when we are losing we are quiet? When we're down we need to be louder then ever. The type of atmosphere we need only exists in football (soccer) - would be great to bring it to Port Adelaie.

You're entitled to your opinion, but don't come here bagging the so-called "groupthink" of the board and its long time posters. We're all entitled to our opinions. If you don't like them you're more than welcome to go start your own TPFP style page or stick to Facebook.

Agree. At 3 QTR time I had fans behind me complaining that it was over & starting blaming players and coaches.
I turned around and told them there was a still 4th qrt of footy to play.

And how'd that go?

Why? Because our current coaching group has such a fantastic record with selections? We're currently playing four players in our forward line who average a goal or less per game. Excuse me if 'but the coaches know best' isn't filling me with confidence.

If our mark for 'should player X be playing AFL this week' is 'yes because the coaches picked him' or 'no because the coaches didn't pick him' then we may as well shut the forum down.

I'm not fussed if people would rather see Eddy or Howard in the side, but what shits me are the calls to sack the coach, the calls that our season is over, that our players are shit, the constant attacks on guys like Jake Neade and Sam Gray. Etc.

If there was actual discussion over why changes were made then it would be fine but there is so much group think melting, and it's just frustrating for me.

I'm not trying to be positive, I'm just sick of how defeated our supporters act. We are not that far off, yet people just want to throw everything out. How do you not find that annoying?