List Mgmt. Hawk's List Management for 2025

Usually do one of these before the trade period but was caught-up with other stuff this year so here is my post-trade period update! This is what I have at the moment. As you can see, firstly the list is STACKED in terms of talent (which we already knew) but is also pretty close to being completely full as it is. If what I have is correct, then we have 36 primary list, 4 Cat A and 1 Cat B locked in for next year which leaves us with limited options in terms of drafting next month and SSP/MSD in 2025.

If I had to guess, I'd say we are likely to delist-then-rookie one or both of Gunston and/or Breust for flexibility. Regardless, we can only intake a max of 2 players to primary/Cat A list at the moment plus the option of another Cat B player if we want (which I suspect we will re-sign Bennetts with).

As usual, if you spot any mistakes then please let me know :)

Hawks List 2025 (pre-drafts).png

We definitely do, I'd take travel to see my family that is almost 5 times quicker over the one that takes 5 times longer. Would be great if you wanted to quickly pop in after work or there was an emergency.
Obviously not everyone would worry about the travel time, but I do think it is something that players would certainly consider.
From what I understand, all the spare acreage within 200 km of the Cattery has been absorbed by past players. He may end up further away than Dingley.

Sorry mate, I find it extremely hard to believe that a player who reportedly loves his club and coach, that has worked so hard to get himself to where he is with said club and coach, developed relationships and is finally coming into a premiership window would pack it all in for 60 minutes less to Mum and Dads.
Again, I don't think he does want to move.

All true, I guess the failures tend to stick in the memory more than the successes.

I can’t be arsed but it would be interesting if someone went back over say the last 20 years and rated the success of/ failure rate of the big megastar trades.
Hey Simon. What’s the criteria for Mega Star, thinking 🤔 Ablett more than Mackay? 😂

Well McKay is getting a Mega Star wage so he would fit the criteria based on $$$$

A Mega Spud in other words!

You can say what you want about GAJ but it's hard to argue he didn't produce on the field when he was at GC.

Honestly McKay if he wasn't getting paid a million bucks a year, I reckon he'd be getting close to playing VFL footy right about now. He's struggling big time.

You'll need to wait until after the bye

View attachment 2260297
Which one? First or second?

Btw, I agree that Worps should be our No.1 FA target this year and based on his strong relationship with Sam, I'm confident he'll stay with us.

Re Harley, it depends on what he wants. If he wants to come to us to win flags, we'll get the deal done. If he wants to chase the biggest contract on offer, we won't put ourselves in the conversation. Simple as that, I reckon.

Honest question has trading for a mega super star ever actually won a premiership?

Judd to Cartlon, GAJ to Gold Coast, Buddy to the Swans all to a lesser or greater extent didn’t work. And all much better players when they were traded for than what Reid currently is.

The one time it did was Cameron to the Cats. But the Cats were already a strong team, he was more the finishing touch.
McEvoy to Hawthorn :p

Which one? First or second?

Btw, I agree that Worps should be our No.1 FA target this year and based on his strong relationship with Sam, I'm confident he'll stay with us.

Re Harley, it depends on what he wants. If he wants to come to us to win flags, we'll get the deal done. If he wants to chase the biggest contract on offer, we won't put ourselves in the conversation. Simple as that, I reckon.
I hope we still put ourselves in the conversation to drive up the price.

$1M in 2027 is the equivalent of about $520k in 2014 (when Buddy moved to Sydney) as a % of the cap.

By the same token, $1M in 2014 is equivalent to about $1.9M in 2027.

Important to remember when contextualising the numbers you see. Talking about Harley on a $700k deal would only a bit above the average salary as it gets on. Not even remotely possible.

GAJ & Judd went to bad teams, there were never going to win anything. Buddy made it to 3 gf with the swans.

Cats who are actually a good club and had a strong team were successful with both Cameron and Dangerfield.

Cameron, maybe, but Geelong were bog average when they got Dangerfield.

He turned then into a strong team. They didn't make a gf until 4 years after he was recruited and didn't win it for another 2 years.

Cameron is a better example

They were recruited 5 years apart

Cameron, maybe, but Geelong were bog average when they got Dangerfield.

He turned then into a strong team. They didn't make a gf until 4 years after he was recruited and didn't win it for another 2 years.

Cameron is a better example

They were recruited 5 years apart

They had a down year in 2015 but they still had the spine and leaders of a great team, probably good for them because if they finished top 4 per usual their first rounder probably wouldn’t of been good enough for Adelaide.

My point was these trades do work when the club already has the parts to work around them, pinning your hopes on one player to be some messiah and uplift the whole team doesn’t. In the case of Harley we already have the best rounded team in the comp, he is the cherry on top.

With all the talk of rebuild at EFC would it be wise for them to drop 3 firsts or thereabouts to get Harley Reid? It is destined to fail in my opinion.

I think he’s more likely to go to a team who has most of the pieces than to a team on the rebuild.

not sure which teams have the draft capital but we’re young enough to blow this years and next years first and a player for him.

With all the talk of rebuild at EFC would it be wise for them to drop 3 firsts or thereabouts to get Harley Reid? It is destined to fail in my opinion.

I think he’s more likely to go to a team who has most of the pieces than to a team on the rebuild.

not sure which teams have the draft capital but we’re young enough to blow this years and next years first and a player for him.
Shhh let them dig their own graves...not to mention leadership there isn't dissimilar to WC, so I'm sure he will do fine there...

$1M in 2027 is the equivalent of about $520k in 2014 (when Buddy moved to Sydney) as a % of the cap.

Important to remember when contextualising the numbers you see. Talking about Harley on a $700k deal would only a bit above the average salary as it gets on. Not even remotely possible.
$1 million is still a very high wage even today.

I think currently our highest paid player is probably Sic who Ive heard is on around $900k and he's close to the best defender in the game and a top 20 player in the league.

McKay getting a million a year is an absolute joke, he's BOG average.

I just can't see us coming in with a 1 million + offer for Reid, it's never been the way the HFC operates.

Did someone else mention 700k. I mentioned in another thread, quoted my reply below for context
that version of Harley will get the Cats a flag. I still want him to get to hawks as that version will get us a 3 peat but not at risk of blowing salary cap and losing other stars.

We can't trade blues P1 & P2 unless we get a P2 from elsewhere.

If we end up with Harley for Blues P1+ our F1 + a good depth player for a Salary that reflects the group dynamics, I am all good. Ideally 700k for 2 yrs with trigger for 1m for another 3 with trigger for 1.5mn for another 5. Totals to 12mn over 10 yrs, add some injury clauses to offset trigger clauses & payout lump sum for career ending injuries & take out some insurance if available.

I can't see how we can offer Harley 1mn first up when we have so many other players deserving of 800k and still on lot less. Would kill the vibe train we are building & risk derailing. But at the same time if he is being offered 1.2 per yr and more for later yrs, we can't compete with that. He has to start at 700-800K for first few yrs and prove he fits in system.

Did someone else mention 700k. I mentioned in another thread, quoted my reply below for context

I can't see how we can offer Harley 1mn first up when we have so many other players deserving of 800k and still on lot less. Would kill the vibe train we are building & risk derailing. But at the same time if he is being offered 1.2 per yr and more for later yrs, we can't compete with that. He has to start at 700-800K for first few yrs and prove he fits in system.
Imagine if we offered Harley $1m a year straight up and only offered Worps $700k.

That wouldn't sit right with me or the playing group. Also the club has repeatedly stated that's not how they go about structuring player payments.

Really I think our only role will be to maybe drive up his asking price to make sure the Bombers, etc pay top dollar.

Imagine if we offered Harley $1m a year straight up and only offered Worps $700k.

That wouldn't sit right with me or the playing group. Also the club has repeatedly stated that's not how they go about structuring player payments.

Really I think our only role will be to maybe drive up his asking price to make sure the Bombers, etc pay top dollar.
Most players know you have to pony up and pay a bit more to get a player to move clubs. Barass and Battle would be on more than Scrim and Dimma but I doubt there’s any disharmony there because it’s part of deal of attracting talent.

Don’t think Worps would mind getting less than Harley at all if that was the missing piece that brought us a flag.

Most players know you have to pony up and pay a bit more to get a player to move clubs. Barass and Battle would be on more than Scrim and Dimma but I doubt there’s any disharmony there because it’s part of deal of attracting talent.

Don’t think Worps would mind getting less than Harley at all if that was the missing piece that brought us a flag.
I reckon this is one of the biggest myths in footy to be honest.

A club is like any other workplace, if one of your co workers is getting paid a lot more than you are for doing lesser work it's going to create disharmony.

Paying Battle and Barass a bit more is fine as they are established players but paying a second year player $1 million will cause some angst amongst the playing group I think.

Especially if it leads to some solid citizens being forced out the door due to salary cap pressure.

I reckon this is one of the biggest myths in footy to be honest.

A club is like any other workplace, if one of your co workers is getting paid a lot more than you are for doing lesser work it's going to create disharmony.

Paying Battle and Barass a bit more is fine as they are established players but paying a second year player $1 million will cause some angst amongst the playing group I think.

Especially if it leads to some solid citizens being forced out the door due to salary cap pressure.
I can only speak as someone who was head-hunted for my current role, I'm getting paid significantly more than all my colleagues and not much less than my boss. That's just how the market works.

Second year, third year, doesn't matter. If a player is specifically hunted and at great cost to the club in terms of assets, then it's pretty much a guarantee they'll get a top salary.

We don’t need a Harley Reid. We have a Jai Newcombe. And a Will Day.

We don’t have any major gaps in our list. Best to reward those we already have.
Very true. I don't doubt clubs (especially Tassie) will come with some mega deals for both Will and Jai.

I'd argue Jai is already one of the top 5 midfielders in the comp going by brownlow votes and club B&F results. And we all know how good Will is.

On the open market they are going to get some mega deals (I'm talking $1 million+ a year for 5+ years) thrown their way so we need to keep some money allocated for them both.