Autopsy Round 9 vs Essendon plus changes

The only positive I took out of this game was Vlastuin. He's an absolute gun and hopefully he can stay on the park for a long time.

Plenty of negatives.
Nahas. Nuff said
Vickery. Acted like a pussy tonght. He's a lot better than that.
Dimma. Terrible coaching tonight, I hope he's not stupid enough to do it again.
Forwards. 9 goals simply isn't good enough.

I hope we can bounce back againt the Sheagles. If we don't win we might as well plan our September holidays. Disappointed all over the board.

NO excuses - BUT:

Anyone notice in the last two weeks that Richmond player's heads are now apparently fair game?

And if Jack was guilty of an "unrealistic attempt", then what was that effort by the Essendon player out on the wing in the third quarter?

How come correct disposal was apparently only a requirement for us and how come only we were ever deemed to have prior oportunity?

Further to this, why did we apparently have to swing a player through more than 720 degrees to earn a free kick instead of the standard 360?

Why were their players seemingly exempt from the rules regarding sliding, tripping, tackling players below the waist as well as tackling and holding players without the ball?

Was at the game and all I can say is that we were not up for it.

Didn't run hard enough
Didn't link up
Didn't get forward of the ball to make the space needed
Essendon did, and time and time again found open space and were able to link up forward with ease

I must've yelled out for players to make a move 100 times...

Too many times Houli, Rance, Newman, Chaplin and co had the ball in the back half and looked up field at stationary targets... The Bombers ALWAYS had numbers back, and since we weren't using the centre corridor, when the eventual turnover happened the ran hard back and made their way into their Forward 50 with relative ease.

Had it not been for the experience of Newman and Chaplin down back we would have been obliterated on the scoreboard too.

Very poor effort tonight!

NO excuses - BUT:

Anyone notice in the last two weeks that Richmond player's heads are now apparently fair game?

And if Jack was guilty of an "unrealistic attempt", then what was that effort by the Essendon player out on the wing in the third quarter?

How come correct disposal was apparently only a requirement for us?

Why were their players seemingly exempt from the rules regarding sliding, tripping, tackling players below the waist and tackling players without the ball?
TBH I didn't notice the umpires. I think you had 7-1 freekicks at one stage.

Not really a surprising outcome. The loss of Ellis, Conca, and Knights (probably our three best link players), compounded by the Deledio injury means that we couldn't move the ball at all.

Sorry Spluff but Lids was crap before he was "injured" and not having the verging on A graders Ellis, Conca and Knights was sooooooo.....

Mate it's game plan, I have never seen footballers choose to chip the ball around the back line. Which is why we have only seen it a lot in more recent history because coaches think it makes teams control the game better. We needed to attack them and realise that our ability to beat them one on one in defence was better than their ability to stop us running through the midfield or at halfback. We didn't take the early risks and it cost us. I blame the coach 100%, he should have backed our players to win one on one. It was the worst game plan I have ever seen us play... Wallace was a much better coach and I hate the prick!.

Looked like when we beat Adelaide at the G one time..
Horrible to watch and I think our manic style suits us much better.
To predictable and too easy to beat tonight

Just so you all know, our Essendon friend hasn't got off, he got a week off, for some reason his name isn't red though.

Changes this week:

OUT: Nahas (to never be seen again), Lonergan, McGuane, White
IN: McDonough, Helbig, Dea and Elton

Morris Rance Batchelor
Deledio Chaplin Houli
Newman Cotchin Helbig
McDonough Elton Edwards
Riewoldt Vickery King
Maric Vlastuin Martin

Foley, Grigg, Dea, Jackson

Want to start filtering in the kids. Would want Griffiths in the side instead of Vickery but with Cox and Nic Nat we need Vickery to help out Maric. I think the wide open spaces would suit Elton and his leading from CHF game. We need an outlet.

Seeing what we have, we definitely need more midfielders this draft. Ellis and Conca big losses. We need to get replacements for Tuck and Jackson as hard inside players, plus better outside players to replace the likes of Grigg and White on the list. Excited about McDonough in that small forward position. I have a huge opinion of Helbig. Think he can be that midfielder we require. Ellis, Conca, Vlastuin and Helbig, it's getting better. Need more. Need better.

IN Arnot, Mcbean
OUT Vickery, Nahas

FB Morris Chaplin Batchelor
HB Deledio Rance Newman
C Houli Cotchin Grigg
HF King Riewoldt Jackson
FF Edwards Mcbean McGuane
R Maric Martin Foley
Int Lonergan, White, Arnot, Vlastuin

Vickery not playing well at alll, give Mcbean a go, he is a ruck/forward.
Nahas, White, or King need to go, Kingy first bad game for a while, White did well after coming on.
Lonergan did well for first game, needs another.
Arnot needs a go, and we need changes for next week.

Mate it's game plan, I have never seen footballers choose to chip the ball around the back line. Which is why we have only seen it a lot in more recent history because coaches think it makes teams control the game better. We needed to attack them and realise that our ability to beat them one on one in defence was better than their ability to stop us running through the midfield or at halfback. We didn't take the early risks and it cost us. I blame the coach 100%, he should have backed our players to win one on one. It was the worst game plan I have ever seen us play... Wallace was a much better coach and I hate the prick!.
I can't agree with you. They only do it when they are under pressure.

The score line flattered us.

Where is the hardness at the contest and the hard bodies around the ball that was suggested we'd get under Dimma? By the time Ellis and Vlastuin have matured, Lids will be retired and I'll be in a nursing home.

The good sides have evolved a game plan creating shots on goal from turnovers and the half back line. Essendon killed us doing this. Well we had plenty of it on our half back line, as evidenced by Chaplin and Rances stats, but couldn't muster a fraction of their endeavor when the ball was in our hands.

A number of us were questioning our development as a side after the win last week against the Dees. I think there's a few more now.

I'm not suggesting drastic measures but if we think we're going to get better because Cotch puts a couple of extra candles on his cake we're kidding ourselves. Time to look closely at every aspect of the football department and make sure we have the right systems and people in place before we waste a generation of the best talent we've had in decades.

Vickery not playing well at alll, give Mcbean a go, he is a ruck/forward.
Nahas, White, or King need to go, Kingy first bad game for a while, White did well after coming on.
Lonergan did well for first game, needs another.
Arnot needs a go, and we need changes for next week.
Would love to see McBean get pulverised against Nic Nat and Cox....

TIME FOR A STATEMENT TO BE MADE
LINE IN THE SAND
JUMPER TO NEVER HIT THE FLOOR

Call it what you like but it's time unacceptable performances become exactly that ' UNACCEPTABLE ' .
Not the old Oh he was tagged, He had a injury 18months ago , he was good last year .
**** off with the excuses .
Lids has had way to many shit games where he has poor output against opposition above us on the ladder , drop him for those games and is poor defensively . The effort he put in against Watson on one occasion last night , typifies his career IMO , one bump or need to put himself into a uncomfortable
position and he ballies. Should live pain free alot longer than most AFL footballers . DROP
Vickery is a dud who doesn't have a go and has had one reasonable season where he was playing as the 3rd tall forward behind Miller who had been delisted by Melbourne FFS . Is shocking defensively . DROP
Grigg could have 50 possessions and have no impact is disgraceful defensively and should have been sent a message which would have also sent a message to others, 4-5 weeks ago . DROP

Tiges have got way too far ahead of themselves .. All this talk of finals and cups needs to stop, Richmond aren't anywhere near that form.

Last nights performance against the dons was a disgrace .. Pure and simple.
Absolutely no defensive pressure .. Same as the Pies on Friday night .. Appalling

Trent needs to worry less about his media / advertising commitments .. More about the club
He's turning out to be arrogant .. Needs to focus on the job at hand, not just all the trimmings

Tiges have got way too far ahead of themselves .. All this talk of finals and cups needs to stop, Richmond aren't anywhere near that form.

Absolutely no defensive pressure .. Same as the Pies on Friday night .. Appalling

Trent needs to worry less about his media / advertising commitments .. More about the club
He's turning out to be arrogant .. Needs to focus on the job at hand, not just all the trimmings

I'd have to agree. The media commitments don't sit well with me. Sure go on shows, do interviews but being a host
and firing questions at other players - no.

Likes the camera far too many he does, Rance included.

The players effort was shocking. The Coaches ability to extract the effort just as bad if not worse.

Ive always been a fan of playing players on MERIT not REPUTATION- ensures all players know that only 100% commitment will get you a game...lets be honest, our team last night was not picked on merit

Hurts me to say this but Dimma also needs to wear part of the blame for poor coaching...

Reckon it's now time to blood the kids...McBean has been playing excellent opportunistic footy for Coburg and it's only fair that he is rewarded.
McDonagh is another who should be rewarded

Reality time, I still have hopes for a place in the 8 but gees its going to be tough.

id like the club to clamp down on players media commitments. focus on footy.

but those who oppose would say
- its important to keep in touch with the fans via facebook, twitter etc
- good to promote the club on footy shows

how about show improvement on the field, win games. fans will always be there!

I'd have to agree. The media commitments don't sit well with me. Sure go on shows, do interviews but being a host
and firing questions at other players - no.

Likes the camera far too many he does, Rance included.

The players effort was shocking. The Coaches ability to extract the effort just as bad if not worse.

Rancy is like that smurf that walks around with the mirror in his hand - always checking his hair.

I'm an avid Tiges follower ... I'm savage on Cotch at the moment.

If he thinks the Tiges are a walk up start for finals ... He's kidding himself.
That comment he made when he was addressing the players, something along the lines of "thanks for the old guys for sticking around" was absolute pure arrogance.

Cotch, stuff the media .. Worry about that 2012 form.
Cotch might be still getting possessions ... But they are crap ones, no bearing on the game

Only post I'll bother to reply to in here but this was stupid.
- We played our worst game in years, Essendon were very good, we're missing at least 5 of our best (Tuck, Knights, Grimes, Conca, Ellis)
- See above
- Media commitments are part of being Captain and part of playing for an AFL team, they do not get a choice in the matter, poor and ignorant comment