2nds The 2016 Casey thread

Doesn't look like Trengove is playing.

Not sure why. Perhaps held out in case Viney didn't come up?
trengove played. The game is over mate.

Watched the game. You guys had an abundance of inside midfielders who took advantage of the Jake Spencer ruck dominance.

Michie, ANB, Trengove (after 1/2 time), Oliver, Brayshaw were al busy.

Love, love, love the quartet you guys have built up forward in Weid (2?), Smith (5), Hullett (2), King. Kicked something like 10 of your goals today.

The experience of the Scorpions was too much for the young Tigers.

WntE9v0.png

EjL4daE.png

Saw a bit on tv today, gee there is a chunk of talent rolling around and considering a few have come up and are playing in the ones now
Today wasn't a day that really showed our talent in the twos
They played terribly

Said on the club site that Weid and Hulett only kicked a goal each. Doesnt sound like they are bossing the VFL like Jesse did...
Was a shit house game for most. Smith held the side up and was the best forward by about 1000

Said on the club site that Weid and Hulett only kicked a goal each. Doesnt sound like they are bossing the VFL like Jesse did...

I think you forget how most young key forwards start their career

Weideman isn't a manchild like Hogan was either.

I'm not too worried about Oliver. Cripps didn't have a great outside game when he started out - tbh he still doesn't, really. But he's still learned to work himself into the game outside of the clearances.

Weideman isn't a manchild like Hogan was either.

I'm not too worried about Oliver. Cripps didn't have a great outside game when he started out - tbh he still doesn't, really. But he's still learned to work himself into the game outside of the clearances.

Oliver wasn't even fit enough for under 18s last year
He will improve massively after another AFL pre season

Gee i watched at Punt Road until half time and I thought the game was pretty good. Casey were miles better in the first quarter but didn't captilise on the first 15 minutes where the Tigers literally didn't have an inside 50. Tables turned in the second quarter.

Was kinda upset the games overlapped to be honest.

Oh by the way, Casey play at Whitten Oval at the novelty time of 11.40am. Sunday July 17. The seniors play at Corporate Stadium at 3.20 for their semi annual dose of pain from the saints so it works out pretty well.

Being a relatively new citizen of Melbourne's inner west, I've been down to Whitten Oval a few times this year. I can highly recommend it. Don't quite know how but they have pumped a ton of money into that facility. Ground is in great condition (as was Punt Road to be honest), good undercover area, good cans for $5, good public transport, good real footy and people. A tick in every box. Short walk to the Victoria Hotel for a quick pot before jumping on the train right next door to the pub and 2 stops into Southern Cross.

Convincing argument IMO

Gee i watched at Punt Road until half time and I thought the game was pretty good. Casey were miles better in the first quarter but didn't captilise on the first 15 minutes where the Tigers literally didn't have an inside 50. Tables turned in the second quarter.

Was kinda upset the games overlapped to be honest.

Oh by the way, Casey play at Whitten Oval at the novelty time of 11.40am. Sunday July 17. The seniors play at Corporate Stadium at 3.20 for their semi annual dose of pain from the saints so it works out pretty well.

Being a relatively new citizen of Melbourne's inner west, I've been down to Whitten Oval a few times this year. I can highly recommend it. Don't quite know how but they have pumped a ton of money into that facility. Ground is in great condition (as was Punt Road to be honest), good undercover area, good cans for $5, good public transport, good real footy and people. A tick in every box. Short walk to the Victoria Hotel for a quick pot before jumping on the train right next door to the pub and 2 stops into Southern Cross.

Convincing argument IMO
Plapps first comment post game was "that was not a win for us". I think that sums up the game mate

Fair enough. I only saw half of it like I said, but judging on that, I'd say it was't 'a win' because we didn't capitalise when we should have. We looked miles better than them for pretty much the whole first quarter and the game should probably have been over. It wasn't and Richmond got a sniff. I enjoyed it anway

I love the kid Smith! Understand he's not Melbourne listed but he's a ripper.
Anyone know how old he is?
24 turns 25 soon. Apparently is a very good bloke too!

Fair enough. I only saw half of it like I said, but judging on that, I'd say it was't 'a win' because we didn't capitalise when we should have. We looked miles better than them for pretty much the whole first quarter and the game should probably have been over. It wasn't and Richmond got a sniff. I enjoyed it anway
Casey played well for the first 5 or so minutes of each quarter, thats it.

It was the equivalent of hawks playing gold coast, that's why the game wasn't a win. They should never have got a sniff, and we had plenty of chances to go in for the kill after quarter time.

Could Tim Smith play that sweeping half-back role, similar to how Howe is played for Collingwood (and Melbourne before that). Excellent set of mitts and great athleticism.

Keilty and Smith for MFC 2017.

Could Tim Smith play that sweeping half-back role, similar to how Howe is played for Collingwood (and Melbourne before that). Excellent set of mitts and great athleticism.

Smith won't get drafted, and he's a forward, not sure why you'd want to reinvent him if he was. He would slot in perfectly as a third tall. But he will be 25 before the draft, his best hope is maybe being rookied by someone, but I doubt it'll happen

Decs probably not a huge hope either, yesterday was the best game i've seen him play. He has a lot of work

I would love to see at least one of them get a rookie spot ... I'm fan of guys like that reaping the benefits of the clubs' relationship and getting a crack at it. You'd think would be a reasonably seemless transition too, since I'd imagine the game styles and principles would be the same