macca23

Adelaide Crows
Great win by the boys today. A very even performance and a very workmanlike effort, which took its toll a bit in the last quarter - but the game was in the bag by then. Apologies to John**** and Stenglein - just not enough room to fit them all in.

Best On Ground

5 - Wayne Carey (The most influential player on the ground. Had a hand in 7 of our first 10 goals.)
4 - Mark Riciutto (great captain's knock particularly in the first half)
3 - Graham John**** (a genuine star in the making - took some top marks)
2 - Ken McGregor (Tower of strength at CHB - not beaten all day)
1 - Rob Shirley (Terrific effort in cutting out a player of Judd's class)

Best Team Man

3 - Wayne Carey (see above)
2 - Rob Shirley (see above)
1 - Ken McGregor (See above)

Rookie

1 - Haydn Skipworth. Well done young Skippy. Made the most of his limited ground time.

Edit: Put my votes up early, and on reflection, John**** had to be in the best 3, so I've changed them to slot him in at 3 and move McGregor and Shirley down one spot. Sorry, Nige, but you're the one that misses out now!!

You beat me to it. I'll ask Danni to delete my thread.

I find it bloody hard to award votes this week as it was a great even contribution from the whole team. I must admit I liked how we managed players today. Keep them reasonaby fresh next week.

Best on Gorund

5 - Wayne Carey (I just thought he set it up briliantly. Started really well and of our 1st 10 goals he had a hand in 7.)
4 - Graham John**** (What a little star. He is playing some good footy lately and is a very good overhead for his size. Great game)
3 - Ken Mcgregor (Took McDougall to cleaners and got plaenty of the ball himself. Also took some teriffic marks)
2 - Mark Ricciuto (Captain was very good today. Spend a fair bit of time on the bench but still managed to rack up 20 odd touches)
1 - Nigel Smart (Was terrific in the 2nd quarter. Played one of his best game for a while)

Unlucky: Tyson Edwards and Ronnie Burns

Best Team Man

3 - Robert Shirley (Chris Judd who?????? He took him on and beat him. Had more touches than Judd and laid 8 strong tackles)
2 - Tyson Stenglein (Did a superb job on Cousins. Ben did get some 19 touches but I think its fair to say that 1/3 of those were ineffective. Great Effort by Tyson)
1 - Nathan Bassett (Did a very good job on Wilson. He keep providing an extra running option out of defence.)

Rookie

1 - Hayden Skipworth (Was really impressed with skippy. Got a bit of the ball himself and laid 5 tackles. He is very good at reading the play. For a bloke his size he doesn't mind the physical stuff)

How good were Ronnie's 2nd and 3rd goals?????? :D Missed a sitter 1st up. :mad:

Best On Ground

5 - Mark Ricciuto - Sensational game from Roo today, especially seeing as he wasn't 100%. Was still leading the possessions even after he went to the bench. His goal in the last quarter to steady us was a classic captain's goal. Well done Roo!
4 - Stiffy - 4 goals, fantastic. The marks he took all over the ground were really valuable. Getting better & better every week.
3 - Wayne Carey - 3 goals & set up numerous others - great effort. Hopefully his knee is ok for next week.
2 - Robert Shirley - Awesome job on Judd and got the ball out of tight packs on a few occassions.
1 - Nigel Smart - His attacking run off half back was really important.

Apologies to Kenny who played a great game too!

Best Team Man

3 - Wayne Carey
2 - Stiffy
1 - Ken McGregor

Rookie

1 - Hayden Skipworth - I liked Skippy's game. He tackles hard and wasn't afraid to get in and do the hard work. Would keep him in ahead of Bode for next week.

How shocking was Ben Hart's game today? He is definately not a good match up for Matera, I don't understand why Gary persisted with it?? :mad:

Re: Re: Votes v Eagles

Originally posted by bluecrow
How shocking was Ben Hart's game today? He is definately not a good match up for Matera, I don't understand why Gary persisted with it?? :mad:
I was very surprised with that match up. Clearly Edwards is the man for Matera.

Best On Ground

5 - Wayne Carey- well it was the Wayneshow again this week, Made jackovich look 2nd rate by the way he set those goals up along with the 3 he kicked.
4 - Young Stiffy - This Kid Improves each week and this week was no exception, 4 great goals.
3 - Mark Ricciuto- Continued to work hard, It looked like he was carrying an injury from the early stages but still showed his class.
2 - Nigel Smart - Was he a loose man all day? I never saw his opponent, its great to see Nige running hard off half back again.
1 - Ken Mcgregor- Solid again at CHB. Kenny's doing well this year.

Best Team Man

3 - Wayne Carey
2 - Robert Shirley
1 - Nathan Bassett

Rookie

1 - Hayden Skipworth - Really looking good, Gary must keep him there for next week too, those tackles he layed were second to none!!

Edwards Made a few mistakes early but made up for them as the game went on as he always does.

Best On Ground

5: Wayne Carey - Made Jakovich look stupid. Love him.
4: Mark Ricciuto - Roodog you star.
3: Graham Johnc.ck - Excitement machine - and he's not yet 20!
2: Nigel Smart - Brilliant linking game from Nige. Provided much drive through the middle.
1: Nathan Bassett - Played a stormer down back.

Best Team Man

3: Wayne Carey - Always quick to encourage and reassure his team-mates as well as do the hard yards and inspirational. Worth his weight in goals. ;)
2: Rob Shirley - Tagged and bagged Judd today.
1: Mark Bickley - In and under, tried hard all day.

Rookie

Does Skipworth even qualify? He's 21 and made his debut in 2001...

EDIT: Seems he is, so I'll grudgingly give him a vote - he did more than Hentschel that day he stole a vote ;)

Re: Re: Votes v Eagles

Originally posted by dyertribe
Does Skipworth even qualify? He's 21 and made his debut in 2001...
He is eligible for the rising star nomination. You have to be 21 or less at the start of the year and must have played less than 10 games. So I think he is eligble.;)

Re: Re: Re: Votes v Eagles

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
He is eligible for the rising star nomination. You have to be 21 or less at the start of the year and must have played less than 10 games. So I think he is eligble.;)

Fair enough ;)

POTY

5- Mark Ricciuto
4- King Carey
3- Graham Johncòck
2- Robert Shirley
1- Ken McGregor

TTM

3- King Carey
2- Rob Shirley
1- Mark Bickley

Rookie

1- Haydn Skipworth

Real Hard to rate today

BEST:

5. Carey. (Just standing there he makes the balance look better. Worth every cent. No Regrets. Sorry for the abuse over the last 12 years. Champion. Wells is average)
4. Smart. (Did everything right)
3. Roo. (He's like a doctor when you feel sick. Just makes everything better when you need some comforting.)
2. John****. (This boy is good. Very good)
1. Clark (Best tap ruckman I've ever seen)

TEAM MAN:

3. Bickley. (He works so damn hard)
2. Edward. (Balance)
1. Torney. (lmost Begley)

BOG

5. Ricciuto (might be time to start preparing your Brownlow speech :D)
4. Johncock (another great performance up forward)
3. Carey (such an important target)
2. Burns (another forward line livewire)
1. McGregor (solid as a rock at CHB)

Honourable mentions to Bickley and Smart

BTM

3. Shirley (kept Judd quiet)
2. Stenglein (didn't do too bad a job on Cousins)
1. Perrie (another good effort from the Sarge)

Rookie

1. Skipworth (if eligible, he looked very composed)

Really happy with the win [and really happy to be back online again]. The first half was fantastic and overall to get 4 points in Perth is the ultimate [apart from winning flags and finals and in Brisbane!!]

BoG
5. Wayne Carey - really made his presence felt - which is great to have this 2 weeks in a row
4. Graham Johnco[k - if he keeps improving at this rate, he could be anything! - agree with the comments about his hands
3. Mark Ricciutto - tremendous effort under difficult circumstances
2. Nigel Smart - some vintage stuff today
1. Ken McGregor - inconspicuous but very effective

TM
3. Robert Shirley - great job on Judd
2. Tyson Stenglein - great job on Cousins
1. Matthew Clarke - always giving us a chance around the stoppages.

Rookie
1. Hayden Skipworth - looked like he belonged out there - nice if he gets another game

Best on Ground...

5. Carey.
4. Johnc.ck.
3. Ricciutto
2. Smart
1. McGregor

Best Team Man...

3. Clarke
2. Shirley
1. Bickley

Rookie...

1. Skipworth

I know we've talked about this before but I just want to repeat it. I'm getting really sick of seeing Bob Campbell singing the song with the players. He was the only non-player in the circle today and he just looks stupid and out of place.

Bonus for me - Mrs Lindner got so sick of watching her Eagles about 1/2 way through the third quarter she started cooking a sensational Beef casserole to calm herself down.Yum!!!! :D

Best on Ground

5. Carey
4. Johnc()ck
3. Smart
2. Ricciutto
1. Burns

Best Team Man

3. McGregor
2. Shirley
1. Bickley

Rookie of the Year

1. Skipworth

Great win.
I hope Carey comes up for the pie game.

Judd is over rated; Shirley is under rated.

A very even performance al-round & a great win at the house of pain,

BoG,
5 = G Johnc#ck, how good is this kid ?? still only 19
4 = M Ricciuto, that brownlow is really starting to look likely
3 = R Shirley, gave Judd a bath & picked up possessions
2 = N Smart, good all day but boy was his 2nd 1/4 special or what !!!!
1 = W Carey, just starting to warm up for the finals

BTM
3 = K McGregor, unbeatable at chb
2 = T Stenglein, a good negative roll on Cousins
1 = M Bickley, typical Bicks

Rookie

2 = H Skipworth, just nice to give a rookie a vote & he did do well when he came on the ground,

The crows win in the west...
...Brent re-signs......
...Ahh, What a blo0dy ripper of a weekend!!!

Hard to give votes this week- good performance.

bog.
5- Wayne 'duck/king' Carey
4- Nigel 'baldy' Smart
3- Graham 'stiffy' John****- The last couple of weeks his marking has improved heaps.
2- Mark 'roo' Ricciuto
1- Ronnie '(cant think of a nickname)' Burns

btm.
3- Tyson 'stinger' Stenglein - Kept Cousins relatively quite.
2- Matthew 'clarkey' Clarke
1- Robert ' I dont sign things for kids' Shirley

Rookie.

1- Hayden Skipworth- played well enough to get my vote, looked the goods out there. I blo0dy well hope he doesnt get a game next week and that Reilly comes in though :p (my bad?!!) :D