Banter Who will be better in 2024? Carlton or Collingwood?

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2024?

Geelong kept beating hawthorn but it only takes one game.
Of course. But the Melbourne mantra is " we are so much better than Collingwood". May expressed this belief to much applause after we won the flag. How does any team prove its superiority? By winning on the footy field. So, until that happens, it's best to keep such beliefs to yourself.

We even beat you when we were a rabble in your premiership year.

Of course. But the Melbourne mantra is " we are so much better than Collingwood". May expressed this belief to much applause after we won the flag. How does any team prove its superiority? By winning on the footy field. So, until that happens, it's best to keep such beliefs to yourself.

We even beat you when we were a rabble in your premiership year.
Hmmm, no. It’s not the mantra at all. It’s one players opinion.

Curnow has become the "you can't touch him" protected species of this era. When I think of the mauling Cloke and Rocca used to get it's laughable to see the free ride given to Curnow. He kicked most of his goals against us from tiggy touch wood frees last year too.

He's a class act and a big boy capable of winning his own footy- so cut the crap umpires.

Are you? You’ve spoken to him about it have you? Or are you just talking s**t?
The bitterness dripping from the tongue of Goodwin after our win tells me all I need to know about Melbourne's attitude toward us. When I compare that to the grace shown by Fly when we lost our prelim in 2022 by a point I feel very proud.

Curnow has become the "you can't touch him" protected species of this era. When I think of the mauling Cloke and Rocca used to get it's laughable to see the free ride given to Curnow. He kicked most of his goals against us from tiggy touch wood frees last year too.

He's a class act and a big boy capable of winning his own footy- so cut the crap umpires.

Cloke and Rocca? A lifetime away

It's pretty easy, don't scrag and umpires become non-existent

Perhaps your beloved Darcy should learn to defend him instead of your entire fan base squealing online that he gets too many frees. Don't see Dees fans sooking, probably because May can actually defend him using legal technique

for the 2nd time Billy Frampton will play on one. Moore the other. Doesn't really matter anyway, Curnow only gets goals via free kicks so we should play one of our players that the umpires like on Curnow such as pendles or Nick
You must know the rules mate, get held or scragged when you're nowhere near the ball is a free kick, coaches will have to find another way of stopping Curnow.

Charlie and Harry wont beat us, it will be whether the rest of the Carlton team can contribute more than 4-5 goals.

We will just have Howe, Maynard and IQ drop off their men to intercept and spoil all night.

Nah, I say keep it up umpires.

It means it helps them get a few more home and away wins to sneak into the finals, though when it counts most and the umpires put away their whistles in September, Carlton are impotent up forward and easy kills for the genuine contenders.

for the 2nd time Billy Frampton will play on one. Moore the other. Doesn't really matter anyway, Curnow only gets goals via free kicks so we should play one of our players that the umpires like on Curnow such as pendles or Nick
Once again the irony of a Collingwood supporter discussing umpiring

Maybe you and Darcy should consult the rule book and you will see that those frees were so blatant Stevie Wonder would call them

Carlton winning this easily (for now), March premiers and should back it up as April premiers as well.

I guess there's still interest because of the way Carkton faded in 2022. Seasons are ridiculously long now, anything could happen, and its been a long time sjnce the Baggers haveen reliable.

We made an early run in 2023 and weren't headed, despite a serious mid-season wobble.

Carlton look more solid than previous iterations, and I reckon they could recover if they slump, but that remains to be seen.

Here's hoping for another Jamie Elliot style execution , say Max King after the siren at Docklands in round 24.

Worm4 - here's one fellow I wouldn't be seeking advice from...
Fudgey Wudgey - if you want to run with the big dogs at night - don't pee like a puppy in the morning...

The bitterness dripping from the tongue of Goodwin after our win tells me all I need to know about Melbourne's attitude toward us. When I compare that to the grace shown by Fly when we lost our prelim in 2022 by a point I feel very proud.
Probably pretty emotional about that dog Maynard knocking out Brayshaw.

Carlton fans will say this then proclaim that they deserve the round one opener (+ any other game given to them without reason see: Good Friday and whatever the * Kings Birthday Eve is) despite obtaining 2 wooden spoons and 1 prelim appearance since the games inception 16 years ago.

Dogs had their chance on Good Friday but dropped the ball.
Roos would be rapt with the Blues and capacity crowds as partners for the future.
Ballarat against the Suns is where it’s at for the Dogs … now off you go …

Max Gawn leading the league with 12 free kicks this year .

Curnow has 5.

Does Gawn escape the free kick notion or is it just limited to one player?

Curnow has 5.

Is this commonly referred to as 'Whataboutism'?

And not like Carlton supporters to reference a small data set when forming conclusions.

After all, they are apparently the best team in the competition on the back of three wins (albeit against bottom four teams).

Curnow has 5.

45 players averaging more FF compared to Charlie this year

More failed analysis or clutching at straws

Is this commonly referred to as 'Whataboutism'?

And not like Carlton supporters to reference a small data set when forming conclusions.

After all, they are apparently the best team in the competition on the back of three wins (albeit against bottom four teams).
Most ironic post coming from you

Pies back2back

Carlton 16th