Chris Yarran sentenced to prison for five years for crime spree across Perth

No, but I don't really see any attempts from the justice system or government to change the approach either. Same approach, same results.

Inb4 "then you don't know what it's like, therefore your opinion is invalid".

I understand the perception and governments don’t help but the people who do work in the system are really trying to make a difference

Fair enough, too. Obviously those working in the system are handcuffed (pardon the pun) by government policy, funding, etc.

I feel like if there was more done by governments to address the "why?" (a lot of which centres around poverty and upbringing, and the mental state and scars that can result), we'd see less people reaching this point. I don't have all the answers as to what more can be done, but there does seem to be a fair bit of rug-sweeping and "hopefully they just go away" when it comes to criminals and crime, rather than trying to actually help what are clearly damaged people.

so sad

I can't believe some call for the legalisation of drugs. Sure the drug issue is a complex one but the Yarran and Cousin's sagas demonstrate the dangers of drug abuse.

The only reason why I believe in a judicial intervention, is it enables government to intervene where a health alone option requires consent. Spent convictions, health farms for isolation, even unlimited free drug camps etc should be considered.

None of this ******** here's a needle in the middle of the city stuff.
During the election, I saw a greens employee in my electorate wearing a "decriminalize heroin" shirt.

As if I needed more evidence that party is cancer to the country.

So you don't really care about the outcomes for them, as long as they just go away and leave you alone? OK...

That's the problem with a lot of justice, it's about locking people away and making it someone else's problem, rather than actually rehabilitating people, or working on the societal factors, that cause the mental issues, that cause the crimes and drug use, etc.
Dont start with whats ok with me, you sound like a pedo sympathiser/rehab specialist. He was a danger to society and got what he deserved. If he gets better then gets out props to him. But if he's just mained an 8 ball and goes beserk what do you suggest? A participation pencil and woe is me story?

Yeah, you've completely missed my point.

I'm certainly not a "pedo sympathiser", and nowhere did I argue that Yarran's punishment was undeserved for these crimes.

I'm saying we need to work on the social conditions and upbringing that creates an individual with the frame of mind to commit such crimes. We're not "born bad", and it's not just drugs causing these actions. You've got to have some inner dissatisfaction or something amiss inside to want to do this to begin with. As others said earlier in the thread, we're treating the symptoms, not the cause, or at the very least it's misunderstanding or overlooking the real cause.

I'm certainly not a "pedo sympathiser", and nowhere did I argue that Yarran's punishment was undeserved for these crimes.

I'm saying we need to work on the social conditions and upbringing that creates an individual with the frame of mind to commit such crimes. We're not "born bad", and it's not just drugs causing these actions. You've got to have some inner dissatisfaction or something amiss inside to want to do this to begin with. As others said earlier in the thread, we're treating the symptoms, not the cause, or at the very least it's misunderstanding or overlooking the real cause.
No sh t sherlock. He comes from a marginal demographic. I get that as do most people with half a brain, spare us the crash course.

Some people love to look like they are being "tough on crime".

They forget that to be tough on crime, the crime has to have already been committed!

I don't care if the minimum sentence is high if I've already been bashed/robbed/had a family member killed etc. I'd rather not have had the negative experience at all.

Unfortunately pollies being "tough on crime" gets votes from nuffies, whereas challenging the societal conditions created to PREVENT crime being committed isn't sexy and just gets twisted into "pedo sympathiser" or "lefty do-gooder" s**t. Dunno about the people making these claims, but I'd rather just live in a low crime area full stop!

you have no idea mate.

seriously- no idea.

easy to make a call from the outside
Having an addict brother who had exactly the same upbringing as me (and 5 other siblings) I think I have an idea. Outline for us why Yarran turned to drugs when millions of others who've had a poor upbringing didn't... He chose that path didn't he?

Agree Chubberson.
Far easier to get angry than to show empathy, hey???
So easy for you, stuff everyone else if they struggle.
Your hang em high approach to drug abuse is slightly outdated.
I would have thought you could show some maturity on this issue but no, stuff anyone who has messed up.
Even Yarran who was raised in a dysfunctional crime effected home .

Far easier to get angry than to show empathy, hey???
So easy for you, stuff everyone else if they struggle.
Your hang em high approach to drug abuse is slightly outdated.
I would have thought you could show some maturity on this issue but no, stuff anyone who has messed up.
Even Yarran who was raised in a dysfunctional crime effected home .
You have no idea what we've been through with my brother so do as Chubberson said and shut up.

Well dont raise your brother like you know everything.
In fact your part of the problem, users need hope and when family cut them off that goes.
You made the subject about your bro, not me.
Yarran has messed up big time but cutting off support for him will achieve zip.

Probably doesn't even have his own kids. Comes in and carries on like a f kn pork chop haha.

You think you know everything about everything but your just a punk that doesn't know when to shut the f up. Trying to tell a guy that has first hand experience with it how it all works. Just shut up.
IWell we know you know nothing as you contribute zero to the discussion. If you dont like my posts slink off back into your hole, you dont have to read them.
Instead of abusing posters Tell us your thoughts on how drug addiction should be handled?????
Oh dear, you think a big footy poster is the only guy who has experienced drug addiction :rolleyes:

In fact your part of the problem, users need hope and when family cut them off that goes.
Only so many times you can help them if theyre stealing from you and lying to you. You preach all your solutions but really have no life experience. Its why your passionate about things on anon int forums.

Yes I did show you that I have some real life experience in the matter and I also told you I helped and supported him (for a couple of decades in fact). It was to give you some background rather than appearing to be just another keyboard warrior that gets his info from the papers. How about you?

IWell we know you know nothing as you contribute zero to the discussion. If you dont like my posts slink off back into your hole, you dont have to read them.
Instead of abusing posters Tell us your thoughts on how drug addiction should be handled?????
Oh dear, you think a big footy poster is the only guy who has experienced drug addiction :rolleyes:

Oh dear...

Only so many times you can help them if theyre stealing from you and lying to you. You preach all your solutions but really have no life experience. Its why your passionate about things on anon int forums.

I don't think he's given us any solutions has he? By the way, my brother did far worse than steal from me but Slarti thinks these people should be forgiven every time they stuff up. How long do we allow criminal (and other) behaviour to go on, regardless of police and court intervention Slartibartfast before we say enough's enough?

It takes a special kind of selfish to continue to choose crime and drugs over family/friends and it's normally why after decades they end up with no one and why jail isn't such a bad place for them. But I'm sure slarti has a solution for the 20 year addict and all those just starting out, stay tuned.......

Mass removal of children and mass sterilisation of the root cause. Anything else is just papering over the cracks.