Votes: 93 60.4%
  • 48. Steely Green

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 49. Kaleb Smith

Votes: 2 1.3%

vlas is getting done dirty for someone that was already on the ground and got pole axed

the only way out of that was to be second to the ball instead

I’m struggling to understand how there are people not disappointed with today’s result.

That is a game we should have won. Poor kicking at goal, easy dropped marks, and our absurd overuse of the footy by hand made for a tough day at the office.

That third qtr we dominated, and couldn’t score. I knew then that it was over.

Banks, two great games in a row where he has probably been our best.

Reckon the Nank vs Xerri battle was awesome. Still not sure who gets the chocolates, probably Xerri. But what a battle.

You can’t half tell Balta is distracted, and his head isn’t in it. Looks to be an absolute shell of the player we know he is.

McAuliffe today showing why he needs a decent run at it, and NOT as the sub. Thought he was great.

Loved Campbell, Lalor and Miller today too.

Flat with the result today but to have 3 wins after 10 weeks is not what I expected. Take the good with the bad I guess

Some posters here that like to criticise our players every single week should perhaps go and attend some games and watch closely as the play unfolds. There's lots of stuff you don't see on TV that you see live. Our boys are buying into Yze's gameplan. Ground zero of the rebuild and I can see a bright future. As opposed to North with their endless draft concessions the last 5-6 years and the best they can do is literally fall over the line against us today.

Big tick for McAuliffe

Needs to sort out his kicking, it’s just a wayward cannon atm but was very good all day in the contest and being in the right spots
Im happy for the kid to play his way

Whilst he was wayward today he is usually pretty good and kicks goals from outside 50
i wouldnt want to discourage that out of his game

He deserves to stay in and play

I’m struggling to understand how there are people not disappointed with today’s result.

That is a game we should have won. Poor kicking at goal, easy dropped marks, and our absurd overuse of the footy by hand made for a tough day at the office.

Reckon the Nank vs Xerri battle was awesome. Still not sure who gets the chocolates, probably Xerri. But what a battle.

You can’t half tell Balta is distracted, and his head isn’t in it. Looks to be an absolute shell of the player we know he is.

McAuliffe today showing why he needs a decent run at it, and NOT as the sub. Thought he was great.

Flat with the result today but to have 3 wins after 10 weeks is not what I expected. Take the good with the bad I guess
Although we didn’t win today, I’m confident we have the better future of the two sides. North should be further advanced than us with the amount of picks coming in, and they only just beat us. Bank’s fantastic game showed those who wanted him gone how good he is.

Completely agree mate
We win a flag before them, I have no doubt.
Just confused as to how people aren’t disappointed though. The chance was there to win the game, and we didn’t take it.

Yep, been a big fan of Banks this year

our forward line is the biggest problem imo, we acknowledged that at the draft. id be very surprised if lefau doesnt slot in once he gets a few vfl games under his belt. the young forwards are showing signs but lynch still carries way too much. need another contested mark down there to go with lalor. get alger in for green, cant be any worse.
Def lynch is a lone hand down there , Faull let himself down dropping that dolly 15m out and could do with a spell , sims did well in first half not much in sec half . Lefau in a few weeks but gray immediately should come in to lend support , we re dead set fw if we don’t pull the lever

We really should have won the game.
We will pass Norf next year

well our gameplan back in the flag era was to deliberately loose the clearances
Clearances are overrated by commentators and stat heads. Sure, the perfect tap to a rover moving at top pace who then hits the Full Forward on the chest is great and makes all the highlights - but it's rare. Most clearances, whether centre bounces or around the grounds ball-ups tend to be scrub hack kicks.

In 2017 we won 18 games and lost 7. We won the clearances in 10 games and lost 13.
In 2018 we won 19 games and lost 5 We won the clearances in 4 games and lost 19 (one was even).
In 2019 we won 19 games and lost 6. We won the clearances in 5 games and lost 20.
In 2020 we won 15 games and lost 5 (one draw). We won the clearances in 5 games and lost 16.

In 2024, we were shit and won 2 games . We won the clearances in 8 games. In one of the games we won, we still lost the clearances.

In 2021, Melbourne were great and had Max Gawn. They won the hitouts in 22 of 25 games. They won the clearances in 8 of 25.

Sure - better teams will usually win more clearances in general, because they are better at basic football. But it's not that significant. We were thrashed in clearances today - and if Taranto had not missed a sitter from 40 out, we win.

Very young and inexperienced forward line just couldn’t finish when it mattered.

Result doesn’t really matter – you could tell the north fans wanted to win that way more than we did since we had the win last week.

Competed hard and that’s what you want to see at this stage.

Some posters here that like to criticise our players every single week should perhaps go and attend some games and watch closely as the play unfolds. There's lots of stuff you don't see on TV that you see live. Our boys are buying into Yze's gameplan. Ground zero of the rebuild and I can see a bright future. As opposed to North with their endless draft concessions the last 5-6 years and the best they can do is literally fall over the line against us today.

Well, for the benefit of those of us who don’t live in Melbourne, what’s your understanding of what “Yze’s gameplan” involves because it sure as hell doesn’t come across on 📺?

I agree with everything you said except the first line.
I'm enjoying the positives I can get out of any matches and have very low expectations of getting wins.
I expect the players to be extremely dirty on not getting the win. I do not want them settling into an honourable loss is acceptable mentality.
But me, not fussed about the loss. Rather excited about the second quarter and the same players you ahve mentioned.

Im happy for the kid to play his way

Whilst he was wayward today he is usually pretty good and kicks goals from outside 50
i wouldnt want to discourage that out of his game

He deserves to stay in and play
Yeah 100% he plays every week
Adds something different to our midfield mix
Speed and power
Got all the tools to be a gun

His kicking lacks touch too.. he will work on it no doubt

Would nominate three reasons we lost - none related to inexperience:

1. Nick Vlastuin (pushed over by a 20-year-old, which led to the Larkey goal)
  2. Tim Taranto (missed one that a top player would slot)
  3. Tom Lynch (see Taranto; also did nothing but sook all day)
chuck in forward line coaches.

I just got back from the game. We were the better side after the first quarter. It would have been nice to win, but we’re better off in our position than them. In the end, experience the difference , and we had our chances.
Absolutely. Only the first game this year, where I feel we were unlucky not to win (as opposed to lucky to win).

1st quarter we struggled to defuse the long ball in... but after that we were well on top but just couldn't capitalise. In the whole scheme of things it wouldn't have been more enjoyable to win but we pretty much outplayed a team we are 2-3 years behind in terms of list build. I think we should go past them pretty swiftly in the next couple of years.

Things I liked:
  • Lalor starting to realise how dangerous he is at this level. Starting to burst through contests more and so good in the air - that goalsquare grab - wow
  • Banks in the Short role. Shorty will obviously get back in the team but could be utilised further up the ground where he can use that leg to greater impact and his poor kicks will cost us less.
  • McAuliffe's best game for us (that I can remember). His value may come in upcoming years when we need to replace Taranto/Hopper etc. Think he can play at the level. Would ahve liked him to take the shot when he had it at 50 and could have wheeled around but he was trying to do the team thing.
  • Jonty and Sims work when the ball hits the ground
  • Seth doing Seth things
  • McIntosh played a great milestone goal just bobbing up when needed. He may only have 20-40 games left but he'll try his heart out in each of them.
  • Taranto, Hopper, Nank, Vlaustin, Broad and Lynch - all working their guts out. Teaching as well as keeping us in games.
  • Jack Ross worked really hard today. Think at some stage it'll be him, Dow and obviously McAuliffe battling for spots once Smilie and eventually Hotton (plus Harley ;) )and some future high draft picks become match ready. Today's standard needs to be his minimum - 20ish touches, tackles and doing the hard stuff.
  • Turned momentum a couple of times in the game. Obviously in Q2 but also in the 3rd and again in the 4th. Just fought hard - that's a characteristic we want to be known for.

Things I look forward to improving
  • Jonty and Sims being able to impact further in the air. I'm not knocking them, they are having a crack but with a couple more pre-seasons in them, they'll start to do some real damage. Think in the mean-time, we'll see Lefau get some game time (in a couple of weeks when Jonty
  • Someone actually putting time into Zurhaar. He plays his best game against us every time we play them...Trainor was on him a few times which is a bit unfair on him - needed to be Broad or Vlaustin more often than not.
  • A forward leading at the ball carrier - will create space for the big boys and drag a defender away from Lynch.
  • Felt we are improving on defensive transition but still work to do.
  • Defending the high ball - looked a bit panicked at times when we are usually strong in that area.
Really bouyant. We may not win too many more for the season but I have no doubt we are heading the right way.

Changes: Depends who is sore with a 5 day break.

Guessing: In - Short/Tresize (Smith), Gray/Blight (Balta), possibly Sonsie after he ripped it up in the VFL. Possibly one of the kids gets rested. Maybe Trainor, maybe Jonty (he's worked hard the last month). If he misses, Bauer/Fawcett

Hopefully get game time in the next month - Judson, Alger and Lefau

Autopsy Roast & Toast for North & Changes for Dreamtime v Essendon