C-section Ammo's 2007

The two OC's from what I am hearing will romp in C section in 2007. Strong recruiting from both clubs of Scotch player who are feed up with RA RA!
I agree! Old Camberwell with the three ex-Afl, the return of Tom Bayford, a couple of ex-Scotchies and some handy young players coming into their side will be very good while the other Old C's have recruited very well and have Kent, Evans, Stewart-Holmes,Bowley and Thompson coming back from o/s as well as some excellent young players will not be far off it.

Interesting to note that according to their websites, Carey started on Monday and Camberwell haven't started yet! So are all these observatios based on Monday's session or were you at all the sessions pre-christmas?
Agree thats Reds are impressive!
Went to several sessions pre-christmas- only two post christmas- so very early observations

Big rumour doing the ammo's today which may have a few in c grade very interested and a few more sweating and not from the hard pre season. A club who will remain nameless is paying and spoaching player. Details fell into the hand of CEO of the ammo's . Lets just say that old Camberwell my be going down not up stay turned for more very intereting details. Is in the Spirt of the Game i think not. Ammo's looking to block clearances if inappropriate details are found. Does anyone want a Tallis or Hilton at there club + other new players if Clearances are blocked

David Allday - be careful what you preach- whilst this is a rumour and fun site- such allegations are very damaging. I for one hope they have no truth, but if they do , hope that it is not brushed under the carpet. you did contradict yourself " a club that will remain nameless" in one breath, then Old Camberwell in the next.

Big rumour doing the ammo's today which may have a few in c grade very interested and a few more sweating and not from the hard pre season. A club who will remain nameless is paying and spoaching player. Details fell into the hand of CEO of the ammo's . Lets just say that old Camberwell my be going down not up stay turned for more very intereting details. Is in the Spirt of the Game i think not. Ammo's looking to block clearances if inappropriate details are found. Does anyone want a Tallis or Hilton at there club + other new players if Clearances are blocked

what a load of mindless,offensive dribble the above post is.Put up or shut up.

What a load of rubbish. Rubbish which smacks of jealousy. Perhaps with a similarly driven administration your club would too attract players of this calibre. To suggest that this is achieved through money is offensive. Explain yourself.

A quick glance through DAVID ALLDAY's scant previous postings leads me to conclude that perhaps he is Mr Hyde to Brian Speaking's Dr Jekyll?......If so, then perhaps this latest claim can be placed in the appropriate category by those of us BF veterans who know how much weight to place on the mutterings of Brian and his re-incarnation as Brianhasspoken.

I'll file it away next to my back-copies of the National Enquirer until more credible material comes to light.

so much talk about the two oc's, reds, and friars,

any news about in other sides, parkdale, nodders, rupo, monash, nobs ??

Re Parkdale:

Have commenced training with big numbers each session. Like most teams, they have done their fair share of recruiting, however, ethical reasons forbid me to inform you all of names at this stage (it will obviously be revealed later). The new Coach has also been impressive, is an extremely good communicator, and has been very well accepted by his charges.

Despite losing a couple of key players from last season, their void will be filled by recruits along with other key players returning from injury. The "Dad's Army Team", as has been mentioned by various posters on this forum, will once again be an impressive unit this season.

As I always say, "Never, ever write off the Vultures..."

Looking forward to 2007 with keen anticipation. :thumbsu:

A quick glance through DAVID ALLDAY's scant previous postings leads me to conclude that perhaps he is Mr Hyde to Brian Speaking's Dr Jekyll?......If so, then perhaps this latest claim can be placed in the appropriate category by those of us BF veterans who know how much weight to place on the mutterings of Brian and his re-incarnation as Brianhasspoken.

I'll file it away next to my back-copies of the National Enquirer until more credible material comes to light.
Fraser, enough is enough. Through the last few weeks I have been accussed of being Brian has spoken(which I am of course) Bob Down(which I also am or used to be) Menges, who I am not, I talk you listen, who I am not, and now David Allday, who I am not. Most pundits out there know my identity as they do yours, so I refrain from making too many ridiculous and offensive comments.
Whenever someone posts something controversial on this site, start thinking it is someoine else because I am sick of people like you and Ryan Chard thinking I spend my whole life making up alter ego names to stir s h i t on this site...are you David Allday Fraser?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAVID ALLDAY
Big rumour doing the ammo's today which may have a few in c grade very interested and a few more sweating and not from the hard pre season. A club who will remain nameless is paying and spoaching player. Details fell into the hand of CEO of the ammo's . Lets just say that old Camberwell my be going down not up stay turned for more very intereting details. Is in the Spirt of the Game i think not. Ammo's looking to block clearances if inappropriate details are found. Does anyone want a Tallis or Hilton at there club + other new players if Clearances are blocked.

Seems as though there is plenty more "punting money" down at Camberwell.

Just some food for thought for opposition supporters/coaching staff/players - do your homework on Rupo!

They are the most underestimated team I've been involved against in three years of involvement at the Two Blues, and they are just one of those teams, a little like Sydney, that find a way to win but look like absolute battlers.

The facts are this - they are skillful without being flashy, they are quick without looking flashy, they are first in and hard at it without looking tough, and they are one of the most willing to learn, listen and develop sides you'll come up against. Most of all their effort is consistent.

Can they make the step up - I still have grave doubts, but be prepared when you play them. Do some homework because if you don't they'll be 6-3 at the half way mark before you know it and full of self belief - that will make them difficult to stop. Crush them early and they might start to question themselves.

Just an opinion.

hey there Golden Touch. very good advice.
you got any news for the D1 thread?

Reds are being asked to tread softly on Peterson Oval at present, but a few more days of rain may see things improve. Most ball work is being done in the smaller ovals in the Edinburgh Gardens, with longer / full ground drills only on the main deck.

If things don't improve, we have a few contingency plans in place, with alternative venues available if necessary.

Better news is the quantity and quality of players who have fronted. I've already met 90+ blokes whose names I'm starting to pick up, and plenty of them are new recruits. Obviously a few from Trinity, and a couple of other A grade clubs, with a sprinkling of suburban and country lads who've played seniors in strong bush leagues.

A few more big blokes would be handy, 'coz we don't really want Mappa to have to hold down CHF in the seniors on his own. We're currently working on our "running game plan" at the moment, which means lots of blokes waking up a little tight below the waist. I reckon a few more should've joined me in my optional 10 x 250m strides after training last night, but.....;)

All-in-all I'm very impressed, and excited.
Scribe, is it true that Ronchi, Cahill, Magamez, Dullard, Grossman, Charman, OReilly, Kelleher, Green, Louis-Gleeson are all gone? If so, it could mean a long year for the Reds!

One would have thought you would know better than anyone flanker whether they have gone!!

Well Vinne, Gleeson, Jimmy O and Greeny have all trained at least twice, but are looking at going interstate/overseas for some of the season. Not sure about Ronchi, but I heard he would be down soon. The others I think are confirmed departures, with Dullard at Willy as a possible return if released.

Last I looked, the season was 18 weeks plus finals, so I can't imagine it would be any longer than usual - particularly with the recruits we've got and the numbers who are knuckling down to a more intense pre-season training than they may have previously experienced. Opportunities are there for those willing to work hard to grab them.....

Flanker ,is the percieved big difference in culture between say, Reds and Carey ,fact or fiction in your well informed opinion,given the Old Boy nature of one and the suburban background of the other?

I have found that despite different backgrounds most clubs are fairly similiar despite playing talent differences.Perhaps the biggest differences can be found in Club Administration? Example..I've spent time at Montmerency and Old Camberwell,and there seem to be more similarities than differences.

Would value your opinion.

Flanker ,is the percieved big difference in culture between say, Reds and Carey ,fact or fiction in your well informed opinion,given the Old Boy nature of one and the suburban background of the other?

I have found that despite different backgrounds most clubs are fairly similiar despite playing talent differences.Perhaps the biggest differences can be found in Club Administration? Example..I've spent time at Montmerency and Old Camberwell,and there seem to be more similarities than differences.

What is the perceived big difference??
Cheers,
DG

The obvious difference is socio-economic. The impact of these influences is the major reason that ,generally speaking,the suburban clubs are struggling moreso than those with 'Oldboy' backgrounds.
A glance at Ammo ladders over the last decade tends to support my contention.

Whislt not true in all cases ,I've found structurally the 'oldboy' clubs are stronger and more solid off the field.

Please do not fall into the trap of branding me snobish,I come from very basic stock,I'm simply trying to ascertain if my 'take' on things is shared by others in a posistion to judge such things.
Flanker is in such a position.

Well Vinne, Gleeson, Jimmy O and Greeny have all trained at least twice, but are looking at going interstate/overseas for some of the season. Not sure about Ronchi, but I heard he would be down soon. The others I think are confirmed departures, with Dullard at Willy as a possible return if released.

Last I looked, the season was 18 weeks plus finals, so I can't imagine it would be any longer than usual - particularly with the recruits we've got and the numbers who are knuckling down to a more intense pre-season training than they may have previously experienced. Opportunities are there for those willing to work hard to grab them.....

Congrats on the appointment Frase,

That's a fair exodus of talent there my friend despite having massive numbers. Retirements of Drury and Clark that I heard on the grapevine and it will be a massively new look Fitzroy Reds in 2007. Atherton back?

Great to see your optimistic mate but without seeing the In's for 07 my personal opinion will be that improvement will be difficult.

Anyway, all the best mate - brilliant challenge and should be commended for taking it on.

As for it being C/D = A grade reserves - I think you might be underestimating the standard a little bit if that's what I saw in a previous post.

Do so at your peril mate because the standard of footty I can assure you surprised the hell out of me when I arrived!

Congrats on the appointment Frase,

That's a fair exodus of talent there my friend despite having massive numbers. Retirements of Drury and Clark that I heard on the grapevine and it will be a massively new look Fitzroy Reds in 2007. Atherton back?

Great to see your optimistic mate but without seeing the In's for 07 my personal opinion will be that improvement will be difficult.

Anyway, all the best mate - brilliant challenge and should be commended for taking it on.

As for it being C/D = A grade reserves - I think you might be underestimating the standard a little bit if that's what I saw in a previous post.

Do so at your peril mate because the standard of footy I can assure you surprised the hell out of me when I arrived!

Staff....sorry Midas,

Duly noted - frankly I'm still trying to get a handle on what's acceptable at C grade level re: training and fitness, let alone the true quality of footy being played week in/out. As some will know, I watched 4 games of C section footy in 2006, and two of those included the grand finalists.

Suffice to say a lot of us are feeling our way at the moment, but looking forward to the challenge of blending these "ins" with last years' remainder and turning out a unit which is both competitive and hard working.

No bold predictions will be made from me, best I leave that to the other Reds' posters.

Mind you, the standard comparison I gave earlier was a 'hunch', more based on what guys who came up from lower grades have said about the standard of footy they'd left behind. I think it reasonable to suspect that most C section teams would boast 10 - 12 players who could command a regular A grade senior game, it's the quality of the next 18 or so players which might be more important. It might be more accurate to surmise that a good C section side would be a half/half blend of A senior & A reserve standard players???

Anyhow, it's all academic really, but it's fun trying to work it out....even if I might get a rude shock come round 1!!! ;)

Sounds like Carey and Camberwell are well and truly "bolstering" their stocks, which will make for a damn good season if it all comes to fruition. Have heard nothing about Ormond or Monash, but that's probably to be expected.

I reckon you might be a bit more on the money this time Scribe with your half A senior / half A reserve = C senior comparison. T'would mean the more gun players you get into your top half the better, which may bode well for those clubs pinching ex-AFL or A grade players.

I still think the depth of the list is the key (with the AJAX boys being perhaps a slight exception which proves the rule). If so, look to those sides with good 2nds results to hold firm in the middle of the season.

IIRC the reserves finalists last season were STMBT, Ormond, Old Camberwell and Fitzroy Reds. You'd expect the Friars and/or Nodders to have pretty good depth given they've both been A/B graders for quite some time!!!

Rupo, now has re-cycled water, the ground is looking good and training started this week. Our ground i certainly rated as average last year should be much better, heavy rains would make it too wet. Some very knowledgable threads on Rupo, each year we have not quite known what to expect ourselves and to be honest some of the talk about recruits in "C" Grade is frightening. We certainly don't have the great history of other clubs and we will enter this year no different to last year, to consolidate and be competitive.

Zoofest, Flanker might have played against Old Carey, that does not mean he understands the Old Carey culture and he definitely does not understand the Reds culture! Furthermore, he struggles to understand the difference between humor and confidentiality.

Have a great season boys!!!