Preview Changes: R6 2021 v Hawthorn in Tasmania

Too tall for me

Agreed

I'd love to see Thilthorpe take Lynch's spot, keep Fog up FWD, drop Frampton and have Hately + small FWD/MID come in for Berry & Frampton.

Believe it or not my guess is that Jones comes in, and Worrell/Murray gets the injury sub.

Makes us a little smaller overall. We've looked very suspect getting done on the counter attack the last few weeks, and i'd like to see a bit more pressure applied up FWD.

From the Nicks presser:

Chayce Jones sounds like he'll be the emergency for this week. Mainly because we're in Tasmania and it allows him to see his family.

From the Nicks presser:

Chayce Jones sounds like he'll be the emergency for this week. Mainly because we're in Tasmania and it allows him to see his family.

then I want one of our blokes that should have been injury-rested to aggravate, and Jones to be subbed on and play a blinder

From the Nicks presser:

might be a good thing... maybe they should have him there every week and have an “injury“ in the 3rd quarter and sub him in..

get him some game time where he comes in with the advantage of fresh legs over his opponents.. maybe it’ll help him win more of the ball and, in turn, build some confidence..

something has to be done with the kid.. either that or they just give up and trade him at years end to north for a packet of stale chips... or maybe they hand him to the hawks and see if Clarkson can bring out his best..

Really?

He leaves Jake in his dust for brain farts, Frost has never been recognised for his decision making and with good reason.

He's an absolute spud. Can't defend and can't use the ball properly. Basically a clone of Michael Pettigrew.

Notes from the presser:

- Lynch in doubt as he hasn't been training, they're tossing up whether he can continue playing with zero training
- Berry still a chance depending on how he pulls up
- Hately sounds like next in line aside from TT
- Frampton sounds likely to be dropped but he hasn't said that definitively yet
- Jones will be the travelling emergency, "not likely in the 23", so not the sub. Plan is to try him in some other roles in the SANFL
- Happy with the progress of McAsey, getting stronger and more competitive, sounds a chance to play in the later half of the year. In a really good space and "loves Adelaide" plus he's just started uni here.
- Walker very likely to play

From the Nicks presser:

What am i missing here then? We almost certainly go in WAY too tall if Jones is the emergency.

Hately almost certainly comes in for Berry
Thilthorpe is coming in for either one of Lynch or Frampton.

If both Lynch and Frampton are out, and Jones is the sub, then the extra spot has to be filled by one of Worrell, Murray or Himmelberg....

I'd rather give Worrell a chance up FWD.... but sounds like Himmelberg comes in..

Stunned that we’ve ignored Himmelberg this weekend. He’ll be filthy.

Speaking of filthy, I’m pumped to see Thilthorpe in action.

Hope be bloody farces it up with a slight improvement in the midfield compared to our SANFL bunch.

Based on the presser I think we:

Out: Frampton, Lynch/Berry
In: Thilthorpe, Hately
Sub: ???
Travelling emergency (24th player): Jones

Hately will come in for Berry if he doesn't get up, and we'll push Lynch through another week. If Berry gets up, we'll rest Lynch

What am i missing here then? We almost certainly go in WAY too tall if Jones is the emergency.

Hately almost certainly comes in for Berry
Thilthorpe is coming in for either one of Lynch or Frampton.

If both Lynch and Frampton are out, and Jones is the sub, then the extra spot has to be filled by one of Worrell, Murray or Himmelberg....

I'd rather give Worrell a chance up FWD.... but sounds like Himmelberg comes in..

You're still dealing with the issue of being too tall with Worrell as a forward. He's firmly a KP (194 cm/94 kg).

Mind you, a reshuffle is possible. Move Worrell to play as a KPD and just use the smaller players as a forward more (i.e. Schoenberg isn't getting 70% TOG yet as an example of someone you give a lot more responsibility too)

Ok now another go after presser

FMATTHEWS JFRAMPTONCOOK B
HFMCADAMWORRELLCOOK J
CWRIGHTBERRYNEWCHURCH
HBL MATTHEWMCASEYMACKAY
BHALLBORLASELATCHFORD
RUCKSTRACHANPEDLARO'CONNOR
INTERBACCANELLOCLARKEMERRETTBOYLE

FROWEFOGARTYSCHOENBERG
HFMURPHYWALKERTHILTHORPE
CHSHOLLKEAYSSEEDSMAN
HBHAMILLDOEDEESMITH
BBROWNBUTTSMCPHERSON
RUCKO'BRIENHATELYLAIRD
INTERMCHENRYLYNCHHIMMELBERGMURRAYKELLY SUB
EMERJONES

You're still dealing with the issue of being too tall with Worrell as a forward. He's firmly a KP (194 cm/94 kg).

Mind you, a reshuffle is possible. Move Worrell to play as a KPD and just use the smaller players as a forward more (i.e. Schoenberg isn't getting 70% TOG yet as an example of someone you give a lot more responsibility too)
We do lack height in defence, though I haven't seen much of Hawthorn this year. How do they setup in the forward line ??

Personally I don't mind him debuting in Tassie, less pressure on the kid. Won't be 30K riding his every move.

Plus I reckon he'll be a focus for Clarko. He does like to make sure rookies feel intimidated when playing Hawthorn.

Nevermind the fact he's a tough young kid who happens to be 200cm and 100kgs

Genuinely can't wait for Harto to hit Thrillho lace out for his first goal.

Thilthorpe is more likely to get lace out delivery from Hartigan and Frost this weekend than our top-ups in the SANFL

Much more likely to see the Trolls and Troll-lite writing him off if he doesn’t kick 5 goals on debut.
Yada, yada, yada, McDonald, McDonald, McDonald.

Having watched Thilthorpe live on a number of occasions, I don’t think a lot of supporters will be realistic in their expections. I don’t expect him to be crashing packs and taking pack marks at this stage of his development. His tools are good fitness, speed and agility for a big, big bloke. If we can isolate him one-on-one and deliver the ball in a semi-competent manner then he will have an impact.

Anyone with half a footy brain won't be expecting the world, as long as he competes and keeps presenting himself it will be a learning experience this year - getting used to the faster pace of the AFL, something that can only be done playing AFL.

Lets face it he won't give us less than Frampton and RT has the tools to get better the more comfortable he gets playing AFL.

Wouldn't mind him in the Lynch type role, high half forward that roams on the wing, can run around like an unregistered dog rather than sitting across HF getting crunched in packs.

AFC website has him as 195cm / 83 kg, which makes him taller and lighter than Lynch (193/88) if the numbers are correct.

Yeah, for some reason our website hasn't updated this year. For instance, Gollant is still listed at 72 kg even though we were sprouting he was in the 80s for kg at the start of the off-season.

The stats pro section of the AFL has the updated weights.

Yes, we are short of a tall down back.... so shuffle would do the trick.

Notes from the presser:

- Lynch in doubt as he hasn't been training, they're tossing up whether he can continue playing with zero training
- Berry still a chance depending on how he pulls up
- Hately sounds like next in line aside from TT
- Frampton sounds likely to be dropped but he hasn't said that definitively yet
- Jones will be the travelling emergency, "not likely in the 23", so not the sub. Plan is to try him in some other roles in the SANFL
- Happy with the progress of McAsey, getting stronger and more competitive, sounds a chance to play in the later half of the year. In a really good space and "loves Adelaide" plus he's just started uni here.
- Walker very likely to play
Does McAsey "love Adelaide" as much as Crouch, Dangerfield and Lever did?

Preview Changes: R6 2021 v Hawthorn in Tasmania