Preview Changes V Hawks

Even below last year's form, Dangerfield is still giving us more than the majority of the other 21 players are each week. No question he stays in the side, injury permitting, on what we've seen so far.
Spot on. He's been down but still has been our best player and now sole match winner

When Petrenko is in good form he is easily in the best 22. But seriously when was the last time he was in form? The fact your using the Geelong game as an example just proves my point. He got poorer and poorer as the season went on last year. He was able to beat up on a few of the bottom teams towards the end but his finals campaign was atrocious.
I don't disagree with what you are saying, but we don't have anyone like him on our list and can see why the selectors persisted. His last quarter against Brisbane is what helped him stay in for so long this season, but he hasn't really captured that form since then which is disappointing. I actually agree he has lasted one week too long, but I'm not gonna crack a skitso over it. I also didn't mean the Geelong game was his last decent one, I just thought that was his best game for the season which is why I used it as an example.

At least you played the post and not the man though, that's a nice change on here!

Do you purposely come on here to annoy people for the shits and giggles?
I'm merely pointing out the stupidity of people's opinion.

Douglas has been awesome this year, Dangerfield terrible is he injured...?

Therefore Douglas will come under increasing opposition attention. Right? Riiiggghhhttt???

Wrong. Dangerfield's 2/10 football is better than Dougie's 10/10.

Porplyzia was recalled to replace Petrenko. We can't afford to have two (or three) small forwards who can't/won't tackle. Pets key contribution in the first half of the year was his tackling pressure. Once he dislocated his shoulder he couldn't tackle properly. His selection in the Prelim was a joke. After a 50 minute pre-season he has been selected for the first 5 games.....dumb,dumb,dumb.

Porps subluxed his shoulder about round 16 and he hasn't tackled consistently since that time. He has other strengths and at the moment we can afford to play either Porps or Petrenko. If/when Pets regains confidence in his shoulder and his form improves then we can afford to play them both

Thirdly there's Callinan. Great crumber but his tackling in the AFL is not up to standard. If Porps and Petrenko don't improve then expect to see Nutta back.

Finally there's Stiffy, a great tackler but after a couple of efforts he's stuffed.

I believe I made these points prior to the Prelim:rolleyes:

Watched Petrenko very closely last week. Master of not working hard enough to get into proper position, then putting in a hard chase that has no effect on anything because he was too far away to start with, but makes everyone say "ooohhhh doesn't Petrenko try hard". If he put in more work prior to the contest, he would have more effect on it and would use less energy in the process.

As I've said before I feel for Petrenko and his 'confusion' (my assessment)about the role he is meant to play. I don't know if the nature of his position was decided before or after he took his spot ie chicken or egg. For some time now we have had posts which try to spell out the role of a 'defensive forward'. I would love for the coaches to spell it out for us because I'm sure it would also enlighten Petrenko as to his priorities. The poor guy is racing around the 50 trying to be a nuisance to all and sundry, and possibly exerting some pressure and yet certainly not scoring as a forward. I suspect he is unsure about where and when he should commit himself and I reckon the same could be said for this assessment from most of us. I have the feeling that his skill set and natural game was such that it was opportune to slot and label him as a DF.

Now I could be artificially smart and theoretically wax on about the need and duties of a DF, but for crying out loud every player on the ground to varying degrees has to have a defensive side! Why do we have defensive forwards, and labelled as such? If we had Offensive Backmen (this term is an opening for someone!) what would their duties be? Provided they gave the required forward drive from defence, would it matter that their opposition also kicked goals? Of course not. In most situations if he didn't defend properly he would soon be back enjoying SANFL. So what is the f****** priority? Does it figure that in reality we have 7 'defenders' and only 5 forwards? So in effect Pets' performance is judged on the defensive scale. Its just a huge complication for him that his worth is also rated on how many goals he (isn't ) kicking. Now if the DF plays a game which negates his defender opposition, has he done his job or should he have kicked 3 goals as well? Poor guy, its almost a no win situation. But maybe its just the label (DF).

Forwards have to be attacking creative opportunistic elusive types whose primary focus is to kick or positively assist with kicking goals. Lets get more creative and kick winning scores!

Porplyzia was recalled to replace Petrenko. We can't afford to have two (or three) small forwards who can't/won't tackle. Pets key contribution in the first half of the year was his tackling pressure. Once he dislocated his shoulder he couldn't tackle properly. His selection in the Prelim was a joke. After a 50 minute pre-season he has been selected for the first 5 games.....dumb,dumb,dumb.

Porps subluxed his shoulder about round 16 and he hasn't tackled consistently since that time. He has other strengths and at the moment we can afford to play either Porps or Petrenko. If/when Pets regains confidence in his shoulder and his form improves then we can afford to play them both

Thirdly there's Callinan. Great crumber but his tackling in the AFL is not up to standard. If Porps and Petrenko don't improve then expect to see Nutta back.

Finally there's Stiffy, a great tackler but after a couple of efforts he's stuffed.

I believe I made these points prior to the Prelim:rolleyes:

There is some merit here. Not as much as you think, but some.

I agree with you on this - you can't have all of Petrenko, Johncock and Porplyzia in the forward line, in fact you can't even have two of them - but it has far less to do with their defensive limitations as it does their total born natural impotency as forwards (Johncock and Petrenko) and their recently acquired impotency as a forward (Porplyzia).

You can talk about defensive pressure all day long. If you aren't a presence up forward, if you don't have goal sense, if you can't kick accurately from both set shots and around your body on both feet and if you don't know where to run within the 50m arc, GTFO out of Slippery Pete's forward line. I don't care how many tackles you make or how good you are at pushing up the ground. Johncock and Petrenko - I'm looking at you.

Defensive pressure is the icing, not the cake.

And if you mention David King or the "modern game" in your retort, things will get very ugly. You have been warned.

There is some merit here. Not as much as you think, but some.

I agree with you on this - you can't have all of Petrenko, Johncock and Porplyzia in the forward line, in fact you can't even have two of them - but it has far less to do with their defensive limitations as it does their total born natural impotency as forwards (Johncock and Petrenko) and their recently acquired impotency as a forward (Porplyzia).

You can talk about defensive pressure all day long. If you aren't a presence up forward, if you don't have goal sense, if you can't kick accurately from both set shots and around your body on both feet and if you don't know where to run within the 50m arc, GTFO out of Slippery Pete's forward line. I don't care how many tackles you make or how good you are at pushing up the ground. Johncock and Petrenko - I'm looking at you.

Defensive pressure is the icing, not the cake.

And if you mention David King or the "modern game" in your retort, things will get very ugly. You have been warned.

I'd agree with you but then I'd feel dirty and have to stop watching the footy and go for a shower.

My comments were purely related to the inability of our small forwards to tackle, they have other deficiencies most notably the ability to kick goals in high pressure matches.

To be fair to our small forwards we also have a similar number of small defenders that can't/won't tackle. The good news is most of our KIDS are good tacklers. Once we have them all up and running I believe the tackling problems will disappear.

Carl I agree and it shits me when you've got a leading player good enough to be tagged, carrying an injury and still playing well copping criticism and lesser lights who receive no opposition attention are lauded.
My only criticism of Danger is his disposal seems to have taken a turn for the worse this year. Hopefully a very temporary issue.

Could be to do with his knee, could be the extra attention he's receiving putting him under more pressure.

But this type of criticism is fair enough, because his disposal is dodgy at times. Its the fact that he's not "in form" because he's averaging 4 less disposals that shits me.

Walker's replacement is (at least theoretically) McKernan.

You could be right.. but I would love to know what they would have done with Porps if Walker hadn't gone down. Purely hypothetical of course..
He wouldn't be playing. The ruck thing has been brewing for a while. Walker has been replaced by half McKernan/half Porplyzia with a slight restructure thrown in.

I can guarantee that Porps has not replaced Petrenko. He will not be trailing after Grant Birchall.

Maybe its because he doesnt have positional sense rather than not working hard? He works harder and goes harder at the footy more than most on our list

Bingo. Petrenko has a high work-rate with a low football IQ. Doesn't get himself into a good positions. This is one thing he could actually learn from Johncock who is usually very good at positioning himself, despite his other deficiencies.

He wouldn't be playing. The ruck thing has been brewing for a while. Walker has been replaced by half McKernan/half Porplyzia with a slight restructure thrown in.

I can guarantee that Porps has not replaced Petrenko. He will not be trailing after Grant Birchall.
I'm not 100% convinced that you're right.. but I'm certainly not going to contradict your assertions. There's definitely logic to what you're saying.

Vader, are feeling ok mate ??
I can't believe what you wrote, or are you just fishing ?
It is Friday night, I guess we all like a drink at the end of the week :D

His last quarter against Brisbane is what helped him stay in for so long this season, but he hasn't really captured that form since then which is disappointing.

So one mediocre quarter secures your spot for a month? He was non competitive for three quarters against Brisbane, he kicked one goal which Wright gifted him!!

How low are we setting the bar??

I was a big defender of Petrenko last year, and I'm still a fan, but playing him when he is completely out of form is a joke - it doesn't do us, or him, any favors.

That goes for all of the out of form players we seem desperate to keep in the side.

He does lack that gene, the one that allows you to steady on the kick after running full tilt at super human speed.

I call it the Bunji McLeod gene.

i think you're right. Danger has never been poised with his disposal at full speed. i think where he is falling down this season is that with the knee injury he feels that little bit more pressure (whether it's actually there or not) and is rushing his disposal.

we saw this all the time 2 or 3 years ago before he gained the awareness of just how awesome he was. last year when he was 100% he was confident because he believed no-one could catch him.

Watching Kennedy play for Cllingwood is very upsetting.

Laird would be a better option than anyone as a defensive forward, if we're desperate for one.

Laird seems to have all the attributes of a great defensive forward. his disposal is clean, he's a great tackler, and most importantly he just has that maniacal approach to the game. some have it, some dont.

FWIW, Pets has it too, but he just doesnt impact the game enough in other areas fior my liking.

The only issue i have with playing Laird forward is that he's a darn good defender. do we really want to muck around with him this early in his career?

Laird seems to have all the attributes of a great defensive forward. his disposal is clean, he's a great tackler, and most importantly he just has that maniacal approach to the game. some have it, some dont.

FWIW, Pets has it too, but he just doesnt impact the game enough in other areas fior my liking.

The only issue i have with playing Laird forward is that he's a darn good defender. do we really want to muck around with him this early in his career?

We have some very exciting Kids to set up our defence for the next tilt at the title.

Brodie Smith (if we can resist moving hin into the midfield), Talia, Shaw, Brown, Laird, Otten. As I stated "before" the start of last season, the following players won't play in our next premiership (it wasn't last year and it won't be this year) - Doughty. Johncock, Callinan and Tippett. We wasted a few games on those players last year but we are finally playing the (aging) KIDS. Strap yourself in, sit back and enjoy the ride.

P.S. Jaensch is NaBA and I'm not sure what DMac is. He has played the last two games back on gthe wing and seemed totally lost.

Preview Changes V Hawks