Game Day Community Series vs Port Adelaide. RICHMOND OVAL. 3:40pm Saturday 5th March

Ben Keays shits all over Dusty too:

Screenshot 2022-03-14 121826.png

View attachment 1343876

You say Laird is our best midfielder… and he maybe.. but he’s a long way from being an elite midfielder.

He panic kicks far too much.. never looks, just grab ball jam on boot.. as long as it goes forward, he gets his stats for touches and inside 50’s.. job done right?..

What happens downfield and how his team mates in the forward line deal with his sh*t is on them right?

This short clip (if it has worked) from the CB to start the last quarter in the trial the other week is the perfect example of Rory Laird as midfielder!..

Read the bounce and the tap well, first to the ball, no immediate pressure on him.. and what does he do?.. grabs it and jams it on the boot without even looking..

The result?.. it lands on the chest of a lions player and rory’s team mate Mcadam had no chance.

Yet some here are crazy enough to think that mcadam didnt do enough!.. or mcadam obviously didnt lead..

How are you meant to position yourself as a forward when you have absolutely no clue what to expect feom your midfielders because they barely ever lower their eyes and more often than not just jam it on the boot without even bothering with the potential outcome?..
Very simplistic to pull an example from a practice match where we are in the final quarter of 70 point drubbing of a player bombing it out of the centre and saying "see he isn't elite".

Bit rich from someone who complains about people using stats that just support an argument :drunk:

He’s been a good pick up to fill a hole for the past two years… due to injuries taking sloane and crouch off the field a fair bit in this period and the loss of bcrouch and a couole of other mature mids..

But we have three other mature blokes that pretty much do the same thing.. and a whole heap of potential comming through that we need to increasingly throw into the mix..

So Ben, as the worst of the four, needs to be moved on for the good of the future of the side…
Why couldn't ben become a very effective tagger / shut down player for us rolling forward if guys like pedlar, berry etc kick on. Having a guy that gut runs and tackles like ben to be able to tag the oppo's best mid could be a key ingredient to being a challenging side over the coming years

Bicks uses stats when it suits his argument and then scoffs at people that use them to counter anything he posts. He’s equally as versatile when it comes to using the opinions of ex recruiters.

On Keays, if our midfield needs to improve, then there’s going to be casualties. I guess you’re saying you think Keays is one of the last 2 go, whereas I see him as the first. Or second due to Sloane’s age. There’s a lot to like about him, but we lack class and quality kicks from our current 4 senior mids. How do you see improvement without existing mids making way? Or do you think the current 4 plus Shoey can get the job done against the top midfields?
As we grow with the young group, no harm in keays role changing to be a specialist shut down / negating type. He'd be a pain to play on as he runs hard all day and is a good tackler. Just needs to control the opposition star mid enough and when he gets the pill, hand it off to better users. Just saying i see a place in the greater team for him in the longer term but probably not as as a primary mid

I have been waiting more than two years for the Moon Howler to provide the “quote” that supported his claim that the auditors of the AFC accounts said our financial position was an “ongoing concern”.

What they did state was “the AFC is an ongoing concern” = we still exist.

Sadly, making up sh*t and restating it numerous times means it must be true in the mind of the Bored Member from Port Macdonnell.

You've been waiting more than two years? That's weird, you signed up in Nov 2021.

Who's alt are you?

Very simplistic to pull an example from a practice match where we are in the final quarter of 70 point drubbing of a player bombing it out of the centre and saying "see he isn't elite".

Bit rich from someone who complains about people using stats that just support an argument :drunk:
Stats can be skewed/cherry picked to favour any arguement.. you cant argue with raw footage.

What are your thoughts on that video?.. if you dont agree with what I wrote in relation to that video.. then what do you think he does right and wrong?..

As I said in a later comment, if I had the time I know for a fact that I could find dozens and dozens of examples of both laird and keays in the past two years doing exactly what laird does in that video above.. grab the ball and jam it on the boot without bothering to look. They do it all the time.

You could of course counter all this by providing video clip examples of occasions where Laird and keays have taken possession at the CB, been aware of their surroundings, taken the time to lower their eyes and deliver the ball to the advantage of their team mates up the field..

Stats can be skewed/cherry picked to favour any arguement.. you cant argue with raw footage.

What are your thoughts on that video?.. if you dont agree with what I wrote in relation to that video.. then what do you think he does right and wrong?..

As I said in a later comment, if I had the time I know for a fact that I could find dozens and dozens of examples of both laird and keays in the past two years doing exactly what laird does in that video above.. grab the ball and jam it on the boot without bothering to look. They do it all the time.

You could of course counter all this by providing video clip examples of occasions where Laird and keays have taken possession at the CB, been aware of their surroundings, taken the time to lower their eyes and deliver the ball to the advantage of their team mates up the field..
And a 6 second video out of 120 minutes of football isn't cherrypicking?

Re: midfield balance - I understand where the likes of the hairy sea-dweller is coming from, I just don’t think it’s necessary to push out Keays at all, in order to immediately accomodate this

I think when we REALLY start to hit our stride (probably 2025), we’ll have the right balance. Sloane will be long retired (hopefully), and Laird I reckon will be back in defence as he hits his 30’s. That leaves Crouch (if he’s still around) and Keays as two workhorse-type midfielders, which I am perfectly fine with. Hopefully Schoenberg and a few of our other young mids can pair well with them (hell who knows, Dawson could end up working in the middle)

If anything, it could be ideal for our midfield balance to not be ideal this year, if it helps us grab a great KPF prospect like Lemmey or classy mid like Tsatas 😂

lol.

You could counter it with 100 video clips of great players doing the same. I reckon I could find multiple examples of Petracca doing the same slam it in the boot / making the wrong decision / poor disposal from last years final series alone.

Or, as you suggested, put up selected clips of RL and BK hitting targets.

That is the precise point.

We know CP is a much better player than BK because of much more than selected stats or clips.

Surely even you can’t whine about selected stats then put up a selected clip and not see the irony?

And a 6 second video out of 120 minutes of football isn't cherrypicking?
Look… i have finally just worked out how to record the screen on my ipad/iphone whilst a replay of a football game is playing… and then take that video clip, edit it, compress it and turn it into a short clip or a Gif that is a small enough file to allow me to attach it to a Bigfooty comment!!!…

Its been a bloody process and a half..

Like I said the clip I’ve posted above is just one prime example of what Laird, and a couple of our other main experienced mids, does on most occassions when he gets the footy.

Rushed decisions often involving them grabbing and kicking the ball towards the crows attacking end without bothering to look, often they kick it higher into the air that it travels length ways. I could easily trawl back over all the centee bounces of the past two years of crows games and find shitloads more examples of exactly the same.

You know this is very common.. you’ve been watching all the same games as the rest of us for the past two years.

There is an enormous problem with our experienced midfield players and their ball use.. its b grade standard and the win/loss results of the past two years reflect that.

If you wish to continue to stick your head in the sand and think the problem doesnt exist, or isnt that great an issue, well go right ahead.. knock yourself out.

Re: midfield balance - I understand where the likes of the hairy sea-dweller is coming from, I just don’t think it’s necessary to push out Keays at all, in order to immediately accomodate this

I think when we REALLY start to hit our stride (probably 2025), we’ll have the right balance. Sloane will be long retired (hopefully), and Laird I reckon will be back in defence as he hits his 30’s. That leaves Crouch (if he’s still around) and Keays as two workhorse-type midfielders, which I am perfectly fine with. Hopefully Schoenberg and a few of our other young mids can pair well with them (hell who knows, Dawson could end up working in the middle)

If anything, it could be ideal for our midfield balance to not be ideal this year, if it helps us grab a great KPF prospect like Lemmey or classy mid like Tsatas 😂
Not a bad call..

But.. I’d rather, if we are going to come bottom 4 again and take advantage of another good draft pick, we do it giving a shitload more midfield/cb minutes to our younger lads giving them valuable experience that they can learn from.. I can accept loses when youth are getting plenty of opportunty to experience and learn.

Rather than getting the great pick because we stuck with the same garbage midfield combo of the past two years and still copped loses..

Like you say, aiming for 2025 to hit our stride, we will need our current midfield youth to have a heap of experience under their belts by then… they wont get that with Sloane/Keays/Laird/crouch stealing 80%+ of the midfield minutes for the next season or two while they wait for sloane to retire and laird to get to the point where he needs to be moved back to half back..

I really want to see what Rachele, Dawson, Jones, shoey, pedlar etc etc can bring right now!… not spend the next two seasons seeing more of the current failed midfield experiment… i’m an impatient prick.

lol.

You could counter it with 100 video clips of great players doing the same. I reckon I could find multiple examples of Petracca doing the same slam it in the boot / making the wrong decision / our disposal from last years final series alone.

Or, as you suggested, put up selected clips of RL and BK hitting targets.

That is the precise point.

We know CP is a much better player than BK because of much more than selected stats or clips.

Surely even you can’t whine about selected stats then put up a selected clip and not see the irony?

If your view is that the statistics aren't probative, what is the value of their use?

Either the argument is being made, or it isnt. If it isnt, why take action that is only consistent with making the argument?

If your view is that the statistics aren't probative, what is the value of their use?

Either the argument is being made, or it isnt. If it isnt, why take action that is only consistent with making the argument?

Of course statistics can support an argument. Where did I say that wasn’t the case?

You Clam got narky at me for posting stats on Thilthorpe the other day because you he thought they were cherry picked … then you he post a tiny clip from a practice game to support your his point that Laird is a panic mid.

I’ll take cumulative data over point in time evidence when it comes to player worth any day.

If (clam)can’t see the irony in how you he berated others for the exact thing you are he is doing … then who am I to try and educate you him?

(Edit - confused STO’s response as being from clam)

Of course statistics can support an argument. Where did I say that wasn’t the case?

You got narky at me for posting stats on Thilthorpe the other day because you thought they were cherry picked … then you post a tiny clip from a practice game to support your point that Laird is a panic mid.

I’ll take cumulative data over point in time evidence when it comes to player worth any day.

If can’t see the irony in how you berate others fit the exact thing you are doing … then who am I to try and educate you?

I did that did I?

To be fair, being unable distinguish between different people would certainly explain your thinking that Keays is capable of comparison to Petracca without ridicule.

I did that did I?

To be fair, being unable distinguish between different people would certainly explain your thinking that Keays is capable of comparison to Petracca without ridicule.

Too true. I admit that I assumed your post was Clams You responded to my response to clam.

I’ll wait till I get back to the computer next time to respond!

For the record I don’t think anyone compared Keays to Petracca.

Too true. I admit that I assumed your post was Clams You responded to my response to clam.

I’ll wait till I get back to the computer next time to respond!

For the record I don’t think anyone compared Keays to Petracca.
No one is seriously suggesting Keays is at Petracca's level... only 1 poster misrepresenting the truth.