No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 7

How the * did the Cats get him with a late 1st ?

Cats have one of the best development programmes in the comp. Had SDK been taken by another club he wouldn't be performing anywhere near what he's producing now. Same with Stewart who was overlooked by every other club numerous times and taken in the rookie draft.

That's what every Hawks fans focus should be, I'm over the trade and list management threads being the most active from about June onwards because our season is shot.

Everyone talks about the Geelong cliff coming, reality is we actually did fall off a cliff and are currently irrelevant.
It must burn you that Geelong had a 30 year head start on us yet have only just got to 10 flags.
We will never be irrelevant.

It must burn you that Geelong had a 30 year head start on us yet have only just got to 10 flags.
We will never be irrelevant.

That's the attitude that has given Carlton and Essendon the last 25 and 20 years they've had respectively. That same mantra will ensure our 5 years carries on for a lot longer. I hope this isn't the mantra internally though.

Nah, their attitude was, whatever shortcut it takes, which is why they fail.

And how are they paying him?

You really are up and about after the Handbaggers win.

You absolute nuffie muppet.

Don't be so upset mate. Just remember Geelong are only good because they beat up on flat track opponents at KP. The sports psychologists down at the club must have somehow got the players believing it was July and the PF and GF were played at Kardinia Park.

Geelong also use post playing jobs to help their salary cap.
Harry Taylor is their fitness boss and is very well paid for someone with no experience.
Josh Jenkins is their ruck coach - how many games did Josh ruck?
Basically anyone who they got to take unders is very well paid post playing career in any random club job they can find.
They also use club supporters to inflate salaries. Hutchy pays Dangerfield $100 000 a year to do a fishing podcast.
The biggest rort is the land/house deals. Bruhn's parents just purchased a wonderful new house down that way - would love to know the asking price and what they ended up paying.

Don't be so upset mate. Just remember Geelong are only good because they beat up on flat track opponents at KP. The sports psychologists down at the club must have somehow got the players believing it was July and the PF and GF were played at Kardinia Park.
Thread says no oppo supporters 🤣

Harry Taylor is their fitness boss and is very well paid for someone with no experience.
Basically anyone who they got to take unders is very well paid post playing career in any random club job they can find.
They also use club supporters to inflate salaries. Hutchy pays Dangerfield $100 000 a year to do a fishing podcast.
The biggest rort is the land/house deals. Bruhn's parents just purchased a wonderful new house down that way - would love to know the asking price and what they ended up paying.

Any club has people in high enough positions to organize such dealings post football tbh, does sound a bit like sour grapes to me.

why would their be sour grapes? 1 team wins the premiership each year - Geelong just won their 10th in their history - no dynasty or super team, that probably would result in sour grapes

Cats have one of the best development programmes in the comp. Had SDK been taken by another club he wouldn't be performing anywhere near what he's producing now. Same with Stewart who was overlooked by every other club numerous times and taken in the rookie draft.
They somehow have a knack for replicating tall intercepting defenders and it's annoying as *

Because you sound like you're coming up with excuses as to why they won ?
That’s on Sydney and their pathetic performance. People are questioning their salary cap, just giving some examples of how that manage it. I made no mention of anything illegal or rule breaking and made no mention of on field performance or their premiership win.

Yeah they were ******* ordinary, we can absolutely all agree on that.

It's not new, the same sort of thing is really common throughout metro and country football Leagues. It's a form of cancer infecting all the local footy comps.

Really weird that someone can't point out what Geelong are doing right. We all don't want them to be doing well - but to deny what they have now accomplished is just ignorance. They defied conventional wisdom with regards to list management and since our threepeat they have been far better at identifying younger talent at the draft which means they can get away with using first round picks in trades - and they have done a better job with mature aged recruits that have bolstered their side not clogged their list for bugger all returns.

Yes - this sucks to witness being that they are our bitter rivals - but they got the job done. I am just hoping that Mitchell/McKenzie and McCartney are putting steps in place to find our next successful run. We have done brilliantly in getting Nuke and Blanck in via the mid-season drafts. Ramsden could hopefully be the next one that outsiders lament how the hell we got them cheaply. Reeves has gone from a derided nepotism hire to a bloody exciting ruck in the making. Ward, Butler, CMac, Moore, CJ and Day all give us hope that the green shoots are coming. We have finally lured a free agent and aren't lowballing players any more. Let us hope we can get some further picks to stock up at the next two drafts, maybe snag another free agent next year and possibly get a surprise trade here or there. We have more cause to be hopeful than we have for a while - but posters who are wishing we could maybe identify and develop players like the ones that won the flag this year probably aren't being silly - just wanting our next flag rather than watching our bloody rivals win it.