Free Agency Jade Gresham [Joins Essendon as RFA]

Does he stay or does he go?

All the boneheads in this thread need to understand one thing.

This highly sought after pick 13 doesn't exist unless Essendon make it exist. This only happens because we offer a stupid contract to Gresham.

We have absolutely no need to move Shiel on. Gresham is a free agent and will trigger Band 3 compo at best. He is an average footballer who even Saints fans don't want, and likewise most Essendon fans.

If the Saints want to match an offer, he stays with everyone's blessing.
Almost every sane Saints fan is happy to have Gresham back if he is paid what he is worth with us. He still has 5-6 years left of good football and while frustrating at times, he's a match winner and slots into every teams best 22.

Same can't be said for Shiel. He's old, still solid but not going to push the needle, on a massive contract and is more likely to get injured with age. Trading Gresham for Shiel is absolutely a downgrade, no matter how you look at it

Vs. Neckbeard, Bird (and his contract) and Alex Morgan.

Hell will freeze over before any Essendon supporter ever mentions the Gresham aspect of the deal.

Arguably, perhaps Adrian Dodoro's greatest legacy is that most Don's fans continue to blindly feel they won the deal because of the P5 aspect.
I like how you mention Morgan.

We traded 23 to Sydney and got 24 back. We would have taken Morgan anyway.

We got Francis and Bird for Carlisle. The draft pick failed but it was a win/win/win on value in reality

Gonna be real awkward when the saints offer a third rounder for dyl. 😳

happy to trade the newly acquired pick 19 for him if they want him. North would be easier to deal with than Essendon.
The stupid and dumb thing about this whole scenario is the club who need him the most and would want him the most in North Melbourne cant get him because of some absurdly weird rule that means they wont get pick 3 if they get him due to that whole free agent diluting s**t which is absurd and weird.

Basically now he has to trot along to what is the 2nd best situation for him

Gonna be awkward when Essendon get Gresham for nothing
Scared Saturday Night Live GIF by HULU

Almost every sane Saints fan is happy to have Gresham back if he is paid what he is worth with us. He still has 5-6 years left of good football and while frustrating at times, he's a match winner and slots into every teams best 22.

Same can't be said for Shiel. He's old, still solid but not going to push the needle, on a massive contract and is more likely to get injured with age. Trading Gresham for Shiel is absolutely a downgrade, no matter how you look at it
The notion that Gresham slots into every team's best 22 is laughable.

Clearly the Saints don't want to pay him what's been offered on the open market. The only way he is staying is if they match.'

Shiel is a far better player than Gresham. Granted he is older, but Saints are a better team with Shiel in it next year than Gresham.

The notion that Gresham slots into every team's best 22 is laughable.

Clearly the Saints don't want to pay him what's been offered on the open market. The only way he is staying is if they match.'

Shiel is a far better player than Gresham. Granted he is older, but Saints are a better team with Shiel in it next year than Gresham.
How's it laughable? He's had a poor year, and yet still averaged 18 and (almost) a goal a game. His best is matchwinning and every club would have in their 22 except maybe a couple. Instantly becomes Essendon's best small forward.

Free agents are notoriously overpaid, look at what you lot are paying for Mckay. We are more than willing to match and keep Gresh if he's offered what we value him at, we're not looking to overpay players to stay.

Shiel is about par with Gresh as a player, maybe better but its easier to look good and make an impact from the midfield. He's worth so much less however due to his age and now injury history, would be lucky to get a 3rd for him by himself so why would we give a first? Salary room that we don't need? Makes sense

The AFL would not allow the pick 13 scenario because it's clearly a rort

For what it's worth, band 2 and pick 31 would be right for Gresham.

If the saints want Shiel they can do that with a 4th round pick.

But if we play along with this idea, then the Saints would need Essendons second rounder back.

Saints get Shiel and pick 24
Essendon get Gresham and 13

Essendon get the SC handicap as well but they may not care at this stage as I assume they have plenty of cap.space spare

Clearly the Saints don't want to pay him what's been offered on the open market.
Why clearly? Gresh has been told that St Kilda are happy that he remain a Saints in 2024. If the open market is Band 3, then they most certainly are ok with that level. Band 1 is a no though.

It is more that Gresh wants extra $$$. Band 1 or maybe 2 he probably goes. Band 3 or maybe 2 he stays. L yon has told Gresham he is happy to have Gresh stay at the Saints in 2024. Gresh's manager requested the Saints not to make a contract offer (as that may lowball offers he might receive).

So do Essendon really want Gresh? I doubt St Kilda really want Shiel at any significant cost. He does not at all fit the declared drafting strategy outlined by Lyon, which is youth ( ie Dow and below and hitting draft) based to build around our core of younger players.

But the Saints would love an extra mid first round pick, which exactly fits that strategy.

To cough up such a pick to immediately give it back to basically get Shiel just flies in the face of the declared drafting strategy, as well as to be very more value. We would have to think we are going to get in the GF next year and that Shiel would make the difference (which he clearly would not), which while we would hope to be the case we know will not happen. We are still building a capable enough team.

Can the Saints please keep Gresham. Been considering switching clubs from essendon after 3 loyal decades after hearing about Gresham. We'll keep shiel for the one more year before that cap space opens up more

We'll give shiel for free , no need to send Gresham our way cheers
unlike shiel at essendon gresham is not as popular as a turd in a swimming pool at st.kilda,he is very welcome to stay,he just aint staying on 1-5 on the list money when his output is 10-18

Can the Saints please keep Gresham. Been considering switching clubs from essendon after 3 loyal decades after hearing about Gresham. We'll keep shiel for the one more year before that cap space opens up more
if pick 13 moves to essendon in any of this im feeling the same way,dont think i could switch teams though,horrible thought,i despise 5 vic clubs and the crows,i couldnt be a bandwagon jumper on lions or giants,nah horrible to think about,but if pick 13 goes to essendon check this out

AFL Club St Kilda

for some kind of change

there's gotta be some legs to this
ralph is a bit simple, but even he'd lose interest by now if he was making this up
Nah, I reckon he's just pushing for clicks.

Tommorow he'll have another new twist on the "Draft Loop Hole Saga!!!"

Surely you have some evidence that Shiel is unpopular and aren’t just making things up…
not an unpopular team mate or person,just an unpopular contract on the books,my evidence would come from any intelligent person from 16 other clubs if asked would you like dylan shiel for 800k or whatever it is?but im not about to do that,so if you think every club would love that on their books then our opinions simply differ