Autopsy Roast & Toast vs Nth, changes for Port Adelaide & All things Trent and Jack.

Best on vs North

• 1. Nick Vlastuin

Votes: 6 4.4%
  • 2. Dylan Grimes

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • 3. Dion Prestia

Votes: 4 2.9%
  • 4. Dustin Martin

Votes: 125 91.9%
  • 5. Jack Ross

Votes: 21 15.4%
  • 7. Liam Baker

Votes: 4 2.9%
  • 8. JACK

Votes: 47 34.6%
  • 9. TRENT

Votes: 52 38.2%
  • 10. Maurice Rioli

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 14. Tim Taranto

Votes: 10 7.4%
  • 15. Jayden Short

Votes: 2 1.5%
  • 17. Daniel Rioli

Votes: 11 8.1%
  • 20. Ivan Soldo

Votes: 69 50.7%
  • 21. Noah Balta

Votes: 28 20.6%
  • 22. Jacob Hopper

Votes: 44 32.4%
  • 25. Toby Nankervis

Votes: 8 5.9%
  • 27. Thomas Dow

Votes: 10 7.4%
  • 29. Shai Bolton

Votes: 104 76.5%
  • 33. Kamdyn McIntosh

Votes: 2 1.5%
  • 34. Jack Graham

• 35. Nathan Broad

• 45. Tylar Young

Votes: 22 16.2%
  • 50. Marlion Pickett

Question now is, what do we do with the numbers 8 & 9. Pass them on to someone else or retire them for abit.
Well, 18 hasn’t been used for a while. We could probably temporarily retire them and then bring them back in a couple of years. A #18, #9, #8, and eventually, #4 legacy would be terrific. And fingers crossed that Tommy and Parker wear the no 8 and 9 one day.

Let's be honest, it was Martin and Bolton who light up the game for us. Most of the rest of senior players we're rubbish very unconvincing against a poor side.
we couldnt even flog the 3 peat spooners in chimp and jacks last game

Excited to see Bauer next week and then of course in 2024.
Interesting to see which way the club goes .... do they keep Bauer, Brown, Banks, etc in VFL for knockout game against Pies or does it believe a trip to Adelaide is more important.

Miller, Ryan, Mansell and Ralphsmith are ineligible for VFL finals. Maybe the additions come from those four?

Take your point in regards to the quality of the opposition.But i don't know in regards to his Brain fades.In the 1st yesterday he kicked the ball straight to the oppo.Instead of getting back on Larkey he just stood there and ball watched with Larkey falling back towards the goal square on his own.Just too many times this type of things is happening.
Up fwd least we have a chance to recover from his Brain fade where down back not so.
yep,hes not the full quid

Interesting to see which way the club goes .... do they keep Bauer, Brown, Banks, etc in VFL for knockout game against Pies or does it believe a trip to Adelaide is more important.

Miller, Ryan, Mansell and Ralphsmith are ineligible for VFL finals. Maybe the additions come from those four?
Common sense says let the better vfl players play there what would the point be to bring them in a worthless game? But we are RFC we do things differently expect Brown, Bauer, Banks, Mrj, Mansell, and Ralf (who come back from death) all play seniors.

Been too busy to post for a few weeks, managed to free up an afternoon to see our two legends get sent off in style. :richmond:

It wasn't the fairy tale finals finish they both deserved, but I think most of us would say the club handled the way things played out beautifully. Our best in the world supporters did their part as always and all concerned left with no doubt how much they all mean to each other - looked like there was barely a dry eye in the house. Well done Richmond, and congratulations to both Cotch and Jack on such incredible careers - careers which changed the lives of so many of us long suffering Tigers so much for the better.

Both continued to have great moments over this last season and leave us with so many hours of wonderful memories, they are Richmond royalty for life. Thanks for everything, boys.

Looking entirely possible that we'll field a side of nothing but father/daughter selections in the AFLW from now until eternity? :D

Congratulations also to Jack Ziebell on a great career, been a miserable time down at Arden St for a long time and he, Cunners and Goldy all deserve a ton of respect and credit for how they've stuck it out and turned up giving it all every single week they were able. :thumbsu:

Massive FRO for the dozenth time this year to the useless maggots at Fox/Kayo who managed to ruin another great Richmond moment with their usual incompetence and utter disregard for ever achieving competence. Two channels available at once? Pre-planning broadcasts for huge football moments? Nah, why should we? We'll still get your money via monopoly - go complain at the moon when you're done with our complaint-bot, sucker!

As to the game itself, we were scratchy again and we've got plenty to work on for next season. One thing that's been really clear over the last month and a bit is that our transition from defense and ball use generally has been way below where it needs to be to play finals and way below where it was when we did play finals. Virtually all our runners and creators (Short, Rioli, Vlas for starters) have been down on form with niggling injury issues, we've been getting nowhere near the scoring haul from rebound and turnover that we expect when we're playing well and we've been too often selling our defenders out with our own turnovers in the process.

Combine that with the fact that really only Soldo out of the midfield unit has played to expectations in this crucial part of the season and here we are; a disappointing end to a year where the flag is anyone's for the taking and we've played ourselves out of the hunt a couple of times too often.

Dusty and Shai were a class above today, it's been Shai's best and easily most consistent season by quite a margin and Dusty clearly has plenty left to offer. Thought his run - both pace off the mark and endurance - was a notch or two above where it's been since the last flag over most of this year. Outside the Tiger angle, it really is a crying shame for football that another September will pass with zero potential for Dusty magic. :sadv1:

Defence was a pass today, couldn't have a crack at Broady for being a bit distracted in recent weeks! :p Unearthing Young and getting some games into him has been a massive long-term win for us down back going forward (ah, footyspeak, couldn't help myself!), especially in light of Gibcus' horror run and Taz barely playing on top of that. Balta's tease forward was intriguing - yet again. Mini did it just to give you buggers some ammo for summer I reckon, threw Bakes back for the same reason. ;)

Just a scraped pass performance from the rest of those rotating through midfield outside Dusty, Hopper probably closest to par - you'd honestly hope for a hell of a lot better from that group in a milestone match against a young and depleted bottom side. Having said that, for the second week in a row we started Soldo on the bench and for the second week in a row we had the exact opposite of a clean start to the game out of the centre square or in general play stoppages.

It's not a coincidence and it's something that needs a good, hard look at from whoever is coaching next year.

The most effective and potent against quality opposition our midfield unit has looked all year was in the Melbourne shootout three weeks back. Our defence gave up too many goals to some pretty green forwards (who kicked remarkably accurately!), our score from rebound and turnover was well down, we made too many basic skill errors; it was largely a colossal haul of hit-outs to advantage, blocks at stoppages and wrecking ball aggression from Soldo - against the best ruck in the comp with their finals fortunes on the line - which kept us in the game. When he went to the bench in the last quarter, we went from ahead to losing in a heartbeat.

Suddenly, magically, two rounds ago, at the business end of the year, we had a genuinely potent midfield and a good enough makeshift forward line which looked worthy of playing deep into finals. Melbourne were bloody lucky to win and they haven't played that well often this year.

Then the automatic selection, first ruck captain returns against the Dogs and we leak half a dozen goals in a season over nightmare first 10 minutes of the first quarter where we just can't get our hands on the ball for love or money. Soldo finally comes into the ruck, straight away wins a hit-out to advantage, we get territory back, we finally score. Too little, too late, then we end up going back to a failed set-up for a long stretch of minutes to begin each new quarter other than the 2nd (watching the Dogs' mids cut us up because our hit-outs give us zero real advantage) and expecting something to change.

It happened all game, it happened again this week until the dam burst and the younger Roos ran out of legs in the 4Q. We started each quarter with Nank in the ruck, then either failed to take any scoring advantage from his stint in the ruck or leaked goals due to their repeated centre clearances. In the 2Q we were three goals down, mostly due to them taking territory advantage from stoppages while Nank was rucking, then Soldo comes unto the ruck and is straight away giving Cotch repeated silver service hit-outs to advantage out the front of centre square stoppages.

Suddenly, magically, we look like a potent side again.

It's not magic, or coincidence, it's blatantly obvious how and why that difference is occurring - Soldo in the middle. It's not just his hit-outs to advantage which create real space for the receiver to then use it well, it's also very much the fact that when he doesn't win the hit-out, he still has this enormous wet blanket effect where the opposition almost always fail to take any real advantage either (often as not because the oppo ruck is on his back getting mauled).

I love Nank as much as any player of this era and I can't ever see a day when he's not best-22 (he was a great contributor again today), but it's starkly obvious statistically or any other way you want to cut it that he's not our best centre square ruckman by a long margin as things stand. His centre square work against a part-timer he should have pantsed cost us a final last year and we need to set up for the future with this fact in mind - captain or not.

On what we've seen over this period with Soldo back, the difference is 4-6 goals a game, maybe more and that's quite probably close to the difference between top and bottom 4 next year. I hope whoever takes over has the brains to see it and the guts to execute the change from the outset of pre-season. It's the single most important off-season decision we have to make and unfortunately, I'm almost certain we'll make the wrong choice, for reasons which defy the very clear statistical evidence we will have available to us.

We should start next year with Soldo first ruck, with the game time on-ball of a first ruck, one of Nank or Ryan forward (assuming Lynch starting at FF), the other on the bench and just rotate so one of those four big talls is always on the bench. There's no Jack to make space for anymore, no obvious signs there's another KPF more effective than any of Ryan, Soldo or Nank as forwards demanding to be played as of yet, so this is quite probably our most effective combination.

Start 2024 with our most potent centre square set-up each quarter and you never know what kind of roll we might end up on.

Oh, and there's still next week's dead rubber, which will be pretty damn interesting from a personnel perspective and to hopefully finish the year with some positives from one last road trip.

Go Tigers! :thumbsu::richmond:
Good dissertation on our rucks and midfield. I'm no fan of Nank as Captain, and we seem to lose it out of the middle. The Hawks game where Soldo rucked vs Reeves no names Worpel & Nash got were channeling Neale out of the centre. It was like Dunstall days for them, lead out chest mark, kick another goal. We broke even in clearances around the ground. Won the game just.

Lets look at the Dogs game First bounce Nank "wins" the hit out the ball is on the ground all players shoulder to shoulder. Bolton wins it.

Next one English jumps high, looks spectacular, but barely makes contact with ball, its on the ground Bont has read it better than TT, runs and clears, 2nd centre square,

Next: English doesn't win the hit out purely but mungs it Libba gets hands on, scraps with Bolton but handballs to Bont and they're away.

....Goal 4 Soldo vs Lobb. No clear hit out but 2 secondary ball ups and Bont hacks the clearing kick fwd.
Nank back in the centre loses the hit out but Graham gets the clearing kick.

My thesis. Tarranto & Hopper not the magic bullet I was hoping for. Our centre clearances are the same as last year. Thank goodness for Bolton.

Nank, last year was like a mid when the ball hit the ground. Lot of clearances, a lot of tackles. Nank and Soldo probably not kicking enough score in the last few games where they seem to be rotating fwd. Soldo looks like he enjoys goal kicking.

Ryan has come along really well. Clubs that need a ruck would look at Soldo and Ryan. See what happens

Been too busy to post for a few weeks, managed to free up an afternoon to see our two legends get sent off in style. :richmond:

It wasn't the fairy tale finals finish they both deserved, but I think most of us would say the club handled the way things played out beautifully. Our best in the world supporters did their part as always and all concerned left with no doubt how much they all mean to each other - looked like there was barely a dry eye in the house. Well done Richmond, and congratulations to both Cotch and Jack on such incredible careers - careers which changed the lives of so many of us long suffering Tigers so much for the better.

Both continued to have great moments over this last season and leave us with so many hours of wonderful memories, they are Richmond royalty for life. Thanks for everything, boys.

Looking entirely possible that we'll field a side of nothing but father/daughter selections in the AFLW from now until eternity? :D

Congratulations also to Jack Ziebell on a great career, been a miserable time down at Arden St for a long time and he, Cunners and Goldy all deserve a ton of respect and credit for how they've stuck it out and turned up giving it all every single week they were able. :thumbsu:

Massive FRO for the dozenth time this year to the useless maggots at Fox/Kayo who managed to ruin another great Richmond moment with their usual incompetence and utter disregard for ever achieving competence. Two channels available at once? Pre-planning broadcasts for huge football moments? Nah, why should we? We'll still get your money via monopoly - go complain at the moon when you're done with our complaint-bot, sucker!

As to the game itself, we were scratchy again and we've got plenty to work on for next season. One thing that's been really clear over the last month and a bit is that our transition from defense and ball use generally has been way below where it needs to be to play finals and way below where it was when we did play finals. Virtually all our runners and creators (Short, Rioli, Vlas for starters) have been down on form with niggling injury issues, we've been getting nowhere near the scoring haul from rebound and turnover that we expect when we're playing well and we've been too often selling our defenders out with our own turnovers in the process.

Combine that with the fact that really only Soldo out of the midfield unit has played to expectations in this crucial part of the season and here we are; a disappointing end to a year where the flag is anyone's for the taking and we've played ourselves out of the hunt a couple of times too often.

Dusty and Shai were a class above today, it's been Shai's best and easily most consistent season by quite a margin and Dusty clearly has plenty left to offer. Thought his run - both pace off the mark and endurance - was a notch or two above where it's been since the last flag over most of this year. Outside the Tiger angle, it really is a crying shame for football that another September will pass with zero potential for Dusty magic. :sadv1:

Defence was a pass today, couldn't have a crack at Broady for being a bit distracted in recent weeks! :p Unearthing Young and getting some games into him has been a massive long-term win for us down back going forward (ah, footyspeak, couldn't help myself!), especially in light of Gibcus' horror run and Taz barely playing on top of that. Balta's tease forward was intriguing - yet again. Mini did it just to give you buggers some ammo for summer I reckon, threw Bakes back for the same reason. ;)

Just a scraped pass performance from the rest of those rotating through midfield outside Dusty, Hopper probably closest to par - you'd honestly hope for a hell of a lot better from that group in a milestone match against a young and depleted bottom side. Having said that, for the second week in a row we started Soldo on the bench and for the second week in a row we had the exact opposite of a clean start to the game out of the centre square or in general play stoppages.

It's not a coincidence and it's something that needs a good, hard look at from whoever is coaching next year.

The most effective and potent against quality opposition our midfield unit has looked all year was in the Melbourne shootout three weeks back. Our defence gave up too many goals to some pretty green forwards (who kicked remarkably accurately!), our score from rebound and turnover was well down, we made too many basic skill errors; it was largely a colossal haul of hit-outs to advantage, blocks at stoppages and wrecking ball aggression from Soldo - against the best ruck in the comp with their finals fortunes on the line - which kept us in the game. When he went to the bench in the last quarter, we went from ahead to losing in a heartbeat.

Suddenly, magically, two rounds ago, at the business end of the year, we had a genuinely potent midfield and a good enough makeshift forward line which looked worthy of playing deep into finals. Melbourne were bloody lucky to win and they haven't played that well often this year.

Then the automatic selection, first ruck captain returns against the Dogs and we leak half a dozen goals in a season over nightmare first 10 minutes of the first quarter where we just can't get our hands on the ball for love or money. Soldo finally comes into the ruck, straight away wins a hit-out to advantage, we get territory back, we finally score. Too little, too late, then we end up going back to a failed set-up for a long stretch of minutes to begin each new quarter other than the 2nd (watching the Dogs' mids cut us up because our hit-outs give us zero real advantage) and expecting something to change.

It happened all game, it happened again this week until the dam burst and the younger Roos ran out of legs in the 4Q. We started each quarter with Nank in the ruck, then either failed to take any scoring advantage from his stint in the ruck or leaked goals due to their repeated centre clearances. In the 2Q we were three goals down, mostly due to them taking territory advantage from stoppages while Nank was rucking, then Soldo comes unto the ruck and is straight away giving Cotch repeated silver service hit-outs to advantage out the front of centre square stoppages.

Suddenly, magically, we look like a potent side again.

It's not magic, or coincidence, it's blatantly obvious how and why that difference is occurring - Soldo in the middle. It's not just his hit-outs to advantage which create real space for the receiver to then use it well, it's also very much the fact that when he doesn't win the hit-out, he still has this enormous wet blanket effect where the opposition almost always fail to take any real advantage either (often as not because the oppo ruck is on his back getting mauled).

I love Nank as much as any player of this era and I can't ever see a day when he's not best-22 (he was a great contributor again today), but it's starkly obvious statistically or any other way you want to cut it that he's not our best centre square ruckman by a long margin as things stand. His centre square work against a part-timer he should have pantsed cost us a final last year and we need to set up for the future with this fact in mind - captain or not.

On what we've seen over this period with Soldo back, the difference is 4-6 goals a game, maybe more and that's quite probably close to the difference between top and bottom 4 next year. I hope whoever takes over has the brains to see it and the guts to execute the change from the outset of pre-season. It's the single most important off-season decision we have to make and unfortunately, I'm almost certain we'll make the wrong choice, for reasons which defy the very clear statistical evidence we will have available to us.

We should start next year with Soldo first ruck, with the game time on-ball of a first ruck, one of Nank or Ryan forward (assuming Lynch starting at FF), the other on the bench and just rotate so one of those four big talls is always on the bench. There's no Jack to make space for anymore, no obvious signs there's another KPF more effective than any of Ryan, Soldo or Nank as forwards demanding to be played as of yet, so this is quite probably our most effective combination.

Start 2024 with our most potent centre square set-up each quarter and you never know what kind of roll we might end up on.

Oh, and there's still next week's dead rubber, which will be pretty damn interesting from a personnel perspective and to hopefully finish the year with some positives from one last road trip.

Go Tigers! :thumbsu::richmond:
Be careful when telling people about Nank and the drop off.

But great post. Agree entirely.

Nice to see Balta go forward and kick a couple. I think he's a great kick for goal.
Athletic freak too, some of his 100m chases to put pressure on were huge and it's an area we've been lacking over the last year or two.

I can see his potential down back but I don't mind where he plays really.

Question about Adelaide Oval - thinking of flying over for the game - which sections are the tiges cheer squad?
Cheers

Let's be honest, it was Martin and Bolton who light up the game for us. Most of the rest of senior players we're rubbish very unconvincing against a poor side.
Absolutely true

But that’s also why these guys are on the big money

We could say the same about any number of games during our successful era as well so it’s not necessarily a big deal imo

Sad I couldn’t get to ‘G, on holiday in Port Douglas. Watched game at Central Hotel. Some tears in the crowd, thanks Jack and Trent, amazing players, I retired a stubby holder of your vintage in your honour.