Roast The Chronicles of Alan Richardson - Part II - Richo Resigns (16/07)

If we have a year like last year, this thread will be the place to be. The only thing that will save him is wins, I haven't seen our fans this disgruntled pretty much ever, we're a very patient bunch usually (we've had to be following this club! ;)).

On the highlighted, Richo is cunning. He has the personality that lulls people into thinking he's harmless... but in getting rid of his assistants last year he displayed fantastic "throwing others under the bus" skills. We've all worked with people like him: disarming personality types, get along great with the managers (largely because of their personality type). Underneath it all they have a sixth sense for knowing when they are under threat and avoiding the spotlight falling on them somehow. It's quite a skill but does nothing for the place they work for.

Based on the above, I could fully see him throwing players under the bus if it goes pear-shaped this year... in fact I'd be surprised if he didn't.

I’m just thinking that Basset and co will be far more shrewd and unforgiving than the last lot. He had no say in Richo’s extension and has no loyalty to him, and I reckon given his business acumen will have no compunction in making the ruthless decision if/ when necessary.

Remember it’s much easier to replace a coach than four or five ( hopefully) star players. Especially if supporters are braying for it.

Make no mistake, I am not a Richo supporter, but I just think that as the decision has been made, we just have to grin and bear it for the meantime. And hope like hell that he actually can turn it around. We are between a rock and hard place though, because if we do improve substantially due to the input of Ratten, Richo will get the credit.

Every organisation has it's own PR dept! I'm anointing VDS66 as the head of this division!
Obviously St C will be heading up our new AR dept!

It's my belief we need to keep these two dept's as far away from each as possible
This is where i shall be taking up the role of our new HR ( Hopeless Richo ) manager to ensure we do not
Need a new dept to deal with all this squabbling!

The dreaded TR dept ( Totally Rooted ) :oops:

Hey she has the word "expert" next to her name. Surely that counts for something?

It's a typical fluff piece designed to appeal to the converted.

I reckon her friends post in the Richo thread lol.
Maybe her friends are just smart enough to know he just not a good coach

I’m just thinking that Basset and co will be far more shrewd and unforgiving than the last lot. He had no say in Richo’s extension and has no loyalty to him, and I reckon given his business acumen will have no compunction in making the ruthless decision if/ when necessary.

Remember it’s much easier to replace a coach than four or five ( hopefully) star players. Especially if supporters are braying for it.

Make no mistake, I am not a Richo supporter, but I just think that as the decision has been made, we just have to grin and bear it for the meantime. And hope like hell that he actually can turn it around. We are between a rock and hard place though, because if we do improve substantially due to the input of Ratten, Richo will get the credit.
+1

I reckon she has pretty much pointed out the sad state we are in. The past grief and into the acceptance stage of mediocrity. I think it's the list, the fans, the direction etc. It's all just very beige. Stuv is a great player but we don't have a player that you'd just hang your hat on at the moment. We used to be the team of the individual where we would all put our hopes on a player even if the team sucked. Now the team sucks and we don't have a champion. Fans don't turn up and the atmosphere is flat.

I really hope it's this year, my kids are losing interest and my son's lost interest in AFL and is back into soccer. I don't want to be that lonely old guy sitting by himself at the footy, they had better get it together .

Not all about Richo for me.

She sort of lost me at “the signs of improvement are not there like at Brisbane and Carlton.” Really? She can tell that one JLT game into the season?

And how about, “Im sure supporters are delighted by that honour”, when referencing our game in China. Quite a juvenile way to phrase it. Especially when this supporter, for one, can see huge advantages in this game...both financially and as a change from playing Port in Adelaide...yet again!

There’s more, but I can’t really be bothered to read it again to add further examples.

He did that last year.

I think his last lot of assistants were only there because Richo wanted to look like the sharpest tool in the shed so chose a pack of butter knives to do axe work. Outsourcing to idiots won't end well. I'm much more confident that this lot has actually got a bit of an idea.

I reckon she has pretty much pointed out the sad state we are in. The past grief and into the acceptance stage of mediocrity. I think it's the list, the fans, the direction etc. It's all just very beige. Stuv is a great player but we don't have a player that you'd just hang your hat on at the moment. We used to be the team of the individual where we would all put our hopes on a player even if the team sucked. Now the team sucks and we don't have a champion. Fans don't turn up and the atmosphere is flat.

I really hope it's this year, my kids are losing interest and my son's lost interest in AFL and is back into soccer. I don't want to be that lonely old guy sitting by himself at the footy, they had better get it together .
I can picture a day when the club will have to announce a new specialised member division just for folks from our vintage!
The LOGS BH membership combo! We will end up having the saddest cheer squad known to football!
Just made up of lonely old guys/girls sitting by himself/herself because all of our offspring were smart enough to abandon us!

Surely that is worthy of the AFL giving us a priority pick! :think:

such a safe option when you look back on it

"no one will say a bad word about the guy. he doesn't offend anyone. we've just started a transparent rebuild so that should buy us near on 5 years of any real criticism"

imagine taking a job and knowing you've pretty much got it for half a decade regardless of your performance

I still think he's lacked a capable list so it's really hard to measure what he's actually good or bad at. Drafting has been poor for along time and we haven't really addressed it still. We wasted the Pelchen years and the club would be pretty aware of that. The best players drafted in in that time were Seb, Newnes and Webster. So far none have become stars. We would have a similar lack of stars to GCS and not many others others. Our highest ranked players for 2018 are Stuv, Seb, Steele and then Sinclair and Dunstan. That's scary bad. A few are better than that and should rebound though.

If we have a year like last year, this thread will be the place to be. The only thing that will save him is wins, I haven't seen our fans this disgruntled pretty much ever, we're a very patient bunch usually (we've had to be following this club! ;)).

On the highlighted, Richo is cunning. He has the personality that lulls people into thinking he's harmless... but in getting rid of his assistants last year he displayed fantastic "throwing others under the bus" skills. We've all worked with people like him: disarming personality types, get along great with the managers (largely because of their personality type). Underneath it all they have a sixth sense for knowing when they are under threat and avoiding the spotlight falling on them somehow. It's quite a skill but does nothing for the place they work for.

Based on the above, I could fully see him throwing players under the bus if it goes pear-shaped this year... in fact I'd be surprised if he didn't.

No hero individual that every one else wants.

I still think he's lacked a capable list so it's really hard to measure what he's actually good or bad at. Drafting has been poor for along time and we haven't really addressed it still. We wasted the Pelchen years and the club would be pretty aware of that. The best players drafted in in that time were Seb, Newnes and Webster. So far none have become stars. We would have a similar lack of stars to GCS and not many others others. Our highest ranked players for 2018 are Stuv, Seb, Steele and then Sinclair and Dunstan. That's scary bad. A few are better than that and should rebound though.
I think coming into his 6th year he needs to take some ownership on a lot of things including where the list is at

It's a pretty sweet deal: especially on that salary.

In hindsight, a big part of him getting the job was the "he's a good development coach" myth. I've found it really difficult to see where his good "development" coaching bore fruit at his previous jobs. The thing is, that myth, combined with where our list was at when he took over and his "aw shucks, I'm a good bloke and hard worker" personality bought him a few years.

I fear we are seeing what an actual "development" coach looks like up in Brisbane with Fagan at the helm. You can very quickly see the impact that he has had on their youngsters in the way they move the ball... nothing to do with tackling which is all I have seen from us since 2014.
I said that the day he was appointed. See my sig.

I think it's sad that what would otherwise appear to be intelligent people can devote so much time going over the same s**t over and over and over again.

There's so much else to look forward, bit that's just my opinion.

It's a free country...

Every organisation has it's own PR dept! I'm anointing VDS66 as the head of this division!
Obviously St C will be heading up our new AR dept!

It's my belief we need to keep these two dept's as far away from each as possible
This is where i shall be taking up the role of our new HR ( Hopeless Richo ) manager to ensure we do not
Need a new dept to deal with all this squabbling!

The dreaded TR dept ( Totally Rooted ) :oops:
Don't drag me into it.

Some us prefer to look forward towards the horizon... Other are stuck looking the rear view mirror.

As I posted it's preaching to the converted and looking at the comments on here, it's worked a treat.

I said that the day he was appointed. See my sig.
Yep, remember your comment well when he was appointed.

You went into detail about why his previous assistant coaching record wasn't great and how the process to pick him wasn't ideal.

From memory, you were also a critic of Pelchen's "plan" to get rid of our experienced players for draft-picks with the Dal move in particular upsetting you.

For both of the above, you were howled down by many but time has shown you were on the money both times.

To me you've turned out to be more "Prophetic" Saint than "Perservering." ;)

I think it's sad that what would otherwise appear to be intelligent people can devote so much time going over the same s**t over and over and over again.

There's so much else to look forward, bit that's just my opinion.
It's a free country...

In fact, to quote that most astute footy commentator, David King, :D

....the Saints aren’t interested in the rear-view mirror any longer. It’s all about 2019 and beyond.

In fact, to quote that most astute footy commentator, David King, :D

....the Saints aren’t interested in the rear-view mirror any longer. It’s all about 2019 and beyond.
All aboard the VDS bus of optimism.

Room for 50,000 members and it only has one gear: forward!

Onboard refreshments include endless koolaid and specialty bath water shots.

Sad sacks travel in the baggage compartment and receive complimentary Richo voodoo dolls and dart board for onboard entertainment...

images (10).jpeg

All aboard the VDS bus of optimism.

Room for 50,000 members and it only has one gear: forward!

Sad sacks travel in the baggage compartment and receive complimentary Richo voodoo dolls and dart board for onboard entertainment...

View attachment 629998

Hopefully we do move forward but I am convinced we will see the driver changed at seasons end. Chooohooo to Cho will be the chant.

Actually, I disagree.
I think it’s a very poorly written article.Certainly grammatically.

And whilst people might scoff at that I must admit I find it hard to take a journo seriously if they cannot actually write - no matter what they have to say.

Sounds like she’s got a lot of her opinions from her “St. Kilda- supporting friends.”

Granted, she has some valid points and her opinion on Richo will gladden the hearts of most on here, but for the most part she is going over old ground. I was quite surprised that our “culture” didn’t get a mention for a change.

I agree with you. I thought it was a lot of regurgitated shite that has been mentioned before and I still can’t link what the issue that we can’t sweep under the carpet (the title) actually is. Is it the debt? Is it Richo? China game? She covers a lot of well worn ‘issues’.

Given the timing of it she just comes across as a bit of a b.u.t.t hurt North supporter who is pissed off that we have taken a tiny glimmer of hope from Saturday’s game that this year may not be quite as abysmal.

Marnie Cohen is a former journalist turned PR girl who used to work with the Geelong Advertiser and Daily Telegraph....

....Ohhkay, so we’ve worked out that you’re not so good at the journalism thing but you look quite pretty.