Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread

Haha. A predictable response since it paints Jong in a good light. ;)

But I'm gunna sic threenewpadlocks onto you, MD ... you'll be sorry!
It's useful if you understand what it is. Mattdougie. There are obviously limitations to the the numbers but if you understand the processes behind it all it's easy to factor those in.

Google "AFL Player Ratings Points explained .pdf" and there should be a .pdf explaining the points system.

It's useful if you understand what it is. Mattdougie. There are obviously limitations to the the numbers but if you understand the processes behind it all it's easy to factor those in.

Google "AFL Player Ratings Points explained .pdf" and there should be a .pdf explaining the points system.

I will have a look mate

But I use a fairly simple rating system and that's my eyes and why they see. Numbers can always be skewed and can hide the reality.

Let's take clangers for example. Any disposal that is had that hits the ground and is a poor disposal is not counted as a clanger if a receiving player cleans it up. Now there are a fair few clangers in every game that are cleaned up by team mates.

Murphy's kick was perfect and it was in line with how we've played all season. If you look at our forward 50 it was congested on the left hand side, but there were players in position to lead or double back through the middle. Failing that, we could have re-set for a better entry. It was smart and to plan. Roberts' dropped mark was glaring and unfortunate, but that aside there's nothing to criticise about the play.

Why is everyone worried about Murphys kick?

If you want to point gingers point them at Hunter for that bloody handball!!

But the simple fact is we can't so many blokes had chances to win the game we didn't take them and when the cows did they took it.

All will come with maturity and experience I was honestly rapt the way they kept fighting and didn't drop off when it looked like the cows had them a couple times.

Never been more exciting by our prospects than I am now

God I love it when this post happens...

old under-achieving?
if you wanna know the facts, the Adelaide team that played you on Sat. night in the EF was YOUNGER, by average, than your team...

Followed by something like this...

Incorrect, but thanks for trying.

2h509k8.jpg

WHACK!

And from an opposition supporter too! Thanks Boristown !

And in the end the original correction from 32Crow means naff all anyway because average age is a horrible way of looking at a list, hence this...

Average age is very misleading when talking about our side because we have a few old outliers and very few in the mid-age prime years. Basically we play a team with maybe 3 to 4 players who are in their prime years (25-28), a few pensioners and a whole bunch of babies (in either age or experience). That is not the composition of a team that should be making finals.

Adelaide have a more balanced list and therefore play a more balanced 22.

Minson 30, Picken 29, Boyd 33, Murph 33, and moz 32, blows our AVERAGE age way out, but our MEDIAN would be miles lower.

BUT FFS when will it be our bloody night!!!!!

Have to agree. I was a kid in '92 and by '97 and '98, I still had a sense of teenage optimism.

By 08 and 09 I was excited again, by 2010, I was totally distraught we had let three Prelims slip through our fingers.

Hope was restored this year, but that was shattered again on Saturday. We just find ways to lose.

When will I be truly confident? When we're 10 goals up in a Grand Final with two minutes to play. Even then, I'll be pleading for the siren.

Have to agree. I was a kid in '92 and by '97 and '98, I still had a sense of teenage optimism.

By 08 and 09 I was excited again, by 2010, I was totally distraught we had let three Prelims slip through our fingers.

Hope was restored this year, but that was shattered again on Saturday. We just find ways to lose.

When will I be truly confident? When we're 10 goals up in a Grand Final with two minutes to play. Even then, I'll be pleading for the siren.
In the fourth quarter of our fifth consecutive grand final after Boyd kicks his eighth to put us 70 points up.

We gave everything and played a major part in the game of the year, not good to single out certain plays or players its a team game, not heard anything about where the Crows f****d up but know that if they lost there would be some. Just starting to come to grips with the loss, had nothing but praise from all others, even Crows. Someone always has to have a bad game even when you win. Leave that to the coaches. Most fans are great supporters but we all have those dickheads. Still gutted but we've got a good few years to come this is just the start.

God, after all this (and it's been a great season considering last year and that the future looks like gold) I just HOPE AND PRAY that the 'oldies' Murph, Morris, Moyd are there to experience the ultimate. They deserve it (as do we!)

Seeing Murph and Moz on their knees on Saturday cut me far, far deeper than the loss itself.

Totally agree.

If anybody deserves to retire with a flag and medals around their necks, it's those two.

You have players who grab a flag in their first or second year with a handful of games under their belt and then you have Murph and Moz who have given everything and more, yet don't have a medal.

Gut wrenching.

Did anyone see what caused Roberts to do a face plant from vertical position, late in the game in the Tex Walker contest on the wing. Roberts had front position, I understand easing players under the ball to protect the ball drop, but when a player goes from vertical to face plant in the blink of an eye. Just curious to know how Tex competed in that contest. None of the replays shown, give any indication.

I haven't watched any replays but from my recollection Roberts was caught bolting forwards to make the contest whereas Tex was largely stationary. Roberts committed to a step and Walker timed the bump so he got hit the second he shifted his weight, and he face planted. It was great work by Tex but Roberts really, really needed to be stronger in the contest in that instance.

I think Tom Boyd could have made a massive difference. I dunno.

I think so too, but in the aftermath I reckon it's better he didn't have a bad game and was the focal point of a "yeah the dogs were great but their million dollar forward should have kicked more goals and won them the game".

In hindsight, it's amazing we've got through the season without it being a bigger talking point. Which is great, as he will be better equipped after another preseason and can carry some more actual workload as well as the annoying media crap.

Also, how good that we played an EF (and should have won it) without our main KPF and the opposition only got over the line due to an epic performance by their main KPF.

I don't even care if I sound bitter as ****, I thought it was way too far off the ball. And in the back. Booooooooooooo.

Thank God, I thought I was the only one feeling this. I've watched the replay a few times and from different angles and I reckon the ball is about 30mts away when Walker makes contact.

I also think Hunter was trying to put the ball just in front of Stu for him to run onto it, but just a few too many Weeties. Maybe tried to be too creative.

Thank God, I thought I was the only one feeling this. I've watched the replay a few times and from different angles and I reckon the ball is about 30mts away when Walker makes contact.

I also think Hunter was trying to put the ball just in front of Stu for him to run onto it, but just a few too many Weeties. Maybe tried to be too creative.
I've re-watched the Hunter handball about 30 times and I think given the speed at which they were moving through the centre square he misjudged how fast Crameri was moving. In fact Crameri was almost stationary waiting for them to get to him, he was just slightly moving forward and got caught out thinking Hunter would pass it straight to him whereas Lachie was trying to put it just a bit in front of him to keep the momentum going forward and mis judged Crameri's forward movement badly.

At the end of the day Hunter should have been able to adjust and recognise his team mates momentum. He had long enough to do so, but after watching the whole game over again there is no way anyone should be blaming Hunter for the loss, he was enormous for most of the game. We lost that game in the third quarter when we didn't convert our dominance into what should have been a 4 goal lead by 3 qtr time. Then with the way we started the last we would have had the game won by midway through the final qtr. Far too many missed shots, missed handballs, missed opportunities.

As I've said before, I expect for this reason that this will burn more than other losses and will motivate them to go better next year. I know it is a long road back but I think they will relish the hard work and push their way back there in 2016.

There was a bit of a push, but they really put the whistle away towards the end of the game. They didn't pay a free kick in the last five minutes or so, and they missed some blatant ones both ways (the one I was most surprised by was a very obvious tackle around Sloane's neck on the wing). It would've been pretty unfair on Adelaide to pay that to us, but ignore everything else. Ideally though, they would just pay free kicks when they're there, rather than pretending the rules are irrelevant at the end of the game.

Thanks for the clip. IMO the options down the line were very close and about to be comfortably shut off. Questionable even if some of these options would have carried the required distance. Also the down the line options were moving backwards never a great option to kick a few metres to a guy going backwards IMO. The Murph kick to Roberts opened up the fat side and space and could have resulted in a fast lead to space and a goal.

So in isolation it was a very high risk play. But the sheer brilliance of the execution could have made it work, if not for Roberts' epic fail.

You can't just look at plays in isolation either as there is always context

This is spot on.

Fair enough. We can agree to disagree.

One thing's for sure, Roberts epic fail of a night might have just earned Carlisle a phone call from us.

-

I think JJ's absence is really underrated, not only to stop Betts, but offensively there was just too much weight on Bobs back (and added pressure). If JJ played, we win convincingly IMO. Watching back, JJ's absence exposed just how bad Boyd's leg speed is, even after we rested him twice in the last 3 weeks. With how our defence rotates all it takes is one weak link and we get exposed.

With Libba, Koby and maybe Clay coming back in next year, what about trying Jong down back? His contested and intercept marking was really impressive on the weekend. His leg speed is insane, he's got good height, marking and line breaking ability. Also this year Boyd has showed that kicking under no pressure in the backline (whilst knowing nothing's behind you) is childs play compared to bursting out of a stoppage and kicking under pressure without knowing what's behind you.
What about MaCrae off a back flank?
This is spot on.

Totally disagree, there was no one on the southern stand side, I was sitting there. Two player were lose on the members wing, Bonts was clear. It was a mistake, simple as that. Yet it didn't cost us the game. My point was it was the time to keep attacking, one more goal and we close out the win.

All those "facts" are irrelevant. The fact is it was a mistake, it doesn't matter who, when, where or how, a mistake is a mistake. He had an open player 10m down the line he should of hit for an easy hand pass, who then would of ran, drawn the next defender and then hand pass to the next player who was 10-15m further down the line that would of of led to an almost guaranteed inside 50 with very minimal risk factor, and more importantly would of been quick. Instead for some reason after initially looking like he was going to give the hand pass, he has a brain fade, does a 360, then gets himself into trouble and then is forced to try pull of the most impossible kick to a player in the corridor surrounded by 3 defenders all within 10m. Bob being bob somehow pulls of this impossible kick perfectly, but Roberts shits himself because he realises he's surrounded and doesn't know how close the 2 guys behind actually are. Roberts proceeds to drop the easiest mark you'll ever see and it causes a turnover in the worst possible part of the ground at the worst time that may or may not have cost us the game (and unfortunately maybe his future spot on the team).

"We have attacked through the corridor all year; why should have this been different?" - Do you realise why this is? Because going the corridor is the fastest way to get the ball forward. In the era of the forward press, you have to get the ball forward before their defence can get back and set up. Bobs kick achieves the exact opposite. You say Roberts could of hit the free player on the other side of the ground, but do you realise how long that would of taken? That's 2 40-50m kicks (and the way Crows were aggressively manning the mark all night would have been not easy and slowed us down even more) just to achieve an inside 50 that we were initially 1-2 handballs away from doing.

In the big picture our defence let us down badly that night (funnily our strongest line all season), and that mistake was minor compared to some of the others. Bob was actually one of the better players down back (Roberts and Boyd were just terrible) and more than made up for it by setting us up to win the game with his aggressive play followed by an amazing hand pass in the last 2min that set up a huge surge down the mid that was let down by Hunters terrible hand pass to Crameri (now that was a BAD mistake). But a mistake is a mistake, let's just call them how it is.

Bevo won't miss them though and we will be a lot better for it in the next few years when we're top 4 and pushing for the big one.
That hunter hand pass wasn't that bad except for red path running his defender into the contest . Big Jack should have been running hard back into space in front of goal and keeping the defenders and fwd line spread. He didn't even shepherd effectively. And Crameri shouldn't have taken on the tacklers... He just had to get the ball free.

There was a bit of a push, but they really put the whistle away towards the end of the game. They didn't pay a free kick in the last five minutes or so, and they missed some blatant ones both ways (the one I was most surprised by was a very obvious tackle around Sloane's neck on the wing). It would've been pretty unfair on Adelaide to pay that to us, but ignore everything else. Ideally though, they would just pay free kicks when they're there, rather than pretending the rules are irrelevant at the end of the game.
This is a big problem with Australian football.

AFL is not gutsy enough to enforce its own rules. Instead it has an insatiable urge to tinker with the rules each year and with the interpretations each week (even each quarter!) Why, for instance, should it be acceptable to "let it flow" and "put the whistle away" late in a finals game when it's not done the rest of the time? Unbelievable that we sit back and accept such inconsistency. Can you imagine a World Cup final being played like that?

I'm not sure if applying the rules consistently would make footy a better spectacle or not, but it would sure as hell be easier to follow for beginners, and less frustrating for the die-hard supporters.

Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread