Welcome Welcome to Hawthorn: Josh Ward. Extends to 2025!

You can tell he’s methodical with the ball in hand. Doesn’t rush or make silly decisions - just looks for the best option. Also looks like he wants to always win - game face is immense. Serious player on our hands here - upside is huge.

Getting better as he is getting more comfortable with the speed of the game. Massive difference from his first few games this season.

Can't wait until he's played 50 games

And some posters were saying he was a poor choice at pick 7..............

Getting better as he is getting more comfortable with the speed of the game. Massive difference from his first few games this season.

Can't wait until he's played 50 games

And some posters were saying he was a poor choice at pick 7..............
The troll on the main board about Essendon get Hobbs has been awfully silent

He is also playing wing a position he had to get used to playing. You can get lost being a ball winner to then rely on others to get it and be in the right spots to receive
I was shattered we missed on Callaghan after our late season surge up the ladder. Feeling alot better now seeing Ward progress the way he has

Keep thinking, 'if we could only have both'....

We're about two A grade prospects away from having a seriously powerful on ball brigade. So far the new crop all have standout traits in areas their teammates don't, which is a pretty bloody awesome state of affairs given the one trick pony we'd been running through there prior to the past 12 months or so.

Drafting someone with FC's strengths - that crazy evasion and inside/outside game with heigh and speed to boot would really compliment Ward's nous and polish, Moore's elite ball winning and run, Newcombe's carry/inside/outside grunt and class, McDonald's silk and vision, and Finn's run, strength and tagging.

We're probably not going to get a better crack at a high draft pick for a decade, let's hope it's this year we nab who we need!

Others that frequently appeared on the deslist shortlist were Nash and Moore. Sometimes fans should just admit that it is hard to have a clue when you're not inside the club.

welcome to 2022, where anyone has a platform. anyone can just spurt whatever they think and it carries the same weight as another anon specialist football brain.

Keep thinking, 'if we could only have both'....

We're about two A grade prospects away from having a seriously powerful on ball brigade. So far the new crop all have standout traits in areas their teammates don't too, which is a pretty bloody awesome state of affairs given the one trick pony we'd been running through there prior to the past 12 months or so.

Drafting someone with FC's strengths - that crazy evasion and inside/outside game with heigh and speed to boot would really compliment Ward's nous and polish, Moore's elite ball winning and run, Newcombe's carry/inside/outside grunt and class, McDonald's silk and vision, and Finn's run, strength and tagging.
We will get the two extra Mids, both different, either thru Draft or FA.

Wards last month:
Vs West Coast - 34 disposals, 23 kicks, 12 contested, 8 score involvements, 7 marks, 618 metres gained, 6 clearances, 5 tackles & 5 inside 50s at 71% DE

Vs North - 22 disposals, 10 kicks, 7 contested, 4 score involvements, 3 marks, 190 metres gained, 3 clearances, 3 tackles & 1 inside 50 at 63% DE

Vs St Kilda - 26 disposals, 17 kicks, 7 contested, 6 score involvements, 6 marks, 446 metres gained, 3 clearances, 5 tackles & 6 inside 50s at 65% DE

Vs Gold Coast - 20 disposals, 14 kicks, 8 contested, 1 goal, 3 goal assists (7 score involvements), 3 marks, 356 metres gained, 4 clearances, 4 tackles & 4 inside 50s at 80% DE.

Averages:
25.5 disposals per game (16 kicks & 8.5 contested possessions) at 70% DE
0.25 goals per game
0.75 goal assists per game (6.25 score involvements per game)
5 marks per game
402.5 metres gained per game
4 clearances per game
4.25 tackles per game
4 inside 50s per game

Josh’s last month of footy has been really good, his disposal efficiency doesn’t do how well he’s using the pill any credit, on a wing and mid rotation not getting heaps of midfield time he’s still winning it at the coal face and has shown class in doing it, turning into traffic and then subsequently out and finding a target, he’s using the ball well and is seeing and finding kicks most wouldn’t even comprehend or think of, he’s tackling well and running defensively super well showing his capabilities as a future elite two way midfielder (on top of the class, ball winning and balanced in and outside game), it’s been very good as i mentioned and I can’t wait for him to continue & get more midfield minutes.

I was really impressed with how he played on the weekend. He wasn't as prolific but most of his touches generated something for us. I has no idea he could be that sort of weapon. Reckon we have a future a grader here

It's true though. Goal kicking mids are worth their weight in gold.

That reminds me of something Dermie said during our game on Saturday. He commented about how the Hawks need a goal kicking mid and then goes on to say that JOM ain't that. JOM must have heard because a few minutes later he makes Dermie eat his hat.

You can tell he’s methodical with the ball in hand. Doesn’t rush or make silly decisions - just looks for the best option. Also looks like he wants to always win - game face is immense. Serious player on our hands here - upside is huge.

Spot on Ward has been super impressive his ability to learn a new role on the run in his first season.

I think we have a serious playmaker on our hands get the ball in his hands and he will make the right decision reminds me of our coach.

It's great to see Ward and C-mac prepared to use both sides of there body under pressure.

Very happy with how Ward finished off the season. 34,26,22,20,17 & 24 disposals in his last six games.

He really should be the second best young midfielder on the list this time next year.

I'd say he already is.

Very happy with how Ward finished off the season. 34,26,22,20,17 & 24 disposals in his last six games.

He really should be the second best young midfielder on the list this time next year.
He is already the second-best young mid. Not far off Newcombe, if I'm honest.