Toast Welcome to the Temple of Bontempelli, please take off your shoes and pay your respects

Sad for him, but he's 2 a two time MVP (the true brownlow) and since we didn't make finals...the extended preseason and team improvement should see him as a shoe in next year.

Umps may be prone to amend the backlash.... And though we had so many close games, if we bank wins next year....

Unless he gets badly injured, noone is stopping him.

Sad for him, but he's 2 a two time MVP (the true brownlow) and since we didn't make finals...the extended preseason and team improvement should see him as a shoe in next year.

Umps may be prone to amend the backlash.... And though we had so many close games, if we bank wins next year....

Unless he gets badly injured, noone is stopping him.
Naicos might.

Clear best player in the comp. Best our clubs ever had.
This is beyond doubt.
Heartbreaking he lost the way he did. Hopefully the blowtorch is up full ball in the media tomorrow. Some of the voting was downright disgraceful. If the umps aren’t actually putting the required effort in, which they clearly aren’t, then the voting system has to change.
You're joking right?

It's Grand Final week. The news cycle will have already moved on.

The Bont coming second will be a footnote in history by the time Ive finished this post.

Must be club history only. Ablett did it against all 18 clubs, not sure if anyone can lay claim to that.

Danger and Buddy have to. Treloar also, which is a decent effort for just 91 votes. Didn’t look beyond that.

Surprisingly Neale hasn’t (and won’t) and Tom Mitchell only has Hawthorn left to complete his set.

This is beyond doubt.

You're joking right?

It's Grand Final week. The news cycle will have already moved on.

The Bont coming second will be a footnote in history by the time Ive finished this post.

Not at all. Anticipating some decent heat on the league from pundits.

We’ve had strange vote games in previous years (Judds 17 disposal 3 vote game in one of his winning years) but some last night were embarrassing need explaining from the league. They can’t just pretend it’s normal (although they’ve attempted to here Brownlow talking points: Mystery best on, revenge games, Jezza at it again).
The JHF 13 disposal game is one.

I haven’t listened to any of the SEN segments today but assuming it’s a big topic from callers and hosts. It’s all over Twitter.

Of all the things the league has ballsed up, last night’s medal count sit’s at the top.

I love this guy so much and couldn’t be prouder of how he conducts himself and represents our beloved footy club. He should be a 2 time Brownlow winner and 2x Premiership player but our team/club has let him down late in seasons.

However now is the time for Bont to demand excellence from all around him, he physically can’t do anymore. It’s time for him to look those in the eye and say that’s not good enough, leading from example gets you so far but he’s been doing it for so long the rest of the crew just expect it.

Truly believe the team needs to be harder on each other and it starts from the top.

I love this guy so much and couldn’t be prouder of how he conducts himself and represents our beloved footy club. He should be a 2 time Brownlow winner and 2x Premiership player but our team/club has let him down late in seasons.

However now is the time for Bont to demand excellence from all around him, he physically can’t do anymore. It’s time for him to look those in the eye and say that’s not good enough, leading from example gets you so far but he’s been doing it for so long the rest of the crew just expect it.

Truly believe the team needs to be harder on each other and it starts from the top.

Agree but these last 2 years have seen a markedly angrier Bont. Especially this year. He is ripping into teammates on the field way more often.

Though it would be a great personal achievement, the value of the Brownlow is not what it once was.

I am sure the recognition he gets from his peers via the MVP is rewarding, but the main title he would like to finish his career with is premiership Captain

And the 2023 Brendan McCartney Award goes to Luke Beveridge, who through a combination of elite arrogance, incompetence, and stubbornness was able to ensure the Bont missed out on a Brownlow.

Special mentions to KK, Ameet, and Granty for their assistance to Luke in being asleep at the wheel for the last 2 years.

I mean truly the fault is with the AFL for enabling a really shitty voting system.

However the club has failed Bont in the last 2 years. We could not have asked for more from him yet we certainly could have from other important figures.

Wines and Neale are worse than Bont but finished top 4. That’s really all it is. Bont has deserved more wins to guarantee what should be 2x Brownlows and more genuine cracks at another flag.

It’s really clear that when we finish top 4, Bont gets this (dubious) award and a good chance at flag #2, which he deserves.

Not trying to fearmonger or even suggest it’s a chance but there has to be some pressure on the club given our trending form and that he’s a free agent in 2 years, and would command possibly the biggest contract ever at that point.

The time to stop ******* around, win some games and finish top 4 was long ago. Bont has earned a lot better than what the club around him has dished up, pretty disillusioning to watch him get let down. Bains and KWW have to nail these coaching hires and turn this team around in the next 2 years.

I believe Geelong took that attitude during their 5-year run at the flags and it seems to have continued as a tradition. Like them or loathe them (me) they've got a lot of things right.

Congratulations to Marcus Bontempelli - AFL Player of the Year.

The AFL has a problem - its self-appointed "player of the year" award, the Brownlow Medal, is broken. This has been well documented the last 24 hours. The question is how they fix it. My proposal is to award the Brownlow Medal to the player that polls best in all of the major awards. The Umpires Medal, the AFL Coaches Award, and the AFL Players Award (include an AFL Media POTY if a suitable, totally unbiased voting system can be devised).

On what is now Brownlow Night, have a short count for each award, say the last 5 rounds, so each award is presented to the worthy winner on the night. Then award the Brownlow Medal to the player that has performed the best over all of the awards. This year it was The Bont that did finishing 1st in the AFLPA award, 2nd in the Brownlow, and 2nd in the AFLCA award.

Congratulations to Marcus Bontempelli - AFL Player of the Year.

The AFL has a problem - its self-appointed "player of the year" award, the Brownlow Medal, is broken. This has been well documented the last 24 hours. The question is how they fix it. My proposal is to award the Brownlow Medal to the player that polls best in all of the major awards. The Umpires Medal, the AFL Coaches Award, and the AFL Players Award (include an AFL Media POTY if a suitable, totally unbiased voting system can be devised).

On what is now Brownlow Night, have a short count for each award, say the last 5 rounds, so each award is presented to the worthy winner on the night. Then award the Brownlow Medal to the player that has performed the best over all of the awards. This year it was The Bont that did finishing 1st in the AFLPA award, 2nd in the Brownlow, and 2nd in the AFLCA award.
I was thinking along these lines too.

But realistically the AFL will want total control over any event it stages. Can't see it collaborating with outside organisations having autonomy over their own award.

Or if it did, the poison hand of crass commercialism would quickly diminish the integrity of those institutions as well.

I think we need to let it go. That won't stop me grizzling about the Brownlow charade every September but the AFL will never want to change it - apart from some occasional tinkering at the edges if it thinks it can create more intrigue, more drama, more glitz and more media attention.

Maybe run it over two nights like they do with the National Draft? Now there's an idea ... :eek:

How about 3 sessions for the 1, 2, 3 votes respectively?

I'd suggest session 1 (1 votes counted) clash with the NRL GF so the AFL can pinch their TV market.
Session 2 (2 votes) would actually be a late Sunday arvo up against Bathurst.

Finally session 3 - all the 3 votes on the first Tuesday in November, say mid-arvo-ish? It'll be the count that stops a nation. 🤔

Btw, if/when the AFL implement this, just remember it was my idea!

I was thinking along these lines too.

But realistically the AFL will want total control over any event it stages. Can't see it collaborating with outside organisations having autonomy over their own award.

Or if it did, the poison hand of crass commercialism would quickly diminish the integrity of those institutions as well.

I think we need to let it go. That won't stop me grizzling about the Brownlow charade every September but the AFL will never want to change it - apart from some occasional tinkering at the edges if it thinks it can create more intrigue, more drama, more glitz and more media attention.

all 4 umpires could vote independently rather than collaborate - up to 12 players could get votes per match

they wouldn't be able to fit that into one nights counting

:p

Only guy I think can be the best player ever seen
Is Darcy this kid will be the first forward to win 🥇

Age (Year)Scott WestAge (Year)Marcus Bontempelli
18 (1993)(17 games)18 (2014)(16 games)
19 (1994)(40 games)19 (2015)(37 games)
20 (1995)1st B&F (63 games)20 (2016)1st B&F (63 games)
21 (1996)(78 games)21 (2017)2nd B&F (85 games)
22 (1997)2nd B&F (102 games)22 (2018)(104 games)
23 (1998)3rd B&F (126 games)23 (2019)3rd B&F (127 games)
24 (1999)(147 games)24 (2020)(145 games)
25 (2000)4th B&F (170 games)25 (2021)4th B&F (171 games)
26 (2001)(192 games)
27 (2002)(210 games)
28 (2003)5th B&F (232 games)
29 (2004)6th B&F (254 games)
30 (2005)7th B&F (276 games)
31 (2006)(300 games)
32 (2007)(320 games)
33 (2008)retired (324 games)

26 (2001)(192 games)26 (2022)(193 games)
27 (2002)(210 games)27 (2023)5th B&F (216 games)
31 (2006)(300 games)
32 (2007)(320 games)

26 (2001)(192 games)26 (2022)(193 games)
27 (2002)(210 games)27 (2023)5th B&F (216 games)
31 (2006)(300 games)
32 (2007)(320 games)
Worth noting we were crap in 2003-2004 when West won two of his last three CSMs so it wasn't hard to stand out in that side. We finished last in 2003 and third last in 2004, then 9th in 2005. We've been in finals or close to the top 8 for Bont's entire career.

Great player though West was I reckon the Bont is considerably better ... and might finish with at least seven himself if he stays sound.

Scott West was an excellent player who was consistent and reliable. But he was not in the same ballpark as Bontempelli when it comes to the ability to individually influence a game, of which I rate Bont as probably the best I've seen over a long period in the entire AFL competition, besides Ablett (so far). To think he's only 27.