Rolling Ashes Squad Thread, now featuring Haddin XII v Hick XII beginning p. 147

I understand people have their own ideas of what the team SHOULD look like, but after these tests I feel as though it's a pretty clear 11.

Warner
Burns
Khawaja
Smith
Head
Patterson
Paine
Cummins
Starc
Lyon
Hazlewood

It seems like a settled and experienced line-up with the players with questions marks finding a little bit of form (Khawaja, Head, Patterson, Starc).
Agree that this XI has picked itself. No one stood up in warners absence so he gets first crack given his very good average.
Patterson is in form and unless he has a diabolical shield season against the duke deserves to bat at 6.
Starc has won his spot back, but would like to see him play some shield to get more form with the duke.

Maxi wants to play test cricket but the Australian selectors will not allow him the opportunity to play the longer version of the game to push his claims for the ashes series.Just wasted talent leaving him on the outer for real cricket that being test cricket and playing this T20 crap.In the top best batsman in Australia now,best fieldsman in the country and can bowl a few overs of spin if required and the best of Maxi will put bums on seats and for goodness sake give him that opportunity.

Oh stop the bloody whingeing with Maxwell..selectors have given Maxwell the opportunity its up to him to score runs and hundreds that's what the selectors want !!

What Maxwell has proven to the cricket world is atm he cannot bat in the top four in test cricket and ODI

If Maxwell wants to play in the Ashes....go out there bat like a batsmen stop bloody slogging all the time...and score hundreds its the only way !!

Until he can do that...stop with the bloody Maxwell sooking !!

Oh stop the bloody whingeing with Maxwell..selectors have given Maxwell the opportunity its up to him to score runs and hundreds that's what the selectors want !!

That's crap. They actually appear to have gone out of their way to prevent him playing FC Cricket last off-season. The last time he was in the Test team he scored one of the better hundreds I have seen from an Australian batsman in recent memory.

If Maxwell wants to play in the Ashes....go out there bat like a batsmen stop bloody slogging all the time...and score hundreds its the only way !!

You can't seriously criticise him for playing big shots in the Big Bash and other short form cricket. If you'd actually watched him play FC cricket in the last 2 years you wouldn't say that.

This seems to be getting close to a consensus XI now:

Warner
Burns
Khawaja
Smith
Head
Patterson
Paine
Cummins
Starc
Lyon
Hazlewood

And I think pretty clearly that should be the XI currently penciled in. But given how long it is until the first Test, you'd have to say there's also room for players to play themselves in or out of that side.

Warner
Burns
Khawaja
Smith
Head
Patterson
Paine
Cummins
Starc
Lyon
Hazlewood

And I think pretty clearly that should be the XI currently penciled in. But given how long it is until the first Test, you'd have to say there's also room for players to play themselves in or out of that side.
Agree with this with the exception of Richardson in for Hazelwood. Richardson has proven he can swing the ball, put it on a dime and bowl to a plan. He can also bowl long spells and keep it tight. He’d do damage in England I think.

Warner
Burns
Khawaja
Smith
Head
Patterson
Paine
Cummins
Starc
Lyon
Hazlewood

That's my XI too. Have to think that Marcus Harris will have a spell on the sidelines. He just hasn't definitively taken his chances. We can't have unknowns in England against broad and Anderson. I wouldn't have a problem with Richardson taking Hazelwood's spot either tbh even though it probably won't happen. Hazelwood has been a real let down for a while now

That's crap. They actually appear to have gone out of their way to prevent him playing FC Cricket last off-season. The last time he was in the Test team he scored one of the better hundreds I have seen from an Australian batsman in recent memory.

You can't seriously criticise him for playing big shots in the Big Bash and other short form cricket. If you'd actually watched him play FC cricket in the last 2 years you wouldn't say that.

No the last time he was in the test team he played against Bangladesh...2 tests and didn't score a hundred

Also in 90 ODI he has scored ONLY 1 hundred ....that's not good enough for a player of his talent

I don't care what anyone says about him being treated...the only way for him to be picked for the test team is to score hundreds.

No the last time he was in the test team he played against Bangladesh...2 tests and didn't score a hundred

Also in 90 ODI he has scored ONLY 1 hundred ....that's not good enough for a player of his talent

I don't care what anyone says about him being treated...the only way for him to be picked for the test team is to score hundreds.

Very few players score a ton in a 1 day game batting at 7,a T20 game even less.

Maxwell has been given the opportunity in 90 ODI to score more than 1 hundred....he has only been playing at 7 recently

The simple fact is Maxwell is batting down the order because he cannot score hundreds in the top 6..thats fact...I am not lying I want him to score hundreds but so far he has not !!

The only way....I stress the only way for Maxwell to get into the test team....is to grab his opportunity in any form of cricket and score big

If he is only playing 1 shield game ...so what make it count...score big ...bat up the order and score runs !!!

If he is playing down the order in the ODI coming up which most likely he is...score runs !! force himself up the order

There are plenty of opportunities where Australia has been 4/5 down for not much...and Maxwell has been given overs to make a score ..to bat to the end and score a substantial score. Remember Bevan the finisher??? batted with the tail...finished games off when we chasing..making substantial scores...that's what Maxwell should be doing

Instead we see Maxwell come out smack a quick 30/40 odd and then get out with balls to spare....that's not what the selectors want

I hope I really do that Maxwell has an awesome world cup...because he has the talent that's what frustrates me the most ..he is good enough ..he just needs to be smarter when he bats....and make it count !!

Glenn Maxwell has a comparable if not slightly better first class record than the great Kurtis Patterson, also last season scored more runs from less innings at a much better average and scored more centuries!

Over the last 2 seasons, Maxwell averages 49, Patterson 40...

Yet Maxwell needs to make more runs and KP is the 2nd coming of the Don...

Warner
Burns
Khawaja
Smith
Head
Patterson
Paine
Cummins
Starc
Lyon
Hazlewood

If the 1st ashes test was tomorrow (and warner/smith eligible), then I agree whole heartedly.
With plenty of cricket to play, it's their spots to lose.

It's now a case of who are the 6 reserves on tour.

The selectors went all in on trying to develop MMarsh into the next great all rounder. They tried to pull off a Hail Mary to no avail. It got to the point where he was being booed. Maxwell was simply the sacrificial lamb out of all of this and I reckon the selectors have put an X to his name probably forever, albeit a bit unfairly.

What ??? wtf sacrificial lamb for mitch marsh being crap ???.....was it Mitch marsh fault that Maxwell wasn't scoring hundreds ??

Selectors will pick Maxwell when he starts scoring hundreds...simple

If the 1st ashes test was tomorrow (and warner/smith eligible), then I agree whole heartedly.
With plenty of cricket to play, it's their spots to lose.

It's now a case of who are the 6 reserves on tour.

Tend to agree.

Lets assume they will take a token spare keeper that brings that number down to 5.

Carey (not that I recon he deserves it at all, but Inglis isn't ready, and the alternatives are meh)

Laubashgne (probably will go)
Renshaw (duke ball form)
Stoinis (don't rate him one bit but the selectors can't help themselves)
Richardson (he'd be in my XI anyway)
Worrell (swing bowling specialist)

I wouldn't bother with a second spinner, we don't need one.

Glenn Maxwell has a comparable if not slightly better first class record than the great Kurtis Patterson, also last season scored more runs from less innings at a much better average and scored more centuries!

Over the last 2 seasons, Maxwell averages 49, Patterson 40...

Yet Maxwell needs to make more runs and KP is the 2nd coming of the Don...

???
2nd coming of the Don wtf are you on about ??

So you want Patterson dropped after scoring 4 hundreds in the past month for Maxwell who has scored no hundreds ???

What ??? wtf sacrificial lamb for mitch marsh being crap ???.....was it Mitch marsh fault that Maxwell wasn't scoring hundreds ??

This "he was robbed" thing with Maxwell is just weird. Flat out he hasn't scored enough runs.

Tend to agree.

Lets assume they will take a token spare keeper that brings that number down to 5.

Carey (not that I recon he deserves it at all, but Inglis isn't ready, and the alternatives are meh)

Laubashgne (probably will go)
Renshaw (duke ball form)
Stoinis (don't rate him one bit but the selectors can't help themselves)
Richardson (he'd be in my XI anyway)
Worrell (swing bowling specialist)

I wouldn't bother with a second spinner, we don't need one.[/QUOTE]

Agree

I mean, I like the fact that Australia smashed Sri Lanka but it just reminds me of Australian Cricket in the past 10 years ya know? Look great at home. Then look awful to just ok away from home. Maybe I just can’t get over the fact that the Warne/McGrath/Ponting era is well and truly over. History is likely to repeat itself. Hope I’m wrong and w can pull a 1989.

Absolute nonsense.I repeat 100's are rare in T20 cricket and probably the openers are the only ones that have a chance.The selectors say they are batting Maxwell at 7 so he can get runs in a hurry if required in the last few overs.Personally I would be batting Maxwell at 3 or 4 in the 1 day team.The only way he can get tons batting in T20 games and No.7 in a 1 day team is slogging as you call it.

Absolute nonsense.I repeat 100's are rare in T20 cricket and probably the openers are the only ones that have a chance.The selectors say they are batting Maxwell at 7 so he can get runs in a hurry if required in the last few overs.Personally I would be batting Maxwell at 3 or 4 in the 1 day team.There is no way he can make a 100 at 7 unless there is a batting collapse early.

Nonsense ?...yes people can get hundreds in t20 ask Watson ferguson this year....Maxwell has the ability to do it..far out ... of any batsmen they way Maxwell bats he is very capable of getting hundreds in t20 due to his strike rate ...he has more hundreds in t20 than test cricket

The reason he is batting 7 ..is he was not scoring hundreds in the top 5 so he was shuffled down the order.

As I said before if he wants to go up the order start making significant scores down the order...learn to bat with the tail...win games off your own bat

force the selectors to pick him by making runs in all forms of the game....its the only way !

???
2nd coming of the Don wtf are you on about ??

So you want Patterson dropped after scoring 4 hundreds in the past month for Maxwell who has scored no hundreds ???

No, but this bullshit about him not scoring enough runs but no one had an issue with Patterson who’s record is worse than Maxwells!

Maxwell would have another test hundred if he got to play Sri Lanka in Australia. Reality is it’s a case of who gets the right opportunities. Would Patterson be averaging 140 if he debuted in India? No chance, would he have scored big runs against India in Australia? Highly unlikely

Patterson has 2 FC hundreds this season, after 0 last year! Maxwell has been a more frequent run scorer over the past 2 years than Patterson, yet you trot out this rubbish that Maxwell doesn’t score enough runs. He would score more if he wasn’t running around the world playing meaningless white ball cricket.

Maxwell is being punished for being the first picked in Australia’s white ball teams. If he wasn’t in the ODI side, he could have played Sri Lanka in the tour match and made a big hundred.

Nonsense ?...yes people can get hundreds in t20 ask Watson ferguson this year....Maxwell has the ability to do it..far out ... of any batsmen they way Maxwell bats he is very capable of getting hundreds in t20 due to his strike rate ...he has more hundreds in t20 than test cricket

The reason he is batting 7 ..is he was not scoring hundreds in the top 5 so he was shuffled down the order.

As I said before if he wants to go up the order start making significant scores down the order...learn to bat with the tail...win games off your own bat

force the selectors to pick him by making runs in all forms of the game....its the only way ![/

force the selectors to pick him by making runs in all forms of the game....its the only way !

Maxwell batting at 7 is not because of lack of hundreds in the top 5 according to Justin Langar.Hussey batted at 7 for quite a while and his top score was 88.Usually not enough overs left to get a hundred.I can only find 2 players that batted 7 or lower in 1 day cricket that scored 100's but there could be more.The players,Dhoni and Butler.And how did Ferguson and Watson get T20 hundreds,"slogging" Looks like we "agree" to disagree,lol

Have Shane warne and Marcus Stoinis entered into a relationship over the last six months? Warne Instagrammed more OTT support for Stoinis today reckons he's the bolter for the ashes despite not playing the last test. Have I missed something?? Why is Stoinis even being talked about for the test squad? What is going on tbh I'm so confused???

No, but this bullshit about him not scoring enough runs but no one had an issue with Patterson who’s record is worse than Maxwells!

Maxwell would have another test hundred if he got to play Sri Lanka in Australia. Reality is it’s a case of who gets the right opportunities. Would Patterson be averaging 140 if he debuted in India? No chance, would he have scored big runs against India in Australia? Highly unlikely

Patterson has 2 FC hundreds this season, after 0 last year! Maxwell has been a more frequent run scorer over the past 2 years than Patterson, yet you trot out this rubbish that Maxwell doesn’t score enough runs. He would score more if he wasn’t running around the world playing meaningless white ball cricket.

Maxwell is being punished for being the first picked in Australia’s white ball teams. If he wasn’t in the ODI side, he could have played Sri Lanka in the tour match and made a big hundred.

Yeah I see what you are saying but no...........

Its all about timing and Patterson put his name up just at the right time by scoring hundreds...back to back in a tour match another in the shield and another in a grade game....timing was great....and then he made a ton in test cricket....credit to him...would Maxwell have got a century against Sri Lanka?? Harris didn't.....would of Maxwell maybe maybe not

If Maxwell in his two shield games this year scored two tons...he might of been in the frame but guess what he didn't...that's why he is not picked because he is not scoring hundreds....its simple that's what the selectors want...Patterson did it and he gets a test cap

You say he would score more runs if he wasn't playing meaningless white ball cricket is crap IMO........far out Hussey warner and the great Gilchrist where all picked to play test cricket after scoring well in what you say meaningless white ball cricket . The ODI arena can be used as a springboard for test cricket...the issue with Maxwell is that he doesn't score hundreds in that either....only one !! in 90 ODI ...that's crap for a player of his quality

If you are making back to back hundreds it doesn't matter what format...the selectors will standup and take notice....the issue with Maxwell is he does not

We have a meaningless white ball cricket coming up called the World Cup in England......so If Maxwell makes 2 hundreds in this meaningless white ball cricket ...is that not a positive for a test spot ?? are you saying that runs in white ball cricket count for nothing for a test spot ??

IMO it would be great to see Maxwell slay it in the world cup be player of the tournament score heaps of runs and put himself in frame for a test spot..thats what I would like to see