Autopsy 8 point loss to Port

You obviously didn’t watch the VFL game if you are picking Sid.

Then play Blakey off a wing. I don’t care but another game and considering how wide we went…

JMac 17 possessions (fine for a first up)

Corey Warner 9 possessions

That’s after 11 and 13 the two weeks prior.

You can’t have a guy playing full time on the wing getting barely 10 possessions and you wonder why we have no spread

Oh and cox needs to complain about the Heeney treatment, held all ****en day and gets nothing, barely got a reluctant whistle his way late.

also hold senior guys to account. Not just drop Hanily
Hamily is a perfect example of players that seem to be 'in the team', but with no clearly defined role in it. Corey Warner another. Arguably Campbell another. All can play footy - but give them a defined role and let them excel at it. Imo we have done great disservice to Campbell so far by spending so much time trying to make him 'make it' in roles that he isn't suited to at AFL level. He either has to play as a half forward/small forward, or he has to make it as a midfielder.

Hamily should be played as a small forward for a sustained period - yes he can play midfield, but I've seen precious little to suggest so far he is anywhere near AFL level as a midfielder.

Similar with Bice - who can do a little in the contest sure, but is so much better when helping to open the game up off the half back flank. Play him there FFS.

If you want to change roles of individuals, then it has to be done early in pre-season and stuck with. Like they've done with Wicks.

Getting back to basics could help our undermanned team become a wholly more cohesive outfit very quickly.

Hard to pick out anyone today who really looked the part. Francis with a great cameo in the last quarter , Heeney was good again but I feel like Cripps we will run him into the ground and he will pickup more injuries as he ages. Wicks was decent as was Grundy.
McCartin looks shot of confidence Melican was under done.
Rampes and Lloyd have to lift significantly or they should have a game or two in the VFL.
Three quarters of putrid football doesn't get excused because we nearly stole it at the death. Lot of players need to get their s#$t together and lift their standards.
Cox and the coaches need to have options to try and open up games rather than rinse and repeat the same tactics.
Port let us off the hook tbh 8 points flattered us in the end.

Sick of this club not dropping blokes to the 2s

There are blokes running around knowing they have a place week in week out regardless, it’s piss weak from cox.

Mitchell dropped giv to the 2s and he goes and kicks 4 today

We need to make players earn again
There isn't a single player in the ressies putting their hand up. You'd be leading lambs to the slaughter and destroying the confidence of those you drop, and their replacements.

Another game where we beat ourselves. Port weren't super good, they just played solid and let us fall apart in front of them and they picked up the scraps.

Our kicking maybe worst in the league right now, I'm never confident in any set shot, McLean is both our best and worst forward, he can put himself in position but cut finish.

Francis has played himself into the 22, kudos to him, proved me wrong, hope he keeps it up. Should get another crack up forward next week.

McCartin should never cross the line to leave the defensive half again and moving him around has stuffed him up defensively that he looked out of sync when he went back, he needs to stay there to build consistency in his game.

Changes for next week
Hamling OUT McDonald IN
Hanily to start as sub.

I'd love to drop Lloyd but we have no one to replace him.

Appalling skills.

No excuses.

Season basically over.
I've been telling you we are bog average for two years and you keep arguing with me and scoffing like an arrogant flog.

With Tassie coming in if we don't smarten up and realise we are bog average and need to re build we have a decade at the the bottom incoming .

How many times can I repeat myself?

First half wouldn't have looked so bad if Blakey had walked off with 3 goals (all gettable by his standards). Changed the complexion of the whole game.
It says something about our failings in that first half however that we were reliant on a half back running through the middle with multiple bounces to kick goals.

Changes for next week
Hamlin OUT McDonald IN
Hanily to start as sub.
McDonald was bog average yesterday in reserves - want to see him playing 2 or 3 good games straight before he is picked, given he is coming off basically no pre-season.

I'd prefer to see Buller given a go to give us something a bit different in our forward mix. And to stick Hanily in as a small forward and played as a small forward.

This smacks of the Australian Cricket Team after the period of Steve Waugh captaincy. Turned into a boys club where players knew they would get a game regardless of performance. They had no fear for their spot in the team and performed in a way that reflected that attitude. This lot needs the mother of all shake ups and if they are too pathetic to take a bit of criticism, they can **** off and find another club to play at.

It says something about our failings in that first half however that we were reliant on a half back running through the middle with multiple bounces to kick goals.

We would of been goalless for more than a quarter to start the game had not been for Heeney boundary snap.

We didnt even LOOK like scoring

McDonald was bog average yesterday in reserves - want to see him playing 2 or 3 good games straight before he is picked, given he is coming off basically no pre-season.

I'd prefer to see Buller given a go to give us something a bit different in our forward mix. And to stick Hanily in as a small forward and played as a small forward.
So who do you want as sub? And yeah Logan may not be right but he's a better forward than Hamling still

I mean when you combine the output of him, Campbell and Mclean you've got 2 goals 9 behinds from generally good kickers. So inaccuracy on a whole was an issue on a larger scale.

Takeaways from the game:

1) Umps were shit.
2) Ground was shit.
3) Heeney great as always.
4) McLean single-handedly lost the game.
5) Forwardline non-existent. Need players to at least bring the ball to ground.
Heeney went missing in the 2nd & 3rd quarters. He had 1 & 3 disposals. He was great in the last but so were Rowie, Macca (he went missing in the 3rd too), Chad ( who started to play in the 3rd). Grundy was pivotal to our comeback. He was in control for most of the third but our mids were poor.

Francis changed the game because he lead from the front, not the back. Tommy insisted on playing back shoulder, of course he does, he's a back. But Francis has Forward Craft. So did Hamling when he was there. It's just he got such bad delivery in the third. All the ball coming in was on his head and favoured the Port defence, Aliir & The Rat.

Basics. Back to flipping basics. That was woeful.

Sheldrick sits ahead of Caiden, Corey and Tom H.

Stoked for Francis. Good dig.

Matty Llyod impressive in the 2's. Can kick, tackle and mark.

I've been telling you we are bog average for two years and you keep arguing with me and scoffing like an arrogant flog.

With Tassie coming in if we don't smarten up and realise we are bog average and need to re build we have a decade at the the bottom incoming .

How many times can I repeat myself?

t some don’t want to take the deal from WCE this year. We have to do a smart on the run rebuild and we should be taking that opportunity if it comes.

Also if we are beyond cooked no way am I risking Gulden etc this year

So who do you want as sub? And yeah Logan may not be right but he's a better forward than Hamling still
To be fair, Hamling has barely played forward since coming back into seniors. But Logan was very, very average yesterday in reserves. We need to stop rewarding mediocrity, and make every player earn their positions in their team, no matter what their level of potential is, or who they are. I thought we started to do that with Parker last year, but sadly we haven't seen much tough love since.
We've dropped simple marks too may times in the last few weeks. It came back to hurt us today.
Thought Wicks and Bice had some good moments today.
I nearly cried when McLean dropped that one with about 90 seconds to go. Yes no one expected it to get to him, but was an absolute dolly :(

You know we pot various players for their failings. McLean missing shots, Blakey missing shots. Melican dropping a chest mark to create a boundary throw Grundy missing the ball for the final port goal has got to be up there as equally embarrassing. But looking at individual moments will show everyone effing up at some point.

I just wonder whether this team has got to a stage where they’ve got to be 30 points down to release the pressure that they’re feeling. The energy levels in the last were great but where the eff was that before that ?
Happens all the time. We look a million dollars as soon as we're 20 points down in the last quarter.

I mean when you combine the output of him, Campbell and Mclean you've got 2 goals 9 behinds from generally good kickers. So inaccuracy on a whole was an issue on a larger scale.
Of course - but we shouldn't be needing to rely on a half back flanker to kick (almost any) form of a decent score.

Fair play to Francis - he did better than expected , have said since the Dons days he is a forward but also thought the selection sucked, but he looked great.

Not sure he does it again , but if he is ever going to make it, then it's forward

Autopsy 8 point loss to Port