Preview Changes: Round 11 vs GWS

No , bit to think that couldn't happen with all the injuries is a nonsense . They are human and feel the frustration that we do too and that can be very demotivating

I was expecting that kind of performance a bit earlier TBH

Did you not watch the Collingwood game?

Maybe

Things can change though . Tigers were battling with close losses this time last year
They had a healthy list though didn’t they? They were mostly battling with belief, now they have it in spades.

To sneak into 4th would be a miracle unless we get everyone back starting in 2 weeks. One more poor loss against GWS, Hawks or Freo and we are done.

We've been down this road before. Effort is a non-negotiable. You're telling a bloke "You may be more talented then who I'm replacing you with, but he's going to bust his guts out and that's what I want to see from you every week if you want to keep your spot"

We've basically created a culture under Don that's says once you're in the 22 you're in the 22 and that's that.

To be fair to Don, that culture has been in place since Craig. Don's not a rock the boat type, he's not an agent of change. He's assimilated easily.

And still only lost by under a goal in the last 20 seconds...perspective is needed here
There's no such thing as honorable losses, mate. If they had of been switched on they don't let Port get a 7 goal run in the 3rd quarter. The fact we got insanely hot for 5 minutes at the end of the game doesn't erase the previous 30+ minutes where they did nothing, both on field and in the coaching box.

Fair enough , take a position and bomb out this year in order to suit our list rebuild

I could actually handle that , as long as everyone can accept losses that come

I'm all about the 2018 draft and would trade Lynch and encourage Rory to go too but most people won't cop losses

I can accept the losses.. we’ve got so many great players out that it’s forgivable in my opinion.. you can’t have, at times, 5 of your top ten players out on top of several of your top 22 out and expect not to cop losses. I’m actually suprised we’ve won as many as we have but we have played the dogs, suns, Carlton at home and St Kilda away. That’s four of our 6 wins coming against bottom 5 sides. Our best win this year was against Sydney but they haven’t played well at home and the tigers win isn’t reassuring because they are shit away from home.

It’s the inconsistent rubbish that I can’t ****in cop... and it’s not only that it’s week to week they are inconsistent... it’s quarter to quarter.. everything is going good and then all of a sudden they just fall asleep for a whole quarter of footy. And then you have last weekend.

What I also don’t want to see is our injured stars rushed back for some pie in the sky dream that top 4 is still where we’re gonna be at minor rounds end.. have a look at Melbourne’s draw from here on in.. if they dont make top 4 it’s because something catastrophic has happened.. Richmond and the Eagles have their top 4 spots all but sewn up which leaves one spot remaining..

Collingwood, Port, North and Sydney are who we’re up against for that spot.. Collingwood, Port and North all have soft draws in that race and Sydney always come good when it counts.. we’re pushing shit up hill and I reacon we will just scrape into 7th or 8th at best from this point... which is pointless. What I’m enjoying most about this season is that I’m now not stressing about losses and I’m more focused week to week on looking forward to seeing what all our young players are bringing.. I only wished they’d give all of them a run including Davis, dear, Jarman, Edwards, Wilson etc.. let’s see what they’ve got.

People can flame me If they wish but I’m just taking a realistic look at where we are currently at.. what’s ridiculous is that we’ll probably flog GWS at AO this weekend and everyone will pretend last week never happened and we’ll be contenders again.

Mackay has put up shit performances two weeks out of three. I still can't get the image out of my head of him paddling the ball back to the goal line only to lose touch on it and give up a goal. Maybe it is because I have watched dude316 classic youtube video about a hundred times this week or maybe because it is the most inept act by a player begging to be dropped that I have seen.

There is no excuse to let that go without him getting the arse

There's no such thing as honorable losses, mate. If they had of been switched on they don't let Port get a 7 goal run in the 3rd quarter. The fact we got insanely hot for 5 minutes at the end of the game doesn't erase the previous 30+ minutes where they did nothing, both on field and in the coaching box.
Yet with all those injuries and playing against a full strength port in front of their home crowd we were good enough to be comfortably leading at half time. You are not looking at the bigger picture and that was we should have been easily beaten in that game due to the circumstances but had it all but won with under 1 minute to go. Lets just say i am seeing the positives and you are seeing only the negatives

Mackay has put up shit performances two weeks out of three. I still can't get the image out of my head of him paddling the ball back to the goal line only to lose touch on it and give up a goal. Maybe it is because I have watched dude316 classic youtube video about a hundred times this week or maybe because it is the most inept act by a player begging to be dropped that I have seen.

There is no excuse to let that go without him getting the arse
It was the act of a player begging to be dropped

Yet with all those injuries and playing against a full strength port in front of their home crowd we were good enough to be comfortably leading at half time. You are not looking at the bigger picture and that was we should have been easily beaten in that game due to the circumstances but had it all but won with under 1 minute to go. Lets just say i am seeing the positives and you are seeing only the negatives
And that's the exact same mistake the club is making. Only looking at the positives and just waving off the negatives "Oh, that's not like us", "That's not how we want to play". When the same negatives keep coming up again and again you can't just ignore it. What does it take? Do we need to have non-efforts for a month in a row before it's something they think is a problem? Just because it only happens occasionally doesn't make it any less of an issue.

We've been down this road before. Effort is a non-negotiable. You're telling a bloke "You may be more talented then who I'm replacing you with, but he's going to bust his guts out and that's what I want to see from you every week if you want to keep your spot"

We've basically created a culture under Don that's says once you're in the 22 you're in the 22 and that's that.

I don’t disagree with you. But I’m still asking, who the **** we gonna pick from SANFL side? A bunch of 0 game players?

It's a tough one. I agree we needed to make a stand here, but the 2s side were equally as poor aside from Murphy who might play, and Hampton who incredibly didn't make the 22.

So when you have an entire group who were poor on the one weekend, what do you do

Have we seen Hamptons card stamped? Fair enough if so.

Personally I see no benefit in us scraping into the 8 if we’ve got injuries, we won’t win it and we will just get a shittier draft pick. So then if Sloane goes we have 2 quality picks.

But I don’t want to write off 2019 when we’ve still got a quality side. We would need to find a player or two. Pity Galluci won’t be an A grade mid, if he was quality 3 years in he could provide a decent contribution. With Smith back, we would also need Milera to become a mid.

Yeah, it's probably a season or two too early for that, seeing I have him being an A grade mid around 2021.

I'm kinda half ready to write off 2019 and just focus on 2021 onwards, I've lost a fair bit of trust in our 28+ year old group.

Preview Changes: Round 11 vs GWS