Preview Changes V Hawks

Two of those are against GC and GWS. Two more are against Melbourne and the Bulldogs. None of these games are certain wins, but there's four remaining games even in our current predicament that we'd start unbackable favourites for, and all of a sudden it looks a bit easier doesnt it?

Fourteen wins in 2012 and 2013 isn't what it used to be.

I don't disagree with most of your sentiments about selection but it is really important to remember that it is APRIL. Your luck can change very quickly in this game.

What we need right now is some really good leaders around the club.
He's still got a couple of months left of his suspension though. :(

We won the last 3 quarters of the game. How was that not competitive?

Losing by 100+ is non-competitive. Getting blown away in the first quarter, then fighting back to under 3-goals in the last, only to be robbed by the maggots - that's competitive.

You're basing your argument on this mythical 100 point thrashing as if it has already occurred. Are you really that stupid. Was it a youth policy that resulted in Melbourne smashing us by over 100 points in 2011 or was it mature players out of form

Tough week at the selection table for Sando
Very good summary.

It was so obvious to many of us that Jaensch is a forward. Give him a run up there and see how he goes. Took him a less than a half to kick 3. Roved his second like Milne does. He's a natural. I bet he'll be back in defence next week.

Jacobs is really frustrating. His numbers aren't too far down, but he's not playing with any confidence. Either he's injured, or just complacent and not willing to put his body on the line. I saw him shirk a contest majorly against Judd! Ruckmen should not be getting out of the way of midfielders.

I think Martin deserves a run in Mackay's spot. Mackay really has been terrible, and, while he is in a more defensive role than usual, he's still starting on the wing a lot of the time. It's not like we're playing him way out of position, nor have teams been making a real effort to drag him back out of his comfort zone. He's just stinking it up.

Lyons is a clearance winner and a contested ball machine. It still baffles me that we didn't bring him in for Crouch. It was the perfect chance to reward sustained good SANFL form, and get some experience in to a youngster. He wouldn't have been the answer to our woes last night, but it's clear that our biggest issue right now is winning contested ball.

I am a long way from being sold on Johnston or Smack. Neither play with any heart or intensity, and I'm basing that on what I've seen in the SANFL more than anything. I think Smack COULD have a future as a ruckman, now that those Nic Nat rules have helped his cause, but I struggle to see him ever becoming a consistant performer up forward. Despite this, if Tex is out, we might as well try one/both of them for a while.

Lawrst

3 touches with little to no impact doesn't cut it and it demonstrates the gap between sanfl and afl footy and being 2-3 we can't carry players who ate having NO impact on a game

Re Radar and D-Mac, agree I expect more from both players but again Kerridge's game was far worse then the players you have mentioned

The question you should be asking us why a 2 gamer got the job on Chris judd. Why didn't the more experienced and presumably better player like McKay get it. He's been set up to fail whilst more experienced players are getting a free ride off the back of crap performances.

Two of those are against GC and GWS. Two more are against Melbourne and the Bulldogs. None of these games are certain wins, but there's four remaining games even in our current predicament that we'd start unbackable favourites for, and all of a sudden it looks a bit easier doesnt it?

Fourteen wins in 2012 and 2013 isn't what it used to be.

I don't disagree with most of your sentiments about selection but it is really important to remember that it is APRIL. Your luck can change very quickly in this game.

What we need right now is some really good leaders around the club.
I realise its only April and I'm not writing off the season but we will have to turn it around considerably and without our best forward. The signs were concerning during the preseason and the message was don't worry it's only the preseason. We are now just under a fifth way through the season and those concerns seem well founded. Our two wins have come against two bottom teams, shit Melbourne are right up there with Brisbane at the Gabba. On our current form there's only a handful of teams I'd be confident of beating.

And whats the point of scraping into the bottom 8? It's top 4 or bust.

You're basing your argument on this mythical 100 point thrashing as if it has already occurred. Are you really that stupid. Was it a youth policy that resulted in Melbourne smashing us by over 100 points in 2011 or was it mature players out of form
A combination of the two - poorly playing senior players and too many youngsters. Our team that week had an average age of just 23yrs 9mths and just 64.5 games per player. It was one of the youngest and least experienced teams the club has ever fielded. The outcome is no coincidence.

The question you should be asking us why a 2 gamer got the job on Chris judd. Why didn't the more experienced and presumably better player like McKay get it. He's been set up to fail whilst more experienced players are getting a free ride off the back of crap performances.
Because Kerridge is one of our two designated taggers - along with Wright. He's a direct replacement for VB. The whole idea of selecting Mackay in a tagging role is just plain ludicrous.

Now if you asked why Wright wasn't given the job, then you might have had a valid point.

A combination of the two - poorly playing senior players and too many youngsters. Our team that week had an average age of just 23yrs 9mths and just 64.5 games per player. It was one of the youngest and least experienced teams the club has ever fielded. The outcome is no coincidence.
Look I don't expect you to respond because you either have me on ignore or are sooking, either way I can't lose because I get to pick apart your drivel with no response, win win I reckon. Your point seems to be lost somewhere because you don't make any sense. We can't drop underperforming senior players because with younger players we will lose by more. And yet you highlight the Melbourne game where we were flogged, acknowledging our senior players were poor. Obviously playing struggling senior players doesn't stop you from getting flogged.

Look, just saying but If any mod, has anyone on ignore - they should hand in their badge. Mods should leave all personal feeling about posters at the door or don't do the job. They are in that position to facilitate the board, not to facilitate their own agenda.

Just saying.

If Otto is going to play any length of time in the forward line he has to tidy up his goal kicking. I loved the way he ran into space and really roamed the forward 50. Johnston or Smack to replace Tex is not really tough. Smack can ruck and kick goals, Johnston can kick goals, but can't ruck. With Sauce refusing to get off the ground and us getting smashed in the centre bounces its really a no brainer. JJ goes to permanent forward and Smack comes in as 2nd ruck and third tall.
Although we had a loss we showed enough after the first quarter to suggest even with our key forward and a small back out and the umps giving the Blues a free ride we can still win the ball and it is a no passenger effort that will get us a win against the Hawks

My changes...
Outs:
Tex (please be only for 6-10) Gives us a chance to be less predicable...in Smack

Pets (Done SFA consistently as a shut down forward, time for a run in the 2nds)...in Lyons. Free up Danger who is finding the tag hard to break to play outside mid and
rotating forward. Matty J to take Pets position for the rest of the season.

Dmac (Does 1 good thing a game in amongst not much...not a defender) in Blinga for his last chance saloon off the HB line.

Radar (Can't defend 1:1 consistently. Being isolated and just too many brain snaps for someone with as much experience. Not a lost cause, but others can play his role...in Grigg. Lefty who has seen the light under Bass and is a chance to play wing or HFF.

Sauce (Shell of the player, not jumping, not giving us first use in the middle, not taking enough marks around the ground.) in Graham. Bought as a backup to give Sauce a break-he needs a break. If he is fair dinkum about wanting to play senior footy Angas has to jump and compete. Couple of weeks off to give Graham a chance and for Sauce to find his confidence and his centre bounce leap.

Now I know 5 changes are unlikely, but Sando has nothing to lose from doing these changes and sends a message that performance is expected for the full 4 quarters every game.

reilly out for johncock yes in def where he belongs mckay out for martin i know he diddnt play the best last night but his closest thing we have to an outside player and is flexible to go fwd or back mckay needs a rest tex for smack help jacobs out jj to stay fwd lyons deserves a chance only way in is if brown dosent come up and smith plays back or force wright out (cant see it happening)

Hopefully the selectors ask each other one question, regarding who will replace Tex...

"who do we see staying in the side when Taylor Walker come back"?

If it's SMACK, pick him and tell him, he has the next 12 weeks as a key forward to make something of this time. If not, and they have some information that we don't and he really is home sick, tell him he will get traded and don't pick him again.

If it's not SMACK and they decide to go with Lewis Johnson, give him 12 to 14 weeks to settle into the role and then give him 5 more weeks once Tex comes back.

Injuries are not nice and in an ideal world, they wouldn't happen but if we can take one positive away from a horrible season, we could set our forward line up for the next 5 or 6 years. Who ever they select, they have to stick with that person and allow them to gain that experience.

with all due respect, these team age/experience comparisons are a load of crap ......has no bearing on outcomes

However the stats of age/games played for winning GF sides has stood the test of time

Because Kerridge is one of our two designated taggers - along with Wright. He's a direct replacement for VB. The whole idea of selecting Mackay in a tagging role is just plain ludicrous.

Now if you asked why Wright wasn't given the job, then you might have had a valid point.

Kerridge is also shit. Any further weeks invested here are wasted. The role is irrelevant. Changes are easily made.

Look I don't expect you to respond because you either have me on ignore or are sooking, either way I can't lose because I get to pick apart your drivel with no response, win win I reckon. Your point seems to be lost somewhere because you don't make any sense. We can't drop underperforming senior players because with younger players we will lose by more. And yet you highlight the Melbourne game where we were flogged, acknowledging our senior players were poor. Obviously playing struggling senior players doesn't stop you from getting flogged.
No it doesn't stop you from getting flogged .......but there are players who would not get dropped ...Sloane, Dangerfield, Thompson, walker ect

Trouble is, as the team stars ...if they're out of form ....then you're in a real dilemma, cause replacing with kids is not enough to bridge the gap of the stars normal output

All our star players are down in all areas of last years output .......Jacobs is a shadow of the player ...will Graham coming in get us back to where Jacobs was last year .....NO

So we can change peripheral players all we like .....

Kerridge is also shit. Any further weeks invested here are wasted. The role is irrelevant. Changes are easily made.
You see this is the problem with this board ......everyone flogs on about playing the kids ....have to play the kids .....and when we do the comment made here is nearly always made

So people who rant on about playing Lyons, Johnston, ......get a grip on reality as to what you expect these kids in 2 games to produce :rolleyes: ......if you're expecting the new Dangerfield then you need a grip on some reality

You see this is the problem with this board ......everyone flogs on about playing the kids ....have to play the kids .....and when we do the comment made here is nearly always made

So people who rant on about playing Lyons, Johnston, ......get a grip on reality as to what you expect these kids in 2 games to produce :rolleyes: ......if you're expecting the new Dangerfield then you need a grip on some reality

Oh dear.

I'm a huge supporter of developing our younger players. More so than you WW. This kid just isn't AFL standard. Lyons looks the goods, would love to see us invest the time in him instead.

No it doesn't stop you from getting flogged .......but there are players who would not get dropped ...Sloane, Dangerfield, Thompson, walker ect

Trouble is, as the team stars ...if they're out of form ....then you're in a real dilemma, cause replacing with kids is not enough to bridge the gap of the stars normal output

All our star players are down in all areas of last years output .......Jacobs is a shadow of the player ...will Graham coming in get us back to where Jacobs was last year .....NO

So we can change peripheral players all we like .....
Whilst the output of those players is down from last year, well except for Sloane who has been good, none are close to being dropped because their output still far exceeds players like DMack, Pets, Reilly, Hendo etc. When your stars are slightly down you can't afford to carry lesser lights who are also down. It's these players that make way for younger players who are screaming to be selected. There is no more risk of a blowout by playing kids than out of form b grade players.

reilly out for johncock yes in def where he belongs mckay out for martin i know he diddnt play the best last night but his closest thing we have to an outside player and is flexible to go fwd or back mckay needs a rest tex for smack help jacobs out jj to stay fwd lyons deserves a chance only way in is if brown dosent come up and smith plays back or force wright out (cant see it happening)
Yeah our midfield is getting utterly smashed by everybody. Even against the Bulldogs we lose contested possessions and clearances.

We have a clearance player who has broken down and is now defecating on the door. Nah can't fit him in, team too strong.

Oh dear.

I'm a huge supporter of developing our younger players. More so than you WW. This kid just isn't AFL standard. Lyons looks the goods, would love to see us invest the time in him instead.

Pity you know nothing about footy and write young kids off after 1.5 games :rolleyes: ......so Lyons is the goods is he? ...a prey tell how have you come to the conclusion ...SANFL form ?
Lyons has one bad game and you'll say he's shit as well

Just for the record ....the 1.5 game player was playing on one of this games great players of all time .....no disgrace in having colours lowered
Also not uncommon for new players to be given tagging roles to learn the great players running patterns .....plus it's easier to be a negating player when you're learning

But of course you knew all that

Preview Changes V Hawks