- Jul 18, 2016
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
Are people forgetting how poor McLean was against Carlton? I know there were a few but he was up there with the worst.
And the conditions will likely be the same tonight as the Blues game

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Are people forgetting how poor McLean was against Carlton? I know there were a few but he was up there with the worst.
Crikey that is a one rough looking forward line. Yikes.
God forbid Gowers ends up with an average game of 12 disposals, 1 goal and maybe an assist. Will mean arguments continue all weekI'm sure either side will pop up like sprinklers in the autopsy thread for the quick told you so likes
Is it fair to say all those happy with the Gowers selection are on notice ?
If he is hopeless again , you all need to do some penance.
My grass needs a mow and my garden needs a tidy up .
See you all tomorrow at 8.00 am
( if he kicks 4 ; KH has emigrated to Siberia )
You say this, but Docherty had just 15 touches (easily his season low), 3 clangers and just 49 supercoach points. Surely that was McLean's job?Are people forgetting how poor McLean was against Carlton? I know there were a few but he was up there with the worst.
not one that will keep the coasters defenders up all night worrying about fronk !
God forbid Gowers ends up with an average game of 12 disposals, 1 goal and maybe an assist. Will mean arguments continue all week
Was he even tagging Docherty? I think that was the assumption because he was invisible but I’m not sure he actually was.You say this, but Docherty had just 15 touches (easily his season low), 3 clangers and just 49 supercoach points. Surely that was McLean's job?
McLean had 13 touches himself
Fronk has a history of only liking players who are sublimely skilled...
Great footy teams have those role players in the team which allow them to reach the ultimate (premiership)
I genuinely think Wallis is playing that perfectly right now.
Give Gowers a bit of a break.. i think if he gets a bit of consistency he is a good chance to get there.
Don't forget he was playing good footy until he was injured. His game against Richmond last year, was the game where Luke Darcy went off too early over Gowers towering marks in the forward line (before Naughton exploded).
Plus Suckling has found his place in the high half forward role, he is definitely good for at least 1 goal a game.
Vandermeer, Richards - Outside Winger/Fwds, Weightman - Small/Fwd Gowers - Leading Fwd, Lachie Young - Defender(imo) don’t play the role that McLean has struggled with for the last 18mths so not sure why McLean would feel hard done by those selections.
Lipi has outperformed him over the last short period and even parts of last season imo and not sure why you’re putting Porter in there as we have no idea what bases his selection was on. Most likely he’s performed better at training and in the twos than what’s expected of McLean in all games so has got the nod.
You’ve lost me with the CD call so I’ll skip that.
“McLean is a solid and versatile player who played an important role in our 2016 premiership and in 2018 was one of our key midfielders”
Your absolutely right with this point but we haven’t seen any of that for 18mths. He’s been asked to play a different role, due to his versatility, to the one he played pre 2018 and he’s not come on as he should have. He’s not the player he has been and I’m surprised anyone would spruik his form in recent times.
“Unlike too many players currently in our side he also is capable of taking contested marks and kicking important goals even if he isn't 20m out directly in front”
This is a bit of a fantasy comment, Proffessor. Although he’s capable, when’s the last time McLean took a strong contested mark inside 50 or in a game at all? Last time he kicked important goals?
It’s obvious the coaches aren’t happy with his input/output and it doesn’t take much to know why, going on his last 18mths.
Go back and watch his North game and then watch the others he’s played in recently. Worlds apart. Obvious why he needs to pull his finger out.
After the over the top Gowers hate, I really hope he plays well tonight. If only for the team's sake.
Was he even tagging Docherty? I think that was the assumption because he was invisible but I’m not sure he actually was.
I'll make it simpler for you
Compared to any of the eight players I mentioned in my post I'd prefer to see Toby as the player targeted with a pass from a team mate.
He would be more likely to take the mark.
Once in possession I think he would be more likely than 7 of them to be truly effective with his disposals (not just a semi-meaningless transfer of possession) I'd give CD the edge in that department. If he is kicking for goal again I'd back him in front of 7 of them, Weightman's form line is only 1 game long but he seems to know where the goals are.
Most importantly If the chips are down and we need someone to stand up under pressure and show both composure and initiative then I'd back Toby over the the other players I listed.
He has played 83 games, at a consistently high level for over 6 seasons. Apparently that doesn't count for much with you or with our current match committee.
I would suggest that giving no credit for past performances is one of the key reasons that we have fallen away so quickly after 2016, and why despite having such a young team at the time we have lost so many players to other teams.
We still have a strong list, based on talent we should be one of the leading contenders for this year's premiership. The reasons why are on display every week at selection.
Once again I hope he proves me wrong, but Lachie Young has thus far played 7 largely ineffectual games, and he gets selected in front of McLean.
I'm insulted on Toby's behalf