Prediction Changes vs West Coast Eagles

• Thread starter Thread starter elpirate

Listening to Voss on AA after team selection my impression was Atley will only play if Hartlett doesn't come up.

giphy.gif

I'm glad we picked him up for this exact sort of situation only to not play him because reasons, then.

No we picked him up in case every other tall got injured - the opposite of this situation. He can work on his craft and his tank, add another preseason and perhaps force his way into the side next year.

Howard on the other hand could be useful this season but obviously he is still building from his recon and Ken wants to stick to his structure and Jacko is still ahead of Howard for now.

Found it.

We rank 9th for Shots Per I50

We rank 12th in Goals Per I50

Yep.

And how much worse are we at this when playing a good defending side? I'd imagine there is a huge gulf between our ratio in our wins and in our losses.

No we picked him up in case every other tall got injured - the opposite of this situation. He can work on his craft and his tank, add another preseason and perhaps force his way into the side next year.

Howard on the other hand could be useful this season but obviously he is still building from his recon and Ken wants to stick to his structure and Jacko is still ahead of Howard for now.

Oh right. So he's not fit to be played now (leading the SANFL goalkicking), but he's fit to play if there is an injury.

You had me concerned there.

Carn.

I think he sees no point in changing up the AFL's #2 attack and #1 defence just to appease the fans.

What do those stats look like against top 8 teams? Because if we make finals, those are the teams we'll be playing against in them. But I suppose when we get bundled out in an Elimination Final we can take real pride in those 80 point wins against Brisbane and Carlton.

It's heartwarming to see so much anger in a changes thread again. Last week and against Essendon I recall there was almost satisfaction with selection night. The melting greatly improves our chance of winning IMO.

From tonight I'm really hoping to see Atley; I'm amongst the many with high hopes that he will be another gem.

The melts will be bigger if Atley doesn't get in therefore improving our winning chances.

and Jacko is still ahead of Howard for now.

By what measure?

When you have an enormous gaping hole in your strategy and you have a player carving up in the exact position where you're struggling, you break the glass and bring him into the side. This pigheadedness with the forward structure is legitimately costing us a chance at a flag in 2017.

Given from your list it looks as though they played two tall forwards and we are playing two tall forwards, and everyone is complaining about that, perhaps he remembers too much.

Because Trengove isn't a forward.

Again, 1 mark inside50 in the past 2 months.

No-one is saying "dharrr, I wish we'd drop Trengove for Aaron Young".

This is soul destroying really.

The crowd at our last match said it all. Small, silent and admitting attendance was a chore. When the tigers hit the front, everyone said it was over.

We're so ****ing stale. Round and round we go, where we will stop - everybody knows.

yer, but who is going to tag Mackenzie if Trengove is not forward? :rolleyes::gun:

Oh right. So he's not fit to be played now (leading the SANFL goalkicking), but he's fit to play if there is an injury.

You had me concerned there.

Carn.

The SANFL is rubbish and leading the goal kicking in it isn't worth that much if that's all you bring. You know where it got the leader from last year? A rookie spot with Port Adelaide because no one else was interested.

Anyway goal kicking is not his issue, it's the other 117 minutes when he doesn't have the ball that are. Modern footy needs all players working their butts off both ways.

No we picked him up in case every other tall got injured
No, we picked him up because we are stupid.

And then we upgraded him and gave games to Aidyn Johnson, Jimmy Toumpas and Brendan Ah Chee instead to further confirm our stupidity.

Meanwhile at West Coast; no Nic Nat, no Kennedy, no worries.

The SANFL is rubbish and leading the goal kicking in it isn't worth that much if that's all you bring. You know where it got the leader from last year? A rookie spot with Port Adelaide because no one else was interested.

Anyway goal kicking is not his issue, it's the other 117 minutes when he doesn't have the ball that are. Modern footy needs all players working their butts off both ways.

Okay so tell me why we recruited him?

No matter what you say from here, the club has ****ed up.

MANY are saying they wish we would drop two smalls for two talls (Impey Neade or Gary for Howard and Eddy). Many want a different structure. FWIW I am with you, I would send trengove back dropping pittard, and bring in Howard - or just drop Trengove for Howard.

By what measure?

When you have an enormous gaping hole in your strategy and you have a player carving up in the exact position where you're struggling, you break the glass and bring him into the side. This pigheadedness with the forward structure is legitimately costing us a chance at a flag in 2017.

By Ken's measure. And I reckon only just.

Again I think it is due to Howard still recovering. He was played in the backlines in the SANFL as part of his recovery and has only been moved forward recently, doing very well against perhaps the worst side in SANFL history, and then not much else. If he backed up after the 8 goal haul he would probably be in by now.

MANY are saying they wish we would drop two smalls for two talls (Impey Neade or Gary for Howard and Eddy). Many want a different structure. FWIW I am with you, I would send trengove back dropping pittard, and bring in Howard - or just drop Trengove for Howard.

Ok, to poke more holes into your position here, you are suggesting Eddy isn't good enough, but Howard is - despite Eddy being by far the best perfoming forward in the SANFL side.

Surely you can see the double standards of your argument here.

I would love either of Howard or Eddy to be in the side fwiw.

By Ken's measure. And I reckon only just.

Again I think it is due to Howard still recovering. He was played in the backlines in the SANFL as part of his recovery and has only been moved forward recently, doing very well against perhaps the worst side in SANFL history, and then not much else. If he backed up after the 8 goal haul he would probably be in by now.

I have absolutely no faith that the bolded is true based on past history and the fact that Eddy is currently shitting the Ken Farmer in.

How good is melting!

And we get to do it again tommorow when atley isn't named

#prayforatley

No, we picked him up because we are stupid.

And then we upgraded him and gave games to Aidyn Johnson, Jimmy Toumpas and Brendan Ah Chee instead to further confirm our stupidity.

Meanwhile at West Coast; no Nic Nat, no Kennedy, no worries.

How is picking up a good goal kicker who needs a bit of work, for an emergency in case everyone else is injured, on a minimum contract, stupid. It is very smart, and something we should have done with a ruckman last year with Ryder having some doubt with the Essendon saga. We upgraded him because we had two spots (but didn't upgrade his pay or contract?), gave him a chance, he showed he had plenty to work on, and is now working on it.

Ok, to poke more holes into your position here, you are suggesting Eddy isn't good enough, but Howard is - despite Eddy being by far the best perfoming forward in the SANFL side.

Surely you can see the double standards of your argument here.

I would love either of Howard or Eddy to be in the side fwiw.

You are only talking about the one metric of goal kicking when there are several to consider.

Howard is bigger younger and more versatile and despite the knee injury probably fitter due to being a full time athlete for a few years, as opposed to Eddy less than a year. Howard's ability to chop out in ruck is his huge advantage over Eddy.

I have absolutely no faith that the bolded is true based on past history and the fact that Eddy is currently shitting the Ken Farmer in.

I understand your doubts but Eddy and Howard are two completely different propositions. Howard has a real future and can play multiple positions. Eddy is a backup plan in case of injury.

Howard has been named emergency a few times as is. He is close.