MFC Fans Only Non-Dees AFL discussion - 2016

I hope the kangas get up. Saints have overtaken north for me for most hated club (sitting just behind Hawthorn). I hate them. I hate them I hate them I hate them.
Agree, while a lot of ppl hang crap on Norf, especially in the 2nd half of the year. I Still would love to see them make finals, get most of their full team back in and vs the Bulldogs in an Elim final. Bigfooty would be real winners here.

I know this was last week...but I happened to be looking through 300 gamers listing and noted that of the 76 to achieve the feat, the only players to represent us are Neitz and Thompson.

Port have been around for 100 years less and have more players to get to 300 games than us.

What's the go with that...

It's interesting, I was looking at our all time games played list. Nate Jones is already inside the top 20 with 218!

Saints' draw is also super soft. Dons twice, Carlton twice, getting us at Etihad twice.

Agree, while a lot of ppl hang crap on Norf, especially in the 2nd half of the year. I Still would love to see them make finals, get most of their full team back in and vs the Bulldogs in an Elim final. Bigfooty would be real winners here.

It's interesting, I was looking at our all time games played list. Nate Jones is already inside the top 20 with 218!
He'll comfortably get to 300. Will be 29 in Jan on 223. 4 more years puts him at 32 and hitting 300 - and that's without a final.

Anyone here watch the Mark Jackson interview
I found myself agreeing with some of what he said especially about the difference between aussie rules footy and the corporate AFL

I don't see corporate AFL lasting in Australia for alot longer, he's right in saying all of the character is gone from the game
The thing I liked most was when he said the AFL body shouldn't be allowed to change the rules, it should be up to a collection of all the bodies around australia including the fans who are the major shareholder

I also liked that he said the modern players are boring as bat s**t because they are, personality is dead in AFL and the media is to blame for that
It's unfortunate that he was so worked up because alot of what he said has merit if said properly

Anyone here watch the Mark Jackson interview
I found myself agreeing with some of what he said especially about the difference between aussie rules footy and the corporate AFL

I don't see corporate AFL lasting in Australia for alot longer, he's right in saying all of the character is gone from the game
The thing I liked most was when he said the AFL body shouldn't be allowed to change the rules, it should be up to a collection of all the bodies around australia including the fans who are the major shareholder

I also liked that he said the modern players are boring as bat s**t because they are, personality is dead in AFL and the media is to blame for that
It's unfortunate that he was so worked up because alot of what he said has merit if said properly

Has a lot to do with the demands these guys face now as an AFL player. Only the dedicated survive.

A lot of the larrikins of the past would not of been the greatest examples of professionalism at their clubs. They just don't survive at this level now. That personality type has been weeded out of the game through natural selection.

Has a lot to do with the demands these guys face now as an AFL player. Only the dedicated survive.

A lot of the larrikins of the past would not of been the greatest examples of professionalism at their clubs. They just don't survive at this level now. That personality type has been weeded out of the game through natural selection.

Yeah but the question is is it for the better?
I didnt see the 80s but I bet their was alot more enjoyment watching Capper, Jackson, Lockett, Jackovich, Ablett etc than watching 22 blokes zone up and down the field all day until they create a turnover
The essence of aussie rules is dead, I think the modern product is inferior

Yeah but the question is is it for the better?
I didnt see the 80s but I bet their was alot more enjoyment watching Capper, Jackson, Lockett, Jackovich, Ablett etc than watching 22 blokes zone up and down the field all day until they create a turnover
The essence of aussie rules is dead, I think the modern product is inferior

I think it's all a matter of perspective/opinion. I watched plenty of replays of 80s football on the Fox Footy channel and didn't like it much. It looked a lot like a giant game of "Jack in the pack" to me.
I think there's still plenty of character around too. Guys like Bernie, Dane Swan currently and Jono Brown and Fev recently to name a small handful. Remember, Jacko got booted from four clubs in six years so "character" is not always appreciated regardless of the era.

I think it's all a matter of perspective/opinion. I watched plenty of replays of 80s football on the Fox Footy channel and didn't like it much. It looked a lot like a giant game of "Jack in the pack" to me.
I think there's still plenty of character around too. Guys like Bernie, Dane Swan currently and Jono Brown and Fev recently to name a small handful. Remember, Jacko got booted from four clubs in six years so "character" is not always appreciated regardless of the era.

Bernie, Dane Swan aaaand? Both are over 30 and from another era same with Brown and Fev
Who under the age of 24 has personality?
Ive said it before, I truly think footy hit its peak between 1995-2008ish
That was a beautiful era where professionalism and attacking footy were in Sync before positional play was killed off and fitness and defensive footy became the number 1 priority
Id love to see rotations completely killed off, anything to make players play more specialised positions instead of 18 midfielders an 2 forwards 2 backs

Jacko was booted because he was belting team mates left right and centre, but * did he entertain

Bernie, Dane Swan aaaand? Both are over 30 and from another era same with Brown and Fev
That was a beautiful era where professionalism and attacking footy were in Sync before positional play was killed off and fitness and defensive footy became the number 1 priority
Id love to see rotations completely killed off, anything to make players play more specialised positions instead of 18 midfielders an 2 forwards 2 backs

Jacko was booted because he was belting team mates left right and centre, but **** did he entertain
I reckon that not many kids show too much extroversion because they are still making their way. I really enjoy watching players that look like they are having fun, or that show they are invested. There's nothing better than seeing Bernie with a big grin after he's been in a wrestle or kicked a goal. My favourite all time sports person was McEnroe. He was fantastic to watch because he was so loose. Compare that to Lendll. What a ******* robot.
The big thing with the AFL is that they need to appreciate their most important stakeholder is the fan. Not the broadcast 'partner' or major sponsors. Without the fan the other stakeholders don't exist. I reckon they've lost sight of that. Particularly with respect to gambling. I don't give a s**t if people gamble or not, I just don't want gambling advertising stuffed down my or my kids throat. It should be an opt in thing, not a shower everyone with approach.

Jacko was booted because he was belting team mates left right and centre, but **** did he entertain
By the way, what's the new job? What happened to your pool boy gig?

Pool boy ? Come on mate I was a deck hand :p
Working hotel maintanence now for a company but little do they know I only took the job so I can get some extra money before I piss off somewhere else
I reckon that not many kids show too much extroversion because they are still making their way. I really enjoy watching players that look like they are having fun, or that show they are invested. There's nothing better than seeing Bernie with a big grin after he's been in a wrestle or kicked a goal. My favourite all time sports person was McEnroe. He was fantastic to watch because he was so loose. Compare that to Lendll. What a ******* robot.
The big thing with the AFL is that they need to appreciate their most important stakeholder is the fan. Not the broadcast 'partner' or major sponsors. Without the fan the other stakeholders don't exist. I reckon they've lost sight of that. Particularly with respect to gambling. I don't give a s**t if people gamble or not, I just don't want gambling advertising stuffed down my or my kids throat. It should be an opt in thing, not a shower everyone with approach.

I take Kyrgios as an example, he gets nothing but abuse from the Australian public
I don't particularly like Tennis but if I flick it over and he's playing I'll watch because it's entertainment
I don't want to watch a bunch of self conscious people run around and I don't want to listen to dial a quote interviews where every player reels off the EXACT same cliches week in week out
I like MMM because JB and Co can push and prod and eventually force some personality out but other than that footy media is boring as *
There's more media than ever yet less than ever
Same with footy, the AFL has been trying to contrive entertainment in the last few years with Led signing, rivalry round, music after goals, countdown clock etc because the actual product is less interesting than before

Anyway I bang on about this topic way too much I'd love my own podcast to argue this topic with someone

Probably Proper Gander .. doubt there would be much silence

Jacko is a moron, he's stuck in the era he played in.

The game is more commercial but that's allowed a heap of different things to happen, it's taken the sport away from the blokes and bogans and opened it up to everyone.

Max Gawn?

Agree though, most are pretty bland.

Is Proper Gander a chick for reals? I still don't believe it!

7029004-3x2-700x467.jpg

Mark Jackson is a ******* psychopath and the game is better without him.

Within the first ten minutes of the interview he admitted he deliberately injured a teammate at South Fremantle who was competing for the same position, and then wondered why Tony Jewell wouldn't let him trade anywhere near Michael Roach at Richmond.

He also knocked out Robbie Flower in a practice match.

The game is more commercial but that's allowed a heap of different things to happen, it's taken the sport away from the blokes and bogans and opened it up to everyone.

Great call.

A lot of the 80's football we seen were from highlights. Not every game broadcast in full. Today we see everything.
If all we saw were the best parts of every game it would look amazing.

You say that like all blokes an bogans are bad people though and the games better without them
Why couldn't they include more people without ruining the essence of the game?
Like for instance over here you could argue NHL is the most violent sport on earth , the men who play it are men and they are allowed to fight each other like men toe to toe and there is absolutely no diving or faking at all
You know how popular the sport is here amongst women? Hugely popular

The have sanitized the game for * knows what reason for too many years to fight this imaginary soccer threat

You say that like all blokes an bogans are bad people though and the games better without them
Why couldn't they include more people without ruining the essence of the game?
Like for instance over here you could argue NHL is the most violent sport on earth , the men who play it are men and they are allowed to fight each other like men toe to toe and there is absolutely no diving or faking at all
You know how popular the sport is here amongst women? Hugely popular

The have sanitized the game for **** knows what reason for too many years to fight this imaginary soccer threat
Blokes who are also bogans pretty much are bad people - at best tedious and at worst mindless thugs. But always bores. There is no possible construction of "bogan" that makes it complimentary or positive.

Jacks is as tedious a bore as this country has managed to unearth. Nobody over the age of 5 has ever found his behaviour appealing. I'm not in the least surprised the US was the only place that embraced his bullshit brand of psuedo Australiana crap. It was utterly embarrassing.

WTF has the popularity of NHL amongst Canadian women got to do with anything. That one suddenly emerged from nowhere. Are you suggesting women have destroyed AFL or something? Or that women don't like AFL and they would like Hockey better? There always seem to be lots in the crowds at AFL most weeks.

Most of this persecution complex that "my country has been ruined by women, gays and PC police" is just something you have built up in your head, you know. And if you're keeping it propped up with examples provided by Jacko then I'd say it's reached peak fragility.