Autopsy AFL 2022 Round 23 - Lions v Demons Fri August 19th 7:50pm EST (Gabba)

Who will win and by how much?

• Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 6 7.7%
  • Demons by a goal or less

Votes: 3 3.8%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 23 29.5%
  • Demons by 7 - 20

Votes: 25 32.1%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 5 6.4%
  • Demons by a lot

Votes: 7 9.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 9 11.5%

Now for the last quarter Dees; and to steal a line from a classic movie:

200.gif
what moivie

All I can say is that I’ve got a pretty thick skin but the week my old man died, I couldn’t stop ******* openly weeping in public.
I did that for a year!! Every day at least once. It was very frustrating. Everyone has different thresholds and triggers

FMD I am sick of him.

I understand at times wanting to play devil's advocate and not play into the doom & gloom that the media generally portray but Fagan does it every single week, trying to find the "lessons" and "learnings". Sometimes I just want my coach to come out and say we were crap.
Why does Fagan persist with playing Hipwood up forward when he has a 12.14 set shot record this year? His previous years were just as substandard playing as a forward.

Hipwood is a terrible shot for goal. He should be played on the wing as his field kicking is ok. Even if Brisbane made the GF, Hipwood would lose it for them off his own boot.

Fagan was not an assistant.

He was head of coaching and development between 2008 and mid-2013, then general manager of football to 2016. He never reported to Clarkson. In his early head coach years Clarkson reported to him.
But in saying I totally agree with your sentiment. The most undertakes people in footy are the likes of Fagan at Hawthorn, Balme at Collingwood, Geelong and Richmond, Graham Wright, Noble and now even Richardson In his role at Melbourne Since 2019.
Thanks for the technically accurate reference in relation to Fagan's previous job title/s at Hawthorn and while I concede my reference was somewhat misleading, to clarify I was referring more to partnerships between coach and other senior staff, including assistants.

Whereas Clarkson and Fagan's working relationship was a huge success and even Clarko admits it was difficult to replicate with others after Fagan left - and as most other keen observers postulate Clarkson was never really the same coach thereafter...

you have no idea what was said yet..

might be best to wait and see what was actually said before you go calling everyone that you disagree with snowflakes. You’re actually coming across as pretty childish rather than a neanderthal if anything..
I have my opinion about people being snowflakes for disagreeing with me just like people may have an opinion of me being childish. It is what it is huh

Anyway, well done to the Dees tonight. I’ll see myself out as Blippi has just come on the TV and I need to go sing along with him.

Why does Fagan persist with playing Hipwood up forward when he has a 12.14 set shot record this year? His previous years were just as substandard playing as a forward.

Hipwood is a terrible shot for goal. He should be played on the wing as his field kicking is ok. Even if Brisbane made the GF, Hipwood would lose it for them off his own boot.
The only thing I'll say for Hipwood is he did come back half way through the season from an ACL.

But you're 100% spot on that he is an awful set shot and should be played more as a lead up forward that spreads out to the wings. Problem then though is our stay at home forward is also awful at set shots, Daniher.

I will say though that I think McStay McGoing will be a blessing in disguise next year. We can stop with this 3 tall forwards nonsense, get a pressure forward in and help keep the ball locked in our f50 more.

Fagan was not an assistant.

He was head of coaching and development between 2008 and mid-2013, then general manager of football to 2016. He never reported to Clarkson. In his early head coach years Clarkson reported to him.
But in saying I totally agree with your sentiment. The most undertakes people in footy are the likes of Fagan at Hawthorn, Balme at Collingwood, Geelong and Richmond, Graham Wright, Noble and now even Richardson In his role at Melbourne Since 2019.
Nor was Noble - he was never an assistant coach at either Crows or Lions

Yeah nah, cats have been the best team this year by some margin................. tonight's dees form may change that admittedly.
I am pretty sure that the Demons are back in form & a real threat to all the remaining teams in the top 8. Moreover, if they get McDonald back by the finals, they will be even harder to beat. OK. As for Brisbane, I cannot see them coming back from this particularly if they have to play interstate & especially at the MCG where their form is terrible. Goodnight & good luck.

I will say though that I think McStay McGoing will be a blessing in disguise next year. We can stop with this 3 tall forwards nonsense, get a pressure forward in and help keep the ball locked in our f50 more.
Feels as though you’ve been using McStay more as a utility/ruck support in recent weeks more than as an i50 forward.

I am pretty sure that the Demons are back in form & a real threat to all the remaining teams in the top 8. Moreover, if they get McDonald back by the finals, they will be even harder to beat. OK. As for Brisbane, I cannot see them coming back from this particularly if they have to play interstate & especially at the MCG where their form is terrible. Goodnight & good luck.
Not sure McDonald gets back in.

The outrage brigade are up and about.
Yes they are.
Petty to get so upset, yet specialises in chopping arms and smashing blokes when they’re trying to mark the ball every week is a bit rich.
Would any of the 10+ people who took offence with the above care to explain how they don’t comprehend the notion of if you dish it out, you better be prepared to cop it yourself? Yes Zorko was likely landing a low blow, but unfairly gaining an advantage in a game situation is arguably more significant. The medium doesn’t matter.

bloke I work with used to play indoor cricket a long time ago.. Zorko was on one of the opposing teams that they used to come up against fairly often over the few years he played..

He has told me on several occasions in the past that Zorko is just an absolute flog of a bloke.. even playing a friendly game of indoor cricket against him was just absolutely punishing.. completely ruined any enjoyment of what was meant to just be a fun game of recreational indoor cricket.
I never said he wasn’t….. bloke. I‘ve never met him let alone know him. Just To be chosen as a leader he must be doing something right in the eyes of just the club that we don’t see.
And your answer shows that you agree with me. You just made a comment on someone you’ve never met.
I trust that you are a decent bloke but let’s say in your days of playing amateur footy if there was one bloke who didn’t like you and told everyone else he knew that you were a flog, does that make you a flog? I’d say no.

should be played in the back half. Esp if Adams is out. There is no real grunt back there at all except for Starcevich and he isn't taking a tall.
I’d actually love to see his heat map from before it came out he was leaving vs before. Seems as though he’s being used more as a Band-Aid around the park. You’re right though, he’d actually help them out in D50 right now.

It's standard victim blaming to shift the narrative - in this case, that Harrison Petty's reaction should be discussed. Why does it matter?
So because someone cries they are automatically a “victim”. I am not saying he isn’t in this case I just wonder why we all comment so much when we don’t know what was said and in what context. We don’t know.

There Are so many virtuous people these days. (Not saying you are) who are willing to be horrible to someone because, they were horrible to some one. A bit like those who will not tolerate intolerance.

So because someone cries they are automatically a “victim”. I am not saying he isn’t in this case I just wonder why we all comment so much when we don’t know what was said and in what context. We don’t know.

There Are so many virtuous people these days. (Not saying you are) who are willing to be horrible to someone because, they were horrible to some one. A bit like those who will not tolerate intolerance.

In the end, someone cried and was evidently upset by something, and it wasn't Dayne Zorko.

Yes, we shouldn't cast aspersions until more facts come out - but some are already making accusations towards Harrison Petty's 'manhood' in this thread. Personally I haven't said anything negative yet about Zorko as like the rest of us we don't know exactly what happened. Trying to attribute some level of fault towards Petty though is pretty f***ed up.

In the end, someone cried and was evidently upset by something, and it wasn't Dayne Zorko.

Yes, we shouldn't cast aspersions until more facts come out - but some are already making accusations towards Harrison Petty's 'manhood' in this thread. Personally I haven't said anything negative yet about Zorko as like the rest of us we don't know exactly what happened. Trying to attribute some level of fault towards Petty though is pretty f***ed up.
Quote where one person in this thread has actually attributed some level of fault towards Petty. Stop talking s**t.

You did. You prefaced this b/s with "respect to Petty", which is just a crock.

what could someone else possibly say to a professional athlete out on a sporting field that would make that person cry?

That is clearly implying Petty is wrong to react in such a manner