B Section 2010 - Part 2

Now Brian,
Very interesting that you use the words "fellow Catholics". Amuses me when i hear that SKOBS took offence to an opposition supporter referring to them as Catholics. Apparently reported it to the umps on the day but i didn't hear the outcome.
Sounds like a crock of shit VAFFA, first I have heard of it, why would we care, unless there was something derogatory in front of it.

How did Haileybury pull up after Saturday?

I took my kids to this game and OH had their chances but missed vital goals albeit hard shots. The thing i was most impressed about was OI just hung in and OH are so reliant on Voss, Brown (2 i think) and their attacking half back. After the game i could not hear ranting from the OH rooms but they were in there a long time and very few players seemed to come to the after game.

OI are no where near as good as Carey (as the last 7 rounds would show), but when they give it 100% they have good claims. I also hear they are getting back their FF, FB and another for their crunch game against the Crushers.

Not sure if OH were missing any, but they seem a long way off OC and SKOBS if Voss doesnt have 40+ game. The biggest thing 3rd and 4th will have going for them this year is that the winner of 3 and 4 will have a week off to recharge before they face the loser of 1 and 2, and that game is not at HQ as far as i know.

Good luck to all. Still the most interesting comp in VAFA

Interesting week ahead for all of us at OEG, despite what some people on here have said we are not relegated yet. I firmly believe we can survive if we win our last 4 as I think Hampton are cooked like a fat pig and won't win again. We just need to have a couple of larger wins and we may fall over the line.
It starts this week against Uni Blacks who had a couple of their well known lads play in the ressies last week, hope to put them away early doors if we play anywhere near our potential. I'm predicting we will win by 10 inches, sorry goals!
Good luck this week and hopefully we are still in the hunt come Saturday arvo.

Interesting week ahead for all of us at OEG, despite what some people on here have said we are not relegated yet. I firmly believe we can survive if we win our last 4 as I think Hampton are cooked like a fat pig and won't win again. We just need to have a couple of larger wins and we may fall over the line.
It starts this week against Uni Blacks who had a couple of their well known lads play in the ressies last week, hope to put them away early doors if we play anywhere near our potential. I'm predicting we will win by 10 inches, sorry goals!
Good luck this week and hopefully we are still in the hunt come Saturday arvo.

Splittting my side laughing Ron
icon11.gif
. Rovers are a 120% better team. OEG play 1/4 or maybe a 1/2 but thats it. Blacks will win and win going away in the last qtr as every team does against your mob
icon4.gif
, Go Hawks

Splittting my side laughing Ron
icon11.gif
. Rovers are a 120% better team. OEG play 1/4 or maybe a 1/2 but thats it. Blacks will win and win going away in the last qtr as every team does against your mob
icon4.gif
, Go Hawks

Amo, he's taking the piss!

I think the Rovers faithful may be a little bit touchy after their finals aspirations fell by the wayside over the weekend Amo Fan.

Still a good effort to remain in B section though.

Percentage will be vital to the teams between 3rd-6th position, not much in it.

Not touchy super, unfortunately we have lost games where we should have won, up by 23 points at 3 qtr time against OI, up by 5 goals at 1/2 time with a howling win behind us in the third against SB and all square at 3qtr time against UB. We have a young up and coming team and i honestly feel we will do big things next year. If we can win 2 out of the last 4 and end with 8 wins it will be seen as a step in the right direction. The target was finals this year and we will fall a bit short, however we have been super close in 90% of the games this year. Matty has implemented a new style of footym for us and i think we are much better for it.

Not sure the opinion of seasoned A & B grade guys on here, but i think most teams would take a couple of seasons to find their feet with the new brand of footy from C up to this level. We have had our two years and next year when the whips are cracking we will expect to be around abouts.

LF, OI was a mid stable D Grade team in the early 90's. It then made a double jump from D to B Grade. In our 1st year in B Grade we survived in the last game of the year. We made finals in our 3rd year, which we were contraversally beaten in the GF. For the next 11 years we have been thereabouts in both B and A Grade.

Playing in these levels is more a mindset than ability. OX are in A Grade because they believe they are an A Grade club and both their on field and off field activities are all based around success in the highest grade.

If HR to be a consistent performer in the top Grades it needed to change its mentality. It appears that M. Robbins has started to bring the necessary changes. Players will come and go, but a mindset is a learned over years.

Words or wisdom.

Max

LF, OI was a mid stable D Grade team in the early 90's. It then made a double jump from D to B Grade. In our 1st year in B Grade we survived in the last game of the year. We made finals in our 3rd year, which we were contraversally beaten in the GF. For the next 11 years we have been thereabouts in both B and A Grade.

Playing in these levels is more a mindset than ability. OX are in A Grade because they believe they are an A Grade club and both their on field and off field activities are all based around success in the highest grade.

If HR to be a consistent performer in the top Grades it needed to change its mentality. It appears that M. Robbins has started to bring the necessary changes. Players will come and go, but a mindset is a learned over years.

Words or wisdom.

Max

Yeah agree on all front's, lets hope our boys can emulate what OI have done, we have double jumped from D grade, survived our first year in the last round of the year and hopefully in our 3rd year in B grade make the finals! I think the boys now believe they belong, last year i think it was more about the achievement of making it to B grade.

You guys at Hampton could be a power with your massive junior base, it's just a matter of hanging in until a lot of these kids come through the system and by being in a higher grade they will hang around instead of going off for a few dollars in the local leagues. I think you have done a great job but I disagree with anything to do with OX, they are a massive school with kids coming out of their eyeballs every year who want to play with their mates, and most dont need the $$$ to survive.
Well done Rovers!

You guys at Hampton could be a power with your massive junior base, it's just a matter of hanging in until a lot of these kids come through the system and by being in a higher grade they will hang around instead of going off for a few dollars in the local leagues. I think you have done a great job but I disagree with anything to do with OX, they are a massive school with kids coming out of their eyeballs every year who want to play with their mates, and most dont need the $$$ to survive.
Well done Rovers!

Thanks Brian, we also hope we can hang onto our juniors as they come through, our main challenge isn't so much the paid local leagues, more the fact that a good majority of our juniors go to Brighton Grammar, Haileybury & Xavier, therefore they play APS footy in years 11,12 and then move straight across to their respective schools old boy teams & forget about the club who has developed them for the previous 7 years. As you have mentioned this could be related to the fact we haven't been in the top two grades & hopefully in the coming seasons we see the fruits of our recent success of playing in the top divisions and keep them. We had something like 6 out of the top 10 in Old Brighton's B & F going back 3 years ago who all played Rovers juniors. We are currently doing all we can to find a solution.

Best of luck to all teams playing finals - for mine i think it will be a Carey V Skobs final. But i don't think i am going out on a limb in saying this.

Thanks Brian, we also hope we can hang onto our juniors as they come through, our main challenge isn't so much the paid local leagues, more the fact that a good majority of our juniors go to Brighton Grammar, Haileybury & Xavier, therefore they play APS footy in years 11,12 and then move straight across to their respective schools old boy teams & forget about the club who has developed them for the previous 7 years. As you have mentioned this could be related to the fact we haven't been in the top two grades & hopefully in the coming seasons we see the fruits of our recent success of playing in the top divisions and keep them. We had something like 6 out of the top 10 in Old Brighton's B & F going back 3 years ago who all played Rovers juniors. We are currently doing all we can to find a solution.

Best of luck to all teams playing finals - for mine i think it will be a Carey V Skobs final. But i don't think i am going out on a limb in saying this.

Things I am looking forward to:
Can Coughlan shake off the tag of Josephs and go to a level we haven't seen in PB?
Can Reid take some great pack marks and kick a bag or will SKOBs work out why he's able to do so with ease?
Who will shadow a marauding Parton after the ruck contest? Byatt?
The run from the backline provided by Howat and Baldwin, esp the latter's left hand handballs to a spot on target.
Will Laidler display his trademark party trick, the solo grab out of the ruck contest and the scrambling kick forward?
Will plugger and Dowd weave their magic or will Willingham be just too tall?
Who will miss the party for OC as they have only 22 names to choose. Will it be one of the returning senior players, or someone like Jones or de Leijer who have played all 14 games 2010?

Can't wait

Things I am looking forward to:
Can Coughlan shake off the tag of Josephs and go to a level we haven't seen in PB?
Can Reid take some great pack marks and kick a bag or will SKOBs work out why he's able to do so with ease?
Who will shadow a marauding Parton after the ruck contest? Byatt?
The run from the backline provided by Howat and Baldwin, esp the latter's left hand handballs to a spot on target.
Will Laidler display his trademark party trick, the solo grab out of the ruck contest and the scrambling kick forward?
Will plugger and Dowd weave their magic or will Willingham be just too tall?
Who will miss the party for OC as they have only 22 names to choose. Will it be one of the returning senior players, or someone like Jones or de Leijer who have played all 14 games 2010?

Laidlaw.
Throw who will play on Dowd. Not sure he will be up against Willinghams height.
Will be a great game.

Yeah agree on all front's, lets hope our boys can emulate what OI have done, we have double jumped from D grade, survived our first year in the last round of the year and hopefully in our 3rd year in B grade make the finals! I think the boys now believe they belong, last year i think it was more about the achievement of making it to B grade.
And is it true that M. Robbins will be playing next year ?

B & F This year? I think Costello and Lacey have been good for Uni. Voss will poll well. Dowd and Couglan will poll well. Howat, Baldwin and Rowe likewise. Anyone ive left out?

I would be very surprised if it is anyone but Old Carey winning the premiership this year. I reckon OC could match it with any of the top sides in Premier/A Section next year.

Hampton Rovers v Old Carey
Old Ivanhoe v Oakleigh
Old Essendon v Uni Blacks
St Bernards v Old Haileybury
St Kevins v MHSOB