mark73

Too much composure and work ethic in that last quarter.
I must say I expected it before tha game. But overall I was quite happy with the performances of our younger players, and therefore that takes a bit of the edge off the result. Everytime I listened we were about 2 goals in front and then I would turn back on 2 minutes later to hear we were a point behind. But after the year we've had it wasn't a bad result.

Anyway congratulations on a hard fought victory.

cheers

pretty good effort from the kangas

less than a kick in it for most of the match, much greater contest than i anticapated to be honest

As a matter of fact, I have criticised (one of) our mods for over-modding in the past. Every time one of our mods hands out a card, they run the risk of increasing the chances of one of the rest of us copping a card on other boards. I didn't think DeadlyAkkurate's post was worth a red card either -- although suggesting that our board is as 'disgraceful' as the Carlton board certainly is asking for a yellow, IMO.

One thing I might point out, though, is that Sydney supporters -- whether you like this or not -- are largely considered to be the worst trolls on bigfooty regarding North Melbourne. This perception (whether well-founded or otherwise) certainly wouldn't have helped DA's case. Food for thought.

Not sure what a 'DH mod' is, BTW.

Cheers and congrats on the win. :thumbsu:

No we are not(biggest trolls), not even close, start a thread on the main board and ask for yourself, I dare you!

I find you quite funny, and I subscribe to your newsletter,

Cheers, bro. :thumbsu:

however there are a shedload of tantrum throwing gimps on your board.

Yes indeed. I think this is partly because we have so many posters on bigfooty relative to other clubs (and so, even if in proportion, we end up with a greater overall number of 'gimps'), and partly because, after all we've been through over the past few years, many supporters take every jibe at the club to heart more than they might otherwise.

Sydney supporters can be good value too, no doubt. But some of your mates have made clowns of themselves on the main board and this has, whether fairly or not, tainted many a poster's perception of Sydney supporters in general, IMHO.

The irony is that, as far as I can recall, DeadlyAkkurate is not one of the main posters that springs to mind when I think of the trolls on the main board. I really do feel sorry for him copping a week (or longer?) on the sidelines over his post. I myself have been carded for stuff that I felt trivial (bordering on ridiculous), so I can certainly empathise with him. But that is bigfooty for you.

One thing I might point out, though, is that Sydney supporters -- whether you like this or not -- are largely considered to be the worst trolls on bigfooty regarding North Melbourne. This perception (whether well-founded or otherwise) certainly wouldn't have helped DA's case. Food for thought.

Not sure what a 'DH mod' is, BTW.

Cheers and congrats on the win. :thumbsu:

That's funny because Sweet Left Foot and some guy with DT and numbers in his name riled a few of us up who had never had a problem with north before. I think it was Beauaussie who got you guys fired up and he's moving to WS anyway

And the comments of DH mod last year still ring raw with those of us who remember them last year and he's proving by carding this

Don't bother, there's no rational thought coming from Roos supporters. You admit that both sides got bad decisions, as I did in another thread, and you get called a w***er.

This board is almost a bigger disaster than the Carlton board.

That he just has it in for swans fans who have an opinion, just because you don't like it dose not mean it's a troll and to card that while blatantly accepting alias in contradiction of bigfooty rules makes him a fraud in his position.

but thanks for the congrats and you have some good young guys who when mature your going to be back in the eight sooner rathr than later with a coach who can work with young players more effectivly.

Good on ya FairDinkum:thumbsu:

I reckon each club should have a "R XX opposition comments on game thread" that is a little bit more relaxed.. Richmond board often do so!...and they cop it on the chin (closed by mod if it gets out of hand)

I went over to North board and realised the mood.. so..tippy toed out of there:D

btw whats this newsletter?

you know after seeing how CRAP the other mods are i have come to the conclusion

we have the BEST MODS ON BIGFOOTY.

That's funny because Sweet Left Foot and some guy with DT and numbers in his name riled a few of us up who had never had a problem with north before.

IMHO certain Sydney posters (not naming any names, but arguably the worst of them is known to be a happy physician) have been trolling north since '07, if not earlier.

SLF is a shit-stirrer, no doubt. But he stirs up the supporters of most clubs. Hawthorn cop it from him a lot worse than you guys do. Not sure some of the anti-North trolls can honestly be said to have focused their stirring on anybody but North.

I think it was Beauaussie who got you guys fired up and he's moving to WS anyway

As in, he is switching allegiance to West Sydney? Interesting.

And the comments of DH mod last year still ring raw with those of us who remember them last year and he's proving by carding this

Who or what does 'DH' stand for?

That he just has it in for swans fans who have an opinion, just because you don't like it dose not mean it's a troll and to card that while blatantly accepting alias in contradiction of bigfooty rules makes him a fraud in his position.

I have already stated that I don't agree with that red card.

but thanks for the congrats and you have some good young guys who when mature your going to be back in the eight sooner rathr than later with a coach who can work with young players more effectivly.

Cheers, bro. Brett Kirk is a superstar and if he played for any of the 'big four' in Melbourne he would be hailed as an elite player of the game.

:thumbsu:

half half bez.. ;)
i mean it tho.

I reckon each club should have a "R XX opposition comments on game thread" that is a little bit more relaxed.. Richmond board often do so!...and they cop it on the chin (closed by mod if it gets out of hand)

TBH I almost never wander around other club's boards, so I hadn't heard of Richmond doing this. Interesting concept.

I went over to North board and realised the mood.. so..tippy toed out of there:D

Probably a wise move. :thumbsu:

btw whats this newsletter?

It is a bi-monthly periodical which I publish from my own bedroom in my mother's house. It is called 'Should have gone to the Gold Coast'.

;)

and the Carlton Board Mods admit they are hard on opposition fans for a very good reason and as a result I don't blame them for doing so. If your hiding the fact your very hard on opposition fans for no good reason then maybe there is something to the claims being made here. But we all know what to expect if we post on the North Board, so we can't question an infraction over there when we know what they are like.

But knowing what the North fans on the Main Board have had to put up with and I don't blame their Mods from acting strongly against trolls when they do pop up. But what DA posted tonight wasn't the actions of a troll, that is what upsets the posters on the Swans Board. Yes the Sydney posters on the Main Board do have a bad rep because of the likes of Beaussie and his troll of anything to do with North and contant ramping of facts regarding AFL in Sydney and therefore how that relates to Western Sydney.

I have known him for 7 years and know not to raise the subject in person, so I don't even go near it on here. SLF is sticking up for North and in turn has decided that he'll battle Beaussie and that has turned into a Sydney vs North war on the Main Board and that turned into the "Gold Coast" event from the North Board a few months back and in turn we have seen some of the Swans Board regulars sucked into the war and carded.

Yes there is a Sydney vs North rivally on Big Footy but as some North Board posters showed this week they could understand where it came from until told about the Main Board War and we on the Swans Board haven't really had a problem except for the infractions of a few of our own for what we deemed minor reasons.

As a Mod I have backed all the calls made until the DA infraction tonight because I think that is just a tad too weak to be an infraction. But as I have said before, its not my Board and therefore not my call and I'm not going make a big issue out of it other than this post and I'm certainly not going to critizise another Mod and how he Mods.

and the Carlton Board Mods admit they are hard on opposition fans for a very good reason and as a result I don't blame them for doing so. If your hiding the fact your very hard on opposition fans for no good reason then maybe there is something to the claims being made here. But we all know what to expect if we post on the North Board, so we can't question an infraction over there when we know what they are like.

But knowing what the North fans on the Main Board have had to put up with and I don't blame their Mods from acting strongly against trolls when they do pop up. But what DA posted tonight wasn't the actions of a troll, that is what upsets the posters on the Swans Board. Yes the Sydney posters on the Main Board do have a bad rep because of the likes of Beaussie and his troll of anything to do with North and contant ramping of facts regarding AFL in Sydney and therefore how that relates to Western Sydney.

I have known him for 7 years and know not to raise the subject in person, so I don't even go near it on here. SLF is sticking up for North and in turn has decided that he'll battle Beaussie and that has turned into a Sydney vs North war on the Main Board and that turned into the "Gold Coast" event from the North Board a few months back and in turn we have seen some of the Swans Board regulars sucked into the war and carded.

Yes there is a Sydney vs North rivally on Big Footy but as some North Board posters showed this week they could understand where it came from until told about the Main Board War and we on the Swans Board haven't really had a problem except for the infractions of a few of our own for what we deemed minor reasons.

As a Mod I have backed all the calls made until the DA infraction tonight because I think that is just a tad too weak to be an infraction. But as I have said before, its not my Board and therefore not my call and I'm not going make a big issue out of it other than this post and I'm certainly not going to critizise another Mod and how he Mods.

Good post.

:thumbsu:

If I was a mod Id red card them straight back as a show of strength!

That's why you're not a mod, champ.

Don't really understand the rivarly. Both are clubs that play hard, accountable football, have been through some rough times, and refuse to tank. Would've thought we could have a bit more respect for each other, and reserve the vitriol for the sort of soft as butter football clubs that have five-year plans, and plan to bounce their way to the top.

Well played guys, deserved the win. O'Keefe has seriously turned it on.

That's funny because Sweet Left Foot and some guy with DT and numbers in his name riled a few of us up who had never had a problem with north before. I think it was Beauaussie who got you guys fired up and he's moving to WS anyway

Good win by you guys. Jeez that Brett Kirk is a gun isn't he? Can't help but admire the bloke and the way he goes about his footy. Just all class.

For the record I never had a problem with Sydney until our 2007 near death expereince when it SOME Sydney fans - Doctor Jolly being the ring leader - where positively slavering over the prospect of the death of the North Melbourne Football Club.

That said, the vast majority of you guys are good value and some SWans posters like tonk and Costanza I get along really well with.

Anyway, congrats on the win and I look forward to our respective crops of quality youngsters having some quality battles over the coming years.

(Didn't reckon DA deserved his card either. And I know about cards ...)

Well put. There was a point when I was trolling you guys when I think it was BIGBEZ pointed out that many South fans had to put up with the crapness of relocation all those years ago and I thought 'Ah jeez, here I am dishing out what I hate so much when others do it to me.'

For the record, I have a desperately unhealthy emotional investment in the NMFC. But then, my Grandad was a life member, my whole family are members. I grew up in North Melbourne. When I was misguided youth, my pals and I would go down to Arden St at 4AM smashed and have a kick of the footy.

If North died, or had gone to the Gold Coast (which would have been death, if not worse, like your girlfriend leaving you for your best mate) I would have lost a huge part of my life, something I really enjoy and value. Life would have gone on, but it wouldn't have been the same.

So when people casually call for that to occur, especially when they do so using inaccurate and misleading 'proof' as to why it should happen, yeah I get riled.

But anyway, I like the Swans. Yes, you guys have had plenty of help from the AFL but that's the AFL doing it for its own reasons. Sydney don't tank like Carlton or even WCE. You guys play good, tough footy. You've had guys I've really liked such as Tiger Kenelly.

(And the biggest sook board is Hawthorn's. They, and their mods, are mewling girlchildren who cry and howl if you dare question anything. That's why its so much fun lurking there at the moment and watching them self-destruct internally. Awesome fun.)