Traded Esava Ratugolea [Traded to Port Adelaide for #25, #76 and #94]

so soft as a player
Confused Eminem GIF

Its going to go down as one of trade weeks most pathetic efforts all in the name of “looking tough”

Absolutely embarrassing.

Reckon there’s a few red faced cats supporters in here atm

Yep, some serious hard arse trading there from Mackie 🤣🤣
Belly might even have to hand over the coveted “feather in the cap” award after this …

IMG_0950.jpeg

Who would have thought Adrian’s successor would materialise so quickly 🤣🤣

It'll move forward to the guys literally every team has passed on.

Yes, he's essentially bought the first two picks in the rookie draft. Although they will have to be main list players if they even use the picks, with all the benefits for the players that comes along with that, without the benefit for Geelong to spend more time assessing them before the rookie draft when all the dust settles.

Whole thing is weird as and was a massive waste of everyone's time. Mackie comes out of it looking like a deadset d***head.

Its going to go down as one of trade weeks most pathetic efforts all in the name of “looking tough”

Absolutely embarrassing.

Reckon there’s a few red faced cats supporters in here atm

Nah I think it was pointless, but in reality, Cripps snookered him.

Mackie held out seeing if he could get more. Once Soldo got traded in, it stopped Port being able to trade other futures, so effectively there was nothing else we could ask for. We took Pick 25, and Cripps won the negotiation.

At the end of the day though, we still got Pick 25 for him, and we still were able to accept we weren't going to get anymore well before the deadline at 7.

Dodo on the other hand is still sitting there thinking he's getting a contracted Duursma for an uncontracted BZT in a straight swap. This is after BZT saying he'd walk to the draft. Sav never ever commented, nor did his manager.

We look silly and we walk away with our tails between our legs because we were outplayed this time, but we're not still denying we lost and trying to walk a player to the draft.

Mack has shown he's happy to lose. Dodo always has to win.

Well this trade sucks. Sav will be huge for Port next year. At least we had the decency to give up something of value in the trades we made last year
No you didnt
You gave up nothing for Henry …and bled us in that deal
He was worth far more than 25.

As for Mackie….it’s almost like he wants be known as a tosser the way he has played this out

Is Mackie the new Dodoro? But actually successful.
He won a Premiership as List Manager so I’d say so? not to mention picked up Henry, Bruhn, Bowes and Clark in one offseason.

Going on to be footy manager so will be interesting to see who replaces him.

No you didnt

As for Mackie….it’s almost like he wants be known as a tosser the way he has played this out
We gave up Stephens who was a 1st round pick and multiple picks.

How is that not fair?

No you didnt

Did you or did you not get a Brownlow medallist midfielder and a pick that would have gotten you Ollie Hollands?

Did we or did we not trade out 2x 2nds, 2x 3rds, and a 20 yo mid we had picked in the first round to get you that?

Port fans melting that they were trading #25 for a ‘fringe player / spud’ now thinking they’ve won the trade because of some inconsequential junk picks 😂
Only a fringe player at Geelong because of how good Tom Stewart is. You don't need to do much playing next to him. I think he is walk in to pretty much all clubs except Melb, Brisbane, GWS, Collingwood and Saints.

Mackie, what an absolute clown.

This is more embarassing then walking him into the draft. I knew this bloke had an ego from his playing days where he was a well known flog, but this is just ridiculous. Why put the player through it and waste everyone's time?

I've dealt with Mackie professionally. His ego and flogginess is in the stratosphere now. This trade is soooo typical Mackie.

What's the bet neither of them are taking u18s there anyway.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I'm no expert, but the immediate thought at the outcome of this trade, coupled with Geelong's retirements and delistings (with not much else in terms of quantity coming back to take those senior list spots), is that Geelong will use at least two of those late picks for rookie upgrades (Dempsey and Mullin). So, yeah, it does look a little silly, but let's just wait and see what the Cats do on draft night before we cast judgement.

Oh and opposition supporters who are furious at the anticlimax after "waiting a week for this"... maybe consider a hobby to get you through the warmer months?