Political Discussion part #2 - Let’s go out for 10 Big Macs at the Engadine Maccas!!

I reckon supporting one nation is incredibly normalised these days. It's no longer an extreme notion (to the converted or fence sitters).

I also believe their core has grown quite a bit.

When have you ever known someone with extreme views from any side view negative information rationally? If anything the negative press will strengthen their support. They've already turned it around to being an attack on Australia's democracy by an Islamic nation. Or an attack by leftist mainstream media (this one really makes the mind boggle).

The only way this hurts them is when it comes to preference voting imo.

Apparently Australians can be swayed by facts...

https://www.newscientist.com/articl...iticians-tell-lies-but-people-in-the-us-dont/

https://thenewdaily.com.au/news/nat...-lie-to-them-but-voters-in-the-us-dont-study/

AEMO confirms that the high power prices experienced by SA & Vic during this summer's heatwave was almost entirely due to the failure of coal fired generators in Victoria. That said, they did comment that "Wind generation fell short of forecasts on both days, adding to the problem", so it wasn't 100% due to a failure of coal, only 95%.
https://outline.com/d5963b

Rotten to you and I don't think I'm going too far out on the limb to suggest that you sit and pretty well the opposite end of the spectrum. One Nation voters would largely probably not care.
I detest the One Neuron Party, but that doesn't put me at the far end of the spectrum. I have no great love for the Greens either.

Sadly, I agree that many ONP supporters will remain rusted on. Like their famed leader, they too only have one neuron firing inside their tiny brains.

I can't remember who did the study but it was done in Australia. Basically said humans in general actually use information that goes against their beliefs to reinforce their beliefs.

We all like to think that this isn't us, but I bet you can find an example where this is true for yourself if you look hard enough.

I can't remember who did the study but it was done in Australia. Basically said humans in general actually use information that goes against their beliefs to reinforce their beliefs.

We all like to think that this isn't us, but I bet you can find an example where this is true for yourself if you look hard enough.
Yep, well aware of that. That's why I was surprised by this study, I did not expect us to perform as well as we did. I have a little phrase that I use to describe our nature: Humans are belief reinforcers, not fact accepters.

Having learnt this (and many other pysch weaknesses) over the years, I've tried my best to combat them, for example, forcing myself to read books by authors I have no time for (Andrew Bolt, Trump and Kiyosaki), I try to self monitor my dribble to make sure I be accurate and not story reinforcing. I actually used to have a mate that was really skilled at fact checking you in real time and calling out any exaggerations etc. It was good to hang out with him as he really forced me to check what I said.

SA dearest electricity price per Mw/H in the Nation in 2017, 2018 and way out in front again in 2019 @ $116.29 Mw/H, only serious competitor SA has for that unwanted title is the other "renewables" on steroids state Victoria.

https://www.aemo.com.au/Electricity...Market-NEM/Data-dashboard#average-price-table

Whole lot more Black,brown and orange colour [Coal and Gas] than the renewables colours in these graphs...

https://opennem.org.au/#/all-regions

In the period 2nd April 2018 to 24th March 2019 renewables contributed the following to the grid - Solar [rooftop] 4.3%, Solar [Utility] 1.3%, Wind 7.1%, Hydro 8%, Battery [Discharging] 0.2% which equals 20.9% all up. But do carry on misrepresenting the actual contribution fossil fuels make to "keeping the lights on".

We've been over this Bicks. SA had the highest prices prior to renewables too. Something to do with large area and small population, plus not particularly good fossil fuel supplies either.

Still waiting for Bicks plan on energy. You can say do it with low prices all you want, but what's your actual plan for that, you need to go over to low carbon energy and it needs to be done rapidly.

Fight inequality like multi-millionaire Greens candidate Julian Burnside?
At least the Wentworth waffler put his own money where his mouth was.
View attachment 643342

Are you a socialist now Bicks? Burnside not allowed to earn money? The system needs fixing. Its not an issue of individual actions. If burnside gives all his money back is every other rich person going to give theirs back? I doubt it. We need to change the system so people don't end up with such ridiculous amounts.

FWIW I am pretty sure Burnside has done many representations free of charge.

Only the brain dead Greens could possibly think this was a good idea.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...Natale-wants-ISIS-fighters-let-Australia.html

'Good people make shocking decisions': Greens leader Richard Di Natale says 'brainwashed' ISIS terrorists should be ALLOWED back into Australia
He's partly right in what he said. These people are Australian citizens. They're our government's responsibility, and we shouldn't be forcing someone else to deal with our problems by refusing their right (as citizens) to return to their home country.

He also says that they should be "prosecuted here and be incarcerated". So far, so good...

Where Di Natale loses it completely is the batshit insane argument about them being good people who were brainwashed.

IMO These people should be allowed to return, having been escorted home by AFP officers, they should then be tried, thrown in prison, and the key to their cell lost forever.

At great expense to the Australian taxpayer.
Like it or not, as Australian citizens, they are our responsibility.

Why should the taxpayers in Turkey have to spend money on keeping them in prison, when they should be in an Australian prison instead?

Looks to me like they've deliberately split the PM costs to make Shorten's expenses seem more out of whack than they actually are.

Turnbull and Morrison have both been PM during the financial year so both of their expense figures as PM need to be added together to really get an accurate figure.

Shorten has spent more, but splitting them is one of those typical misleading things that you would find in a Murdoch newspaper.

Looks to me like they've deliberately split the PM costs to make Shorten's expenses seem more out of whack than they actually are.

Turnbull and Morrison have both been PM during the financial year so both of their expense figures as PM need to be added together to really get an accurate figure.

Shorten has spent more, but splitting them is one of those typical misleading things that you would find in a Murdoch newspaper.

In fact, the PM’s have spent more on staff travel allowances than Shorten.

Like it or not, as Australian citizens, they are our responsibility.

Why should the taxpayers in Turkey have to spend money on keeping them in prison, when they should be in an Australian prison instead?

Agreed. To add to that, why should the Kurds in Northern Syria have to deal with them after everything? Plus the strain of being constantly threatened by the Turkish state. It's poor not to take responsibility and to simply wipe our hands clean of them.

Some nutter in a country with lax gun laws and a history of violence, goes mad and sapol decide to ask for bigger guns.

There's a reason why they are nicknamed after the animal that we get bacon from.