Preview Round 23- Lions v Tigers. Sunday 25th August 2019 3.20pm MCG.

Who wins and by how much?

• Lions by 1 to 9.

Votes: 21 14.3%
  • Lions by 10 to 29.

Votes: 36 24.5%
  • Lions by 30 to 49.

Votes: 3 2.0%
  • Lions by 50+

Votes: 8 5.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.4%
  • Tigers by 1 to 9.

Votes: 7 4.8%
  • Tigers by 10 to 29.

Votes: 46 31.3%
  • Tigers by 30 to 49.

Votes: 19 12.9%
  • Tigers by 50+

Votes: 5 3.4%

Hawks won three flags in a row, Richmond are home and away specialists. I know which scalp I'd prefer.

Speaking of scalp, what's it like knowing your team is only making up numbers in the top four?

Edit: sorry thought this was in the banter thread, was only joking.

You didnt beat the hawks when they were winning three flags.... get real , you beat the 2019 version.

Hawks had five years between 08 and 13, so they were h and away specialists for a whiie.

We will see if we are making up the numbers...

You didnt beat the hawks when they were winning three flags.... get real , you beat the 2019 version.

Hawks had five years between 08 and 13, so they were h and away specialists for a whiie.

Hello! You lost to the Hawks this year, just FYI.

WLWLWLWL since the bye.
We are undefeated since the bye.

Goodbye and off to your own whiny board.

Who would have thought the supporters of the team of this very board that are sitting 1st on the ladder would have a bit of confidence going into this game. Yikes.

by all means have confidence, you deserve to have it

however 80% of your posters are dismissing us based off games that we were depleted in, which i truly hope your team does also

All you one line quip champions need to head to this thread and do us proud

I gave it go. Gee they bite.

I was kidding mate, relax. o_O

We did beat you on the weekend.

however 80% of your posters are dismissing us based off games that we were depleted in, which i truly hope your team does also
k

yeah by a point in 28 degrees in Brisbane. Finals are different. They wont give you guys a day final.
Your Coach said he lived here for 14 years & the heat affected both teams the same. In fact the heat advantaged Geelong. Did you not notice we were the team who had a couple/few cramping. Anyway, you're old news. We have the Tigers to fix up this week. We have another thread for the Lions Cats game. Have a whinge over there.

Well I was talking about the tigers home record and other posters brought up the cats. It is simply ridiculous to compare hawthorn in Tassie to the tigers at the G now -30 from 32 says it all including multiple finals wins. Just saying they are very hard to beat there-that's all. Don't underestimate the task.

yeah by a point in 28 degrees in Brisbane. Finals are different. They wont give you guys a day final.
Trust me the heat had both teams spent and a little frazzled.
And don't disregard that we struggled with Christo out at half time and had another two players getting treatment at one stage.
Charlie tried to come off on two occasions and was told to get back out there, wasn't happy , but there was no one to rotate with.
We haven't played at home at that time all year so you'd have to go back to pre season when we had those conditions to play in.
If we had an advantage with the heat it was taken away with the lack of able players on the bench.

Well I was talking about the tigers home record and other posters brought up the cats. It is simply ridiculous to compare hawthorn in Tassie to the tigers at the G now -30 from 32 says it all including multiple finals wins. Just saying they are very hard to beat there-that's all. Don't underestimate the task.
Records?
Since their bye the Tigers have beaten the Saints, Suns away, then at the MCG, (in order) they've beaten GWS, Port, Collingwood (during their slump), Melbourne, Carlton & West Coast (who, the game before at home, only just got over the Crows minus Sloane for a half). I don't mind where we play Richmond. I just don't think their form stacks up with Lions form. We've had post bye wins away against St Kilda GWS, Port & Hawks (in Tassie). Since our bye our home wins have been (in order) against Melbourne, an in form North, an in form Bulldogs, Gold Coast & the then Top of the Table Geelong.
Tigers are false favourites to win the Flag & same to beat the Lions R23.

My vote is Charlie was tested pregame for his hammy so the clutching during the game is heart stopping.

He is absolutely essential to our finals campaign, and I’d go as far as say essential to us winning.

Beating Richmond will be great but I’d sacrifice that win for a full blown finals tilt with Charlie at full strength. So I wouldn’t mind resting him next week + bye gives him max chance of making it through finals.

As a Tigers man wouldn’t be resting Cameron he will be to quick for our small backs and he seems to be a big game player there is a buy after this round anyway

Go the Tigers preview. As expected most of their dopey supporters haven't watched a Lions game all year but are supremely confident that they will tear us apart. Imagine not having watched one game of the team on top of the ladder but expecting to win by 60 points!

They are especially cocky aren't they? I think one poster asked if they had watched any of our games (because he had) and warned them not to underestimate us?

Oh well, they can join the list of other fan bases that haven't taken us seriously this year, hasn't ended well for most of them.

How exciting is this game!

Living in Brisbane, but supporting Richmond, its been years since I have had true banter at work.

I do hate the Lions, but a good Brisbane team is good for all Brisbane based AFL fans.
Live in Brisbane but support the Tiges ,
Interested in your background.
You know get in your head so we can turn you.
:D

Lions supporters think it be close. We beat the Cats. Tigers they played well after letting eagles get a first quarter lead. Although could not put WCE away. If Dusty did not play would of been a bad loss. Although they get Cotchin back probably that help them.

Tigers supporters not watched any team but Tigers this year, last year we kept them to 2 goals so we smash them again.
Not sure I seen anyone on their board go under 5-6 goal win.. Some talk should be a smashing and they take top spot.
We will see on Sunday afternoon hope its a good match. I say it be tight. hope the Lions win.

Form is nothing this year most teams had 2-3 bad games and 2-3 no one thought they win and did. Really hard to tell
Yes we won 9 they won 8.
Although Bombers and North bounced back and I written off the pies a few times.

Are you actually crazy? 80% of our supporters 'dismissing' you? If you read over our thread, 80% of our supporters are taking this game for exactly what it is, the toughest assignment in footy. Our poll at the top of the page has you Guys tipped to win. This is one of the more off kilter assessments i've seen of a situation on bigfooty.

How exciting is this game!

Living in Brisbane, but supporting Richmond, its been years since I have had true banter at work.

I do hate the Lions, but a good Brisbane team is good for all Brisbane based AFL fans.

You on your board - "The Brisbane fans are up and about in Brisbane I tell you what. Plenty of you're not going to beat "us" and "we" will flog you"... when talking to them now"

That is an outright lie, no one has remotely said anything like that to you when talking to us. LOL

We had a rotation down and 2 players jabbed to play through pain. We had 1 rotation for most of the third quarter. Lets not get into this game, looking for excuses for losing. It was a cliff hanger and we took our chances late.

It was a dour, shitty game bar the last 10 minutes. we played at about 60% of our capacity. You Guys controlled most of the game, i'd expect any future contests to end up the same. I reckon we are both on par with each other.

You on your board - "The Brisbane fans are up and about in Brisbane I tell you what. Plenty of you're not going to beat "us" and "we" will flog you"... when talking to them now"

That is an outright lie, no one has remotely said anything like that to you when talking to us. LOL

Wait, do you work with me where the banter and the us and them is happening?

I'm confused?